Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,049 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Mazda MAZDA5 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Mazda MAZDA5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Mazda MAZDA5 Owner Comments

problem #14

Jul 062016

MAZDA5

  • 147,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have 2007 Mazda 5 and power steering is just quitting at times. No warning, this steering light on the dsh comes on and the power steering seems to completely stop. Mostly happened while vehicle was stationary but did once while turning onto a road driving 45 mph with kids in the car. Very dangerous! can not let wife drive a car that power steering just quits out of the blue! I have seen there is a recall on this but Mazda sites all say there is no recall for this VIN"? maybe they already did the recall and it is having issue again"

- Chillicothe, OH, USA

problem #13

Mar 202016

MAZDA5

  • 67,189 miles
While driving, steering suddenly with out warning became extremely difficult and hazardous to drive. Did not feel safe driving and then power steering light came on. This was driving on the street, while turning and driving... I assume this is the power steering and also seemed to be electric because of lights deeming on radio...unknown.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #12

Feb 022016

MAZDA5

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Mazda 5. when the contact attempted to park the vehicle, the steering wheel seized. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The failure recurred. In addition, while exiting the ramp, the vehicle accelerated and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 107,000.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #11

Jan 082016

MAZDA5

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I called Mazda's 1 800-222-5500 twice about the power steering issue on my car even after providing the info from the NHTSA site: Report receipt date: Aug 12, 2010 NHTSA campaign number: 10V374000 component(s): Steering but they insisted that based on the car's VIN, no recall is effective ("?") I'm concerned and can't drive my car after an incident when the steering wheel suddenly stiffened. More so since roads are icy this time of year. If the manufacturer is liable, I would rather have them shoulder the expense for the fix. Would appreciate a fast reaction into this issue.

- Maple Valley, WA, USA

problem #10

Dec 152015

MAZDA5

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Mazda 5. while driving approximately 5 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning indicator illuminated for three seconds. The power steering warning indicator turned off and the steering resumed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 10V374000 (steering). The failure mileage was approximately 110,000. Updated 03/10/16

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #9

Oct 012015

MAZDA5

  • 106,000 miles
An issue occurs with the power steering assist, the power steering malfunction warning light will illuminate, and the car will require more physical effort to steer. This happens in very unsafe conditions while driving. I then turn the car off and I am able to steer again for about 2-3 min before this happens again. I called Mazda and they are saying my VIN is not part of the recall #60108 when clearly this is the same problem that the Mazda were having with 2007/08 models. I've called Mazda and they will not honor this recall.

- Norwich, CT, USA

problem #8

Nov 072014

MAZDA5 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Mazda will not include my vehicle in this recall below because it was mfr 07/2006 and sold as a 2007: 2010-08-13 (published by NHTSA on 2010-08-13) recall summary: Mazda is recalling certain model year 2007-2009 mazda3 and Mazda5 vehicles manufactured from April 2, 2007 through November 30, 2008. These vehicles may have a condition in which a sudden loss of power steering assist could occur at any time while driving the vehicle.hazard: Power steering assist is suddenly lost reducing the driver's ability to steer the vehicle as typically expected, and increasing the risk of a crash.remedy:Mazda will notify owners, and dealers will replace the power steering pump and lines free of charge. The safety recall began on September 15, 2010. Owners may contact Mazda customer assistance center at 1-800-222-5500. Additional info: Owners may also contact the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's vehicle safety hotline at 1-888-327-4236 (tty 1-800-424-9153), or go to www.safercar.gov. NHTSA source: www-ODI.NHTSA.dot.gov/recalls/recallresults.cfm?start=1&searchtype=quicksearch&rcl_id=10V374000 Mazda is recalling 2007 through 2009 model-year mazda3 and Mazda5 models for an issue with the power-steering system. The recall follows an investigation from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), looking into power-steering system failures in the 2007-2009 mazda3. Altogether, 33 complaints were received and three crashes were attributed to the issue. The recall affects about 300,000 North american vehicles altogether, including some 2007 models, all 2008 models, and most 2009 models of the mazda3 and Mazda5. A Mazda source told the publication that rust contamination in the vehicles' hydraulic steering system can cause the pump to overheat and shut down, sometimes temporarily. A service bulletin has already been out for more than a year.

