Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,292 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Lexus RX400H engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Lexus RX400H:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Lexus RX400H Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jan 222016


  • 99,000 miles


It was Friday morning about 10am. I had a pulled slowly into quest diagnostic laboratory parking space. I had my foot on the brake. I was stopped I was putting the car into the park position when the car suddenly accelerated forward at the high rate of speed. The car went over the cement block and pavement and thru the double doors and inside the building finally stopping when I hit the receptionist counter.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #20

Feb 032016


  • 56,000 miles
While attempting to back into a parking space, accelerator stuck in down position, brakes locked up, engine accelerated to very fast rate, steering would not respond resulting in my car slamming into front end of car parked behind me at a high rate of speed. My car then accelerated forward continuing at a very high rate of speed across parking lot and hitting another car broadside which finally stopped my car. My car was a total loss as deemed by my insurance company.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #19

Nov 022015


  • 87,160 miles
I have noticed this issue a couple of times over the 7 years I have had the car (since it was new), most recently yesterday: When I am traveling at medium speeds, say 30-45 mph, and I hit a bump it feels like I get a little "push in the butt". sort of like a forward skid. So then I apply the brakes a bit. Don't know how else to describe this. My husband says that he can't feel it when he is a passenger.

- Moline, IL, USA

problem #18

Aug 012015


  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Lexus Rx400H. While driving at approximately 5 mph and attempting to park, the brake pedal was depressed but the brakes failed to respond. As a result, the vehicle drove over a curb and crashed into trees and bushes. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- West Lynn, OR, USA

problem #17

Oct 032014

RX400H 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lexus Rx400H. The contact stated that while attempting to park, the vehicle suddenly experienced an unintended acceleration and crashed into a tree. The contact mentioned that the driver was depressing the brake pedal when the vehicle suddenly accelerated up to 16 mph. A police report was not filed. The driver sustained a back injury that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 04/14/15 updated 6/29/2015

- Huntly, VA, USA

problem #16

Sep 092014


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lexus Rx400H. The contact stated that while pulling into a parking space, the vehicle accelerated independently causing the vehicle to crash into a rock wall. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was repaired but the failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #15

Oct 292014

RX400H 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Lexus Rx400H. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 20 mph attempting to make a right turn, the vehicle jerked forward and accelerated without any warning. The contact had to engage the brakes in order to slow the vehicle down. The vehicle was not inspected or diagnosed. The dealer and the manufacturer were notified of the intermittent failure. The approximate failure mileage was 79,000. Updated 01/20/15 the vehicle crashed into a fence. Damaging the fence and the front driver's side of the vehicle. Updated 06/9/2015

- Marblehead, MA, USA

problem #14

Oct 032014


  • 65,000 miles
Car was being pulled into space in restaurant parking lot -- space was on grass up a slight incline (approximately 12 inches) -- as car was moving up the incline a small bump was felt under the car and the car suddenly accelerated and continued to accelerate -- brakes were applied immediately but were unable to stop the car -- the car swerved and hit a tree approximately 20 feet from the parking spot -- believe the "bump" felt under the car caused the sudden acceleration -- above account can be verified by the other person in the car who had the same description of events.

- Huntly, VA, USA

problem #13

Sep 282012


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lexus RX8. The contact stated that while entering a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a wall. There was extensive front end damage to the vehicle. No one was injured and the police were not notified. The vehicle was towed to an auto body shop for repairs. The manufacturer was notified who advised that the investigation of the failure would take thirty days to complete. The contact stated the vehicle was given back to her after the body damage was repaired but the memory card that was retrieved was not inspected to determine the cause of the acceleration failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #12

Feb 192011

RX400H 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2008 Lexus Rx400H. Consumer states unintended acceleration the consumer stated as he pulled into the driveway behind another vehicle, suddenly, the vehicle accelerated even though his foot was on the brake and consequently, he hit the other vehicle on the right rear side. During the accident, the consumer felt a significant power surge and it happened when the power was switching from battery to gasoline. Prior to the accident, the consumer noticed power surges on numerous occasions, specifically when the vehicle switched from battery to gasoline.

