Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,243 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Mazda Tribute engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Mazda Tribute:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Mazda Tribute Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

May 202015

Tribute

  • 155,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Tribute. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle accelerated even when the brake pedal was depressed numerous times. In order to reduce speed, the gear lever was shifted into the neutral position. The engine revved, but not rapidly. The vehicle resumed normal operation. In 2015, the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 04V583000 (vehicle speed control); however, the failure recurred. The contact mentioned that the remedy was insufficient and failed to correct the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 155,000.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #20

Nov 022015

Tribute 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Mazda Tribute. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle subframe corrosion issues. The consumer was informed the vehicle could not be repaired. Also, the consumer is seeking reimbursement for the replacement of the idle air control motor and the cleaning of the throttle body.

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #19

Jul 082015

Tribute

  • 142,000 miles
I was slowing down to stop behind another car at a red light and my car slowed down but did not fully stop. I barely bumped the car in front of me at probably less than 5 miles per hour but my air bags went off. There was no damage to my car other than the air bags exploding and my insurance company wants to total my car because of the air bags exploding. I have second degree burns and a cut from the air bag.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #18

Jan 082014

Tribute

  • 161,094 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Braking system (ABS) failed (I could have killed someone or myself) no back pressure going up hills resulting in failing suspension all front end has failed all door latches failed I'm terrified to operate this vehicle!!!!! recall notices where never sent to me and modern motors only completed recall numbers 7514D and 6812G why is it that recalls are closed when I obviously had issues and I never received notices? I purchased my Mazda Tribute 2004 at modern motors in 2008 as the second owner. I was never informed of these recalls and I think it's only fair that they should be done at no charge. Report receipt date: Dec 10, 2004 NHTSA campaign number: 04V583000 component(s): Vehicle speed control report receipt date: Dec 23, 2004 NHTSA campaign number: 04V605000 component(s): Latches/locks/linkages (my rear glass latches have been broken/defect) report receipt date: Mar 29, 2007 NHTSA campaign number: 07E023000 component(s): Service brakes, hydraulic report receipt date: Apr 10, 2007 NHTSA campaign number: 07V157000 component(s): Service brakes, hydraulic report receipt date: Jul 27, 2012 NHTSA campaign number: 12V357000 component(s): Engine and engine cooling, vehicle speed control report receipt date: Apr 04, 2014 NHTSA campaign number: 14V174000 component(s): Structure since I was the second owner why wasn't I informed of such defects/recalls"?" this is what modern motors has typed on my work order that needs to be done. Gasket is leaking, front axle seals are leaking, front and rear pinion seals are leaking, rear shocks are leaking, front sway bar links have play, front and rear molded rubber brake hose are cracked. Exhaust hanger is broken, gas tank strap has been modified because there was no holder to hold the tank up and on. Needs tires and alignment which I can do.

- Goshen, CT, USA

problem #17

Aug 082014

Tribute

  • 80,000 miles
Already reported.....this is additional info poor mechanic service had car for month no rental vehicle:2004 trb LX xa safety recall(s) found: 4 special service program (ssp) recall(s) found: 0 last updated: March 11, 2015 Mazda recall #: 6812G NHTSA recall #: 12V357000 recall date recall description repair description recall status 07/26/12 Tribute 3.0L engine cover modification. There may be inadequate clearance between the engine cover and the speed control (sometimes known as cruise control) cable, which could allow the engine to be stuck at full power when the accelerator pedal is fully or almost-fully depressed. Safety risk: A throttle that is stuck fully or almost fully open may result in very high vehicle speeds and make it difficult to stop or slow the vehicle, which could cause a crash, serious injury, or death. This risk exists regardless of whether or not cruise control is used. The dealer will modify the engine cover to provide sufficient clearance for the speed control cable, free of charge. Incomplete for any additional questions regarding a Mazda recall or special service program, please contact your local Mazda dealer or contact Mazda. Mazda recall #: 7514D NHTSA recall #: 14V174000 recall date recall description repair description recall status 04/04/14 Tribute lower control arm corrosion. Vehicles operated in areas where salt is used to on roadways during winter months may experience excessive corrosion at the attachment of the lower control arm. Safety risk: A separation of the lower control arm can result in a significant loss of steering control, increasing the risk of a crash. Dealers will install a newly designed reinforcement cross-brace, free of charge. Incomplete for any additional questions regarding a Mazda recall or special service program, please contact your local Mazda dealer or contact Mazda.

- Wiscsset, ME, USA

problem #16

Apr 302014

Tribute

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Tribute. After the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V174000 (structure), the technician stated that there was excessive rust on the undercarriage. As a result, the undercarriage needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. In addition, the contact stated that while pulling into the garage at approximately 5 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. The brake pedal was depressed and failed to respond. As a result, the contact crashed into the garage and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained bruising that did not require medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V357000 (engine and engine cooling, vehicle speed control). The failure mileage was 58,000.