- Ridgecrest, CA, USA

problem #7

Mar 122014

MAZDA5

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Mazda Mazda5. The contact stated that there was an abnormal noise coming from the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the power steering column needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 28,000.

- Daily City , CA, USA

problem #6

Dec 082011

MAZDA5 4-cyl

  • 55,200 miles
While driving my Mazda 5, while at a stop the car idles regular for about a min then it begins to loose power and boggle down until the engine shuts down completely. The power steering indicator comes on. For this not to happen I need to keep my foot on the gas peddle. According to the dealer my VIN number does not qualify for the recall that was issued on the power steering issue. I believe that my 2007 Mazda 5 also has the same problem, stated on the recall for the power steering issue. The dealer refuses to consider my case under the recall.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #5

Oct 292010

MAZDA5

  • 25,700 miles
My vehicle was stopped at an intersection as I was waiting for an opportunity to make a left turn. As I was then making a left turn, I realized that I had lost power steering and I thought that the vehicle would completely lose all of its power and hence, its ability to move and cause me to come to a halt in the middle of the intersection. There was an oncoming car, so I just struggled to turn the wheel while I pushed down the accelerator. Thankfully, I made it out of the intersection on time. However, this situation could have had a completely different outcome. After it happened a number of times, I decided to do some research and found that there was a recall on some of the 2007 to 2009 Mazda 5 models due to power steering loss. I took my car to my local Mazda dealer, but was told that my VIN number was not included in the recall. I then called Mazda to have my VIN included in the recall, but was denied because I was told that my car was manufactured in 11/09/06, and thus cannot be included. I feel that my vehicle should be included in the recall and so I ask that you do investigation on similar situations, as this is a very serious issue that should be addressed as soon as possible. Thank you.

- Woodhaven, NY, USA

problem #4

Oct 212010

MAZDA5

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Mazda5 excessive tire wear and alignment/steering issues @ 27K miles. Have had approx. 10 alignments including a subframe alignment with no success. Have been forced to replace all tires twice due to tire wire on inner edges. Car steers to the right requiring steering wheel to held 2 degrees to the left while operating at all speeds. If steering wheel is released car will drift and then steer itself to the right. The tire wear results in cords showing on inner edge of tires before outer edge have any noticeable wear. Extremely unsafe vehicle due to possible tire failure 48,000 mile earlier than normal repair time.

- Patuxent River, MD, USA

problem #3

Sep 012007

MAZDA5 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Mazda 5. the contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the vehicle began to pull to the right and was difficult to control. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the wheel was aligned; the failure continued. The vehicle had been aligned ten time and the subframe was also aligned; the failure continued. The problem was causing wear on the tires every 12,000 miles. The contact called the manufacturer who advised him to take the vehicle to the dealer. The failure mileage was approximately 100. Updated 02/10/11 the dealer informed the consumer that the tire wear was causing the vehicle to drift. The tires were replaced, but the vehcile continued to pull hard to the right. Updated 02/22/11

- Patuxent River, MD, USA

problem #2

Jul 192010

MAZDA5 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Mazda 5. the contact was attempting to change lanes while driving at 77 mph when the steering wheel became unresponsive. The contact was unable to maintain control of the vehicle and the vehicle proceeded off the roadway. The vehicle crashed into several trees before stopping. A child passenger was severely injured and transported to the hospital via ambulance. A police report was available. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a storage lot. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileage was approximately 80,000. Updated 08/19/10 the consumer stated she lost control of the vehicle when she hit a bump in the road. Updated 08/23/10

- Dixon, TN, USA

problem #1

May 012009

MAZDA5

  • 34,500 miles
Stopped in traffic at traffic signal. Attempted to change lanes and make turn when the power steering stopped working while wheels were turned in the direction of the turn. I was able to manually turn the steering wheel and make the turn. Dashboard indicator light was on indicating a problem with power steering. Drove to safe area and checked under hood. Fluid level was ok. Belt was turning. Power steering still not working. Turned vehicle off and restarted. Power steering was operational and dash light was off. Went to dealer who queried the system but did not find and 'codes' for the problem. This could have been a problem if my wife or children were driving and did not have the strength to correct the problem and straighten out the wheels at very low speed.

- Nesconset, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?