Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,333 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Mercedes-Benz CLK320 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Mercedes-Benz CLK320:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Mercedes-Benz CLK320 Owner Comments

problem #6

Jun 212012

CLK320 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have black Mercedes C230 kompressor sports sedan 2004 model. Car was purchased brand new at Mercedes authorized dealer. There is no modification made to this car and all the servicing done at Mercedes authorized dealer since I bought this car. It had only 58000 miles. Last B servicing which checked any safety related issues and includes regular maintenance, was done at authorized dealer on 02/18/2012. No issue was informed on 02/18/2012 to us by Mercedes authorized dealer servicing department. On 06/21/2012, when I was driving this car from work to home, I turned on A/C, A/C shutdown and I started smelling smoke. On left side of my car there is A/C vent and I saw fire inside the hood through that vent.I pulled over car right away and electricity went out with in 1 min of my pulling over and within 4 min, whole car was burning. My car is now totaled. This poses following security concerns: 1. Mercedes C230 2004 is made of highly inflammable material and driver and users of car has very less chance to survive if there is fire. 2. Mercedes C230 2004 model A/C unit is not of highest quality and electrical system is faulty. Both of above issues poses very serious security risks to public and it needs through investigation. I contacted Mercedes head quarter for investigation and Mercedes declined to investigate. Geico stated in report that hood is stuck and cause of fire is unknown. Geico insurance company authorized Mercedes engineers to investigate further upon my request and Mercedes usa does not want to investigate further. I have pictures of burnt car and can share if it helps in investigation to rule out above 2 concerns. We do not want others to go through same ordeal as we went through. Updated 06/13/13 updated 06/17/2013

- North Potomac, MD, USA

problem #5

May 022008

CLK320

  • 37,000 miles
I bought a certified pre-owned 2004 cl 500 mb from hbl tysons on 8545 leesburg pike, vienna, va on Apr 19, 2008. The salesman showed me the carfax report which showed no prior problems. So, I bought the vehicle w/ an extended warranty. However, 2 weeks after I purchased the car, I experienced many electrical problems, transmission problems, tire problems, & problems with my air conditioner/ heat. Over a 1 ½ years later, my car has been back & forth at the hbl tysons corner, va & mb annapolis, md svc cntr over 40 times for the same reoccurring electrical problems. The electrical problems are becoming worse B/C the car freezes; the steering wheel malfunctions & locks upon starting the car & sometimes, while in motion; in addition to other malfunctions involving: Seat belt, seat head rest, headlights, tail lights, rear fog lights, license plate lights, windshield wipers; heat/air conditioner, SRS, & airbag deployment. I'm paying a car note & I barely have my car B/C the svc. Cntrs have my car for 2-3 weeks at a time B/C they can't fix it. Iżve even been told by them that my particular car is too intricate to fix. Iżve contacted mb corporate in montvale, NJ via telephonically & correspondence, to elevate several complaints, but, my last 2 complaints were to no avail B/C I heard nothing from them as of yet. I keep all of my receipts from each time Iżve dropped my car off & IżM ready to pursue a lawsuit. In fact, Iżve contacted better business bureau, your Agency, & several lawyers B/C Iżve recently discovered via a class action suit, that the year, make, & model of my car is involved in a nat'L recall where a faulty valve w/I the heat/air conditioner, causes a build-up of debris & water, which leaks into the electrical system, causing it to malfunction & shut down. Help me B/C it's obvious the car is unfixable and too dangerous to drive. According to the class action, these problems pre-existed before I bought the car and mb was aware of them prior to selling the car.

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #4

Sep 202009

CLK320

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercedes Benz Clk320. The contact stated that the check engine light was illuminated on the dashboard. When she had the vehicle inspected on two different occasions, it failed inspection since the light was on. She took the vehicle to a repair shop and was told that the secondary air injection system was the cause for the failure. A mechanic informed her of recall 08V303000, electrical system but when she called the manufacturer; she was told that her vehicle was not included. At the time of the complaint, the service engine light was illuminated and the vehicle had not been repaired. The current mileage was approximately 87,000. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000.

- Florham Park, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jun 152004

CLK320

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My voltage regulator went out in my Benz. It surged and destroyed other components of my vehicle. Not too mention that this is highly in safe. I researched on line, and Mercedes Benz had done a voluntary recall, but they are not acknowledging the issue now, and are denying it. They say my VIN doesn't match, and I questioned there integrity. This is such a dangerous issue, and I have a two year old son that must ride in this care. Can someone please help me. They know the problem exists, and it is dangerous, but refuse to fix it- now that is under ownership. (ap) DaimlerChrysler ag said Thursday it is recalling some 1.3 million Mercedes-Benz cars worldwide to fix problems with their alternators and batteries. The german-U.S. auto maker said it will check the voltage regulator in the alternator on six- and eight-cylinder models and replace the regulator if needed. It said it would install battery control software on the E-class and cls-class models built from January 2002-January 2005. The company also said the braking system on the E, sl and cls-class made since June 2001 would be updated. The company said the recall was part of its effort to improve its renewed emphasis on its cars and is notifying its customers in writing of the recall. The company has set up a hot line for european customers at 800-1-777-7777. In the United States, customers can call 1-800-for-merc.

- Festus, MO, USA

problem #2

Apr 092009

CLK320 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercedes Benz Clk320. The contact stated that the seat belt indicator is illuminated, which means the SRS needs to be replaced. The failure prevents the seat belt from locking properly. There is also a tele-aide indicator flashing in the center of the instrument panel. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id numbers 03V534000 (seat belts) and 08V303000 (electrical system). The contact would be responsible for the repair costs. The vehicle has been at the repair shop for the past two days. The failure mileage was 23,000. Updated 05/06/09. Updated 05/07/09.

- Dale City, VA, USA

problem #1

Apr 102005

CLK320 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Car would not start and could not get the car in gear. The car has been in the dealers shop for repair 4 times to fix the same problem. Currently the car is running. Negociating with mbz to buy the car back.

- Fresno, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?