Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,503 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E350 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Mercedes-Benz E350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E350 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #35

Feb 132013

E350 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car fire - complete loss updated 04/18/13 pictures received. 04/18/13

- Hollis, NH, USA

problem #34

Jan 012012

E350 6-cyl

  • miles
After filling car with gas there is a gasoline smell. Odor so strong cannot leave car in garage until gas dips below approximately 3/4 tank.

- Crowley, TX, USA

problem #33

Jan 082013

E350 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Gas tank leaking causing gas to drain into back seat. Cost to replace was aprox 1000 for part alone. After going to Mercedes, my other mechanic was looking at other used parts and found that all used parts had same issue and leaking for exact location. Upper portion of gas tank. Looking online, there are lots of these issues going on. Mercedes needs to address this issue.

- Euless, TX, USA

problem #32

Dec 132012

E350 6-cyl

  • 50,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On gas filled up, the entire garage smell of strong gasoline smell that can cause nausea and dizziness if garage door is not opened to allow fresh air, mechanics said there is a leak in the fuel system and similar car owners have the same issue. Smell will go away when the fuel level is below 7/8 level. I started having this problem at around 50,000 miles and repair 51,103. The smell was also strong in the cabin. Mercedes should recall this defects for epa, safety and health concerns before any incidence and resulting class action lawsuit. The dealer wrote me an email stating ". the sender seals we replaced are on each side and where you see the large red caps. These seals generally deteriorate with time, age and with heat. " but they had to change the whole gas tank at a cost of $2,057. In the service ticket it was indicated "found fuel tank leaking at breather hose " which is part of the vapor recovery system that is warranty for 10 years but Mercedes denied the replacement. This is a violation of the clean air act and need to be resolve.

- Oro Valley, AZ, USA

problem #31

Apr 042013

E350 6-cyl

  • miles
After refilling gas tank, there is strong odor of gasoline, this usually disappears as the gas is consumed, but it present as long as the tank is above 3/4 full. This has been a constant occurrence since purchasing the vehicle from mb of austin in 2009.

- Austin, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #30

Oct 242012

E350

  • 172,716 miles
Please help to encourage Mercedes Benz to replace to new gas tank part #211-470-0502, for all their cars that have this defective gas tank part # 211-470-4201! on 10-24-2012 I came into Mercedes Benz dealership because I smelled gas and oil. The dealership misdiagnosed the gas smell to be the sending units, replacing them. List: (211-470-40-94 auxiliary pu, 211-471-05-79 seal ring, 5088 parts cleaner). Then on Jan 28, 2013, when I came in for my annual inspection, the dealership said that the fuel tank was leaking and said that needed to be replaced. Mercedes Benz dealership had misdiagnosed the sending units when it should have been the gas tank on 10-24-2012. Mercedes Benz, old gas tank part # 211-470-4201, replaced by new gas tank part 211-470-0502. The reason why this is so important that Mercedes Benz replace all tanks out there is because it only takes a small spark from rubbing your foot on the carpet, to an accident or lighting up a cigarette for this to create an explosion, because the gas tank is in the back seat of the car. I have two invoices that I paid for bad parts and replacing a defective gas tank on this Mercedes Benz. I am very concerned that Mercedes Benz has cars on the road that are an accident away from blowing up! a gas tank that is leaking gas in the back seat of my car is not something I would have paid over $56,000 for when I purchased my car! what about all the cars that were sold and all the people who don't even know and may be in danger? please look into the defective gas tank that was put on all the 2006 Mercedes E350 cars. This should be recalled and replaced at expense of Mercedes Benz!

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #29

Feb 012012

E350 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Strong gasoline order, especially when tank is full. Mechanic says that gas tank pump is leaking. I hear that other owners have the same problem.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #28

Dec 012011

E350 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
My vehicle started having a faint gas smell after refueling a few years ago. I am not sure of the exact date or mileage as I just thought this was a minor problem. The smell would disappear after I had used about a quarter of a tank. The odor has gotten stronger over the past year which prompted me to discuss with my mechanic. They have replaced the fuel cap and the seals on the gas tank with no reduction in the smell. They also can find no visible reason for the gas odor. The gas odor is now so strong after refueling I am unable to park my car in the garage because the smell permeates through my home. My car has 149,424 miles on in to date. I saw an article from the boston globe and this prompted me to report my issue.

- Gallatin, TN, USA

problem #27

Nov 152012

E350 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
When the car is filled with gas, there is a very strong lingering gasoline smell that lasts for several days.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #26

Feb 212013

E350 6-cyl

  • 60,389 miles
Have been smelling gas inside car and in garage on fill up of gas tank. On 2/21/13, dealer found gas pooled about an inch thick on top of the 2 sending units under 2nd row seats of this station wagon. Gas was leaking out thru the seals and locking rings on top of sending units. Dealer found defective locking rings, seals, and gas sending units. All 3 parts replaced on both sides right under the 2nd row seats where my children were riding. This defect could cause injury or death to anyone in or close to the car if gas tank exploded from gas leaking from these defective parts.extremely dangerous.

