Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,472 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Mercedes-Benz E350 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Mercedes-Benz E350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Mercedes-Benz E350 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Aug 012013

E350 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles


After filling up gas tank there is a strong odor of gas in the garage. This goes away after 50-100 miles on the tank of gas. I have not noticed any gas leaking on the garage, just the odor. It seems stronger on the driver side of the car. Odor recurs after each fill up.

- Center Point, AL, USA

problem #31

Jul 152013

E350 6-cyl

  • 81,197 miles
After filling up the fuel tank noticed a very strong gas smell coming from the car. There were no visible leaks in the ground our under the car. Continued to drive car and as fuel level dropped the smell went away. Filled up for second time and smell was back again. Began research into the issue and discovered there were 533 officially reported complaints and a lot more un-reported. Spoke with [xxx] (service manager) and Mercedes Benz of plano Texas and he informed me they are aware of this issue but will not provide any assistance. Nathan recommended I call the Mercedes Benz usa customer support number and discuss it with them. I did this as [xxx] requested and I was told by customer service that I need to have the Mercedes dealer officially diagnose the gas smell issue before they could provide any assistance. Customer service recommended that I pay the dealer the $90 diagnostic fee and then submit the paperwork to customer service. Once that is complete Mercedes Benz usa would decide whether or not they were going to provide any assistance and fix the issue. (this process seems backwards) information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #30

Jun 012012

E350 6-cyl

  • miles
This car has everlasting gasoline smell. This smell is very evident and persistent inside the closed spaces like the garage not to mention in and around the car, inside and out, pretty much all over the smell. The smell is so pungent that you can smell inside the moving car throughout the drive, regardless of the length or time of the drive, causing constant headache. The smell is even more poignant when the gas tank is filled full tank of gas, which causes even greater headache deterring the ability to drive!

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #29

Sep 022013

E350 6-cyl

  • 36,350 miles


After filling up the gas tank and parking it in the garage it gives off a terrible gas odor which gets more and more strong the longer the car is in the garage. Once the cars fuel tank empties somewhat it seems to not emit the gas odors while parked in the garage. I was told to reference action number PE12001.

- Aventura, FL, USA

problem #28

May 022013

E350 6-cyl

  • 84,386 miles
Shortly after we purchased the car on 3/13/2013 we noticed that after we filled up the car there was often the smell of gasoline. This never occured when the gas tank was not completely filled. After a number of times investigating this smell, our auto mechanic was finally able to determine that fuel was leaking from the center vent connection of the tank. The fuel tank was removed and they found theleak around the center vent hose connection. The fuel tank and seals were replaced on 8/30/13. Updated 9/24/13 updated 12/05/13

- Montgomery, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #27

Aug 132013

E350 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Noticed a fuel smell in cabin of car and in closed garage. Very strong when recently filled up. Brought to dealer and they found leaking fuel pump assembly on drivers side. Required complete replacement of fuel system. Updated 9/19/13

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #26

Aug 172013

E350 6-cyl

  • 84,016 miles


Fuel odor noted for several weeks surrounding exterior of vehicle, esp. Adjacent to left rear wheel. No fuel puddling noted on ground. Eventually fuel odor was noted within interior of vehicle. Removal of rear seat bench revealed fuel leak, with fuel pooling noted at fuel pump located in well on upper left side of plastic saddle-style fuel tank. Based on fuel-induced discoloration of exterior of plastic pump assembly, leak had been present for some time. Fuel could be visualized leaking from top of delivery pump with fluid level sensor, when pump was energized. Installation of new style pump (211 470 41 94) eliminated problem.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #25

Aug 192013

E350 6-cyl

  • 74,100 miles
I got in my car yesterday to drive it and the odor of gasoline was overwhelming. I took it to my mechanic who told me that one of the fuel pumps under my car had a faulty connection and, as a result, fumes were escaping into the car. The entire pump needs to be replaced to the tune of at least $800. He said the only reason he knew what was wrong, without even looking at the car, was because another client had the exact same issue. He agreed that it sounds like a defective part.

- Thousand Oaks, CA, USA

problem #24

Aug 132013

E350 6-cyl

  • 56,070 miles
We have noticed an extremely strong gasoline smell. This is while the vehicle is parked and while it is moving. The repair shop said the fuel tank is leaking and needs to be replaced because of a fire hazard. Updated 8/22/13

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #23

Sep 112010

E350 6-cyl

  • 62,462 miles
There is always a strong odor of gas outside my 2007 Mercedes Benz E350 each time I fill the gas tank. I never "top off" or over-fill the gas tank. I never smell the gas odor while I am inside my car with the doors closed and with the windows up. I never see gas on the ground under my car during or after filling my car with gas. It takes about two days (about 100 miles) for the gas odor to disappear. Until it disappears, the odor is very strong when I park my car inside my garage, causing me to always have to leave the garage door up about five inches after each fill-up so the gas odor can escape the garage. I am filing this complaint because I now understand that I am not alone with this problem. It appears their is some kind of design and/or manufacturer's defect in the fuel system. This is a safety hazard. It deserves an investigation.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #22

