Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Except for a minor issue with cracked motor mounts, the 2006 MAZDA3 is a fantastic vehicle with a great reputation.

If you need to replace the motor mounts, first ask your dealer if they'll cover it -- the motor mounts were dealt with in a TSB & were recalled for some model years. Otherwise buy aftermarket motor mounts -- owners report this solves the problem. If you use the same OEM parts, they may just crack again.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,562 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Mazda MAZDA3 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Mazda MAZDA3:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Mazda MAZDA3 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Nov 302015


  • 115,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Mazda Mazda3. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to steer the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 115,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Belair Bluff, FL, USA

problem #23

Aug 212015


  • 35,180 miles
Part 2 -(cont.) re: Complaint filed on 8/21/15 (arfc/NHTSA id no: 10750380) (denise from arfc ref no: 902722). Letters from my vehicle manufacturer providing necessary repair information etc. I am adding these complaints to my existing complaint, as during my initial diagnostic report, dated 8/24/15, I faxed and mailed to you, it states how my vehicle's air bag crash sensor is not working and is in the wrong position, which I had to decline to have fixed, as I am financially unavailable to pay for the repair cost. I feel this issue should also be addressed and covered as soon as possible due to the alarming above-mentioned E-mails I had received and believe that those issues are clearly related. And 3. (part 1) re: Unknown/or other: As a result of having my power steering issue repaired (initial complaint), I was told after the repair by a Mr. Carleton at Liberty Mazda, wakefield, MA, that when my right directional signal is turned on, it now continuously clicks extremely fast (code B2899 rt directional - est for directional wiring to just start to locate the issue is listed on the submitted diagnostic report is $220) but that it shouldn't effect me getting a new car inspection sticker or anything, so I had to decline fixing due to cost. (this issue is also included in the original diagnostic report as well, that I have faxed and mailed to you.) I am also unable to afford to have this issue fixed as well, and for the fact that this problem did not exist at all before I originally brought my vehicle in to have the power steering fixed and this issue appeared after that, this should be covered in full and fixed by manufacturer; 3. (part 2.) continuous issue beginning roughly 3-4 weeks of purchase (bought brand new, not used): Clock in vehicle is set to the proper time, but will only last a month maybe at very most before it changes auto and displays a random time.

- Malden, MA, USA

problem #22

Aug 212015


  • 35,180 miles
Part 1 - 1. re: Complaint filed on 8/21/15 (arfc/NHTSA id no: 10750380) (denise from arfc ref no: 902722). As per instruction, I brought my car to an official, authorized repair Mazda dealer on 8/24/15 (Liberty Mazda, wakefield, MA) for a diagnostic report to be done, which was completed. After the diagnostic report was completed, I kept my vehicle there for repair of the power steering completely not working. I faxed and mailed to the NHTSA, the diagnostic report, the total invoice of repair, proof of payment in full, as well as 3-4 more documents provided by Liberty Mazda, and I have not yet received any update as of yet. I was told that due to my low mileage, many other complaints by 2006 Mazda 3 owners for the same issue have been filed, as well as the fact that this clearly is a "safety-related defect in the vehicle or equipment" (direct quote from under "when is a recall necessary?, page 6 out of 20) was told that reimbursement for this costly repair would be issued by recall or by warranty due to my low mileage. Also quoting from under "examples of defects considered safety-related", (page 7 out of 20), which states "steering components that break suddenly causing partial or complete loss of vehicle control.", I absolutely feel that this reimbursement issue be addressed to me as soon as possible. 2. re: Air bags: I received an email from U.S. dot NHTSA, dated Friday, 1/08/16 stating my car make/model/year may be involved in a safety recall based on NHTSA campaign id no: 15V869; subject: Passenger air bag inflators may rupture. I then received another email on 2/6/16 stating my car make/model/year may be involved in another safety recall: Manufacturer: Mazda North american operations; make / model years : Mazda / 2004-2006, subject: Driver side air bag frontal inflator may rupture.. and I have yet to receive any separate

- Malden, MA, USA

problem #21

Jun 052015


  • 35,162 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Mazda 3. the contact stated that the power steering warning light flashed and remained lit. The contact stated that the steering wheel was tight and extremely difficult to turn left or right. The last time the failure occurred, the steering wheel locked and was not able to be driven. The vehicle was parked at the contact's residence due to the failure. The vehicle was not inspected or diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,162. Updated 1/19/16

- Malden, MA, USA

problem #20

Dec 042014

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Car stalled while driving, lost power cant turn the wheel.

