Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,286 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Mazda MAZDA3 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Mazda MAZDA3:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Mazda MAZDA3 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Jul 252015

MAZDA3

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the highway I heard a loud clatter like a rock in the wheel well and the saw something bounce out from the side of my car. Moments later the car began to shake and veer to the left. I was able to move over and pull of to the side of the highway to find that my valve stem on my wheel had lost the nut holding it in place so that the valve fell into the tire leaving a large hole. After having the tire replaced (it was destroyed) I saw that the valve (which was part of the TPMS) was corroded and could be easily snapped in half. Another of these valves had failed four months prior so I think this is a common problem. Mazda refuses to believe there is anything wrong with their part and suggests that I continue to drive with the remaining sensors.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #28

Dec 112014

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 67,240 miles
While driver was backing car out of a parking space, the right front control arm that holds the right front wheel and axle broke in two, totally disabling the car. According to law enforcement personnel, had this occurred on the road, the following scenario would have taken place: The right front wheel slammed to the ground, the left control arm would have over-compensated and caused vehicle to swerve suddenly into the left lane, going into a skid and then flipping end-over-end through traffic, killing the driver and occupants of this car and causing a multi-car pile-up. Upon examination of the broken control arm, it was determined that this part, factory original, was made of welded metal, an inherently dangerous concept, since welded metal is weaker than a solid piece of steel. Obviously, Mazda cares more about cost-cutting than the safety of its customers. Upon contacting Mazda, their answer: Powertrain warranty (that would not include this part) was expired; Mazda refused to accept any responsibility for this poor design.

- Clyde, NC, USA

problem #27

Apr 292014

MAZDA3

  • miles
2009 Mazda3. Consumer writes in regards to a defect on the steering wheel. The consumer stated it appeared to be a defect with the steering wheel. There appeared to be gaps developing on either side of the steering wheel hub. The center panel where the horn and air bag were located. The gaps were becoming increasingly wider to the point where she could actually see mechanisms through the gap. The consumer was concerned, because the hub seemed to be detaching and she feared in the event of an accident, the air bag would not deploy, or inadvertently deploy. The dealer insisted it was a common cosmetic issue describing it as trim deterioration.

- Carmel, NY, USA

problem #26

Mar 072014

MAZDA3

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Mazda, Mazda3. The contact stated that while traveling 25 mph, the power steering failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the motor mount and power steering line needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, who stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 10V374000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 89,000.

- Wallingford , CT, USA

problem #25

Nov 132013

MAZDA3

  • 99,418 miles
This has happened 4 times now since I bought the car this summer. I all of a sudden lose steering control (feel like it has stalled but it hasn't) this lasts for a few seconds and continues on with normal steering.....but very hard to even pull over when this happens. I have asked the dealership if they have heard of this and they say no---say I have to pay 150 to get it checked (that will come out of my pocket-and as a single mom-I can't do that)---from what I have read on here sounds exactly like it should be a recall on it: Search results report date :January 4, 2014 at 12:37 am NHTSA campaign id number :10V374000 vehicle make / model: Model year(s): Mazda / Mazda3 2007-2009 Mazda / mazda5 2007-2009 manufacturer: Mazda motor corpreport receipt date: Aug 12, 2010 NHTSA campaign id number: 10V374000nhtsa action number: PE10021 component: Steering:electric power assist system potential number of units affected: 215,000 summary: Mazda is recalling certain model year 2007-2009 Mazda3 and mazda5 vehicles manufactured from April 2, 2007 through November 30, 2008. These vehicles may have a condition in which a sudden loss of power steering assist could occur at any time while driving the vehicle. Consequence: Power steering assist is suddenly lost reducing the driver's ability to steer the vehicle as typically expected, and increasing the risk of a crash. Remedy: Mazda will notify owners, and dealers will replace the power steering pump and lines free of charge. The safety recall began on September 15, 2010. Owners may contact Mazda customer assistance center at 1-800-222-5500. Notes: This is not my actual address below-but it would not let me enter in a Canadian postal code and city (which is in abbotsford, bc V3G 3E3 and sumas is closest to us.

- Sumas, WA, USA

problem #24

May 232013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mazda Mazda3. The contact stated that the steering failed without warning and the power steering light illuminated after the failure. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer but was told that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA recall campaign id number: 10V374000 (steering). The failure and current mileages were 57,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #23

Jun 162012

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 41,229 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering indicator light was illuminated after coming to a stop on a hot day. I immediately pulled off the road, placed the car in park, and then turned off the car. The light went away, and the car's power steering was restored. I the proceeded down the road and the light illuminated and I lost power steering again - this time while moving. Luckily I was able to stop the vehicle and repeated this process. As of now, I've been having to repeat this process when it is hot outside.

- Dublin, CA, USA

problem #22

Jun 162012

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 41,229 miles
Power steering indicator light was illuminated after coming to a stop on a hot day. I immediately pulled off the road, placed the car in park, and then turned off the car. The light went away, and the car's power steering was restored. I the proceeded down the road and the light illuminated and I lost power steering again - this time while moving. Luckily I was able to stop the vehicle and repeated this process. As of now, I've been having to repeat this process when it is hot outside.

