Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,218 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Mercedes-Benz E350 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Mercedes-Benz E350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Mercedes-Benz E350 Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Feb 182013

E350 6-cyl

  • 69,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased certified pre-owned car in June 2012. On or about Feb 2013, car started having illuminating odor in the cabin that resembled fuel or anti-freeze. Garage and car odor was so bad it actually entered my home and I had to leave the garage door open to ventilate. Went on line and found other owners exhibiting exact defect. Took vehicle to Mercedes dealer and was informed that a leak from the fuel tank was the cause and it was not from damage but from the sending unit and lines. The dealer informs me that the repair is not covered under the warranty and that it will cost $2100 to fix. After reading the warranty and contacting Mercedes directly, I contacted the dealer and informed them that it is a covered item and they should make the repair as a warrantied item. They re-checked with Mercedes and called me back and stated that they had "did something in the system to make it reject" and it is a covered repair and will be fixed under the warranty. I am making this complaint because I believe that the replacement unit will be the same oem part that has not been modified to solve this failure from duplicating later.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #29

Mar 242013

E350 6-cyl

  • 73,897 miles
Purchased car on 2/12/2013. Filled car up with gas for the first time on Saturday 3/23/2013. Garage and car smell like gas so bad it actually entered my home and I had to leave the garage door open to ventilate. Went on line and found that there are some law suits against Mercedes for this defect and they are replacing the gas tanks with still defected gas tanks and charging clients for them.

- Conway, AR, USA

problem #28

Mar 202013

E350 6-cyl

  • 19,900 miles
Fuel smell inside and outside the car when the tank was full. Fuel smell gradually lessened when the tank was about 3/4 to 1/2 empty. Took the car to mb dealer and they changed the fuel sending unit under the rear seat behind the driver. It cost about $700. I kept the fuel sending unit and looking at it under magnification, I can see bad workmanship around the sending unit not being sealed properly, it was bad from the moment it was placed in the car. This item should not go bad on a car less than 6 years old that has only about 20,000 miles and always garaged. Shame on Mercedes Benz that did not recall this item.

- Alamo, CA, USA

problem #27

Mar 082013

E350 6-cyl

  • 65,990 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I pull up at the gas station(shell) and fill up my gas tank....after filling up my gas tank...there was the smell of gas in my whole car cabin. I took my car to Mercedes Benz of South charlotte, charlotte, nc. On 3/13/2013. The service advisor([xxx]) told me it was the fuel sending unit that was bad...there was also fuel leak in my garage...the dealership told me they would have to replace the sending unit and the whole gas tank....that would cost $3750. The dealership also said ths was a common problem with the E350... and they don't know why there isn't a recall on these. I am asking you to please investigate and pertition Mercedes usa to do a recall. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #26

Dec 072011

E350 6-cyl

  • 450,065 miles
Strong smell of gasoline in the cabin after fueling vehicle.

- Indio, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Mar 162011

E350

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Mercedes Benz E350. The contact stated that whenever refueling, there was a strong gasoline fuel odor emitted from the vehicle when left in the contact's garage overnight. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and the contact was advised that the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 48,000.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #24

Jan 312013

E350 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First incident occurred on 1/21/13 when my Mercedes smelled like it was leaking gas in garage. Fumes were so bad that we parked it outside as we were leaving for trip. I was afraid it could catch fire. I had noticed a gas smell once before. About six months prior. It went away and the car had been in shop and nothing noted. So I did not worry. Got back from trip and took it in. Both the right and left fuel sending units were replaced. On the left a seal ring, cable harness and a bracket were replaced. The right side a seal ring was done with the unit. I had oil leaking from engine so they replaced a campaign, engine wiring, right camshaft solenoid, and oilcentrifuge. They kept my car a week as I have had many problems and they wanted to make it right well it turned into a nightmare. Car went back in as oil had leaked on exhaust and car smelled on fire. They degreased it and I got it back. Now the worst of this. The replaced fuel sending unit was defective. I was on freeway when my car just stops running while driving it. I almost got hit at 60 mph and my car sputters once than stalls as I try to roll off freeway. I was sure my engine seized. It turns out the new fuel sending unit had a defective float. I ran out of gas and almost died because of it. There are many complaints on the internet about this fuel propulsion system. I am under warranty so mine is replaced for free. The problem is the gas fumes put you at risk for a fire. I would think for me it was at least six months. I was told the fuel was leaking behind my back seat. I am sure that is not safe. Then the replacement almost kills me. Very unhappy as I had intended to keep this car but am afraid to do so. Fyi my transmission body has been replaced too.