- Celebration , FL, USA

problem #19

Jan 132014

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Power steering seems to quit - power steering warning light comes on. Since we were on a freeway, it was some time before we could get off the road. Steering was available, but very stiff. We turned of the engine and got power steering back/warning light off. Since then the power steering will "fail" (get stiff) as we are driving down the road. What would happen, if we were on a mountain road on a steep curve? we do not find Mazda's little film on what to do if this problem to "fix" the problem. Mazda needs to recall cars with this problem!! I am told the repair would likely run $1,400 to fix, wow! not sure I will buy another Mazda, if this is not resolved.

- Silver City, NM, USA

problem #18

Mar 162014

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 114,500 miles


Over the past 2 weeks, my power steering goes out intermittently and the power steering indicator light on the dash turns on. The loss of power steering lasts for anywhere from 5 seconds to 5 minutes, and typically resolves when braking and/or turning and speed is reduced to below 20 mph. The power steering loss has occurred at a variety of speeds, ranging from 25 to 70 mph, and has led to a jerking of the wheel and a potentially very dangerous situation on the freeway. On average it occurs about once or twice per day, so roughly every 20-30 miles on average. I have seen other similar reports of this problem for 2006 Mazda3's, and a recall for the 2007-2009 models. Therefore I am hopeful that 2006 Mazda3S will be included in the recall as well to avoid potentially dangerous situations. I am the second owner of this car, and purchased it with about 42,000 miles.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #17

Mar 042014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mazda Mazda3. The contact stated that the power steering assist failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the power steering module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN was not available.

- Waltham, MA, USA

problem #16

Jul 062012

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
While I was driving on 101N, I saw the power steering light illuminating. Steering wheel felt stiff and I have to fight it to keep the car in control while I was making a turn at 45mi/hr. I have experience this issue over 20 time now. On 12/7/12 this issue occurred so many times that I had to park my car at a random shopping center and have a friend pick me up. Unfortunately when I called the dealer, they told me that its not a similar issue as the 07-9 model, so they have to charge me a $150 diagnostics fee. I am currently at 94,385 miles and my extended coverage also expired. Based on my research it will be an expensive repair, somewhere close to 1700-2000. I'm not sure if Mazda going to do anything about this issue, but id like my voice to be heard.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #15

Nov 082012


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mazda Mazda3. While driving approximately 30 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The contact depressed the brake pedal but the brakes would not respond. The vehicle suddenly stalled while making a left turn. The failure recurred intermittently. The contact stopped the vehicle in a parking area and after restarting the vehicle, the steering and brakes responded. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #14

Jun 052012


  • 75,000 miles


On numerous occasions the power steering in my 2006 Mazda 3S will fail. Sometimes if I turn the engine off and then back on, the power steering will work again. Most times I have to fight it with no power steering. My research online indicates that I am hardly the only one experiencing this issue. On a Mazda 3 forum from toronto they state that the supposed protective coating on the inside of the brake lines has flaked away and clogs the power steering pump which then begins to overheat and hence it shuts down. Mazda has owned up to the 2007-2009 models having this problem but, according to the local Mazda stealership, they have not heard of the 2006 model having this issue. This is a safety issue and Mazda needs to take responsibility for this. I thought Mazda stood for quality, apparently not. At this time I will not buy another Mazda product because of the way they are ignoring this issue.

- Tooele, UT, USA

problem #13

Jul 192012

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
I was parallel parking and my wheel stiffened up. I turned off my engine and turned it back on. I then had to power my wheel from that point forward. I tried putting power steering fluid in and that did not work. I went to a mechanic and he said that I need a new power steering pump. This issue is very similar to the recall that was put on Mazda 3's for 2007-2009 models.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #12

May 142012

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 129,000 miles
Five times in the last month I have experienced problems when making left turns. The power steering momentarily shuts off, and the radio/electrical system shuts off momentarily as well. On one occasion the engine also shut off momentarily (for about one full second). When this happens, I feel a complete loss of control over the vehicle. Two different independent mechanics told me that they could not fix the problem and the Mazda dealership refuses to diagnose the problem without charging me because the problem is not a recall, and the car is not under warranty. There is a recall for a very similar issue with the 2007 model of Mazda 3S, but the 2006 models are not included in that recall.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #11

May 012012


  • 62,853 miles
The contact owns 2006 Mazda Mazda3. The contact was driving 40 mph when the radio began powering on and off independently and the steering wheel seized. The failure corrected itself shortly after. The vehicle was then taken to the dealer for diagnosis but the dealer stated there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted and they stated there was nothing they could do to assist the contact. The failure mileage was 62,853 and the current mileage was 64,000.

