Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,258 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Mazda CX-5 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Mazda CX-5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Mazda CX-5 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Sep 232016

CX-5

  • 3,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The following has happened numerous times on my 2016 Mazda CX5 touring over the course of almost a year. The last incident occurred on or about September 23, 2016. 1) while in reverse, moving to drive, there is a lag before the transmission engages and then lurches forward. 2) from a stop, there is a lag before the transmission engages, the engine revs very loudly and then lurches forward. 3) at another time, the engine revs loudly and very high with no noticeable increase in speed and then all of a sudden, it seems that the transmission engages. Very dangerous.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #25

Jul 302016

CX-5

  • 18,500 miles
While driving the would not shift. Engine light, traction control light and flat tire light all came on and the car would not go over 10. Tried to shift manually and nothing. Got over and stopped, restarted car and only engine light was on tried to move and it did for a very short distance and al the light and not shifting again. Stopped and re-started again and I could shift manually. I let the car sit for two hours and the auto transmission did work but didn't respond well. After about an hour drive it loss power and wouldn't shift again. I believe the transmission isn't being allowed to shift due to a valve issue. Currently waiting for Mazda to make a decision dealer re-set computer and all light are off, but car still doesn't respond well when driving so it is still at dealer ship and the car isn't a year old with only 18500 miles.

- Gorham, ME, USA

problem #24

Jun 022016

CX-5

  • 14,500 miles
I bought this car June 2016 and last week I took it to the dealership after a few weeks of stepping on the accelerator and waiting for the vehicle to move. Then one day 6/2/16 I put it in drive after backing out of the driveway into a street, stepped on the accelerator and it would not move. It took me 3 times of putting it back in park then in drive to move at which point I drove it right to the dealership. I was told the next day that they did not know why it failed but they were going to have to replace it. I got online and saw that many other CX5 owners have had the same problem. Having the power train fail after stopping at a stop sign, a red light, or after backing out of a driveway onto a street puts the driver in a dangerous situation.

- Urbana, IL, USA

problem #23

May 132016

CX-5

  • 8,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle would not engage in drive when shifted into drive. There was a 3-5 second delay and the engine would rev, but the vehicle would not move. When the vehicle did engage in drive it would pull forward hard and clunk into gear.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #22

May 162016

CX-5

  • 600 miles
At 609 miles the car started to buck when starting to accelerate from being stopped. The car then would also shift roughly on the the highway when you hit the 25 mph mark. The car then advanced to being only able to go in reverse or first gear only from a stopped position..you could not move forward in drive. The car is currently at the dealers awaiting a new transmission.

- Southington, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #21

Apr 292016

CX-5

  • 6,632 miles
After pulling into a parking and entering parking space my wife attempted to stop car, with her foot on the brake the vehicle jerked forward jumping a parking bumper at an accelerated rate of speed. After jumping the bumper our Cx-5 headed toward two parked cars, she was able to turn the wheel to the right where she was then headed toward a crosswalk, between two parking lots, with a hand rail. The vehicle finally came to a stop after becoming wedged under the hand rail and bumping a parked car. Damage was to the R fender, front bumper and hood a total of $5,100 worth of damage. Vehicle was towed to dealer. Mazda would no look into what or why it happened, our insurance company sent out a member of their forensic group to investigate the problem. Nothing was found to be wrong at the time that he checked and could not duplicate as he could not drive the vehicle. This was our second Mazda and our last, moving on.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #20

Nov 162015

CX-5

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The same story happened on my 2016 Cx-5. I purchased my car on July 8th 2015. I only had 2000 miles on my vehicle when this happened. When at a stop light and I step on the gas to go, the car does not move and just revs very loudly. After a few seconds, the car accelerates and the car jerks pretty violently. This was very consistent on my way home from work. When I was driving up an incline, the car's timing seemed to be off as it needed to downshift but couldn't when it should have. I made it home and had to have my car towed to the Mazda dealership in irvine, ca. The dealership just told me that the car needs a brand new transmission. They do not what is the reason. And they could not tell is the repair totally fix the problem. They just did whatever Mazda told them to do. After three weeks, finally I got my Cx-5 repaid. It was a really bad experience. I don't feel safe to drive with Mazda anymore. There are more and more same cases about Cx-5 power train.further investigations are strongly needed.

