Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,511 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Mazda CX-5 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Mazda CX-5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Mazda CX-5 Owner Comments

problem #15

Dec 232015


  • 52,700 miles


During a long holiday trip, while driving down us 19 at 65 mph over the new river gorge bridge the engine started revving / surging, with rpms going up and down, when the car suddenly lost power and decelerated rapidly. The traction control system (tcs) light was on solid and the tire pressure system (tps) light was flashing. We had just left a rest area and were less than a mile down the road from where we pulled onto the highway, just getting up to speed. I may have just turned on the cruise control, but I cannot remember. The weather was warm and dry. The car had about 52,700 miles on it. I put on the flashers and prayed that momentum would carry me over the bridge to where I could pull off, that the semi-tractor-trailer truck barreling down on me would get in the other lane soon, and that no one would rear end me. My mom and my husband were in the car with me. We turned off the car, walked around the outside to look at the tires, looked through the manual, and tried to decide what to do. After about 15 minutes, I started it up again, there were no indicators lit up on the dash, and the car seemed to be back to normal, so we continued our trip. Since then we have driven about 800 miles and it has not happened again. I haven┐T had a chance to contact the dealer yet.

- Morgantown, WV, USA

problem #14

Nov 242015


  • 43,250 miles
Running errands on way home on the highway while on a hill suddenly incurred loss of power, check engine and driving stability warning lights came on. Pressed gas and no change in speed. Speed dropped from 45 to 20 and had to move to shoulder. Other than loss of power everything else functioning normally. Managed to return home via back roads and avoidance of hills. Speed improved somewhat once completed climbing hill but as neared home car's speed topped out at 20 mph, total trip 4 miles or so. Once in driveway turned off car and then started again neither the check engine light nor the driving stability came on again. Car well maintained first time this has happened in 2 years of ownership. Will be taking it in for service and see if problem can be diagnosed.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #13

Apr 132015


  • 1,300 miles
Put my truck in gear D for drive start driving and at 5mph its making a noise like a standard transmission do when you are in the wrong gear such as too low. At first I thought it was my radio because it was sizzling and the read out that the station show was no longer showing the song or artist. So I switch to another station and is still made the sound so I put in a cd and listen to it and I had to turn volume up in order not to hear the sound. The faster I drove the louder it got. I only have 28,000 miles so transmission shouldn't be bad. I had an oil change about 2 weeks ago with tire rotation and fluids checked and all was fine.taking it to shop.

- North Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #12

May 112013

CX-5 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles


While driving, the engine appears to stall and the car is not drivable. The car feels as though it has shut off, and no acceleration is possible. I am forced to coast to the shoulder, at which point I must turn the car off and restart in order for the car to be drivable. While this is happening, several indicator lights are illuminated, including the tire pressure monitor, check engine, at, and traction control indicators. Upon restart, the check engine remains illuminated. This same incident has recurred 3X since I purchased the car in April 2012, including May 2013, May 2014 and August 2014. Each time it has been serviced by the dealership. I have just filed a complaint with Mazda.

- Kensington, MD, USA

problem #11

May 202014


  • 27,800 miles
Was driving normally when all of the sudden engine light came on and other lights in the cluster came on and the vehicle did not shift. Could not pass 20 mph. Had to stop the car and turn it off, later turn it on and just the engine light was lit. After getting home and letting the car cool down the problem went away.

- Cutler Bay, FL, USA

problem #10

Nov 292013

CX-5 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Was passing a semi-truck full throttle on a hilly 2 lane roadway.....engine shut down and multiple dash warning lights came on....was able to coast to a safe stop and turned off ignition and restarted vehicle. Very scary!! took the vehicle to the dealer and they could not find a problem.

- Mesquite , TX, USA

problem #9

Nov 252013


  • 20,100 miles


Out of the blue, I started my vehicle to go to work and the check engine light was on. I read in the manual the gas lid could be loose, but I checked it and it was fine. My husband took it to the dealership and they hooked it up to see what the problem was, and they said it was a miss in the engine, and he'd have to leave it with them so their tech team to try and get to the root of the problem. I had felt hesitations before while coming up our driveway, which is pretty steep. It's like it would almost stop then lunge forward pretty quick. It also has felt like it wasn't changing gears at times, like it normally would. This just happened randomly.

- Duffield, VA, USA

problem #8

Nov 122013

CX-5 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
While driving on the highway, the vehicle very suddenly decelerated (from about 55 to 40), almost as if it slipped back a couple of gears- it was a jarring and immediate loss of power, and I could hear the engine strain as if it was forced into a lower gear. The traction control system and tire pressure monitoring dashboard lights came on, and the check engine light began flashing. I lost ability to accelerate above maybe 1K or 1.5K rpms. When I slowed the car down and drove to a place I could safely pull over, the car was sputtering and trembling aggressively with each push of the gas pedal. When I finally did stop, I powered off the vehicle and checked the tires - all of which were fine. I turned the car back on and it behaved normally, all the error lights were cleared. I even drove it quite some distance to the dealer for maintenance. The service center said they have never heard of this type of incident. A quick web search, however, indicates that others have experienced this very same issue. This is a new (6 months) 2013 Mazda Cx-5 with around 6000 miles.

