Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,476 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLK350 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Mercedes-Benz CLK350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLK350 Owner Comments

problem #5

Feb 162015

CLK350 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Mercedes Benz Clk350. The contact stated that the passenger side seat belt warning indicator was illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 5/19/15 the consumer stated after filling the vehicle, gas fumes became very strong in the garage and inside the house. Updated 7/1/2015

- Sumter, SC, USA

problem #4

May 032014

CLK350 6-cyl

  • 76,682 miles
Bought the car in July 2013 third brake light lens fell off.I checked my brake lights with someone pushing the brake pedal and observed the electrical component dangling loose inside trunk third light space but no cover lens. Didn't notice the lens had fallen off until several strangers tailing me told me. I know there is a brake light issue that is being recalled on a different Mercedes model and year. I was thinking that perhaps my vehicle might have the same issue. So I googled this issue and to my disappointment found many more Mercedes Benz owners had the same problem as me. The reason its a disappointment because Mercedes Benz vehicles are highly regarded as the most prestige vehicle let alone one of the costly cars. Who would have imagined such small overlooked detail came off the assembly line. As a further insult Mercedes Benz refuse to acknowledge this as a problem and compensate its customers.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #3

Apr 242009

CLK350 6-cyl

  • miles
My complaint is against Mercedes-Benz, usa for their failure to inform me of the substantive defects and recalls at the time of my purchase of the 2006 Mercedes C280; VIN [xxx]. on April 24, 2009, I engaged in a contract with Mercedes Benz financial services for the purchase of the above 2006 C-280. I was never informed of the serious defects on the vehicle. I was never given an opportunity to make an informed decision. Hence, the business practice of Mercedes Benz and or it's dealership was deceptive. It is hard to imagine that anyone, let alone myself, whose medical impairment of fear, anxiety and panic disorder (ada act) would purchase a vehicle with full knowledge of the risk factors involved; during and prior to the purchase, pursuant to: A). report date:December 3, 2011 at 07:19 am mfr's report date: Dec 15, 2005...NHTSA campaign id number: 05V560000..component: (air bags)... consequence: In the event of a crash, an occupant may not be properly restrained which could (result in injuries).. dealers will install a new air bag inflater module free of charge Mercedes-Benz recall no. 2006020005. The recall began on March 15, 2006. B). December 3, 2011 (NHTSA campaign id number): 08V303000...(component): Electrical system.... Mercedes-Benz recall no. 2008 070001 thank you for conducting an investigation on my complaint.[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #2

Feb 202010

CLK350

  • 45,700 miles
2006 Mercedes Clk350 convertible- about 45, 000 miles on it, bought as a used car in Sept 2009. The headlights were left on all day and drained the battery. The battery was recharged. The check engine light came on and stayed on. I would drive about a block or two and the second time I put on brakes, the eps dash light would come on and the engine would die. The engine could be restarted and the car driven (including the freeway), but the eps light would come back on and kill the engine, after more braking. The car died, on the way to the stockton, calif. Dealer, as I braked on the off ramp as I braked and almost caused a serious rear end accident by the car following me. Additional, the side driver window that automatically drops down when the door is open, would not automatically go all the way back up when the door was closed. I took to the dealer for repair. I was told the windows needed re-syncronizing. That there was a miscoding in the computer, which needed a software upgrading. I asked why other Mercedes owners were not informed, but got no answer. I also asked to have the manufacturer representative contacted, since the warranty expired only two weeks prior. I was told they would not, since the manufacturer would not pay for any computer upgrades. I was not told of any recalls, yet there appears to be a possible related computer recall bulletin for improper coding. The dealer did the resync and computer upgrade and the car is back to driving normal.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #1

Nov 292007

CLK350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
1) check engine oil level message displayed 2) stop vehicle 3) engine oil consumption test / cylinder test / sensor test outcome: Mercedes is working hard to design a new sensor for this car. A few hundred other people have had this experience and there has not been an official recall. (per fletcher jones motor cars, newport beach, ca).

- Temecula, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?