Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,472 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Mercedes-Benz E350 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Mercedes-Benz E350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Mercedes-Benz E350 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #72

Oct 122015

E350 6-cyl

  • 131,000 miles


My car has a strong gasoline odor. The dealership said the fuel tank is leaking and needs to be replaced. They have denied warranty coverage on a leaking fuel tank. Please reference NHTSA # EA13003. This problem has been acknowledged and a warranty program put in place by Mercedes Benz to avoid a recall. Now, they are denying warranty coverage. Can your investigative team open this case up and help us- consumers. On the surface, this appears to be an ethical problem for Mercedes Benz. Repair cost $976 for a new fuel tank. Please help. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #71

Aug 072015

E350 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Serious fuel leak in tank with fumes updated 10/9/15

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #70

Jan 282015

E350 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Mercedes Benz E350. The contact stated that the fuel sensor was leaking fuel onto the fuel tank. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where it was diagnosed that the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was awaiting to be repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 4/21/15

- Prescotte, AZ, USA

problem #69

Nov 142014

E350 6-cyl

  • 139,120 miles


I began smelling gasoline when inside the car. I called the dealer to schedule an appointment to have the car checked for fuel leaks. The dealer suggested bringing the car in the following week. So I took the car to a nearby oil change service company and had them change the oil and check for a fuel leak. The oil change service could not find a fuel leak, but confirmed that they smelled gasoline and suggested I take it to the dealer. On December 10, 2014, I took the car to the dealer and was told that they found a fuel leak at the fuel filter assembly that is under the back seat and that the repair would be $649. And it was possible that once they repaired that, the leaking at the tank may increase requiring replacement of the gas tank. As I waited for the repair, I searched the internet to see if this repair was the subject of a recall. I found that this exact issue is being investigated by the NHTSA, NHTSA action number: PE12001. I showed the service technician what I found on the internet and he said all they could do is replace the fuel filter assembly to see if that would fix the leak. They changed the tank inner module, 211-470-60-94, for $264; 2 seal rings, 211-471-05-79, at $39.53 ea for $79.06; discounted the labor from $343.66 to $187.50; and miscellaneous charges and sales tax, for a total service repair bill of $576.03 for replacement of fuel filter system and seal rings. At this time it is unclear whether this will in fact fix the problem or make it worse.

- Waveland, MS, USA

problem #68

Oct 022014


  • 80,000 miles
Gas smell at all times. Greater smell when stored. Engine light came on. Took to the dealer, charged $4,000 to repair.

- Houston, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #67

Oct 312011

E350 6-cyl

  • 46,135 miles
I began noticing a strong smell of gas from inside and outside the car. I took the car to the dealer and they removed the rear seats and access panel to the fuel sending units. They found fuel leaking from the fuel sending unit with fuel level sensor on the driver's side. It was leaking from the unit itself not the seal ring. Damage code 047006767. Dealer indicated it was necessary to replace. Replaced fuel sending unit with fuel level sensor and replaced with new, reconnected lines and connectors. Reinstalled all components, added fuel back in the tank and check for leaks from sending unit. They determined the unit was not leaking once repaired. Flash forward to 7/24/14 and I have issues again with the fuel system. Components of the system were replaced again at a cost of $1,752.16. I am very concerned about the safety of this vehicle. Please continue to investigate this issue with this model and year.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #66

Oct 012013

E350 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles


Strong gasoline smell after I fill the tank up. I never top it off, normal fill up until the gas nozzle clicks. The smell comes from left rear side. I am concerned that it will catch on fire one day.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #65

Aug 072014

E350 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
2007 Mercedes Benz E350 noticed strong fuel/gas odor inside car after filling up gas tank and would subside after gas tank was approximately 3/4. my children & I had to roll down the windows while driving due to feeling nausea. This has occurred often for weeks. Last Thursday on 8/7/14 I was driving vehicle coming to a signal light at an intersection and the car started shaking like is was loosing power, then it shut off in the middle of the street at the intersection. I tried starting it back up and it would not start at all after cranking for few seconds looking like it was not getting fuel at all. I had to get my car towed, the mechanic said it was the fuel pump and it will cost $2000 to replace. This seemed extremely hazardous for car safety having to smell the fumes and almost causing an accident. There have been an enormous amount of complaints regarding the fuel emission pump/tank & this manufacture defect of the car which is a major road safety hazard item should be considered as a safety recall from Mercedes car company.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #64

Aug 042014

E350 6-cyl

  • 73,101 miles
Extreme fuel vapor contamination inside the cabin of my 2007 E 350 sedan after fill up.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #63

Jun 012012

E350 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Gasoline is leaking from fuel tank.

