Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,767 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Mazda MPV engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Mazda MPV:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Mazda MPV Owner Comments

problem #9

Dec 202010

MPV 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles


On 2 separate occasions, engine coil on 2004 Mazda MPV broke while driving in the rain and another occasion on a 2003 Mazda MPV I also own an engine coil broke while driving in wet weather. Each time it caused the engine to shake violently. The service department at the dealership admitted to problems with the engine coils but reports no recall for them. The is a design flow that prevents the coils from dispersing moisture properly.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #8

Oct 052004

MPV 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,427 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mazda MPV. The contact stated that while driving the engine light illuminated and the engine began to stall intermittently. The dealer replaced the PCV valve on 10/5/2004. The failure occurred again in September 2010. The ignition coils were also replaced. The vehicle was repaired again on 9/28/2010; however, the check engine light came on again. The failure mileage was 25,427. The failure mileage was 106478. The water pump was cracked, and the transmission range sensor failed. The consumer stated the engine light illuminated again and the vehicle began to run rough and there was a burning odor coming from the vehicle. It was determined that the ignition coil that was replaced in Sept 2010 had gone bad and the ignition coil that was replaced in April of 2008 had also gone bad. Updated evoq 03/25/11 upated 04/15/11

- Monrovia , MD, USA

problem #7

Sep 102010


  • 35,246 miles
2003 Mazda MPV LX with 35,000 miles ignition coil failure after driving through rainstorm in extremely rural area. I was driving alone and had to limp the vehicle 30 miles back to town at 25 mph. Only one place in town could fix it and it was an expensive repair. I have been told this is a common issue with the Mazda MPV and if so, there should be a recall for the poorly designed coil.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #6

Jan 012009


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Mazda MPV. The contact stated that the check engine warning light was illuminated when starting the vehicle. While driving at approximately 10 mph, the vehicle would jerk when shifting from first to second gear. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where one of the O2 sensors was replaced. Throughout the following year, the check engine light would intermittently illuminate on the dashboard before independently turning off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer several times where they were unable to diagnose the failure because the check engine light would no longer be illuminated. The vehicle then began to jerk when shifting gears at any speed. After conducting his own research, the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where all of the engine coils were replaced. The contact stated that approximately one month later, the check engine light had re-illuminated. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 89,566.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #5

May 032009


  • 124,000 miles
The problem is with a faulty 2003 Mazda MPV PCV hose. Original Mazda recall number 2204H was conducted to replace the original faulty PCV hose. (note: When PCV hose collapsed, it caused a vacuum leak that affected my brake system and caused problems while in traffic, problem intensity was between minor and major) I had my PCV hose replaced in 2004 under the recall, but the replacement hose also collapsed. I've never heard of a PCV hose collapsing. I've heard of them becoming dry/brittle since it's a rubber hose, but I've never heard of a PCV hose collapsing until the Mazda recall. There is some vacuum on the hose, but it's not very strong, I don't think it's strong enough to cause a collapse. In my opinion, there needs to be a second recall to replace the now collapsing replacement hoses. I contacted Mazda corporation at 11:30 a.M. on 7 May 09, their response was that they did not keep records on expected life span or repetitive problems with parts and that since I had put a lot of miles on the van and it was 5 years old, and since they did the recall work, it was now my responsibility to replace the faulty replacement hose. It's difficult for me to believe the manufacturer would not keep records on faulty, recalled parts, especially for unusual problems. Mazda's case file for my complaint to them is 123531180.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #4

Jan 302009


  • 80,000 miles
I have had to replace five of the six coils on my 2003 Mazda MPV over 3 years. They fail frequently and cause the engine to miss or stall even while moving. Very dangerous in heavy traffic. I see this is a common problem with Mazda MPV 2002 - 2006. Very expensive to replace the back coils - several hundred dollars. The front ones are easy to replace.

- Kettle, KY, USA

problem #3

Feb 262007

MPV 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Mazda MPV. The contact stated that the engine failed four times. The vehicle had to be towed each time. The dealer installed another engine in the vehicle. The contact stated that the check engine light continued to illuminate and the coil ignition had to be replaced twice. The dealer installed new spark plugs in the vehicle on March 13, 2007; however, they failed a year later and had to be replaced. The dealer also installed a wiring harness. The battery was dying, there was a coolant leak, and the radiator core, catalytic converter, manifold studs, and PCM all failed and needed to be replaced. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was approximately 48,000 and failure mileage was 36,000.

- Troy, NY, USA

problem #2

May 032004


  • 13,250 miles
While braking at 45 mph vehicle stalled. Consumer restarted vehicle, and pulled over. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- Warrenville, IL, USA

problem #1

Nov 162003


  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,980 miles
There is a sulfur smell coming from the engine into the passenger compartment, dealer said its the ethanol gas that is causing the problem and that it is seasonal; dealer said to try other gas; dealer has said they have received other complaints of this same smell and that at least one (pregnant) owner cannot drive her car without becoming sick.

- Yakima, WA, USA

Not what you are looking for?