- Tustin, CA, USA

problem #19

Apr 152016

CX-5

  • 17,000 miles
I was driving about 35 mph along a mountain road I drive on to commute to work, suddenly I had no forward power, it was like the car was in neutral but it was in drive. The city brake system malfunction light came on also. I was lucky in that I was able to safely pull off the road. I turned the car off and then on again but still had no forward motion however the car would operate in reverse. I did some on line research while waiting for the tow truck and discovered that my vehicle was not the only one that this had happened to. The car only had $17,000 miles on it. The dealership replaced the entire transmission but could not offer me any explanation as to what exactly went wrong with it. They said they sent the entire transmission back to Mazda. They also mentioned that mine was not the first transmission they had replaced. I am lucky that this happened in an area where I could safely pull off the road. As I stated there was no advance warning of this it just happened. In fact I had just had the vehicle at the dealership the week before for the $15,000 mile service. I would like to know what is going on with these transmissions and certainly don't feel confident driving around in my car any longer especially since the dealership could not assure me that the problem had been fixed.

- Lower Lake, CA, USA

problem #18

Apr 052016

CX-5

  • miles
Car became stuck in a single gear and would not rev higher than 2000 RPM and would not shift gears. Would not engage for a few seconds, then would lurch forward.

- Hillsborough, CA, USA

problem #17

Mar 292016

CX-5

  • 4,700 miles
Put car into reverse and all was fine. When I tried to put it into drive it wouldn't engage in drive. After a while it engaged with a hard clunk. When I drove it and would try to accelerate it was the same thing. As if the car was not shifting. This happened on both neighborhood streets and on the highway.

- Castle Rock, CO, USA

problem #16

Mar 182016

CX-5

  • 1,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased a brand new Cx-5 grand touring on Feb 14, 2016. After only 1,300 miles and about 3 weeks, my brand new vehicle decided to nearly come to a complete stop on its own after making a right turn. It was as if I had shifted the car into park while driving. Abrupt stop. Heard a couple beeps, saw a warning light come on. Driver behind me nearly rear ended me. Pulled over, turned on flashers, got my whits about me. Beeping gone. No warning lights on. Look around, foot off break, merge back onto road. Call their service department and make an appointment for next day. Drop off car, tell them what happened, ask for loaner while they are looking at it. Nope, no loaners but can arrange rental for $35/day. Tell me they can definitely find out what happened because if warning light came on it will store the event in the onboard computer. Borrow wife's car cause not willing to pay for rental. Speak with them near end if day. We couldn't find anything wrong. No stored event in onboard computer. Tell me if you cant duplicate the problem for us nothing we can do. Oh well. Take car home. Drives fine for 2 more weeks. Its now March 18, car owned about 6-weeks, with approx 1,600 miles. Damned if it doesn't do exact same thing again 3:30pm on Friday. Amazed driver behind me doesn't rear end me. This time no beeps or warning light. Major safety issue

- Tigard, OR, USA

problem #15

Feb 182016

CX-5

  • 6,314 miles
I purchased my car on Sept 10, 2015. I currently have 6,300 miles on my vehicle. When at a stop light and I step on the gas to go, the car does not move and just revs very loudly. After a few seconds, the car accelerates and the car jerks pretty violently (to the point where my head hits the back of the head rest). This was very consistent on my way home from work. When I was driving up an incline, the car's timing seemed to be off as it needed to downshift but couldn't when it should have. I made it home and had to have my car towed to the Mazda dealership in nashua, nh. Per the dealership on 2/22, the car needs a brand new transmission.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #14

Jan 152016

CX-5

  • 1,800 miles
Transmission began to fail at around 1800 miles. Car would hesitate to engage in gear from a stop, and also would just spin before engaging in a new gear on the highway. Dealer replaced transmission per Mazda recommendation. This seems to be a common complaint on this model.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #13

Jan 142016

CX-5

  • 1,600 miles
1600 miles in, transmission is being replaced by dealer. Shifting into drive, it would take 2-5 seconds to engage. Dealer indicates Mazda's solution to problem is to replace entire transmission.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #12

Jan 012016

CX-5

  • 4,000 miles
Bought 2016 Cx-5 mid-Sept, then started experiencing 5-second lags after shifting into drive in late Dec (approx 4,000 miles on vehicle). The car would hesitate and jerk, as if it had been in neutral, despite pressing down accelerator gently or fully. On new years' day the car was unreliable from a stop, even after a minute pressing accelerator in drive. 5 warning lights lit up on dash including at, engine, transaxle warning, and emergency, drive acted like neutral, so it was dangerous to cross an intersection after a stop light. Couldn't get above 2000 RPM, and that after a slow ramp-up. Still worked fine in rev which eliminated some possibilities like trans fluid. Check in with the service department of Mazda hamilton imports in NJ 609-587-7600 to find out what they had to replace!

