Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,946 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Mazda MAZDA3 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Mazda MAZDA3:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Mazda MAZDA3 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

May 182014

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 39,078 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In the Mazda 3, the TPMS sensor is connected to the air valve. The TPMS sensors break easily, causing the tire to deflate. If the outside part of the TPMS sensor breaks from corrosion or being hit against a curb, the tire will deflate. I have had 3 TPMS sensors break since I had the car, which has only been 4 years (approx 39,000 miles), and is expensive to replace. My tires are less than 3 years old. The part of the TPMS exposed on the outside will corrode, and if the outside part breaks off, your tires deflate. This is a common problem for Mazda owners. These things break and then cause a flat, leaving the driver in a possible emergency situation. The reason for the TPMS sensor is so drivers don't have blow outs, but the emergency light is very nonspecific, so the only way you know what the problem is when the flat has already occurred, which is unnecessarily caused by the TPMS sensor. This latest incident involved me stranded in the country, yet another TPMS sensor replacement ($200 approx), a new tire, and an alignment - almost $500 total. If the TPMS sensor hadn't broken, the flat would not have occurred at all.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #24

Apr 292014

MAZDA3

  • 51,850 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mazda 3. the contact stated while driving various speeds, the TPMS light illuminated. The contact stated that the failure was experienced multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 51,850.

- Reading, MA, USA

problem #23

Jan 222014

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Tire pressure gauge broke off, resulting in sudden loss of tire pressure and the need to suddenly slow and pull over. After taking it into be serviced, the Mazda dealer says all four are corroded, and need to be replaced. At 4 years and less than 40,000 miles, this seems clearly like a potential safety problem with the car in general.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #22

Feb 202014

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 70,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear tire was flat in the morning. Could not find visible damage. Pumped it up to 32 psi and by next morning it was 20 psi. Three days later, a front tire was flat. No noticeable damage, but did notice a cracked tire stem on a third tire. Went to a tire dealer to get repairs. Was informed that three of my four tire pressure monitor sensors were leaking. Had all four replaced at my expense. I do not believe this is a safety improvement over not having the sensors which are now required by law.

- Oak Ridge, NC, USA

problem #21

Jan 072014

MAZDA3

  • 15,850 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mazda Mazda3. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, she heard an unusual noise outside of the vehicle. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road to inspect the vehicle. The contact noticed the driver's side rear tire pressure monitor sensor was faulty and caused the tire to deflate. The tire was replaced with a spare tire. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for repair. The contact wanted to include that if she were traveling at greats speeds the failure could have been hazardous. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 15,850.

- Parma Heights, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

Jun 092013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
June 9th 2013, vehicle experienced loss of inflation pressure in passenger front tire while driving. Dealership confirmed TPMS valve seal failure was root cause of air loss. Check of other tpm sensors confirmed driver side front seal was also defective and leaking small amounts of air. Both replaced under warranty with dealer indicating this as a known issue. September 16th 2013 passenger rear tire experienced airloss while driving vehicle. Dealer investigation confirmed tpm valve failure. Part not covered under warranty or dealer goodwill. Failure of safety-critical part after ~3 years of field exposure is not acceptable.

- Mt. Juliet, TN, USA

problem #19

Aug 162013

MAZDA3

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Mazda, Mazda3. The contact stated that while having the vehicle serviced, the technician advised that the motor mount was cracked and needed to be replaced. Also, the contact mentioned that the front driver's side tire went flat with the illumination of the tire sensor warning light. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the tire sensors were corroded and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 76,000.

- Lake Telemark , NJ, USA

problem #18

Jul 182013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 45,800 miles
Within 2 days of driving, my Mazda 3 had two separate incidents, where the valves of the tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS) failed, on two separate tires. On Monday, July 18, 2013 while traveling at highway speed on rt. 25 in bourne, MA, the tire pressure warning light came on. I stopped at the nearest gas station. The driver's front tire was very flat. When I attempted to fill it with air, the valve pushed into the tire. Luckily, I was at a gas station and they were able to repair the tire with "standard" (non-TPMS) valve and I was on my way. As I was on vacation. I parked the car for a week. When I returned to my car (July 22), I drove the car for about 50 miles. I stopped to have lunch and noticed that the driver's side rear tire was very flat. When I attempted to put air into the valve, it too pushed into the tire. That is two TPMS valves that failed in two days of driving. I called Mazda customer service (800-222-5500, ext. 6) explained the situation to jose (ext. 1180). He was sympathetic, but would not commit to Mazda repairing the TPMS valve at no cost to me. I am having my mechanic put in non-TPMS valves in the remaining two tires on the car, as I feel they are a real safety hazard. I will not drive the car until it is repaired. I went on to the internet and there are numerous instances of valve failures on Mazda3 cars (). I plan to take the failed components to wellsley Mazda, in wellsley MA where the vehicle was purchased, for evaluation. I do not trust the reliability of the tmps system in my Mazda3, and apparently there are others who feel the same. The failure of the TPMS valves is a serious safety issue and one that the NHTSA should consider investigating. Tire failure at highway speed can lead to very serious accidents.

- Chelmsford, MA, USA

problem #17

Jul 252013

MAZDA3

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mazda3. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the rear passenger's side tire went flat with the illumination of the tire sensor warning light. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis where it was stated that the tire sensors were corroded. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Steerling , OH, USA

problem #16

Mar 152013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I have a 2010 Mazda 3, I have had issues with the tire pressure sensor corroding and causing the tire to lose air quickly. This has happen to me twice within 6 months of each other. I took the other two tire sensors off, which they were also corroded. This issue needs to be addressed as quickly as possible, I got lucky that I wasn't traveling at high speeds at the time my pressure in my tires went out. Also at the time I had two children under the age of 5 in the car which thank goodness nothing happen to them! this could very easily cause someone to loose control and wreck their car and cause serious injuries.

