Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,487 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Lexus RX 330 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Lexus RX 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Lexus RX 330 Owner Comments

problem #12

Jul 212015

RX 330 6-cyl

  • 38,473 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Unexpected acceleration when entering my driveway at a very low rate of speed (2 mph maybe) when the car suddenly accelerated out of control for about 6 feet. I was standing on the brake pedal & it finally stopped. There was no sign of a problem with the rug bunching up. Had vehicle towed to Japanese car care specialist, llc the next day (was afraid to drive it). They could not find anything wrong with it; no warning lights came on, no sign of transmission trouble. We are now driving the car again without incident but it's hard to trust it. Just wanted to put this incident on file with the ntsb in case it should happen again. Updated 10/01/15 updated 12/28/2015

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #11

Jun 052015

RX 330

  • miles
The contact owned a 2005 Lexus RX330. While backing out of a parking lot, the vehicle suddenly accelerated forward. Although the brakes were engaged, the vehicle crashed into a pillar. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was unknown.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #10

Sep 272014

RX 330

  • 131,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Lexus RX330. While driving approximately 65 mph, the contact heard a loud noise near the rear of the vehicle. The contact attempted to merge to the emergency lane, but the vehicle independently accelerated and headed back into traffic. Only the front two wheels were operating normally and the rear tires were locked. The gear was shifted into neutral, but the vehicle would not move. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 11V112000 (vehicle speed control) and 10V499000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The approximate failure mileage was 131,000.

- Orangevale, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 272014

RX 330 6-cyl

  • 74,658 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Lexus RX330. While driving approximately 2 mph into his driveway, the contact removed his foot from the accelerator pedal in order to depress the brake pedal. The vehicle accelerated on its own and crashed into the house. The contact was uninjured. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 74,658. Updated 8/28/14 updated 11/28/2014

- Milton, GA, USA

problem #8

May 032014

RX 330 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
Vehicle's svc system malfunctions which causes the vehicle's steering to operate erratically-particularly at speeds above 50mph. Please investigate this matter.

- Mt. Vernon, NY, USA

problem #7

Oct 022013

RX 330 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Periodically the brake, ABS, vsc, and low pressure light blinks while driving, as soon as the key is turned off then back on the warning lights disappear. Trouble code scanned C 1249, and C 1223 open circuit in stop light switch or ABS control fault error. Oxide grease residue on electrical contact points make the brake light switch susceptible to failure. Toyota Lexus had a recall that only covered certain dates while the problem brake light switch failures continued in newer models. Lexus refuses to fix older models saying the problem was fixed after late 2004, which as we all know now is not correct. I would like Lexus /Toyota to replace my brake light switch at no expense to me since it was a assembly error on their part.

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #6

Sep 012013

RX 330 6-cyl

  • 107,304 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On September the 1st we had just had extreme thunder and lightning, torrential downpours. I had just dropped my girlfriend off at work and at this time it was only raining moderately, and the time was 1:20 pm, and then I started the 15 minute trip back home. I was 1/3 of the way back home and noticed as I was driving, a pedestrian wanting to cross the street so at this time I stopped and the vehicles braking system seemed to work just fine at that time. I then started driving the final 2/3 of the way home, I was about one and a half to 1-3/4 of a mile to home and thank goodness no pedestrian or vehicle was in front of me because for approximately 1400 to 1600 feet the Lexus SUV would not stop or slow down and thankfully I was only going 30 to 35 mph and the vehicle fortunately had enough distance to slow itself down before the hairpin left curve in the next part of the road. And then strangely enough the brakes seemed to be operating properly again. Please note that I am mechanically inclined, and can name all of the parts in the vehicle's braking system.

- Westwood, MA, USA

problem #5

Aug 192011

RX 330 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
While backing out of my parking place in our underground garage I put on the brake to go from reverse to drive. When I put the vehicle in drive the engine raced up and the car surged forward. I was only 15 feet from a brick wall of which I hit at an angle. I bounced off this wall and went 10 feet further head on into another wall. I did not touch the gas petal, the mats are rubber and were not a problem. The vehicle just suddenly accelerated. The air bags did not deploy and I shut the engine off as soon as I could but given the fact that the total travel length was around 30 feet this was not possible. This is a know problem with Toyota!! we love our car but we are now afraid of it. My insurance rates will be going up because of a factory defect and all I have seen are excuses in regards to this problem.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #4

Mar 212008

RX 330

  • 28,401 miles
2005 Lexus RX330 would not stop nor brake as headed downhill in slightly snowy weather at about 25mph. As road curved, I could not slow vehicle and thus started to lose steering control. I attempted to accelerate thinking it wa a forward slide but that didn't change things and vehicle continued to accelerate. So I hit the breaks hard-- no result, no additional control. Vehicle continued for about a block, hit curb, then tree. Totaled vehicle and injury to myself. Assumed at the time the speed was lower but after seeing damage later and getting physical therapy, it clearly had accelerated before hitting the curb-- which did slow it down before hitting the tree. Three of four tires blew out with holes on the sides from force of impact with curb.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #3

Mar 232005

RX 330

  • 10 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Lexus RX330. Whenever he depressed the accelerator pedal there was a three second delay before the vehicle accelerated. This would occur whenever he tried to pass another vehicle or accelerate into traffic. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the software was changed. The Toyota manufacturer was called and they stated that the vehicle was functioning normally. This problem has existed since the vehicle was purchased in March 2005. The failure mileage was 10 miles and the current mileage was 102,000. Updated 11/10/10

- Johns Island, SC, USA

problem #2

Oct 232008

RX 330 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Lexus RX330. He stated that the vehicle hesitated and accelerated momentarily while depressing the acceleration pedal. He also stated that when the vehicle traveled around a curve or bend, it would momentarily accelerate abnormally. The dealer advised him that there were no related complaints and could not duplicate the failure. There were no repairs made to the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were under 15,000. Updated 04/16/10. Updated 07/13/10.

- Kure Beach, NC, USA

problem #1

Nov 062009

RX 330

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Lexus RX30. While entering a parking space she applied pressure to the brake pedal, and then the vehicle accelerated without intention. Consequently, the vehicle crashed into a building. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a collision center. The front end of the vehicle received $9,088 worth of damage. The failure and current mileages were 22,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

Not what you are looking for?