- Powell, OH, USA

problem #25

Nov 012011

E350 6-cyl

  • 63,879 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car started to get strong gas smell specially after a full tank fill up. I have owned this car for several years and this problem started in late 2011.

- Southlake, TX, USA

problem #24

Sep 152011

E350

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mercedes E350. The contact stated that while parked, he noticed a strong gasoline fuel odor in the cabin of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Severna Park, MD, USA

problem #23

Aug 082012

E350

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a Mercedes Benz E350. The contact stated while driving various speeds, a strong odor of fuel emitted inside of the vehicle. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Lemoore, CA, USA

problem #22

Jan 312013

E350 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
I'm writing to lodge a complaint concerning a dangerous fuel leak into the cabin of my parents' 2006 Mercedes Benz E 350 (VIN [xxx]), which has resulted in gas soaking the rear insulation pad, sound pad, & rear seat cushion, all of which are "soaked" in gas (per the repair recommendation from mb of san diego). I should add that the car only has about 55K miles. My mom is 76 and my dad is 82. They don't drive much-- just local errands. The only reason my mom caught this one was the strong gas smell in the cabin. I am writing to you directly for the following reasons: 1.this relates to your on-going investigation #PE12-001. 2.the fuel leak presents a dangerous risk of fire and risk of gas fume inhalation to the driver and passengers. 3.the fuel from the leak does in fact soak into rear insulation pad, sound pad, & rear seat cushion, despite the incorrect denial of that fact by mb-usa to the NHTSA. (see letter from mb-usa to you.) 4.the service advisor at mb of san diego told me last week that he has personally seen a lot of these fuel leaks into the cabin with mbs. I have asked the dealer performing the repair to save the defective the part(s) and the soaked insulation pad, sound pad, & rear seat cushion. It is available for your inspection.[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)... updated 02-07-13 updated 2/12/2013 02/15/2013

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #21

Nov 012012

E350 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
After filling car there is a strong odor of gasoline around the car. The smell continues until the tank is down to @3/4. after reaching this point the smell dissipates somewhat but is still detectable. The garage reeks of fuel but there is nothing on the floor(yet). This problem started at @38,000 miles and continues. We now have @44,000 miles on the car. We tried contacting Mercedes usa but they merely told us to contact a local dealership. The dealership we contacted and relayed our problem to (chantilly Virginia)claimed there was no known fuel system/tank problem with that model(2006 E350). They would, of course, love to check it out. Research shows that the common fix for this problem(if it works)is around $2,000.

- Amissville, VA, USA

problem #20

Jan 022013

E350 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The car had a seriously strong order inside the cabin of gasoline every time I would fill up the car. To the point of causing nausea every time I drive the car. I had to stop driving the car for a while because the order was too strong inside the cabin. I eventually took a look under the rear seat notice that beneath the driver side rear seat was a fuel sending unit with a bad seal and gasoline fumes would pour rapidly into the cabin of the car and cause a serious order.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #19

Apr 052012

E350

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mercedes Benz E350. The contact stated that the smell of gasoline was very prominent in the vehicle cabin after refueling. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they advised the contact that the fuel pump and tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 103,000. The VIN was not available.

- Sherman , TX, USA

problem #18

Oct 012012

E350 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
I noticed the smell of gasoline in the cabin of the car. I decided to look around and search for where the gasoline smell was coming from. I discovered that the car has a leak in the fuel system on top of the sending unit. There was a pool of gasoline ontop of the sending unit right next to electrical wires. I also noticed that there was gasoline dripping from beneath the car. After researching this issue online I discovered that Mercedes Benz did a recall which was 2008-020001. This recall was for sending units that leaked on all 03-06 211 & 219 amg models. I do not understand why Mercedes Benz would not recall the non amg vehicles, as they too develop the same dangerous problem. The dealership wants $3100 to fix this issue. I think that they should fix the....updated 09-18-13. The consumer stated the sending unit was replaced. The dealership advised it did not need too be replaced but was replaced anyway unbeknownst to the consumer.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #17

Jan 012010

E350

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mercedes-Benz E350. The contact stated that after refueling the vehicle, a strong gasoline fuel odor was emitted. The vehicle was not taken to a mechanic and was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #16

Nov 162012

E350 6-cyl

  • 103,500 miles
Strong smell of gas inside the car sitting for any length of time while on or off, regardless of fuel level.

- Seattle, WA, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?