Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,118 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Lincoln Town Car engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Lincoln Town Car:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Lincoln Town Car Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Nov 162015

Town Car 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Lincoln Town car. While approaching a stop, the vehicle independently accelerated when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 02/12/16 updated 02/17/16.

- Horseshoe Bend, AR, USA

problem #21

Jan 302015

Town Car 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
While exiting a parking facility cars were doing an alternate merge into a single lane. It was slow stop and go and I was waiting my turn with my foot on the brake. All of a sudden my car accelerated aggressively and I slammed on the brakes and put it in park. I used just less than a car length to stop the car after it lurched forward. I noticed that the tachometer momentarily exceeded 4000 RPM. This would have been an accident except for fortuitous timing. I allowed the car to my left space to merge and there was about a car length of space available which the other car had not entered yet. That space gave me the margin to get the car stopped without hitting a car in front of me.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #20

Sep 032010

Town Car 8-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Brake and accelerator are too close together and too often, when pressing on the brake pedal, the accelerator is pressed as well causing the vehicle to advance (either forward or in reverse). I brought it to the dealer (malouf) and was told they found no defect and there were no recalls or safety bulletins and there was nothing to do. I see, from reading the N.H.T.S.a. reports that this is one of the most common complaints and the safety board should force Ford/Lincoln to install some devise that prevents engaging both the brake and the accelerator at the same time.

- Monroe Township, NJ, USA

problem #19

Apr 052014

Town Car 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Lincoln Town car. The contact stated while driving the vehicle would accelerate without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician was unable to determine the cause of failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000. The current mileage was 75,000. Updated 11/21/14 updated 8/13/2015

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #18

Jun 192014

Town Car

  • miles
While coming to a stop, car accelerated when brake was applied. Car continued to accelerate while standing on the brake, smoking the back tires. The brakes could not hold the acceleration and gradually pushed into the vehicle ahead that was stopped.

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #17

Apr 262014

Town Car 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,730 miles
Driver was parking Lincoln Town car. Stepped on brake while putting car into park position. Car suddenly accelerated over concrete parking stop and slammed into an entrance to shopping center sign that was in front of the parking space. The car ended up with the front of the car against the sign and the rear wheels of the car up against the parking stop. Also, the rear door locks failed, and passengers were unable to exit the vehicle and the air bag light illuminated. Updated 06/10/14

- Scarsdale, NY, USA

problem #16

Jul 032013

Town Car

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Lincoln Town car. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated while turning left, causing the contact to lose control of the vehicle. The vehicle then proceeded through traffic and crashed into another vehicle that was turning right but the contact's vehicle did not stop and proceeded to travel over a side walk. The contact was able to shift into neutral and shut the engine off to stop the vehicle from accelerating any further. The driver and passenger were both injured. A police report was not filed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact returned the vehicle to the manufacturer as a trade-in. The failure and current mileage was 71,000. Updated 4/4/14

- Stockton , CA, USA

problem #15

Dec 072007

Town Car 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Lincoln Town car signature. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, he attempted to apply the brakes and his foot accidentally depressed the accelerator pedal as well. The vehicle lunged forward as a result. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that they were unable to assist him since they were not able to alter the design of the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 25,000 and the current mileage was 67,000. Updated 6/7/12 the consumer stated he hit another vehicle. The consumer did not stated if there was any property damage. He also stated the accelerator and brake pedals were too close together.

- Rome City, IN, USA

problem #14

May 162002

Town Car

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Lincoln Town car. The contact stated that when attempting to brake, his foot would sporadically slip off the brake pedal and onto the accelerator pedal. The vehicle was not diagnosed or serviced. The current and failure mileages were 20,000.

- Wickliffe, OH, USA

problem #13

Aug 232010

Town Car

  • 43,250 miles
I own a 2006 Lincoln towncar. Recently, while attempting to come to a stop the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. I was able to use the brakes in order to stop the vehicle. A week earlier my wife had the same thing occur. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership at this time. The failure mileages was 43250.

- Deer Park, NY, USA

problem #12

Apr 122007

Town Car

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Lincoln Town car. The contact stated while accelerating from a complete stop, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. In addition, the contact stated when braking from low speeds, the vehicle felt as if it were gliding to a stop and stopping distance was increased. The dealer advised the failure was caused by the contact depressing both the accelerator and brake pedals simultaneously. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure persisted. The failure mileage was approximately 8,000 and the current mileage was approximately 31,000.