- Methuen, MA, USA

problem #11

Nov 192010

RX400H 6-cyl

  • 37,516 miles


I drove the vehicle [xxx] about 25 miles from home to a doctor's office, at typical northern Virginia highway speeds on I-66 & I-495. I arrived at the doctor's office, I entered the parking lot at about 5 mph, I approached a parking space and at about 2 mph made a right-turn into the space. Without warning, the vehicle started accelerating. I could not stop it even with both feet on the brake pedal. The vehicle jumped over a concrete parking strip, then the concrete curb, up a slight embankment and through a wooden fence. The vehicle eventually came to rest with 3 of the 4 tires on the embankment over the curb. The right-rear tire was resting against the parking curb strip. The vehicle continued to lurch forward trying to pull the last wheel up out of its resting spot. I looked down at the brake/accelerator pedals and though both of my feet were on the brake pedal, the vehicle was still trying to move forward. I shifted the vehicle into park and the vehicle continued to try to lurch forward, so I turned off the engine. After departing the vehicle, I checked the driver's side floor mat and noted that the floor mat was properly positioned, hooked to hooks on the floor of the vehicle. The car was towed to a Lexus dealership where it was inspected by a Toyota-authorized engineer. Since the event could not be reproduced, we were told that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle and that it was safe to drive. Though we were told that we would be provided with the analysis of test results, Lexus has not responded to our repeated requests for this information. The vehicle had been properly maintained by owner for all required services and had just been serviced in September 2010. To date, there has been no determination as to what actually cause this sudden uncontrolled acceleration event which resulted in $7600 damage to the vehicle. Updated 07/10/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #10

Jan 142009


  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lexus Rx400H. While driving 45 mph, the contact noticed that when she took her footoff the accelerator pedal, the vehicle surged forward. She depressed the brake pedal and the vehicle slowed down. The failure occurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership three times but the dealer could not duplicate the failure. The VIN was unavailable at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000. The current mileage was unknown.

- Malibu, CA, USA

problem #9

Apr 162010


  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lexus Rx400H. The contact stated that on April 16, 2010, the vehicle suddenly accelerated when the driver depressed the brake pedal at 2 mph. The vehicle crashed into a curb and then a tree. The driver sustained a hip injury and a police report was filed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 12,000.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #8

Sep 092009

RX400H 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,128 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lexus RX400. While the contact was driving into a parking space the vehicle suddenly surged forward without warning causing the vehicle to crash into a wall. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the failure could not be reproduced. There were no prior warnings. The consumer stated when she exited the vehicle and walked around it, suddenly the windows and moonroof opened. Updated 04/05/10. Updated 4/30/10 updated 07/09/10.

- Sea Ranch, CA, USA

problem #7

Jul 082008


  • 15,000 miles
The contact onws a 2006 Lexus Rx400H. While driving 40 mph, the contact applied the brakes to slow down the vehicle and it rapidly accelerated which caused the contact crash into a parked vehicle. The vehicle was destroyed. One of the passengers suffered a fractured a sternum and the other passenger was knocked unconscious and suffered a broken collar bone. The contact sustained major bruises. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal became stuck and caused the crash to occur. The failure mileage was 15,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #6

Jun 012009

RX400H 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lexus Rx400H. The contact stated that when he stepped on the brake pedal the vehicle lunged forward. The failure occurred while driving approximately 45 mph when he drove over a pot hole. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to run a diagnostic test which didn't indicate any failure codes. The contact stated also filed a complaint with the Toyota dealer regarding the failure. The failure mileage was 9,000. Updated 3/8/10 the consumer stated it felt as though the vehicle was accelerating momentarily after slowing down. The consumer experienced the problem during rainy, snowy or wet road conditions more so than dry conditions. Updated 03/29/10 updated 05/13/10.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #5

Aug 082009


  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lexus Rx400H. The contact stated as he was pulling into a parking space the vehicle accelerated and jump the curb and destroyed the fence of a hotel. The contact stated as he stepped on the brakes the vehicle did not stop. He had to put the gear into neutral to stop the vehicle. The contact stated they ran into a fence and did $10,000 of damage to the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and repaired. There were no injuries. There is a police report available if needed. The failure mileage was 12,000. Updated 03/01/10 the consumer was able to place the vehicle in neutral and turned the vehicle off, however there was over 10,000 in damages. Updated 05/20/10

- Sequim, WA, USA

problem #4

Jan 252010


  • 23,200 miles
I was driving a Lexus rx 400H in a parking lot. When I turned left into the parking spot and engaged the brakes while pulling into the parking spot. At that time, I felt the car continue to accelerate and ended up hitting and going over the parking cement curb and the car stopped between the curb and the sidewalk after I slammed on the brakes as hard as I could. I contacted the dealership, they looked at the vehicle and said they could not repeat the incident and found nothing wrong with the car.

- Millersville, MD, USA

problem #3

Dec 312009


  • 27,120 miles
I was coming back from my first oil change from crown Lexus dealer. I was pulling into a parking space and the car would not stop even when my foot is on the brake. I tried to steer away from the concrete wall in front but the front left side still hit the wall. The car was damaged and the wall is damaged. The cost of the damaged is 9,000-10,000. Right now is being fixed by my insurance company. The model of the car is Lexus Rx400H year 2008.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #2

Sep 212008


  • 9,000 miles
Unprovoked vehicle acceleration while parking, causing vehicle to jump a curb, hit a tree and land on the hood of a vehicle parked across from the subject parking space.

- Ada, MI, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?