- Boston , MA, USA

problem #10

Mar 262012

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • miles
While driving my 2006 Mazda 3 at about 70 mph, I noticed my radio turning on and off several times. Next my "check engine, "battery" and "power steering" lights came on. I felt the steering wheel get stiff, when I tried to switch lanes, it became apparent I had lost the power steering. I began to slow down and started to merge over to the right to exit on the next available exit. I was nearly struck by an big rig as I was not able to steer clear of its path fast enough. As I began to exit, the steering wheel felt extremely stiff. I pulled in to a corporate park complex, while the car was still on, I popped the hood and did not notice any fluid levels being low. I drove the car a couple of blocks and pulled in to a gas station with better lighting. I once again popped the hood, but turned the car off....once low fluids. I proceeded to back inside the car, I turned the ignition and discovered none of the "indicator lights" being turned on. I moved the steering wheel left and longer stiff. I drove the car home and parked it.

- Norwalk, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 062012

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
Two loss of power steering incidents in the past two weeks. I am the second owner and purchased in November 2011. The first incident occurred in my parking garage at school after I had turned left into the garage. Could not turn the wheel at all, fortunately there was an empty space directly in front of me. Car sat for a few hours and then drove fine. A week later driving thru an alley at about 10 - 15 mph lost steering again, this time had it towed to a local repair shop. They cannot find a thing wrong calling it a very "unique and strange" issue. Started doing some research on the internet and we found the recall on the 2007+ Mazda 3. called Mazda today, while they created a file # for my complaint they basically said that there were no "reported incidents" on this vehicle year, claiming not to know of the 2006 having any similar problems to the 2007+ recalled models and is not a recall issue. How many owners must risk driving under these conditions before Mazda must do something about it?!

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #8

Oct 032011

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
I have a 2006 Mazda 3 with approximately 53,000 miles. While I am driving on the road, the radio will suddenly turn off, the power steering light comes up on the dash, and then the power steering completely fails. Sometimes, the power steering light comes on, but then doesn't shut off. It wasn't too frequent at first, but on some days, it will happen everytime I drive somewhere. It usually occurs early in the drive. Once I turn off the engine and restart, it usually resets and my car is fine. I have seen the recalls for the 2007 Mazda 3 models, but I think my car should also belong in this too. Please help. The mechanics have been unable to detect the problem.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #7

Sep 162011

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 84,300 miles
While making a right or left turn there is a temporary loss of power steering causing the car to almost veer into on-coming traffic because the steering efford increases significantly. This has happened several times. I have noticed no fault lights in the instrument pannel when this occurs. The steering loss appears to occur at random and sporatically.

- Dike, IA, USA

problem #6

Jun 252010


  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mazda Mazda3. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the power steering failed. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred a total of four times. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who replaced the top module but did not correct the failure. The dealer then advised that the connectors were corroded and in order to remedy the issue, they cleaned all of the lines. The third time they replaced the top module again and most recently, the dealer decided to replace the power steering pump. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was out of warranty. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 35,000 and current mileage was 44,000. Updated 07/20/11 the consumer stated the pump was replaced three times, the lines were flushed and the connectors were cleaned. The dealer covered the repairs under a recall that was issued for the 2007-2009 models. Updated 08/19/11

- Bedminster, NJ, USA

problem #5

Feb 102011


  • 58,000 miles
First incident was about 1 month ago, while turning at a slow rate of speed the radio went out, the power steering went out, and the steering light on the panel lit up. Everything came back within about 5 seconds. This started happening more frequently, and yesterday it happened nine times in the span of a 13 mile drive. Took the vehicle to our regular mechanic and he said that the power steering pump needs to be replaced. I find it strangely coincidental that the 2007-2009 makes of this vehicle were all recalled for this very same reason.

- Renton, WA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?