Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
129,726 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Lincoln MKS brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Lincoln MKS:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Lincoln MKS Owner Comments

problem #7

Sep 072015


  • 79,500 miles


Brake pedal when coming to stop sometimes goes all way to floor. When sitting at ideal speed the brake pedal will go all way to floor. This has been a problem for the past year and reported to Lincoln dealer for warranty work under a seven year warranty. Car accelerates when brakes depressed when coming to stop and foot is on brakes and brake pedal is depressed and edge of foot also hits accelerates. Dealer had auto from late July 2015 till Jan. 5, 2016. Problem still exists as of Jan. 5 2016 but dealer states that it is my fault, took to another dealer and the service guy said the reason the brake pedal goes to floor is that Lincoln has what he called a pass through brake system. When car is not running the brake pedal is solid and will not go to floor. While I took car to dealer for this problem in July 2015 it has been a problem for several years but keeps getting worse. Brakes have been bad from day on when I bought the car originally the rotors had not been turned and were throwing brake dust. Due to that turning the rotors had to be replaced a couple years later.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #6

Nov 112014

MKS 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
While making a left turn at slow speed, the front brake locked up without my foot on the brake (11/2014). It has also happened twice since then. Dealer has checked it out twice and has found nothing.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #5

Dec 062014


  • 127,500 miles
While pulling out into traffic on a very busy four lane street, I turned left to get into the turn lane. All of a sudden the anti-lock brake light came on, the left front wheel jerked and grabbed and the accelerator would not let me get out of the on-coming lane for a few seconds. This could have ended a lot worst. This is the second time this has happened and the dealer says there is no bulletin for this problem!

- Middleville, MI, USA

problem #4

Apr 192014


  • 73,700 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Lincoln Mks. While driving 40 mph, the brakes failed intermittently. The contact had to depress the brake pedal to the floorboard and shift to a lower gear in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop where the brake booster was replaced twice however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repair. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 73,700.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #3

Dec 162013

MKS 6-cyl

  • 102,725 miles
In December 2013, I took my 2009 Lincoln Mks to the dealer for service because it occasionally accelerates before slowing down when I apply the brakes. On a different occasion I was behind a car that slowed down then came to a complete stop to avoid hitting a deer. I applied the brakes, my car slowed down and made a weird noise as if the car was trying to start up; instead of coming to a complete stop, it kept going while my foot was on the brakes. The technician drove me and my son around the block but could not duplicate the problem. I was informed that if the check engine light is not on, or if there are no codes, and if they cannot duplicate the problem, there was nothing they could do. On January 14, 2014 as I pulled into my carport before coming to a complete stop, the car made the same weird noise, and continued going forward and pushed its way into the side of my house while my foot was on the brake. When the noise stops, the car stops. I took the car back to the dealer on January 20, 2014 and they kept the car to drive to see if they had a similar experience. They told me they could not find any problems with the car. I can understand that they cannot fix a problem if they can't duplicate it, but the problem is sporadic. What disturbs me the most is that when I gave details of the problems to their service department, the first time on the write-up they only reported that I hear a noise upon acceleration. The second time they didn't give me any paperwork. If they are only telling their repair department to check for noise upon acceleration, then they would not be checking the car for the actual problems. I have been fortunate both times that no one was injured.

- Kinsale, VA, USA

problem #2

Nov 082013


  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Lincoln Mks. The contact stated that while applying the brakes to complete a turn at 10 mph, a loud metal-on-metal noise was heard. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the technician stated that the front brakes needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 22,000.

- New Albany , IN, USA

problem #1

Feb 152012

MKS 6-cyl

  • 440,656 miles
While driving home last evening, I slowed for the stop light @ rt 83 & rt 7, in palos heights, il. As I came to a complete stop, my brakes locked, vibrations shook the entire vehicle, I released the brake pedal, and began to smell a burning smell--no brake failure light came on. I inched forward- a loud grindingsound was evident. I stopped the vehicle- waited for the light to change, began driving when the light changed- slowly the grinding, vibrations, and smell, stopped as I approached 10 mph. My wife was riding in the in the vehicle and can verify all that is stated. On 11/14/08 receipt # CS320391 was serviced on my vehicle @ 1,532 miles, to address grinding brakes. My current milage is 40,651, with a more severe problem. I researched the Lincoln owners website and found tsb 09-24-14 has been issued to address this this problem. Two weeks ago well, after I had this issue serviced, I felt a brief vibration after I began to exit from parking lot!!

- Hazel Crest, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?