Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,608 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Mazda RX-8 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Mazda RX-8:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Mazda RX-8 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Jul 012007


  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Mazda RX8. The vehicle would not start and the dealer stated that the failure was due to the rotary engine. The dealer stated that there was no remedy, but advised the contact to press the accelerator pedal before starting and shutting off the engine. The number of cylinders were unknown. The failure mileage was 48,000 and current mileage was 51,200.

- Haver De Grace , MD, USA

problem #16

Aug 142007


  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,107 miles
Purchased used vehicle in April 2007, first incident 8/14/2007 engine stalled (engine internal failure) at 45,107 miles engine replaced by Mazda dealership. Second incident September 2007 power steering goes out (poor connection on engine room harness) connection fixed steering gear replaced; third incident October 2007, steering problem (steering shaft torque sensor malfunction) broken wire repaired--learned that the vehicle had been serviced 15 times prior to my purchase.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #15

Mar 012004


  • Manual transmission
  • 10 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Rx-8. while driving between 5 and 70 mph, the engine stalled. There were no warning indicator lights illuminated. The vehicle would restart intermittently. The dealer replaced the rotary engine, starter, fuel injection system, and the battery, however, the failure persists. The number of cylinders and powertrain were unknown. The failure mileage was 10 and current mileage was 44,000.

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #14

Aug 112007


  • Manual transmission
  • 22,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Mazda RX8. While attempting to accelerate from a stop, the engine shut off without warning. The vehicle would not restart and was towed to the dealer. The failure occurred once before and the engine was replaced. The number of cylinders were unknown. The current mileage was 29,000 and failure mileage was 22,000.

- Albuquerque , NM, USA

problem #13

Mar 312006

RX-8 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
Engine failure, purchased car 3/11/2006, a couple of weeks later the car started idling roughly, then stalling, the computer module has been replaced twice, the engine once, I still have problems with acceleration, the last incident happened last week 7/29/2007, I was in the center lane pulling out into the passing lane and the car lost all power but did not stall my head was slammed forward almost hitting the stirring wheel and a few seconds later shot off like a rocket slamming my head back against the drivers seat, causing my neck to whip lash I have had a bad headache since, and I was almost hit by a big diesel truck. The car is in the shop again getting the oil and tires changed, and also getting checked for this problem but they are saying they could not find anything on the road test. Well it happens to me quite often when I go to pass someone on the interstate, it hesitates before it kicks in and someone is going to get killed. I am paying for a car that spends more time in the shop than out. I bought it 3/11/06 it stayed in the shop almost continually until 7/18/2006, and I was making payments. Now it is starting all over again with the rough idle and hesitation. I am getting to the point that I want my money back and I'll give them the car back. I am getting to scared to drive it. Now I find out today about other recalls the control arm I was not aware of, I guess that is why my car is starting to pull hard to the right, now I have to have that taken care of. I have moved 350 miles away and I can't leave until my car gets fixed and out of the shop, this is starting to be bull!!! someone needs to do something I have a friend who also has an RX8 we purchased ours on the same day and she is having the same problems and hers is a 2006 where mine is a 2004, so Mazda hasn't fixed the problem.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #12

May 012007

RX-8 0-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Rx-8. the contact stated that he took his vehicle in for a recall repair. The dealer and the manufacturer refused to repair his vehicle because he did not have a recall notice present. The contact stated that he never received a recall notice. Since that time, his vehicle has experienced a loss of power, excessive air consumption, and poor mileage. The # of cylinders is 0 because the vehicle has a rotary engine. The current mileage is 71,000 and failure mileage was 65,000.

- Piorara, AZ, USA

problem #11

Jan 202007


  • miles


On 1/26/07 I took my car in for the latest recall repair and a tune up, which was supposed to address the power loss problem with this car. Prior to this, the car was stalling, losing power and having to down shift in order to maintain its speed while driving on the interstate, and little power when trying to accelerate. The tune up included replacing the spark plugs, air filter, and oil change, in addition to the recall work. The car seemed to run fine after the work was complete, but lasted only about a week. The car exhibits the same problems with power loss again. Took it to the dealer, who said my spark plug wires are now the culprit, even though they were okay a couple weeks prior. Said the spark plug wires are not covered under the warranty, which is okay, but I don't believe that this is the cause since this problem has been present since shortly after buying the car. My car is almost out of warranty, and they still have not fixed this problem.

