Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 1
Average Mileage:
87,426 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E350 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Mercedes-Benz E350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E350 Owner Comments

problem #10

Jun 252016

E350

  • 165,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall I went over a speed bump and my air bags deployed on the drivers side and the rear passenger (behind the driver).

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #9

Nov 292014

E350

  • 193,000 miles
The driver was operating her 2006 Mercedes-Benz E350 on a county road in redmond, Washington. Driver was involved in an accident, in which she rear-ended the car in front of her, causing her car's driver's seat airbag contained in the steering wheel to deploy. When the airbag deployed, some portion of the air bag or its cover (possibly the metallic Mercedes- Benz emblem) sliced the driver's throat, severely lacerating her trachea and neck tissue...updated 12/03/15

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #8

Jan 052010

E350

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mercedes Benz E350. While driving 10 mph, the contact's vehicle struck a parked vehicle in the rear. As a result, all the air bags deployed. There were no injuries sustained and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to an impound lot. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Kety, TX, USA

problem #7

Sep 122015

E350

  • 117,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am reporting a very serious, disturbing, shocking and tragic accident on 9/12/2015 on randall road in elgin, il usa at 2:35 pm just after big timber road signal.my southbound 2006 Mercedes Benz E350 car was hit by the high speed out of control northbound 2014 Toyota corolla, which had crossed/swerved the center line and resulted in a head on collision/crash.....updated 10-27-15

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #6

May 232013

E350

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mercedes E280. The contact stated that another vehicle crashed into the passenger's side of his vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the stomach. The vehicle was destroyed. A police was report was filed. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and after inspecting images from the crash scene, ruled that the impact did not warrant air bag deployment. The failure and the current mileages were 65,000. ## VIN passed ## Mercedes E280 2006 ##

- Rockville, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Apr 042013

E350 6-cyl

  • 110,980 miles
Moved telescoping steering wheel out SRS warning light appeared. Mercedes is aware the connecting harness is too short they make a repair kit but will not warranty after 100,000. This is a safety issue that Mercedes should have recalled and replace before incident.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #4

Feb 202013

E350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Mercedes Benz E350. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph and hitting a pot hole, the air bags on the drivers side deployed without any warning. The contact did not receive any injuries. The vehicle was later taken to an independent mechanic. After diagnosis, they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was later contacted and they sent an investigator out inspect the vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000. The current mileage was approximately 56,000. The VIN was unavailable....updated 07-10-13 updated 07/17/2013

- Hamden, CT, USA

problem #3

Dec 272009

E350

  • 86,605 miles
SRS system shut down on 2006 Mercedes Benz 350E 4-matic. Light came on dash notifying me of the failure of the system. Took to dealer who informed me of code 9103 "resistance in drivers airbag" informed that harness in steering column was designed too short and when steering wheel is telescoped out the wire will eventually break shutting down the SRS system. Replacement part # 211-440-4509 is a longer harness demonstrating that Mercedes is aware of the defect. R&R requires removal of steering column cover, 3 hours of labor, costing over $600 including diagnosis. Since the problem is known to the manufacturer and results in an ineffective safety system, these harnesses should be recalled.

- Chester, NJ, USA

problem #2

Dec 232009

E350

  • 21,670 miles
Mercedes Benz 2006 E350. The steering wheel electrical harness is to short and comes apart disabling all airbags. The dealer says that this is a common problem and that the company won't pay to correct it. The repair is prohibitive at $715 this is definitely a safety defect!!

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #1

Mar 202009

E350

  • miles
My Mercedes-Benz E350, 2006 model got an accident on Mar 20, 2009. My car was pushed by the back car into the front SUV and slid into SUV's bottom. My car was total damaged. My seat belt was stuck. My car's front hood was puckered up and back bumper was pushed almost 90 degree. But my driver's airbag was not deployed. Airbags of the car hit my back was deployed.

- Houston, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?