Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,941 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Mazda 626 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Mazda 626:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Mazda 626 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Jul 282006

626 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When stopping at a stop sign vehicle would not move when given gas. Car never pulled well when driving. The car was taken back to the dealership before it broke down. They said there was nothing wrong with the transmission in the 626. In less than 9 months the car stopped pulling all together.

- Kannapolis, NC, USA

problem #35

Jun 242005

626 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,500 miles
2002 Mazda 626 customer states that he has had transmission replaced and it needs to be replaced again* consumer states that dealer replaced with remanufactured transmission and wants to be reimbursed for the 2nd transmission. The consumer stated the vehicle is shifting hard. When the consumer took the vehicle to have the transmission fluid, it was discovered that the fluid was black, which indicated a premature fluid breakdown. The consumer stated Mazda installed a Ford cd4E transmission that was too small for the vehicle; thus causing the transmission to overheat and the fluid to breakdown prematurely.

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #34

Jun 302005

626 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
No crashes or injuries just yet, but I purchased a 2002 Mazda 626 brand new after I was talked into it by the dealership. I had a 2001 626 with a manual transmission that I brought in to be serviced by the dealership (five star Mazda). They told me that they could get me into a brand new 626 with an automatic transmission for less per month than I was paying at the time. Being young, and just purchased a home with one child and another on the way, I jumped at the idea of decreasing the amount of our bills. I also thought it would be easier to deal with two little ones if I didn't have to fool with a manual transmission. I sure wish I'd have kept that car now!! one year following the expiration of the warranty (2005), you guessed it, the transmission started to slip. When I took it into five star Mazda, they charged me $90 to run diagnostics on the car (even though according to numerous internet posts, they already new the problem!) at any rate, they contacted me later that day to let me know that it would be nearly $3000 to repair the transmission, and would I like to keep it there to have it done. Hello, let me just climb up my money tree and hand it right over!!! we recently filed a bankruptcy and are unable to just go get a loan or put it on a credit card, we would be in contempt of court. There is absolutely nothing we can do about this. I'm sorry, but Mazda has known of this problem since 1993" why hasn't something been done about this" the consumer should not have to pay for their mistake! especially given the fact that I still have to pay on the loan, I simply do not have the extra money to even save up for repair bills costing the amount of another car!! the car worsens daily, and given the fact that it takes an incredible amount of time to build up speed, if a car is even in sight range of mine, I cannot drive out in front of it.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #33

Apr 142007

626 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Mazda 626 2.0 w/ 39000 miles transmission failed as reported by thousands on the net. Erratic hard shift occurred that almost caused an accident. The odometer indicator began flashing right there after. I see no recalls for this although reported so many times, which I am very surprised. I see so many failures for this particular transmission. Very disappointed! not many miles on this car.

- Woonsocket, RI, USA

problem #32

Apr 142007

626 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 395,000 miles
2002 Mazda 626 2.0 w/ 39000 miles transmission has failed as reported by thousands on the net. Erratic hard shift occurred that almsot caused me to be in an accident. The od indicator began flashing right there after. I see no recalls for this although reported so so many times which I am very surprised. I see so many failures for this particular transmission. Very dissappointed! not many miles on this car.

- Woonsocket, RI, USA

problem #31

Mar 102007

626 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles
Replaced Mazda 626, year 2002 transmission at 48,000 speedometer miles. Dealer installed re-manufactured transmission. Said they are not required to install new. Re-manufactured transmission is now failing at 69,000 speedometer miles. Also, service bulletin was issued for this transmission requiring the installation of an additional transmission cooler because of overheating (bulletin # 05-005/02). Mazda does not cover the cost for this.

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #30

Feb 012007

626 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

-the contact stated that when driving the 2002 Mazda 626 and trying to accelerate the vehicle lost the ability to accelerate. The contact stated that when this happened there were no warnings indicating problems with the transmission. The contact had the vehicle towed to an auto repair shop, and was advised that the transmission had to be replaced. The current and failure mileage were both 71,000. Updated 04/12/07.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #29

Feb 122006

626 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
- the contact replaced the transmission on a 2002 Mazda 626. The first failure occurred was 27,000 miles. The second incident happened without prior warning while driving on the highway at a speed of 60 mph. The second failure mileage was 75,000 miles. During the second failure the transmission dropped out of the vehicle. The part was available. Updated 02/27/07

- Reading, MA, USA

problem #28

Nov 222002

626 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
2002 4 cyl auto Mazda 626. Aug 2005 - transmission went out - $1800 repair (about 60K mileage) present - Nov 2006 - car runs rough, then O/D light starts blinking. Online research states either computer module problem (reporting speed to transmission) or transmission problem. The transmission problem in the 626's has been ongoing for many years - I believe back to around 1992 through 2002 (last year made). When is Mazda going to own up to this problem and issue a recall or fix the broken transmissions.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #27

Nov 222006

626 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
I own a 1992 4cyl automatic Mazda 626. In Aug 2005 - the transmission had to be replaced. I believe at the time the mileage was around 60K. I researched online and found that this was a common problem amongst Mazda 626's but Mazda was not owning up to the problem. Now, Nov 2006 - 15 months later, the car started to run rough, and then the O/D light started blinking. Again I researched online and found that a lot of repair shops and Mazda stated that the transmission was bad - also it was noted that it may also be a computer problem. How many transmissions does Mazda have to have break before they own up to the problem and issue a recall for all 626 transmission problems?