- New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA

problem #10

Dec 282006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
Engine failure, after driving short distances engine does not always want to restart; during times of sitting in traffic, car will idle roughly and sputter, sometimes die and won't immediately restart; car has died while attempting to start out into traffic; transmission doesn't change gears properly... I have had my car since Feb. 04 and it has been serviced over a dozen times for engine failure and transmission issues alone. It has had a new transmission, linkage, gear box, starter, battery, and they are currently putting in the 2nd replacement engine. No one seems to know why these cars have so much trouble, but I wouldn't have another one if it was given to me.

- Knoxville, SD, USA

problem #9

Nov 092006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,700 miles
Purchased a 2004 Mazda RX8 during May 2004. Aug. 2004 the car was in for a recall on hard start/ lack of power issues. Since then the car has been out of service for 24 days and has required 8 trips to the service dept. For engine related problems. Subsequently, the PCM was shipped to Mazda usa for a reprogram. This solution did not work and the engine had to be replaced. The symptoms include power loss, hesitation, rough idle, and cel light problems. Initially, I was told this was a high speed lean out condition. Actually, this vehicle had a defective engine from the day it was purchased. This is confirmed by the fact Mazda has extended the warranty on all RX8 rotary engines and there is a recall on all rotary engines for testing to see if the engine needs replacement. Unfortunately, this fix may or may not work. Other owners have had multiple engine replacements. My car has started to exhibit the same symptoms that led to the first replacement. Also, the engines are remanufactured further reducing the resale value of the car. The treatment from the dealer and Mazda usa customer mediation is actually "customer no service" and a disgrace. In a press release RX8 owners were guaranteed "white glove treatment". it appears that the only remedy seems to an attorney and/or the lemon law.

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #8

Jul 182006


  • Manual transmission
  • 23,900 miles
I own a 2004 Mazda Rx-8 and have had several random break-downs & the car would not restart. Half the time, my car is just parked and will not start up even after sitting for awhile. Mazda has replaced the entire engine, battery, and coils. I was without my car for 22 days. I researched this issue and found 11 other Mazda Rx-8 owners with the exact problems. Seems to be a defect in the rotary engine. I wrote Mazda consumer compliance and gave all documentation related to my car and they offered an extended warranty and guaranteed my car was fully repaired. They sent me a contract for extended warranty and basically signing the warranty excludes me to ever seek any monetary or justification from Mazda again on this vehicle. I did not sign the contract. I picked up my car and 6 days later my car would not start (same as before). I towed it back to the dealer, within 2 days they called me and told me that my undercarriage was completely torn apart and I must of ran over something very recently and it wouldn't be covered under warranty. They are now charging me $250 for a replacement oxygen sensor. I can care less about the $250, it's just obvious they will not admit that their engine is defective by design. I am sure my VIN # is flagged at the dealership because of the letter I wrote to the manufacturer, which is unfortunate because the letter was just an opportunity for them before I seek legal council. I guess now they are implying that I am purposely harming my vehicle, which is absurd. I heard that there was a new recall for the Mazda Rx-8 coming out soon but they are waiting for NHTSA to approve it. I am hoping it's for Mazda to buy back the vehicles, especially when they had such a recall for this same vehicle in the past due to false advertising of the horse power of this vehicle. It's unsafe to have your car randomly die on you. I just hope something gets accomplished before someone does get hurt while stranded on the side of the road.

- Uvalde, TX, USA

problem #7

Jun 192006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles


I bought my RX8 in August of 2004. After the first 16000 miles I started experiencing problems with the car. It started out with chattering coming from the engine when the car was being accelerated. This was followed by a loss of power during acceleration. I first took the car to the dealer on 1/09/06. The dealer performed recall 3305G and told me this would take care of the problem. There was some improvement but loss of power was still occurring. In the morning of 4/17/06 car would not start. Dealer was notified and car was towed for repair. Dealer attributed problem to power train module (reflashing). On 5/23/06 car was again in the shop for the same problem, dealer performed computer changes. On 5/25/06 the car went back to the dealer for the same problem. This time the PCM module was removed and sent out for repair. On 6/19/06 car exhibited the same problems (vibration, stalling and loss of power). This time I informed the dealer that I needed the car fully repaired or replaced. I called Mazda and started a complaint file (#107953120). Car is still in the shop and I am driving a rental paid for by the dealer.