- Monroe Township , NJ, USA

problem #11

Aug 012006

Town Car 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Lincoln Town car. The contact stated when attempting to brake the vehicle would slightly accelerate forward until pressure was released and then reapplied to the brakes. He had been intermittently experiencing the braking problem since the purchase of the vehicle. The vehicle had been taken to an authorized dealer on numerous occasions. The dealer advised the contact was probably depressing both the accelerator and brake pedals simultaneously. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 9,000 and the current mileage was 34,000. Updated 11/05/10 the consumer stated when he took the vehicle to the dealer, one of the mechanics noticed the vehicle was running exceptionally fast. He thought the consumer had his foot on the accelerator, but his foot was on the brake. The consumer stated the problem doesn't happen all the time. Updated 11/05/10

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #10

Apr 072010

Town Car

  • 23,055 miles
I own a 2006 Lincoln Town car, purchased new. Approximately once or twice per year the vehicle will try to accelerate as I am braking for a red light or a stop sign. Placing transmission into neutral position seems to result in engine slowing down. Taken to Lincoln-Mercury dealership in 3/07 and 4/10. They can not duplicate the problem and they state that they can not explain what is causing this.

- Londonderry, NH, USA

problem #9

Sep 092009

Town Car 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Lincoln towncar. While the contact was attempting to come to a stop the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning, the contact was able to use the brakes in order to stop the vehicle. There were no prior warnings. The vehicle had not been diagnosed by the dealership at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were 42000. Updated 04/26/10. The consumer stated the sudden acceleration has happened at least four times. Updated 04/30/10.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #8

Jul 262006

Town Car 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Lincoln towncar. Whenever the contact attempts to accelerate from a stop, he noticed that the vehicle will surge forward and the brakes will hesitate to engage. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the vehicle was working properly. The contact had noticed the failure since the day the vehicle was purchased. The current and failure mileages were 31000. Updated 06/15/10 also, the power door locks on the left rear door did not work. At times it did work, but it made a loud griding noise when it did unlock. Updated 09/28/10

- Four Oaks, NC, USA

problem #7

Dec 092009

Town Car

  • miles
Consumer alleges brake application leading to engine revving. Vehicle moves forward. Consumer has had vehicle for 6 months and incident has occurred 12-14 times. Ran across intersection once because could not stop vehicle immediately. Consumer has had vehicle serviced at saffard Lincoln Mercury in md. 3110 automobile blvd silver spring md 20904. Dealer run computer test but could not duplicate incident. Consumer denies dual accel/brake pedal application.

- Chevy Chase, MD, USA

problem #6

Oct 082008

Town Car

  • 22,311 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Lincoln Town car. The contact stated that the vehicle has accelerated on its own five times while driving 30 mph. The first failure occurred on October 8, 2007. He placed the gear in neutral in order to slow the vehicle down and, on occasion, he would have to turn off the engine. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice and the diagnosis indicated failure codes for the powertrain, control module, and (the Dec) electronic control. The dealer reprogrammed the powertrain control module; however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer on November 1, 2008. The dealer stated that they may be unable to correct the failure. A report was filed with the manufacturer and they stated that they would call the dealer. The contact was informed that he would receive a call from the dealer. The failure mileage was 22,311 and current mileage was 32,390.

- San Angelo, TX, USA

problem #5

Jan 232008

Town Car 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,583 miles
Vehicle speed control...sudden acceleration.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #4

May 272006

Town Car

  • 6,200 miles
I was stopping at a stop sign, with my foot on the brake when the car suddenly accelerated to 2,500 rpms. I was able to stop the car with the brake and avoid hitting the car in front of me, but even after stopping the car it was still running at 2,500 rpms for another couple of seconds before then returning to idle at 500rpm. This happened two more times that day and it's very scary to say the least. Each time it happened I was braking the car (luckily) and was able to brake harder and stop the car. After stopping the car the engine was still racing for a few seconds.

- Williston Park, NY, USA

problem #3

May 011901

Town Car 8-cyl

  • miles
The consumer experienced sudden acceleration while driving his 2005 Lincoln Town car. The arbitrator concluded that the consumer foot was most likely on the brake and accelerator at the same time. The consumer disagreed with the findings.

- Palm City, FL, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?