Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,294 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Mazda MAZDA3 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Mazda MAZDA3:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Mazda MAZDA3 Owner Comments

problem #7

Jul 042010


  • 87,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Mazda3. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign id 04V468000, air bag sensor, control module was a part of his year, make and model vehicle; however, the dealer stated that it was not although it was exhibiting the identical failure. The contact stated that the light illuminated whenever was raining or wet outside. The dealer was notified but they stated that there was nothing they could do. Mazda was not contacted when the complaint was filed. The failure and current mileages were approximately 87,000.

- Tampa , FL, USA

problem #6

Mar 272009


  • 85,000 miles
Airbag/SRS light coming on intermittently. Dealer says it is not covered by NHTSA campaign id number 04V468000. Diagnosis and estimate was for a driver's side seat belt pre-tensioner and an airbag module. They quoted $818.59 parts and labor.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #5

Jun 152006

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
: the contact stated while stopped in traffic the vehicle was hit from behind pushing the contact into another vehicle. Most of the damage was done to the rear of the vehicle. The white powder from the air bag was released, however the air bags did not deploy. The seat belts were in use at the time. There were injuries sustained and a police report was filed. The crash zone sensor had been replaced by the dealership on 11-12-04, due to a recall letter received; NHTSA campaign id # 04V468000; air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module. The contact is awaiting determination from the insurance company as to the extent of the damages done; therefore the dealership has not yet been contacted about a second recall repair.

- Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA

problem #4

Jan 132006

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles


I own a 2004 Mazda 3S, VIN #[xxx]. previously, in the end of December 2005 I was hot from behind in cambridge. MA. and incurred about 700 worth of damage. My care was repaired and I picked it up on Friday January 6th, 2006. Unfortunately, I was involved in a hit and run on Friday January 13th, 2006. Exactly a week from the day I picked up my car from the auto body shop. Anyway, I was traveling at a speed of 50 miles per hour when hit from behind, which put me in a spin of about 6 360 degrees. Then, I hit the concrete barrier with the front of my car and then bounced off and did another 5 360degree turns and then the back of my car hit the concrete barrier. Unfortunately, none of my air bags were deployed, however, I did have my seat belt on and have a sore neck and head. I am feeling better, but am concerned with the fact that the air bags did not deploy in this situation. There was a recall with the front air bag sensor for my model, but apparently, my car was manufactured on 05-13-04. The manufacturing dates the recall affected were from 6-24-03 - 3-22-04. My insurance company is not being cooperative when it comes to the air bags. They are not sure if they should of deployed, but are saying that they may not have. The speed I was traveling at and the level of impact leads me to say with a high degree of confidence that the air bags, side and front should have deployed upon the impact. Please help me, as I the manufacturer is extremely unwilling to help me or provide any specification or crash test results, etc. Best regards, [xxx]; [xxx]. updated 07/17/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Beverly, MA, USA

problem #3

Apr 182005

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 15,000 miles
Involved in a head on collison on April 18 2005 air bags did not deploy have called and emails Mazda about this and they will not help me. The car was in the shop prior to the accident for the air bag lights flashing. I was traving at 25 to 30mph and the other car ( there fault ) was going about 20mph. I sufferd head, back, groin injurys. I very unhappy with the way Mazda is treating me on this!!!

- Charleston , WV, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Jun 202004

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
The advanced airbag system intermittently deactivates the passenger airbags when my wife is in the passenger seat. She is 5'0" and weighs 95 pounds. We purchased the car in part because of its safety features. We have brought the car in to the dealer twice, both times we were told it is simply the way the airbag sensor is designed, and that it is because her weight is right on the borderline for the sensor. Mazda corporate headquarters told us the same thing and told us that we could not have the sensor adjusted. My research tells me that my wife would be much safer in a crash with airbag protection, despite her small size. As it is now, it is unpredictable whether the airbag will be active or not at any given time -- it may go on when going up a hill and off when going down the hill. This seems obviously unsafe. I believe it is a design flaw and should be corrected.

- San Rafael, CA, USA

problem #1

Apr 052004

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,057 miles
While driving the (crs) light appeared on the dashboard and remained on. The driver was able to drive the vehicle to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic replaced an air bag sensor. One month later the sensor failed again which caused the crs light to illuminated. The dealer replaced it with a revised air bag sensor.

- New York, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?