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #26

Sep 202006

626 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At around 30000 miles we took the car to the dealer complaining of a stuttering problem when accelerating and insisted there was something wrong with the transmission. Dealer found no obvious problem but did replace the fuel filter. Took the car back several times for this still, no problem. At around 89000, took the car back in because transmission "jumped" into reverse. Dealer stated transmission looked fine but recommended a flush so we did. Dealer also stated tran-axles were cracked/rusted so we replaced them at a cost of $500 (dealer said this was a very unusual problem and that it was probably a bad part). The next day, I noticed transmission fluid on our garage floor. I called the dealer and took it back asap. They said there was a broken seal and they replaced it. A few days later while driving the car, the check engine light came on. I called the dealer and scheduled the car for another appt. Later that same day, while sitting at a busy intersection, the car would not accelerate. I was able to make it to my office a 1/2 mile away and called the dealer. They said to bring it in. We were able to get the car there by driving it in D1 late at night as to avoid traffic. Dealer examined and confirmed the transmission was shot. I questioned as to why a week earlier the transmission "looked good" and they only recommended a flush. No answer to this question. Dealer credited back the flush and sent the car to a local shop for the transmission overhaul. Still do not have car back three weeks later. All service/repairs have been done at the dealer. If problem was addressed when first brought in, warranty would have covered the much needed repair. Mazda obviously has made a mistake and is not owning up. Many people Transport children in this style of vehicle and Mazda needs to recognize the harm that their customers face. Will also be contacting mo attorney generals office to file a complaint.

- Jefferson City, MO, USA

problem #25

Jul 152006

626

  • miles
2002 Mazda 626 gear shift cable clip broke, vehicle would not change gears. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair facility which was familiar with the failure. The tech stated that the clip that holds the cable is made of plastic and over time the plastic becomes thin and breaks. The technician used a metal clip when he replaced it.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #24

Jun 162006

626

  • 77,000 miles
My 2002 Mazda 626 has a transmission failure with only 77,000 miles on it. It jerks when the gear shifts. The dealership said I need to have it replaced at $3,000.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #23

Jun 032006

626 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
Without warning, the transmission on my 2002 Mazda 626, V6 2.5L EFI, quit shifting into 4th gear. There is no mention in the owner's manual of a time frame to check the fluids. However, I have looked on the net, and I certainly do not seem to be the only person with this problem. My wife and I just moved to a new town. This leaves us with no vehicle to get back and forth from work. So now we must rent a car out of pocket to get back and forth to work. Just to pay the $1500 to fix it. As of yet, we have not taken it to get fixed B/C were waiting on a ride to the car rental.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #22

Jan 242006

626

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
I bought my 2002 Mazda 626 in February 2003. In Jan. 2006 with just over 50,000 miles on it, just over the 50,000 mile warranty the transmission failed, while I was driving on the highway. Out of no where I couldn't go over 30 mph, not safe!!! my only option was to put a rebuilt transmission into the car at a cost of $2600. Now in May 2006, I am having transmission problems again and have been doing as much research as possible. I have come to find that Mazda put a Ford transmission (cd4E) in the 626's and this specific transmission has caused many problems for many people. This is a transmission built for smaller, lighter cars but Mazda put it in the 626 anyway, although it is a heavier car. I now see that a technical service bulletin (tsb #0500502) was released by Mazda stating that this problem can be compensated by installing a transmission cooling kit. It would have been nice to know about that long before now, saving my $2600 and a close call on a highway. Mazda needs to step forward and take deserved blame!!! someone is going to hurt or killed if this isn't made aware to the consumer. Please do something!!!

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #21

Mar 012006

626 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
Automatic transmission will no longer work in reverse.

- Forest Lake, MN, USA

problem #20

Jan 252006

626 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,552 miles
: the contact stated while in drive, the vehicle will not shift into first gear. The vehicle must manually be put in first, second, then drive. An independent repair shop determined the transmission needs to be replaced. Updated 02/07/06.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #19

Nov 202005

626

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have had no problems on my 2002 Mazda 626 (4 cyl) until about 2 months ago. My car hesitates to go from park into drive. I have taken it to the dealership and they said nothing was wrong with the transmission. Before that I took it into the auction where I work and they checked twice and said it was the transmission. I also took it to another service place and they said the same thing.

- Bedford, TX, USA

problem #18

Nov 012005

626 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact stated while attempting to parallel park the vehicle it would not come out of reverse. There were no prior warnings indicating there was a problem with the transmission. A local mechanic determined that the transmission needed to be replaced.

- National City, CA, USA

problem #17

Oct 262005

626 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
Mazda 626 2002 total transmission failure. Car 58K miles. The incident made driving the car very difficult and dangerous (especially for merging into high speed traffic). The transmission would just spin and not switch gears properly. There was little warning for this condition to occur. The dealer has replaced the transmission to correct the problem at the owners cost. Note that the transmission used was a Ford model cd4E transmission, designed for lighters cars and put it on the Mazda 626. Mazda knows about the problem and has issued a technical service bulletin to correct the problem but the method of communication through the dealerships was ineffective since there are many other owners with a similar problem (per the articles that I have read on the internet).

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?