- Wiscaskett, ME, USA

problem #15

Dec 062013

Tribute 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Accelerator began to stick as I was approaching downhill. I could not get it to stop and ran a stop sign. I then finally managed to put it in neutral and pull to the side of the road. I have had this to a local Mazda dealership 4 times and it stills does the same thing. The dealership changed an iac valve and an intake tube hose. Back in 2012 I had a safety recall for this same situation. I took it to the dealership as instructed and almost exactly one year later I actually started having this problem. I've paid to have this vehicle worked on and the performance is no better than when I originally took it in. In fact, the performance is worse. Not only is this not safe for me to be on the road but everyone else on the road as well. Could someone please help me get this situation under control. It's beginning to become very stressful for me. I'm not usually one to complain but this needs resolved. I've done my part and paid a mechanic. All I expect is the problem to be fixed. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kahoka, MO, USA

problem #14

Dec 232013

Tribute 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I had received two notices of recall on my Mazda Tribute for a possible problem with a stuck throttle. Approximately 4 or 5 months ago, I took my vehicle to the local Mazda dealer to complete the recall. Before this recall I had never experienced any problems with a stuck throttle. On the above date, I was returing to my home on a turnpike toll road. I was driving approximately 80 mph. As I attempted to exit the toll toad, my throttle stuck and would not allow my vehicle to slow down. This exit involved a sharp curve and a toll gate area. I made my way through the gate by constantly applying the brake. I finally exited the road and entered a parking lot. The engine continued to rev at a very high RPM. I placed the vehicle in neutral and then park. It continued to rev near the 5 and 6 RPM level. I turned it off and restarted it several times. It continued to rev and when I tried to put it back in drive, it jumped and raced forward. On December 24, 2013, I got the vehicle to the local Mazda dealer. As I pulled it into the dealership, the vehicle again started to rev up to 2 or 3 rpms. The dealership looked at the vehicle and tapped on a valve in the top of the motor. The engine then slowed down. At an expense of $235 dollars, the dealership told me it was this valve that needed replaced and it had nothing to do with the recall!!!!! then on January 6, 2014, I went to start my vehicle and it immediately started idling very high. I attempted to start and stop it many times with no results. I finally got it to my house by riding the brake and at times placing it in neutral. It was very icy at the time and the vehicle would surge and never stop the high reving of the rpms. Both of these incidents were very scary and occurred during poor weather conditions. Thankfully I was able to react in a calm matter and control the vehicle!

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #13

Mar 122013

Tribute

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Tribute. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the accelerator pedal became stuck for a brief moment upon being depressed. The vehicle also lunged forwardly abnormally and without warning. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 12V357000 (engine and engine cooling, vehicle speed control). The failure recurred one week after the remedy repair was performed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Lower Burrell, PA, USA

problem #12

Aug 012012

Tribute 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
In August of 2012 the vehicle started randomly accelerating on its own. Sometimes when coming to a stop in a parking lot it would surge aggressively. Sometimes when stopped at an intersection it would suddenly surge. Took vehicle to dealer for recall in August 2012. Part needed to be ordered. Dealer disconnected cruise control cable and said vehicle would be safe until part could be replaced. Part was not installed yet but cable remains disconnected. Today the vehicle starting behaving like described above. But this time it would not decelerate no matter what you did. My wife was able to control the vehicle enough with the brakes to park it. When I went to inspect the vehicle tonight where it was left it idles at over 3000 RPM as soon as you start it and it will not idle down no matter what. I tried pumping accelerator peddle and moving the throttle control at the throttle cable under the hood. The engine cover was completely removed and throttle could not be reduced. I recorded video of the engine behavior and the dashboard readings while this was happening. The dealer is scheduled to tow the vehicle tomorrow to their dealership to install the recall part. Our concern is that if disconnecting the cruise control cable was supposed to eliminate the risk, but it still accelerated on its own at a very high speed, can we really rely on the recall part to fix the problem.

- Hartland, WI, USA

problem #11

Feb 052013

Tribute 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 9/2012, received recall notice 04V-583, took to Mazda service, they stated recall part was taken care of. 2-5-2013 exiting freeway, at idle, vehicle RPM was stuck at 2, tried putting in park, rpms went up to 4.. terrifying incident. Almost hit vehicles in front of me and thought the engine was going to blow up. Took to Ford dealership where Tribute was purchased which was 5 minutes away. They informed me later that day throttle body electrical. Not covered under my warranty. $500 out of pocket. They are working on vehicle and keeping one more night to test it. I contacted Mazda to ask about refund since the 2012 recall fix was completed and this is happening one year later. Mazda corporate representative stated they are opening file and contacting dealership working on Tribute.

- Two Rivers, WI, USA

problem #10

Nov 062012

Tribute

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Tribute. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for service under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V357000 (vehicle speed control: Cables) however, the vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the repairs had not been performed in a reasonable amount of time. The vehicle had not yet been repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 100,000.

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #9

Aug 192012

Tribute

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Tribute. The contact stated that after receiving notification of NHTSA campaign I.D. number: 12V357000 (vehicle speed control:cables) the contact called the dealer to schedule an appointment for recall repairs. The dealer advised that the vehicle could not be repaired because the parts needed to complete the repair were not available. The contact called the dealer two months later and once again, the contact was advised that the parts had not yet become available. The contact did not call the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 104,000.

