Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,662 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Mazda RX-8 windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Mazda RX-8:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Mazda RX-8 Owner Comments

problem #12

Apr 222011

RX-8 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Mazda RX8. The contact stated the climate control knob failed and when the air conditioner was engaged, the heat would activate instead and vice versa. The contacts was advised by his personal mechanic that there was a failure within the climate control unit and it would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 24,000. Updated 07/08/11 the consumer stated it took four visits to the dealer for them to fix the defetive heater/ ac controls. Updated 10/26/11

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #11

Apr 102011

RX-8

  • 75,000 miles
My visor literally fell off the car which shut down the radio. And now the car is starting funny. I need help soon.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #10

May 272010

RX-8

  • miles
2004 Mazda Rx-8 passenger side sun visor slipped at the seams and dropped and would not stay back up. This impaired my vision while driving making seeing out the right side of the car through the front minimal. I had to hold it up while making turns or crossing roads with traffic arriving from the right. I could not repair the visor and had to remove it in order to drive the vehicle safely.

- Hampton Cove, AL, USA

problem #9

Mar 262010

RX-8

  • 37,728 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Mazda RX8. While driving at approximately 15 mph, the clutch pedal broke and the contact could not shift; he had to be assisted to the side of the road. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealership where the clutch pedal bracket was replaced at the contact's expense. The sun visor also broke twice; the first time, it was replaced under warranty. The vehicle had not been repaired for the sun visor failure at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 37,728. The current mileage was approximately 38,400.

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #8

Mar 262010

RX-8 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 37,600 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Rx-8. while driving approximately 10 mph, he engaged the clutch and the pedal extended to the floor. He stated that the engine stalled and he had to push the vehicle onto the emergency lane. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the clutch pedal assembly was replaced. The contact had not called the manufacturer when the complaint was filed. The current mileage was approximately 37,800. The failure mileage was approximately 37,600. Updated 06/08/10. The consumer also stated the driver side sun visor broke and obstructed his vision. Updated 08/11/10

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Oct 092009

RX-8

  • 60,000 miles
2004 Mazda Rx-8: while attempting to swing driver side sun visor down for use, the sun visor separated at the top molded plastic seam edge and no longer stays in upright position, blocking driver's vision. Visor had to be forcible removed from roof attachment stem since it hung in complete down position, creating a driving hazard if it would be allowed to remain. It could not be swung to side as this blocked the side vision. Visor was rarely used, so failure was not due to wear or neglect. This is second occurrence for exact same problem. Last occurred approximately 2.5 years ago, and was replaced by Mazda under the original car warranty at no cost. The vehicle is now beyond the original warranty period and beyond the 12 month part replacement warranty. When requesting this repair recently through the at local Mazda dealer to be covered as a latent defect at no cost, explaining this was second occurrence, the service writer took information and stated he would try to have Mazda cover repair again. Contacted service writer on 11-4-09, he stated Mazda denied my request to have the repair covered at no cost. I have a current request into Mazda usa at 800-222-5500 again requesting relief for the repair. This formal complaint is being filed since this is the second occurrence for the exact same problem.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #6

Aug 232005

RX-8

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have an Rx-8 and the drivers side sun visor just fell off. And I rarely use. It appears to have separated around the edges or came unglued. The Mazda dealer will not replace because my is an 04' with 32,000 miles is not under warranty, even though it on the tsb.

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #5

Jul 312009

RX-8

  • 57,000 miles
The part number of the item is Mazda part #FE03-51-21yd and #FE03-51-22yc. This part is installed in the Mazda's vehicle the RX8. The part started to fail at around 57,000 miles within just less than two months after the warranty expired and 7,000 miles after the vehicle's manufacturer warranty expired. This part should be considered a safety component because it presents a dangerous threat to both drivers and passengers occupying the vehicle during failure and Mazda is claiming that it is not. The reason why is that when this parts fails to function properly the headlight beams cannot be regulated properly in order to see safely. Instead what will happen is that the lights will not adjust to the correct height and will not illuminate the road so that the driver cannot see ahead of the vehicle. On my vehicle specifically when the incident occurred and re-occurred I could not see no further then a range of ten to fifteen feet from my vehicle. In the research I've done I've read in the forums that this is extremely common in all the models built within the time period of 2004-2007 built before the date of November 15, 2006 (before they redesigned the part).

- Pembroke, MA, USA

problem #4

Sep 052006

RX-8

  • miles
Driver and passenger sun visor can crack/break and obstruct vision while driving.

- Bridgeport, WV, USA

problem #3

Aug 172006

RX-8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,250 miles
Driver's side sun visor has broken for the second time in 3 months. The top seam splits rendering the visor completely unusable. It loosely hangs directly in the driver's line of sight. This is a safety hazard.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #2

May 082006

RX-8 0-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Sun visor splits in middle when folded down on hot days and blocks windshield while driving. Sun visor is electrically wired and hangs from wire obscuring most of windshield on drivers side. Dealership has replaced sunvisor several times for same problem. On internet community many if not all other users report that the same thing has happened to them. www.rx8club.com/showthread.php?T=12572.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #1

Jul 012004

RX-8 2-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 5,370 miles
The drivers sun visor broke when put down and the result was a visor hanging down in front of the drivers to totally block her vision. Fortunately car was not in a turn or stopping for traffic as this would have caused a crash. This was a sudden and disconcerting failure. Other such failures have been reported on the www.rx8club.com website. I returned vehicle to dealer who called the manufactureS representative who refused to replace the visor even though the car has 5800 miles on it and is only 11 months old and covered under a 4 year warranty. I suggest strongly that a recall be made on the visors before someone get killed due to lost of vision. Also I am not able to drive my car safely because of the visor hanging down. This has been reported in 10068252 also.

- Spring Grove, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?