Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,164 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Lexus IS F engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Lexus IS F:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Lexus IS F Owner Comments

problem #8

Mar 042010


  • 1,458 miles


Mar. 3/4/10 - as I was pulling into a parking space, my 2009 IS250 accelerated and lunged with a high pitched screaming noise. I stepped hard on the brakes but it wouldn't stop it. A large pickup truck was parked with his rear bumper in front of me and it stopped the car. Shaken up, I drove home slowly, called Lexus to tow my car in to check it out. Next day Lexus said they couldn't find anything wrong. I was offered phone # of Lexus Corp. Office to file my complaint. I called and they took my statement and said we'd hear from them. On 3/25/10, Corp. Office called, said to bring car back into Lexus. My husband said their mechanics said they couldn't find anything wrong. They told him that their corporate mechanics would check it out and to leave it there overnight. When my husband took it in the next day, Lexus didn't know anything about our conversation with their Corp. Office but checked our car in. Next day Lexus called and said to pick up our car and that the Corp. Office would let us know what they found - have not heard from them since. Updated 4/26/10 updated 05/17/10.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #7

Mar 082010


  • 10,500 miles
3/8/2010 involving 2009 Lexus Is 250: As the driver of the Lexus Is 250 was entering the garage, she was applying pressure to the brake while the garage door was opening. As the driver released the brake to move forward into the garage, the Lexus Is 250 unexpectedly accelerated and the vehicle sped forward. The driver was stopped from going through the garage by forcefully pressing on the brakes and stopped by the garage cabinets. Acceleration marks were present on the asphalt approximately 10 feet before the opening of the garage and brake marks were present inside the garage. This was the first time the unexpected accelerated occurred and we immediately contacted the dealer for direction. The dealer suggested that we bring the car to the dealership for inspection. The owners were not comfortable driving the vehicle to the dealership due to the current incident of defective functioning. The dealer came to pick up the car and the owner followed in a courtesy vehicle back to the dealership. Once at the dealership, the customer service representative notified the owner that they were unable to accept the car do to the damage located in the driver side bumper which was a result of the incident. The dealership had possession of the keys and the vehicle. The owner notified the dealership that he was uncomfortable to drive (or have) a driver take the vehicle home do the vehicle malfunction. The owner was advised to contact 1-800-255-3987. The owner requested to leave the vehicle at the dealership to avoid any other incidents until the malfunction Is investigated. The Lexus Is 250 was taken to the dealership appox 2 weeks ago for maintenance. The driver side mat was removed over 3 months before the incident and no other repairs have been made to the car.

- Carson, CA, USA

problem #6

Mar 042010


  • 30,658 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Lexus IS250. The contact stated the vehicle was taken in for routine maintenance, vibration in the steering wheel and also for unintended acceleration at any speed. The dealer road tested the vehicle and found a faulty left wheel bearing and hub assembly that causes excessive noise and vibration which they repaired. The contact stated he inform the dealer that the accelerator pedal was sticking and to check on it but was told they are not going to repair IS250 accelerator pedals until the next three months. The car was given back on March 4 without checking the failure. While driving the vehicle it accelerated at high speeds of more than 106mph, when this happened the contact was trying to stop the vehicle by pulling the emergency brake, pulling on the gas pedal, hitting the push button that starts the vehicle and then trying to get off on the side of the road.meanwhile the motor Is revving at a high speed. There was a police trooper who saw this but gave him a ticket because he thought he was speeding. The contact stated after he got home she notice the accelerator pedal was stuck to the floor while the vehicle motor was racing at a high speed. The Lexus dealer was called and they would have the vehlcle towed to the dealership. The failure mileage was 30,658.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #5

Feb 062010


  • 11,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Lexus Is 250. He stated that while driving 35 mph up a hill when turning and slowing down by putting his foot on the brake pedal the vehicle accelerated on its own. The vehicle accelerated and crashed over a mountain. The contact sustained major injuries, broke his right shoulder, chest pains, and his face was also injured when the air bag deployed hitting him in the face. The police and the insurance company were contacted and a report was filed by both of them. The vehicle was towed to a local towing facility where they stated that the vehicle was destroyed. The dealer was contacted and wrote a report as well. He also stated that he received a recall notice for the floor mats and was waiting for an appointment. The failure and current mileage were 11000.

- East Elijay, GA, USA

problem #4

May 212009


  • miles
May of 2009 - leased 09 Lexus IS250; having only driven it for about 1 week when entering the onramp of I-35 in Texas, suddenly realized that car was accelerating out of control. The cruise control locked in by itself. RPM was off the charts. I could not exit at "my" exit and continued South on I-35. I tried to brake, but nothing happened. I called my husband and told him my car was out of control. I kept trying to brake...still nothing. Somehow the car started to slow, I got on the shoulder and kept going for 1-2 miles. I tried to put the car into neutral...RPM's again were out of control. I think that then I immediately put the car into "park" and pushed the engine start/stop button and waited for help. Luckily, I or no one else was injured in this incident. Lexus assured me it was because of the floor mats, but I've never been fully convinced. It has only happened that one time, but honestly, that's enough for me. I tried to trade the car in, but salesman said it was not a good idea ($) since the car was new.

- Waxahachie, TX, USA

problem #3

Dec 102009


  • 4,800 miles
Rapid acceleration, 2009, Is 250, Lexus. Pulling into a parking space with the foot on the brake. Car accelerated, jumped a curb, over a 6 foot wide grass separation and totaled a parked car in front of the parking space. Car was serviced that very day for it's 5,000 mile check. First time we drove the car after being serviced. Had our car repaired for front end damage. Contacted Lexus on their hot line, reported the incident, was instructed to write them with all the details. Have not heard one thing from Lexus corporate since we sent the letter on 12/30/09 no one has checked the car. Contacted the dealer in peoria Illinois. They would not return our calls. Confronted them about the problem on Saturday. They would take the car back in a trade. Would require me to take another lease, added a year onto the lease plus increased my monthly payment by $80. This was never an offer to check the vehicle. Car Is basically parked in the garage because we are afraid to drive it. It was not the floor mats. There Is no way that was a problem. Updated 05/24/10

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #2

Sep 102009


  • 900 miles
Four incidents of unintended acceleration. On four occasions the 2000 Lexus IS250 I purchased on September 3, 2009 had unintended acceleration of up to 5000 RPM.. three times this occurred when starting the car in park; the fourth time was when the car was stopped and idling. Twice I had the dealer, thousand oaks, ca Lexus, examine the problem and was told no defect could be found. On the fourth occurrence I noticed my foot was on the edge of the brake pedal and depressing the accelerator simultaneously. I wear only a size 9 shoe, have been a licensed driver for over 65 years and have never had any experiences such as these. I have concluded that either the brake and accelerator pedals are too close to each other or they have been positioned too far to the left, that Is, too close to the steering column causing one's foot to be on the edge of the brake pedal. Since unintended acceleration has been revealed as a problem with the Lexus, I shall appreciated your response to the problem I have described. Thank you.

- Woodland Hills, CA, USA

problem #1

Sep 162009


  • 14,000 miles
This was a loaner car. The gas pedal stuck on the floor. The heavy rubber mat caught the edge of the gas pedal and held it down on the floor. I was able to shift to neutral (don't know how the engine didn't blow up), brake the car to a stop, shift to park and shut engine off. I saw this morning on tv that there have been fatalities reported on Toyota vehicles related to this issue.

- Hanover Park, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?