- Livingston, NJ, USA

problem #7

Nov 102013

CX-5 4-cyl

  • 17,111 miles
Driving on a side street, I felt a clunk through the gas pedal and the RPM's nosed dived to around 1500. Snailed it over to the shoulder, put in park, stepping on the gas would rev up to 2000 then drop to 1500 on it's own regardless of gas peddle position. In park, shut off, restarted, lots of pretty lights on the dash (at, tire pressure, engine, traction control, plus others), no change, RPM to 2000 then drop to 1500. Still in park, shut down, restarted again, RPM's were normal but no forward gears in auto or auto-manual (could shift to 'd' or +/- but wouldn't engage). While in 'd' was able to rev engine but transmission obviously not engaged at all. Reverse worked fine, shifted back to 'd' but still no response. Check engine light on. Shut down a 3rd time and restarted. Check engine on but RPM and transmission normal. Drove to dealer and dropped it off. Service dept. Called later to say ordering a valve body for transmission.

- Anthem, AZ, USA

problem #6

Oct 202013

CX-5 4-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
I tried to turn on my car but the battery was dead for no reason (did not leave the car or stereo on). After I jumped the battery and got the car running the engine sounded different and the engine would barely move the car. I let the battery charge for a while and tried to drive the car again and it will had no power coming from the engine, it would only go maybe 20 mph. I drove home taking back roads because I could not maintain enough speed to take a main road. I plan on contacting Mazda tomorrow to figure out what to do next to fix this.

- Ogden, UT, USA

problem #5

Aug 052013

CX-5 4-cyl

  • 32,600 miles


While on a very busy road, all of a sudden the accelerator stopped working and my speed began to drop rapidly. At the same time, the traction control warning light and tire pressure warning light came on. It was as if the car had completely lost power. I was able to coast to the side of the road and turn the car completely off. I got out and checked all of the tires and they were fine. When I turned the car back on, the warning lights did not come back on and the car ran normally.

- Palmyra, PA, USA

problem #4

Jun 272013

CX-5 4-cyl

  • 8,500 miles
I had just exited the freeway after driving 25 miles and was stopped at a stop light. When the light turned green and I stepped on the accelerator, the vehicle engine revved high and did not shift gears in the automatic transmission. I could not get the vehicle out of first gear or over 20 mph. I was able to get the vehicle to a safe location and once it had cooled overnight the transmission shifted normally. I did not drive it more than a block for fear it would happen again and the vehicle is currently at the dealership for repair.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #3

Feb 172013

CX-5 4-cyl

  • 7,900 miles
While driving on the left lane of a busy los angeles highway at approximately 55mph, all of a sudden the accelerator stopped responding and my speed dropped rapidly. At the same time, the traction control and tire pressure lights turned on. Immediately, I turned on my hazard lights and pulled into the right lane. Unfortunately, I was in a tunnel with no shoulder. When the vehicle's forward momentum ran out, I came to a complete stop after cruising for approximately 100 feet. After my vehicle stopped, I was able to accelerate again and pulled off the highway. I turned the engine off, checked all tires (all looked normal), and restarted the engine. The warning lights were all off at this point, and the vehicle responded normally. This was a disturbing and dangerous situation. I will describe it at my 10,000-mile service, but it does not seem like others who have had this problem have been able to solicit an adequate response from Mazda.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #2

Dec 112012

CX-5 4-cyl

  • 6,996 miles
This evening I was running 2 errands less than 3 miles from house. As I drove from the first errand and arrived at the second, the malfunction indicators illuminated: I parked at my second errand, turned the car off, and decided to let it sit. When I came back and started it, only the check engine light was on. With the vehicle full of purchases, temperature near 30 degrees, I opted to try and make it the 2.3 miles home. I got 2 traffic lights when the instrument cluster lit up again. The Cx-5 seemed to drive ok, so I continued home. As I made the second to last turn -- about 1 mile out -- the automatic transmission indicator blinked out (no longer said 'd'), then the speedometer/tachometer/odometer stopped reporting (all read 0). I made it to my driveway, but was unable to turn it of until I held the start/stop button about 20 seconds until it turned off (this was the solution when I had problems with the smart key in my previous Mazda). Mazda installed a data recorded in my vehicle several weeks ago, as they continue to investigate problems with the skyactive automatic transmission I reported days after taking delivery in may: that device should hopefully provide additional diagnostic information to them. It was towed to my nearest dealership, whose service bays it is no stranger to.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #1

Oct 132012

CX-5 4-cyl

  • 20,414 miles
While driving vehicle on frwy, started losing power fast. As if the engine turned off. At light, traction light, stability control light and check engine light came on. Pulled to side of frwy turned car off, sat there in disbelief. I then turned the vehicle back on - only check engine light stayed on. Had power as if nothing had happen diag found code P1738, P0847. Galpin Mazda called tech line and they were told to perform a reflash to the PCM. This happen again about 2 months later. But this time all warning lights turned off after restarting. I will mention it on my next service visit.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?