- Purcell, OK, USA

problem #8

May 192011

Tribute

  • 190,535 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Tribute. The contact stated that hile driving approximately 50 mph, the accelerator pedal was applied and the pedal extended to the floor. The vehicle continued to increase speed and failed to slow down when the brake pedal was engaged. The vehicle came to a stop when the gear was shifted into neutral and force was applied to the brake pedal. The vehicle was then towed to an authorized dealer, where the accelerator pedal and cruise control were replaced at the owner's expense. In 20004, the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 04V583000 (vehicle speed control:cables). There was an open investigation pertaining to NHTSA action number DP12005 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal). The investigation closed on July 17,2012. The approximate failure mileage was 190,535.

- Simpsonville, KY, USA

problem #7

Jun 052012

Tribute

  • 88,242 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Tribute. The contact was driving 60 mph and applied the brakes, but the vehicle would not respond. He was able to stop by shifting the vehicle into neutral and applying the brakes. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 04V583000 (vehicle speed control: Cables). The failure and current mileage was 88,242. The VIN was not available.

- Ojai , CA, USA

problem #6

Jan 302010

Tribute

  • 73,500 miles
I was driving a 2004 Mazda Tribute for about 45 minutes on the expressway in 10 deg. F temperatures with the speed control on and set to 70 mph. When I approached the exit ramp I pressed the speed control off button but noticed that the vehicle was not slowing down. I then tapped the brakes while going up the exit ramp. Still the vehicle was not slowing down. I was able to stop the vehicle at the stop light and placed the transmission in neutral. The engine revved up to 4500rpm. I turned the key completely off then restarted the engine. Again it revved up to 4500rpm. I turned it off and restarted again. Still the engine ran up to 4500rpm in neutral. The light turned green so I carefully put the transmission in drive and drove with my foot on the brake to a nearby parking lot. I stopped and turned off the engine for several minutes. I could tell by the smell that the brakes were hot. This time when I restarted the engine it revved up to about 3000 then slowly came down to normal idle speed. I drove it the rest of my trip without any trouble but did not use the speed control. The check engine light did come on as a result of this episode.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #5

May 012009

Tribute

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Tribute. The contact stated that the vehicle experiences a no start condition accompanied by an unexpected increase in engine idle speed when attempting to park. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was previously repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 04V583000 (vehicle speed control:cables);therefore, they would not provide any assistance. The contact stated that a recall repair was never performed. The failure has not been remedied. The failure and current mileages were 59,000.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #4

Mar 192009

Tribute

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Tribute. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle accelerated over the 55 mph speed limit and would not stop. The contact depressed the brake pedal, applied the emergency brake, and downshifted the gear, but the vehicle would not stop. She exited off the nearest ramp, turned the vehicle towards an embankment, and then jumped out of the vehicle. The contact sustained head, neck, and back injuries. The vehicle rolled over, struck a tree, and then finally came to a stop. The contact was the only occupant in the vehicle at the time. The police filed a report and the insurance company stated that the vehicle was destroyed. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 03/29/10

- Collegeville, PA, USA

problem #3

Feb 032007

Tribute 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,500 miles
I was driving on a freeway (4 lane - 65 mph speed limit) on the afternoon of 2/3/2007 with my cruise control set to 65 mph. I noticed that I was speeding up, and within a short time, my speed had climbed to about 90 mph. At first, I thought this was a malfunction of my speed control, but after touching the brake and turning the speed control off, it continued to go about 90 mph. At this time, I noticed an exit coming up in about 1 mile - so I kept touching the break to keep the speed about 75-80 and when I approached the exit, shut off the car and coasted to the top of the ramp. With the car safely stopped, I was able to get the car towed to a service station, where the mechanic pulled off the air filter assembly going into what I think is a throttle chamber and found a large piece of ice holding either the choke or throttle causing the problem. It is important to note that the temperatures that day were very cold - about 10 degrees F. below zero. After removing the ice and cleaning out the chamber with silicon, and allowing it to warm up for about 15 minutes - everything was okay. I should note that I had taken the vehicle into the local Mazda dealer about a month earlier because I noticed the throttle was sticking - they serviced it and it seemed to be okay, until the incident on 2/3/07. When I called the Mazda dealership, they told me that there was a safety recall on the throttle assembly, but they showed this part had been replaced already. I am concerned that ice can build up in this area and the same thing will happen again, whenever it is cold out. I haven't seen another similar complaint, but thought it would be a good idea to document this - this could have easily caused a major accident.

- Eau Claire, WI, USA

problem #2

Oct 212004

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
While driving 60 mph or more the vehicle accelerated up to 110 mph for no known reason, the consumer stated, she attempted to stop the vehicle by applying the brake, which failed to slow down or stop the vehicle. The consumer then placed the vehicle into neutral, which caused the vehicle to fish tail severely. The consumer shifted the vehicle back into drive, a little while later she shifted the vehicle into parked, which caused the vehicle to come to a complete stop. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer inspected the vehicle and could not find anything wrong.

- Creve Coeur, IL, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?