- Olmsted Township, OH, USA

problem #23

Jan 072013

E350 6-cyl

  • 50,725 miles
Strong gasoline vapor smell in cabin of car when it sits in the garage. The odor began about 6 months ago but it only smelled in the garage not in the car. The odor dissipates after driving about 20 miles.

- Mechaincsburg, PA, USA

problem #22

Jan 222013

E350 6-cyl

  • 94,148 miles
We have smelled a gasoline smell in our garage for a couple of years and never considered it was the Mercedes. We also keep small gasoline tools in the garage and a harley davidson motorcycle. We filled the tank on January 21, 2013 and the next morning the smell was so bad we need to air out the garage. Research on the internet revealed it was the Mercedes. We took it to the dealer and the leak was from the fuel sending unit in the gasoline tank. We had it repaired at a cost of $739.09. Mercedes has not offered any relief for the cost of the repair.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #21

May 162012

E350 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
First noticed when car was parked, once I pulled into the driveway. I got out and smelled a really strong gasoline odor. It doesn't appear to be leaking gas on the ground. The gasoline odor was stronger when the gas tank was full. Once the tank got down to 1/2 - 3/4 full the odor was less prominent. Now I never fill my tank to full because the smell is overwhelming. There aren't any indicator lights that come on.

- Lake Forest, CA, USA

problem #20

Jan 282013

E350 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel is leaking from tank after fillup on left side near left rear tire. First noticed fuel gauge not working when I ran out of gas at 51,000 miles in 2011. Dealer told me gauge was located inside tank and it would be necessary to replace tank at cost of $2,000 w/O warranty, so I did not fix it; just used odometer. We have noticed gas fumes in garage for a long time, but thought it was from the gas engines of yard tools. After a fill up 2 days ago, we noticed a very strong odor next to car and investigated and noticed signs of liquids on parts of undercarriage of vehicle. Did an internet search and found this is a known problem with this vehicle. Present mileage is 87,000.

- Fair Oaks Ranch, TX, USA

problem #19

Nov 102012

E350 6-cyl

  • 66,500 miles
Vehicle was purchased on 11/04/12 with approximately 66,000 miles on odometer. Shortly thereafter, after parking the vehicle in the garage overnight, a very strong gasoline odor was present in the garage. (this is the only car parked in the garage at my home.) there were no observed fuel leaks coming from the car or on the garage floor. I noticed this same smell around 01/14/13. (odometer reading about 70,000 at this date.) after some searching online, I determined that there were several incidents of owners reporting fuel smells only after completely filling the gasoline tank. On both of my incident dates, I had filled the gasoline tank completely on my trip home. This smell is not present after using about 3-4 gallons of fuel. It is also not present if I only fill the tank to about 3/4 or 4/5 full, which is what I most often do. When refueling, I typically refill $20 - $40 at one time and do not completely fill my tank. I have not yet noticed any fuel smell inside of my vehicle, only on the outside and within the garage.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #18

Jan 122013

E350 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The car was filled with gas and when I got home I could smell gas and I looked around the car and it was dripping a lot of gas on the leftside of rear wheel well. Also there was strong smell of gas inside the car. I just bought this less than a month and I took it to the dealer for repair. There has been numerous complaints and there is tsb regarding this issue. This is a very dangerous situation and the dealer is telling me that they don't know about the complaints regarding this issue.

- Cutler Bay, FL, USA

problem #17

Jan 102013

E350 6-cyl

  • 61,500 miles
Beginning at approximately 60,500 miles my 2007 Mercedes Benz E350 4matic sedan developed a strong gasoline odor inside the vehicle. This smell progressively got stronger and upon inspection at the dealership it was found that the sending units attached to the fuel tanks below the rear driver's side and passenger side seats were leaking fuel through a faulty seal causing the fuel to absorb into the seat cushion. This likely created a potential fire hazard inside the cabin of the vehicle, particularly in the rear seat.

