Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,979 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Mercedes-Benz C230 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Mercedes-Benz C230:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Mercedes-Benz C230 Owner Comments

problem #12

Jul 072016

C230

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car went into limp mode going down the street, had to have her towed to starmotors, the code came up as internal speed sensor and transmission control module, it is known to mbusa about this problem and they need to fix it and not cost out of my pocket

- Hanahan, SC, USA

problem #11

Mar 102016

C230

  • 94,000 miles
The car stays in first gear and I have to stop and pull over. Put it in park and it jerks very badly going it to park. Then I turn it off, and back on. Then everything goes back to normal, until it happens again. So many people have this issue and there is no recall. What are they waiting for. There is 113 complaints on this car and almost none are from the only recall they have actually issued. This happens on a red light. It happens on the high way. In reverse. I wish I never bought this car. Some people paid 1500 dollars to fix it. I thought Mercedes meant high quality. At least they can admit their mistake and fix it for the people suffering before someone dies. The car has 94000 miles. My Honda went to 200,000 with out issues.

- Paterson, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jul 272015

C230 6-cyl

  • 67,505 miles
Vehicle lost speed on highway. Engine racing but no speed. Pulled over to call for help. No reverse. Had car towed to dealership. Required replacement of transmission electronic control unit. Cost was $1,352.83. Dealer told me it is a common problem. This sounds like a systemic problem with this part and can cause injury or death in certain driving conditions....updated 09/28/15 updated 3/29/2016

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #9

Sep 012013

C230 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my car around 30mph coming to a slow down to make a right hand turn. Made turn and proceeded up a steep hill and my car simply stop pulling/accelerating. This has happened several times. I went out of town to tx for christmas and had the same thing happen. I can't understand why so many complaints and no one has yet to even investigate the problem. The maintenance on these vehicles is expensive. On top of the mb is familiar with this issue and should not be putting this expense off on the owners due to faulty default product that can not even be rebuilt but requires replacing the faulty part with another faulty part. Something needs to be done about this.

- Litytle Rock, AR, USA

problem #8

Jun 082014

C230

  • 92,000 miles
While driving my car on Sunday (8 June 2014), my 2007 Mercedes Benz C230 lost acceleration and the car wouldn't get out of first gear and the RPM's were running high. I had to pull over and turn the car off hoping to reset the car to that I could get back home. Once I turned off the car and set for a few minutes it then worked with no problem. This isn't the first time thig has happen to the car.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #7

May 152014

C230 6-cyl

  • 57,246 miles
Ever since I have purchased my Mercedes Benz C230- 2007 model, I have been regularly maintaining it as per Mercedes recommended maintenance instructions. Recently I experienced an unexpected transmission issue in my car. The car lost acceleration on a major highway while driving at a speed of 65 mph. I had to pull over to the shoulder and shut off the engine for a few minutes. Only after restarting the engine, the acceleration improved. I have experienced this issue three times now and am concerned about me and my family's safety. I have researched online on NHTSA.dot.gov, benzworld.org and a few other blog sites where numerous Mercedes C230 owners have experienced exactly the same issue. My question is that if this is a known safety related issue and has been reported to Mercedes Benz usa, llc. Several times, why has Mercedes Benz not initiated a recall. I hope the company is not waiting for a disaster to happen. I would appreciate if NHTSA could please investigate the issue.

- Fort Lee, NJ, USA

problem #6

Jul 102013

C230 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Balance shaft premature failure found by cel (check engine light) during diagnostics check at Mercedes Benz of nashville, tn. The engine has been running well so I was shocked that the first time my check engine light came on that the repair is the balance shaft $5,600 repair. Mbusa refused good will assistance to service director [xxx] on 8/21/13. The service report shows all engine related checks are green/good except for the check engine light reading balance shaft replacement required. I drive over 100 interstate miles daily so the warranty is exceeded quickly. Based on # of claims this is a common problem that will eventually be a safety hazard because the car will fail to accelerate when merging and even stall out complete at any speed. Where is the recall"???" information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lebanon, TN, USA

problem #5

May 242013

C230

  • 80,000 miles
I was driving about 60 mph suddenly my car was jerking and shaking the speed started to decrease and the car suddenly turned off I was able to pull over to the side of the road and I had to turn the key to start it the engine light turned on and I was able to drive off like regular. The next day I was on the freeway exiting I was going like 40 mph when I decreased my speed to stop and make a turn my RPM was at high 4-5 and my speed was 20mph I had to step on the pedal all the way just to get to 20 mph.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #4

