Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,327 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E350 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Mercedes-Benz E350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E350 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Feb 132013

E350 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles


Car fire - complete loss updated 04/18/13 pictures received. 04/18/13

- Hollis, NH, USA

problem #15

Jan 152013

E350 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mercedes Benz E350. The contact stated that while parked, he noticed a strong gasoline odor around the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the fuel tank was leaking fuel from the upper part of the tank. The technician replaced the fuel seal. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000. Updated 4/26/13 the dealer replaced the left side fuel tank sending unit. Updated 05/01/13

- Adelphi, MD, USA

problem #14

Jan 012011

E350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mercedes Benz E350. The contact stated that only when refueling to full capacity, a strong odor of fuel emitted inside of the vehicle. There was a small amount of fuel found on the ground next to the vehicle on various occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who stated that there was a leak in the fuel tank and the filler neck valve. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 05/23/2013

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #13

Oct 152012


  • 106,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Mercedes Benz E350. The contact stated that when driving at various speeds, she noticed strong gasoline fumes inside the cabin. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis where several plastic parts were attached to the fuel tank. The failure recurred two months later. The vehicle was returned to the mechanic and the contact was informed that the fuel tank exhibited a crack and would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 106,000.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #12

Jul 102008

E350 6-cyl

  • miles
Fuel leaking from the passenger side above back tire after filling fuel tank. The issue started back in July 2008 and has progressively been getting worse.. updated 11/29/12 update 11/29/12 updated 12/3/2012

- Stevenson Ranch, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Apr 122012

E350 6-cyl

  • 146,000 miles
This isn't a complaint, it is a request for consideration of or assistance for the replacement of the gasoline tank for my vehicle. When I took ownership from the previous owner, the first time I filled up the gas tank, the vehicle was emitting a strong gasoline odor. I took the vehicle to the Mercedes Benz certified service representative here because this is where the previous owner always had this vehicle serviced. There were no records showing this problem being looked into, and when I asked the previous owner, he said he never filled up the gasoline tank, always putting in $15 - $20 or so at a time, therefore he never smelled the gasoline odor. The Mercedes Benz certified service representative informed me that this model along with 2005 and 2007 models had similar problems with the gasoline tanks. I then took it to our Mercedes Benz dealership here and talked with a service representative. He was very, very helpful, very knowledgeable, and told me there were problems with this issue on these models, but no vehicles had been recalled. He told me how much it would cost to have the gasoline tank replaced (worse case scenario) suggested I write to you and see if you would consider replacement or assistance. It is my first Mercedes Benz to own and I love this vehicle. I am a retired minister living on social security, so anything you could do for me would be prayerfully appreciated. Would you mind looking into this and assist me with this problem? thank you very much.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #10

Dec 072010

E350 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles


On gas filled up, the entire garage smell of strong gasoline smell that can cause nausea and dizziness if garage door is not opened to allow fresh air, mechanics said there is a leak in the fuel system and similar car owners have the same issue. Smell will go away when the fuel level is below 7/8 level. I started having this problem at around 40,000 miles and currently around 48,000, I hardly use the vehicle due to the smell and safety concern. Mercedes should recall this defects for epa, safety and health concerns before any incidence and resulting class action lawsuit.

- Walnut, CA, USA

problem #9

Jan 042012

E350 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Whenever gas tank is filled, strong gasoline smell persist around car until fuel level drops to 3/4 level. If car is parked in a garage, entire garage has extremely strong gasoline odor. Car was taken to the dealership and dealer advised that fuel tank has a leak with no safety recall. This is a serious fire hazard and after searching internet I found out that hundreds of users have reported exact same issue. Mercedes should fix this issue for free.

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #8

Feb 012012

E350 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
I filled my gas tank and parked in garage when I returned to drive vehicle I smelled gas in the interior of the car, I took the car to my Mercedes dealer and they told me that the fuel pump located under the rear seat had a leak that could only be repaired by replacing the fuel pump so I had the pump replaced the dealer also stated that they believed based on the number of replacements and the potential for fire that this would be recalled.

- Tucson , AZ, USA

problem #7

Jan 252012


  • 74,575 miles
Strong gasoline odor on fill up. Pump and sending unit seals replaced (mb dealer diagnostic). Tank fails pressure test. Tank has lost integrity due to an as yet inspected crack on upper portion (independent mechanic).

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #6

Jan 042012


  • 54,000 miles


Mercedes E350 2006, has bad odor of gas. I noticed after filling up gas, and parked my car in garage in the morning my whole garage had a smell of gas. I looked around underneath and every where inside outside I don't see any leak of gas. I can just smell gas fumes... I have called Mercedes dealer haven't heard anything back and I research web and found so many other cars of Mercedes have this problem.. I hope this can be recall and fix.

- Murphy, TX, USA

problem #5

Jun 132011

E350 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Strong gasoline odor when tank is filled up. Odor persists until below 3/4.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #4

Jun 092011

E350 6-cyl

  • 41,569 miles
A strong odor of gasoline was emitted by the car. Taken two times to be repaired, and the failure continued. The car was taken back to be repaired a third time. The dealer informed the gas tank needed to be replaced.

- Coto Laurel, PR, USA

problem #3

Jun 012010


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mercedes Benz E350. The contact stated that after refueling the vehicle, a strong odor of gasoline was emitted. The odor would dissipate once the amount of fuel within the tank dropped below three-quarters full. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the fuel tank was lowered. The failure continued. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the contact was informed that there was a faulty gasket on the fuel sending unit. The gasket was replaced, but the failure continued. The vehicle was not taken back to be repaired a third time. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #2

Jun 252011


  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mercedes-Benz E350. The contact stated that after smelling an odor of gasoline, he took the vehicle in for inspection. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer which advised him that the fuel sending unit in the gas tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 48,000.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #1

Nov 152009

E350 6-cyl

  • 47,304 miles
Car's (Mercedes Benz E350 sdn 2006) fuel gauge showed that the tank was half full. About ten minutes into the drive, the vehicle decelerated automatically from 65 mph to 0 mph. Police were called to prevent a pile on crash. Towed car to dealer who found that there was a gauge malfunction. Replaced gauge. Two months later, the very same problem recurs. Leads me to believe that the fuel gauge is unreliable can create a safety issue especially in freeway driving, the vehicle has been in the shop four times in the last three months to fix these issues. While fixing the sensors, the car had a distinct gasoline odor especially when tank was full. The dealer did a smoke test and concluded that the tank was leaking and had to be replaced. Now, with a new tank, and new sensors for fuel supply, the exact same problem re-occurs. I am very concerned about the safety implications of a fuel gauge malfunction. Please note that the fuel safety light in never triggered when the gauge malfunctions so the driver has no way of knowing that the gas is running out. Updated 01/13/11 uddated 03/24/11

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?