- Sylvania, OH, USA

problem #16

Apr 272012

E350 6-cyl

  • 43,300 miles
I have a 2007 Mercedes E350. I filled up the gas tank and the next morning, after storing the car in my garage, there was a strong odor of gas in the garage. I started to google this to see if anyone has had the same problem. I noticed that other car other had been having this same issue. Some reported gas tank leaks among other issues such as vent valves among other things. I did not do anything about my issue thinking that it was nothing, but since April 2012, after fill ups, the same thing would happen. The odor would go away once 1/4 to 1/2 of the tank of gas was used. Today, January 2013, I looked under the car, driver side and noticed that the gas tank was wet from gas leak. I am surprised and disappointed that this vehicle would have this kind of issues and the manufacturer has not addressed this issue, since it appears that other owners have experienced the same problems. I hope that this issued can be addressed by the NHTSA and help owners as this is a hazardous safety issue as there could be some serious consequences and injuries if not addressed.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #15

Dec 172012

E350 6-cyl

  • 60,157 miles
Purchased this vehicle used with 60K miles, drove it about a week with no problems. Filled the car with gas one time and noticed a strong smell of fuel in the garage and the vehicle the next day. Fuel smell in the garage lasted several days, smell in the car is very strong and has not faded or gone away for over two weeks.

- Beverly Hills, FL, USA

problem #14

Dec 202012

E350 6-cyl

  • 41,003 miles
NHTSA action# PE12001 strong fuel/gasoline odor smell coming from the drivers side rear wheel area. Fuel tank is filled to full (after it "clicks" off) and this is when the odor is most prevalent. The E350 is parked in a single, detached house's 2-car garage. Fuel/gasoline smell is particularly strong in the enclosed 2-car garage. I am afraid the these vapors will ignite when in an enclosed space with the furnace in the sharing the same space (being that it is winter time now and the furnace is now kicking on to heat my house).

- Castro Valley, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 112012

E350 6-cyl

  • 97,120 miles
When filling up my gas tank I noticed a very strong odor of gasoline. Was very concerned that if someone nearby had been smoking fumes would have ignited. Also if traveling on the highway if someone had thrown out a lit cigarette who knows what would happen. I called the Mercedes stealership and they said it's my problem to fix it. I recently read about a recall for the same issue on 2010 and 2011 Mercedes...this is the same problem!! look at the complaints filed here for the same issue......wake up NHTSA and include these models. Does a car need to blow up first"?"

- Auburn, ME, USA

problem #12

Nov 012012

E350 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
We purchased this vehicle used from a Mercedes dealer 5 weeks ago. After the first couple gas refills I noticed that the car had a strong gas smell around it. Just standing next to the car, I could smell gas. It seemed wrong. At first I figured it was just because I was at the gas station. But then I realized the car also smelled of gas at home. When the car sits overnight or for longer periods, the interior noticeably smells like gas upon opening the door. Having owned a lot of cars I knew this wasn't right. I did an internet search to see if this was some sort of known issue. Of course a lot of information popped up as far as other people having this issue and a class action lawsuit. I called the dealer to see if mb was fixing this unofficially or anything along those lines. The service manager pleaded ignorance. He stated he had never heard of such a thing, couldn't imagine it was true or that there would be such a problem. He didn't sound very convincing. Now we have a 'new' car that leaks gas. I don't know what to say beyond that. I'm still too disappointed and stunned at this situation.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #11

Nov 072012

E350 6-cyl

  • 19,600 miles
I purchased this vehicle new in Oct. 2006. On Nov. 7, 2012 with 19600 miles I filled the gas tank full of fuel and noticed immediately inside cabin, trunk, and outside of the vehicle was a strong fuel smell beyond belief! after several days of this issue I researched to find out there are many problems from other owners with this exact same problem. After reviewing there issues I started my own investigation and after removing my back seat; I found that fuel is leaking from the fuel system inside the cabin of vehicle. I am so disappointed and highly concerned for my safety as well as other innocent driver's around me that a sudden spark may ignite my vehicle on fire and cause a mass explosion while driving. Please with all these current issues find mbusa responsible. I have given mbusa years of loyalty in owning three of there vehicles. We as consumers deserve better from a company with their values and history.

- Greenville , NC, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?