- Sterling, OH, USA

problem #15

Jul 112013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Only owner of a 2010 Mazda 3. issues with car since purchasing. Replaced tires in winter of 2012, few weeks later tire pressure light came on. Filled tires with air. Few weeks later, same occurrence. Brought car to the place were the tires were professionally installed. The inspected over all 4 tires and found that 2 of the 4 tire stems needed to be replaced. Called Mazda Corp and they stated the car needed to go to a dealership to be diagnosed. ( for leaking tire stems ). called my local Mazda where the car was purchased, they were great and said they wouldn't charge a fee to diagnose leaking stems as it was obvious. They did find that 2 of the 4 were broken. 1 was actually snapped in half. No driver error noted, or damage to rim. If you google this issue there are other complaints out there regarding this, but Mazda still wont recognize this as a safety issue. My question being... what if the stems failed at a high rate of speed "??"

- Port Jervis, NY, USA

problem #14

Jul 092013

MAZDA3

  • 32,750 miles
TPMS alerted driver to low air pressure in a tire. Checked tire, pressure low (subsequently found screw in tire). Once air nozzle place on valve stem, it snapped in half and all the air immediately went out of the tire. Others checked and are corroded and brittle. Dealer and local auto mechanic both stated likely to happen again without warning. Materials used in the valve stem should be changed to make them flexible, like the older ones without the monitoring system. Replaced valve stem with $5 stem of flexible material to prevent safety issue in the future.

- Winthrop, MA, USA

problem #13

Jul 132013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The documented date above (07/13/13) is my most recent incident with my valve stem/tire pressure monitoring system falling off while driving. In June 2012 with ~34,000 miles, while driving on the highway, my first valve stem/TPMS fell out, not being able to drive on that wheel (no air), and the wheel could no longer be used until I had a Mazda dealer replace the part. This was a very dangerous experience for my tire to suddenly deflate while moving at fast speeds. This was fixed under my almost terminated warranty. One month later, the valve stem/TPMS on another wheel came off while driving and this had to be replaced like the other one. Most recently, my third wheel tpmsensor went while also driving on the highway, vigilantly maintaining control on my vehicle until I could pull off the highway. This trend shows a huge safety issue/inadequate parts used during construction. There is no prescribed care for these parts in the Mazda owners manual nor is there anyway to know that these would malfunction until they did. 3 out of 4 is unacceptable and unsafe and should show a trend. When I called Mazda, they told me that the cost of this recent repair was mine because the vehicle, now at ~55,000 miles was no longer under warranty. These parts were dysfunctional from the beginning and should have all been replaced at my first incident if this was to happen again, and again. I am nervous that this could happen to my fourth wheel while driving, potentially causing an accident.

- Wakefield, MA, USA

problem #12

Jun 222013

MAZDA3

  • 49,000 miles
Tire pressure monitoring system sensor failed causing the tire to blowout and go flat on the highway. The stem of the sensor was corroded which caused the incident.

- Quincy , MA, USA

problem #11

Jun 082013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mazda Mazda 3. the contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the tire pressure warning light illuminated. The contact inspected the vehicle and noticed that the rear passenger's side valve stem and sensor was corroded. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the valve stem was replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Bayville, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jun 012013

MAZDA3

  • 51,546 miles
My tire pressure light was on, I stopped at the gas station to put some air in and as I removed the plastic valve cap the valve cracked and broke off leaving me with a flat tire.

- Pawtucket, RI, USA

problem #9

Apr 092013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mazda Mazda3. The contact stated that the rear tire pressure sensors failed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and it was found that the inside of the valve stems had rusted. The dealer determined that the valve stem needed to be replaced with a rubber stem instead of a metal one to prevent rust. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was not available. The current mileage was 27,000.

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #8

May 062013

MAZDA3

  • 69,500 miles
On or about 4/24/2012, I had to purchase a new set of four tires at the Firestone dealership on route 36, West long branch, NJ 732-542-0995. Please also note I had my Mazda 3I for only a little over 2 years at that time. Within the last year, I have already had to replace two of those tires due to leaks/blowouts. Upon taking my car back to the self-same Firestone dealership in West long branch, NJ for closer inspection, ed gonzalez, the manager, indicated to me that the tire valve stem on the tire most recently "deceased" (left rear) had actually fallen out of the tire and into the wheel well without ever being touched by anyone previously (I have photos of defective stems. Upon closer inspection, the tire valve stem in the right rear tire is also defective to the eye. I have both defective stems and [xxx] will attest-in writing-to the fact that they are both defective-and the original, factory-installed tire valve stems that I received on my Mazda 3I in February, 2010. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Neptune, NJ, USA

problem #7

Apr 262013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Checking tire pressure in driveway and TPMS sensor - tire valve cracked and failed in 3 of 4 tires/wheels. Two today, and the first approx. 3 months ago. Imagine what could happen if one of these valves failed while. Driving down the highway.

- Milford, MI, USA

problem #6

Mar 052013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mazda Mazda3. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the tire pressure warning lamp illuminated and after inspecting the left rear tire, the contact noticed that the sleeve for the tire pressure sensor was corroded. The contact also noticed that both of the rear and the passenger side tire pressure sensor sleeves had developed cracks. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician verified that the sensors were defective and corroded the inside of the tire. As a result, all four sensors and one of the tires needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 58,000.

- Middleville , NY, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?