Jul 132013

E350 6-cyl

  • 81,600 miles


This is the second occurrence. Dealer replaced engine once. I reported the first incident on confirmation number (ODI number) is: 10507237. This second incident occurred on or about 13 July 2013, car started having illuminating odor in the cabin again that resembled fuel. Garage and car odor was so bad it actually entered my home and I had to leave the garage door open to ventilate. Went on line and found other owners exhibiting exact defect. Took vehicle to Mercedes dealer and was informed that a leak from the fuel tank was the cause again and it was not from damage but from the sending unit and lines. After reading the warranty and contacting Mercedes directly, I contacted the dealer and informed them that it is a covered item and they should make the repair as a warrantied item. I am making this complaint because I believe that the replacement unit will be the same oem part that has not been modified to solve this failure from duplicating later.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #21

Jul 112011

E350 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
When filling the fuel tank, there is a smell of fuel when parked in the garage until 40 or 50 miles is put on the car. After that the fuel smell goes away. It happens only when I fill the fuel tank. I do not top the tank off. I only fill until the nozzle shuts off. One time after fillup I drove 2 miles and parked in a friends driveway that had a steeper angle and the car leaked some fuel out on the ground and the check engine light came on.I have not brought the car in for repair yet.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #20

Jun 052012

E350 6-cyl

  • 93,233 miles
When I fill up with fuel I have a fuel leak coming from top of tank under drivers side back seat where the wires and lines are screwed into top of tank. I have read this seems to be a problem on several of these cars and assume it is a fire hazard especially since the electrical wires are in the pool of fuel on top of tank. When fuel level goes down it stops leaking.

- Jonesboro, AR, USA

problem #19

May 232013


  • 32,000 miles
Strong gasoline smell inside the car and my garage when I fill up my gas tank.

- Ocean Springs, MS, USA

problem #18

Jun 012013

E350 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Engine light came on, taken to dealership four times. Dealer stated that there may be a leak on top of gas tank or tank may have to be replaced. Previous owner stated that there was a strong smell of gas in vehicle when tank is full. Previous owner had same issue after car was only four years of age.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #17

Feb 012013


  • miles
2007 Mercedes Benz E350. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle leaking gas. The consumer stated when he returned home, the entire garage smelled of gasoline. Gas was leaking over the exhaust system on the driver's side.

- Longmeadow, MA, USA

problem #16

Sep 072011

E350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Mercedes Benz E350 wagon. The contact stated that while parked the fuel pump was leaking which caused fuel fumes to emit inside the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic testing. The technician stated the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 39,000. Updated 12/28/12 updated 1/17/2013

- Exton, PA, USA

problem #15

Feb 012010


  • 48,000 miles
After gas tank is filled fuel is forced from the top of what appears to be the fuel sending unit below the rear seat. The fuel pools and stains the insulation and bottom of the seat. It causes gas vapors in the car for weeks. Seat and padding have to be pulled and allowed to dry. Excess fuel has to be toweled from the area around the sending unit. Until the tank empties several gallons of gas this procedure has to be repeated. The smell of gasoline in the auto is unforgiveable. I read where this is a problem with many mb's of this type.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #14

Jul 012012

E350 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Mercedes Benz E350. The contact confirmed that while refueling, fuel leaked from the tank abnormally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who confirmed that the fuel tank and the fuel sending unit needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 72,000 and the current mileage was 72,500. Updated 8/30/12 the consumer stated every time the fuel tank was filled, it leaked from the left fuel sending unit under the driver's side back seat. Gas fumed were very noticeable outside the vehicle and somewhat inside the vehicle until the car was driven about 100 miles and the fuel level was down about four gallons. Liquid gas puddles were on top of the sending unit and ran down the side of the tank to the ground. The Mercedes factory rep refused to replace the leaking parts. The consumer was informed that if NHTSA or the class action suit lawsuit were to rule in favor of the customer, they would do something about the problem then. Updated 09/05/12

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #13

Nov 012011


  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Mercedes Benz E350. The contact stated that the vehicle emitted a strong gasoline fuel odor. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and inspected. The failure was located at the fuel tank seal. The dealer replaced the fuel tank seal but the failure was not corrected. A few weeks later, the contact noticed a noise in the rear of the vehicle and found that fuel had leaked on the rear seats and the fuel lining injector. The vehicle was taken back the dealer where they advised the contact that the replacement fuel lines could possibly have failed. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 48,000 and the current mileage was 60,000.

- Fenton , MI, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?