- Dubling, CA, USA

problem #21

Mar 152011

MAZDA3

  • 35,000 miles
Mazda3 hatchback 2009. The power steering light was on first time around 15000 miles. After that everything was fine and I got mail from Mazda3 said this car need a recall for power steering issue. I returned the car to dealer around 36000 miles and thought everything is good. However, started from this Jun, the car became much worst. It would automatically shut off during driving and the situation happened often. I even video record the incident for the dealer. I returned my car to dealer once every month from Jun, this is the 3rd time. I guess the dealer don't know here is the problem is. It is very dangerous. Happened to my once in the exit of highway, once when I turn right in the middle of intersection. Note: Before it shut off, every indicator light will turn on.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #20

May 012011

MAZDA3

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mazda, Mazda3. The contact stated a loud squeaking noise was coming from the steering column. The vehicle was not taken to an authorized dealer to have the failure diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, and advised to take the vehicle to a dealer to have the failure diagnosed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where power steering fluid was added to the vehicle. The failure continued. The failure mileage was 67,000 and the current mileage was 67,497.

- Tyler Town, MS, USA

problem #19

Jul 152010

MAZDA3

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 Mazda 3 gr touring has twice lost power steering assist. First: When idling on very hot day. Restarting the car restored power. Second, while idling in traffic jam on pa turnpike. Restarting did not restore power. The car was very difficult to steer. I'm a healthy man and I managed to get it into the service plaza. After sitting, power assist came back. I'm not an optimist about getting dealers to fix intermittent problems. I never took the car in. In my opinion, the car is only capable of mild and minimal steering during this failure. Mazda's statement that it poses no safety problem is wrong. It would be impossible to maneuver this car quickly under this failure.

- Kennett Square, PA, USA

problem #18

May 312010

MAZDA3

  • 18,000 miles
1. I was stuck in a traffic jam in May 31st and when I had to turn after a while, it was obvious that the power steering was no longer working. 2. this was the only time the power steering failed, it failed until I parked the car about 1/2 hour later. When I started the car again, the power steering worked fine. It has worked fine since then. 3. no repairs have been done. The car is a 2009 Mazda 3, 4-door, TR ve.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #17

Jul 182010

MAZDA3

  • 23,000 miles
On a few separate occasions (approximately three) during especially hot weather, the power steering has failed while driving my 2009 Mazda 3. one especially concerning instance occurred while driving on a highway in very heavy traffic. Each time I have pulled over, shut the car off, and turned it back on, following the instructions in the owner's manual. This has been successful for the most part. However, on one occasion, which occurred in 100+ degree weather, the power steering did not return and the car had to be left in a parking structure to cool down. I have an appointment at the local Mazda dealership to have this issue addressed and ultimately corrected.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 142010

MAZDA3

  • 21,100 miles
Power steering has failed on my 2009 Mazda 3 GT sport in 2 incidents - July 14, 2010 and August 11, 2010. In both cases, the power steering light came on and it was difficult to maneuver the car. Once I shut off the vehicle and restarted, the power steering light was no longer lit and the power steering was operational again.

- Edmonton, 00, USA

problem #15

Aug 022010

MAZDA3

  • 33,681 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mazda, Mazda3. The contact was driving approximately 65 mph on the highway, proceeded into the left lane and the vehicle unexpectedly swayed from the left to right direction without engaging the steering wheel. In addition, the engine exhibited a loud roaring noise. The contact was able to gain steering control and continued. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the two front wheel ball bearings were replaced. The noise stopped after the repair was performed on the vehicle. The contact drove at low speeds to avoid the unintended swaying movement of the vehicle. The failure mileage was 33,681.

- New Britain, CT, USA

problem #14

Jul 022010

MAZDA3

  • 22,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mazda3. While driving 5 mph the contact noticed that the power steering had suddenly stop functioning causing the contact to crash into a nearby pole, seconds later, the contact noticed that the power steering warning light had appeared on the dashboard. No one was injured and a police report was not filed for the incident. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the vehicle was performing normally. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages was 22500.

- Waynesville, OH, USA

problem #13

Jul 162010

MAZDA3

  • 6,500 miles
While turning into a parking lot, loss of steering power occurred when turning quickly in the each/opposite direction. Loss of power indicator light was on. Car was restarted and resumed normalcy. Mazda dealership (dennis dillon, boise, id) was called the next day, and they wanted to immediately look at the car. The technician acknowledged that this may be an ongoing problem, and was familiar with similar issues with this model. Parts were ordered (steering hoses, assembly, etc.), and service completed within 3 days.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #12

Jul 172010

MAZDA3

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
(2009 Mazda 3I touring value automatic transmission) the temperature was about 94 degrees outside, I was driving on a sidestreet, going no more than 25 mph, the steering wheel got harder to turn & then I noticed the dashboard light up with the power steering icon.

- Signal Hill, CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 152010

MAZDA3

  • 42,319 miles
When sitting at a traffic light in my 2009 Mazda3 4-door sedan, the power steering suddenly and unexpectedly stopped working. The warning light came on (a yellow steering wheel indicator with an exclamation point). I was able to drive home with much effort to make turns. Parked car in garage. 5 minutes later returned to check it again. Started car and power steering was functional again.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #10

Jul 122010

MAZDA3

  • 36,100 miles
While making a right turn in my 2009 Mazda 3, the power steering failed. The steering wheel stiffened up severely and I had to pull over to restore the power steering. A mile up the road, the same thing happened while driving straight.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?