- Princeton, NJ, USA

problem #11

Dec 032015

CX-5

  • 7,000 miles
While attempting to pull into a parking space with a 2016 Mazda Cx-5 (7000 miles) all of the warning lights on the dashboard lit up and the car started accelerating on its own (unintended acceleration). The brakes would not work! in an attempt to avoid the car parked in front of me I swerved to the right, unfortunately I hit the parked car with enough force to moved it about 12 feet forward. My vehicle continued going up an over a curbed median and finally came to rest approximately 100 feet away with enough force (brakes finally worked) to knock my glasses off as my head jerked forward. Vehicle was towed to the dealer and was examined and deemed "working as designed". supposedly, information was sent to Mazda usa engineers, the dealer states they found nothing unusual but have never given me a written report stating so even though I have requested it on multiple occasions. The dealer recommendation was to fix the damage to my car ($4400 worth) and then they would install a "special black box" and drive the vehicle for a few days. After driving the vehicle for 3 days, the dealer still says that nothing is wrong with the vehicle. We feel that Mazda Corp should take this vehicle back and inspect it thoroughly for unintended acceleration, as we do not feel comfortable driving this vehicle anymore.

- Pittsford, NY, USA

problem #10

Dec 192015

CX-5

  • miles
The transmission needed to be replaced after 1,525 miles. Today, after 1,600 miles the driver's window automatic up/down function stopped working.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #9

Dec 092015

CX-5

  • 4,500 miles
I have a 2016 Mazda Cx-5 grand touring automatic transmission. I bought it 9/28/15. Yesterday (12/9/15) with only 4500 miles on it, I started having problems with the transmission. Reverse was ok, but it was having difficulty engaging in drive. It felt like it was in neutral and wouldn't move. This would happen not only when I was starting out but while I was driving. It would slip out of gear. Even when I was driving down the highway in cruise control, the vehicle would attempt to accelerate but the engine would just wind up and it wouldn't kick in. One point I was in a parking lot trying to make a left-hand turn onto a road and when there was a break in the traffic I attempted to pull out. The car got partway onto the road and went into neutral making it impossible for me to continue across into the other lane. I was almost hit by the oncoming traffic because I was unable to move out of the way. From there I drove straight to the dealer where I had gotten the vehicle. Two men from the service garage took the car for a drive and said they were able to duplicate the problem every time. They called the Mazda hotline and were told it needed a new transmission. They gave me a loaner vehicle and are waiting for the transmission to be sent to them so it can be replaced.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #8

Nov 152015

CX-5

  • 500 miles
I have a fully loaded CX5 grand touring 2016 ---which after driving 500 miles, the transmission failed. When putting the gear in drive, the car did not move--and acted as if it was in neutral. After a bit, it would lurch forward into drive--which was scary and dangerous. My experience with the transmission is very similar to other reports on this site and should be investigated. I became stranded in a parking lot until I was able to get the car to move. I had to have it towed from my driveway since it was not safe to drive. A new transmission was ordered from Mazda and installed. I received my vehicle back after 2 weeks. After driving for a week, approximately another 200 miles, I experienced a "creaking" noise when depressing the gas pedal from a parked or stopped position. Now I am being told that the control arm has failed and has been ordered from Mazda. How could all of this be failing on a brand new car? it is very upsetting and preplexing. Please investiage what is going on here--

- Monroe, NY, USA

problem #7

Nov 182015

CX-5

  • 49,000 miles
Had fully loaded CX5 touring 4 months. Suddenly today, when I press on accelerator, car would jerk as it was attempting to drive forward. After I made it to work, left work early to go to dealership. Car would start and go into reverse, but it would not go forward in drive. Car had to be towed to dealership, where they are trying to diagnose the problem. I am really nervous that they find the problem and fix it correctly the first time. I have a 90 mile commute (round trip) on a fast moving toll road, and cannot take the chance of breaking down when I am in route.

- Arlington, TX, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?