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #6

Jun 122006


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased my 2004 Rx-8 in austin, Texas, 8/19/03. My first problems occurred 2/18/04, PCM and coolant problems. On 3/29/04, I began having recurring problems with the check engine light. I also took my car for service for check engine light problems on 4/12/04, 3/3/06, 3/31/06, 4/3/06 and 4/5/06. On 7/19/04, I took my car for service because the driver┐'s-side sun visor fell apart. I took it in again on 7/29/04, for more sun visor problems. It is still loose. I took my car for recall services on 1116/04 and 9/1/05. On 7/1/05, I took in my car as it was running very roughly and dying. On 8/9/05, I again took in my car for check engine light problems and the fact that it was continuing to idle roughly and die. I took in my car on 9/1/05, because it was still idling very roughly and dying. On that occasion I was almost ┐┐T-boned┐Ł by another car that managed to swerve at the last moment. During this 22-day-long service visit, at 27,534 miles, my engine was replaced. I took my car for service on 5/22/06, because my car was idling very roughly and died 3 times on the highway. Each time I narrowly avoided being rear-ended by traffic behind me. This visit lasted 10 days. On 6/12/06, my car began idling very roughly and died 4 times. Again I narrowly avoided being hit by traffic. On 6/13/06, I took my car for service, where it remains, as of 6/16/06. On this site for 2004 Rx-8's alone, there are 9 other complaints like mine. When I drive my car, I constantly fear the next instance when the car will die. Fortunately, I have escaped serious injury and serious damage to this point. However, I am certain that should this problem continue, as it surely will, that I will not continue to be so fortunate. Despite all my complaints Mazda continues to do nothing to remedy the problem. They need to buy back my vehicle, as it is quite obviously irreparable.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #5

Jan 062006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving in normal conditions and no particular speed, the engine vibrates. The vehicle was taken to the local dealership for inspection. The dealer discovered two motor mounts were broken. The repair parts are on back order and no repairs were made.

- Boulder City, NV, USA

problem #4

Jan 292006

RX-8 0-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I am currently in the process of trying to resolve an on-going engine startup /vehicle stall problems with my 2004 Rx-8. this car has only 15,000+ miles and has been driven for short, daily runs to work and recreational drives. The rotary engine has a required engine warm-up procedure before shutting it off. A deflooding procedure is also required if engine fails to start in the manufacturers manual. Mazda has already had a recall on the fuel system computer with update software. The car had to be towed from my garage to the dealer to have this done because of a nonstart situation. The problem seemed to be corrected by them although a stalling while a red lights or no startup after refueling at gas stations problems recurred. The car again had to be towed from my garage to the dealer to be checked for the nonstart-up issue. A replacement of battery, altenator and spark plugs were done. The problem seemingly cleared for half the day until a trip for fuel caused another nonstart incidence(stuck at the pump) in a $34,000 car! it finally restarted after 10 min and was driven back to the dealer the next afternoon where the problem then recurred in their garage. The dealer has now told me I must wait longer after the manufacturer's required engine warm-up time to shut off the car and not to restart engine in short periods of time. Is this insane or what! this explanation didn't fly with me, so the car has been now rechecked and ok'd to drive again by their technicians with no changes made. They wished me "good luck!"

- Chandler, IN, USA

problem #3

Nov 032005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
I purchased a 2004 Mazda Rx-8 in May 2004. In Nov 2005, the first cold day, the engine flooded. The same weekend I received a letter from Mazda warning me of the problem and to bring it in for a recall. I was advised to let the car warm up before during it off. I made up a warning sign for the attendants at the parking lot, since then the car has flooded two times at the worst possible times; airport parking lot after long long flights. I am pretty upset about Mazda's attitude towards this problem. A letter to Mazda resulted in them sending me instructions on how to "de-choke" the engine which can and has killed the battery and has never worked. This is my first experience with Mazda and my last. I am the owner of the car and I am embarrassed about the whole thing. I just can't imagine how Mazda can leave their customers literally, "out in the cold".

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #2

Dec 292004

RX-8 2-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
2004 Mazda Rx-8 failed to start twice due to the engine flooding.

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #1

Feb 212004


  • Manual transmission
  • 6,646 miles
I bought my car around the first week of November 2003. In the first month I took the car back to the dealership three times for repair. The problem was with the engine. Apparently one of the rotors was not firing causing a raw fuel smell to enter the car through the ventilation. With only 2000 miles, the engine was replaced after the third visit. Two months have passed and after three days of no driving, the car will no longer start.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?