May 152012

C230 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
I purchased my car brand new, it was never previously owned and directly from a Mercedes Benz dealer. I started having problems with speed and gear shifting back in May 2012. When driving on the freeway normal speed (55mph) the car would begin to slow down no matter how much I pressed the accelerator the car would slow to a complete stop. I would have to attempt to pull over off the freeway, turn the car completely off, let it sit and then start it again and the car would run normal. When I get off the freeway or now even when I am driving on a back road going 35 mph the car would shake as I came to a stop sign or traffic light (as if I was driving a stick shift and didn't put the car in neutral or press the clutch) and then it would shut down completely. Now I am having a third issue in addition to these issues where the car will shift gears on it's own and I'm driving in automatic mode not as a 5 speed. This is completely ridiculous for me to have transmission issue on a Mercedes Benz that I purchased new. I took it to a dealer who claims that I have to replace the entire transmission due to one small piece within the transmission system. I have checked online and have seen that hundreds of other Benz owners are having the same problems with no resolution from the manufacturer. I am requesting an investigation and a recall. This is an extreme safety hazard that a car will completely shut down while on a freeway and there have been times when I have almost collided with other cars due to the immediate decline in speed. I have to always find a way to pull over to shut off the car. I purchased this car because of the quality that it should provide. Please follow up with me regarding this issue I am extremely concerned that requests are being ignored by the manufacturer and no one is looking into this matter.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #3

Sep 162011

C230 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I was on the highway and the car suddenly stopped accelerating and the RPM's ran way up and the car would not accelerate. I tried putting it in neutral then drive and nothing. I pulled over turned the car off for a few min. Then back on. The car operated normally. The check engine light also came on and I had all the necessary service done on the car at that time. The car has done this increasingly for the last year and it is now becoming a hazard. The car has started jumping when put in drive and it is alarming. I cannot afford to replace the transmission and I feel Mercedes should take responsibility for a defect in this model. I have children and this is my only car. I don't feel safe in it anymore and my children don't either.

- Hoover, AL, USA

problem #2

Mar 012011

C230 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
I purchased my 2007 Mercedes C230 in approximately February 2011 from carmax in roseville, ca. Within six weeks, I was driving on a local freeway when I experienced a loss of acceleration power yet the engine was running a over 4000 RPM. I returned to the carmax dealership to report the engine problem, but the dealership could not recreate the problem, which repeated itself intermittently in the following months. In December 2011, I took the car to a local Mercedes specialist for a service B; upon examination, the specialist advised me that the car had not received a 60,000 mile service B, including a transmission service, and asked if the car had exhibited the power loss and high RPM. The specialist informed me that a Mercedes service bulletin advised of an incompatibility between the metal material of the transmission and the original factory fluid, which causes a shearing problem and build up on the transmission shifting sensors. The specialist recommended and performed a service of flushing & replacement of the transmission fluid with a newly formulated, Mercedes recommended fluid. Immediately following the service and fluid replacement, there were fewer incidents of power loss. In recent weeks, six months after the transmission service, the issue of power loss has re-occurred frequently, multiple times per week, multiple times per day, many times on the freeway at speeds of 55-65 mph, requiring me to pull to the shoulder of the freeway to turn off the car an allow to reset before re-entering the flow of traffic. This loss of power and transmission control while driving at freeway speed is a great safety concern to me.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 152011

C230

  • 95,000 miles
I bought the car June 2011 and since then, I have periodically had this problem. From a stop, the car will not accelerate. It feels like it is stuck in a higher gear. Or, the opposite happens. I will accelerate, and the car will not change from second to third gear. I have to pull over and restart the engine, and then it works. I have seen numerous complaints online from other owners that they have the same problem.

- Broomfeild, CO, USA

Not what you are looking for?