Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,820 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Mercedes-Benz C320 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Mercedes-Benz C320:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Mercedes-Benz C320 Owner Comments

problem #3

Jun 252010

C320 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,211 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Malfunctioning seat control modules drain battery in 2001 C320 Mercedes Benz. Not long after purchasing the car in January 2008 with 51,000+ miles, I paid $175 dollars for a new mbz battery, before asking dealership to disconnect seat control modules. I was not prepared to pay $1200 to replace modules. June 25, 2010, my 2001 C320 stopped during a trip to phoenix, AZ from California, due to fuel pump going out. My 79 year-old mother and I waited in 100+ degree weather for a tow, which took 3 hours to get to phoenix mbz dealership. Oakland service rep never suggested replacing, although the car was serviced during the suggested mileage for replacement. The phoenix dealership initially replaced original fuel filter, and never thought to check if original fuel pump needed replacing. On June 28, 2010, my car stopped again on the return trip to ca, and we were towed back to AZ, where fuel pump was replaced. The incident cost me almost $2,000 more than I planned to spend, while attending my graduation ceremonies in Arizona. Considering the expense to maintain a Mercedes, as well as the cost of the car, you would think the service staff would be more proactive with customer service. I suggest Mercedes create a better warning system for equipment failures like the seat control modules and fuel pump. I also suggest Mercedes consider lowering their service prices, so the average "joanna" can pay the maintenance to keep a dependable car. The valve cover gaskets were leaking oil and transmission electrical connector was leaking. Updated IVOQ 09/10/10

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #2

Apr 192009

C320

  • 11,400 miles
April Nov 2004, I purchased a 2001 C240 Mercedes from princeton Mercedes in New Jersey. One month after driving the car slowed down as if it would not accelerated. I had to take it back in for repair. They told they could not find a problem. However 4/19/08 I experienced the same problem of deceleration while driving I was told this time that it was transmission control unit. I have been researching and I believed that this was the problem 4 years ago; however they did not was to correct the problem. I want to know was there a recall for this specific transmission control unit on these types of cars. I have been in several chat rooms and there are various complaints regarding this type of problem. The car will stop in traffic or on the freeway without notice. At the time of the incident I was able to pull over to a gas station: However what would happen if there was major traffic bumper to bumper. I want this problem researched. I believed that Mercedes knew about a flaw with this transmission control unit.

- Cedar Hill, TX, USA

problem #1

Jun 142006

C320 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,850 miles
1st, in May 2006, I was parking my 2001 Mercedes Benz, clk-430, into parking lot at 7-11 store. I place the shifter into P (park). The engine was still running at this time. I remove my foot off the brake pedal, the car running back out of the parking stall as if it was in the reverse gear. I placed my foot back on the brake pedal to stop the car movement. I place the shifter back in the drive location and drive the car back to the original place. And place the shifter back in park and again the car start rolling backwards. On the same evening, I drove home from the 7-11 store and park the car in my driveway, yes it again. I used the emergency braking this time. On June 14, 2006, I stopped at the long beach postal office, on level parking surface, this car star rowing forwards to another park vehicle, I stopped the car movements and place it in reverse to move the back to the original parking placed. This car stay in the park gear without further forward or reverse movement. This car only has 32,900 miles on it.

- Bellflower, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?