- Oxford, MS, USA

problem #62

Jun 022014

E350 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles


2007 Mercedes Benz E350 showed symptoms of cranking but not starting intermittently and also noticed fuel odor in the compartment often for weeks. Eventually fuel odor was noted within the interior of the vehicle and the car will not start at all after cranking for few seconds looking like it was not getting fuel at all. When the car was arranged to be sent to the dealership, the tow truck guy removed the rear seat to identify source of fuel smell which had revealed fuel pooling on starting attempt of the engine and the heavy fuel pooling was noted at the fuel pump sending unit. This seemed extremely hazardous for car safety.the fuel was gushing out which spread to the seat and fabric and sent fuel smell and fumes into the passenger compartment. Mercedes quoted $800+ for the repairs and delivered the car promising that the faulty pump and sending unit was replaced. The car did not even make home and broke down before reaching home showing same starting problem. Hence it was towed back to the dealership and this time they are asking another $800+ to replace the second fuel pump which they claimed was working when the car was delivered. Fuel smell still exists in the passenger compartment and the car is not drivable. Dealership did not accept any responsibility for delivering the car without repairing the reported defect and asking double price for a manufacture defect of the car which is a major road safety hazard item and must be considered as a safety recall from Mercedes car company.

- Plainsboro, NJ, USA

problem #61

Jan 092014

E350 6-cyl

  • 93,245 miles
Every time the gas tank is filled 100% full (only until gas pump nozzle first click) and the car is being driven for less than 20 miles and parked, I can smell very strong gasoline odor from outside the car. I have tried to find the issue and lifted it up. What can be seen is about 1oz of gasoline puddle on rear undercover (underneath gas tank). Other than that, I can see leaked dried gasoline path on the side of the tank, which points to the location of the puddle. This string gasoline odor issue cannot be seen or smelled if the tank is filled only 3/4 of tank volume. This is issue has been reported to Mercedes Benz service at columbia, mo. However, they quoted $600 just to find the issue, even though this is clearly manufacturing defect, since hundreds of similar cases can be found at several forums and so many has been reported here.

- Osage Beach, MO, USA

problem #60

Jun 232014

E350 6-cyl

  • 125,025 miles
Purchased 2007 E350 wagon June 16 2014, upon first refill of fuel tank noticed the smell of gasoline inside automobile. It dissipates over time. On 30 June, purchased second full tank of fuel and noticed same issue and began research. I discovered this has been an endemic issue with the fuel pump and fuel tank. Am researching recalls and taking to trusted mechanic today to get to the root cause. Fuel vapors are highly volatile and I will contact Mercedes Benz to register my complaint. Will keep you updated. The current multi-billion GM recall is a similar issue that corporate leaders ignored for years and now paying a dear price. Will engage mb of na in a deliberate and dogged manner until resolved.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #59

Dec 012012

E350 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
Strong odor of gas in home garage after filling the tank. Since December 2012 I have not been able to fill it over three quarters of a tank without the strong odor reoccurring. I took it to be serviced and after one week of trying, they were not able to find the source. I purchased the car on December 11, 2009.

- Santa Maria, CA, USA

problem #58

Jun 142014

E350 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Every time I fill up my car all the way, I notice a very strong fuel smell coming from the driver side of the car. I haven't spilled any fuel inside my car so im assuming there is a leak somewhere, the smell is unbearable at times.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #57

May 242014

E350 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
Fuel gauge showed 3/4 tank, car stopped, mechanic told us the car was out of gas. I spend $600 at the shop to find out this. They first wanted to replace tank, fuel pump and senders. Gas gauge is not working proper, any advise?

- Meadow Bridge , WV, USA

problem #56

May 272014

E350 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
Took my vehicle into the shop for new spark plugs and a coil replacement. They noticed a strong gasoline smell coming from the vehicle. They removed the back seat where the fuel pump is located and found the fuel pump is leaking. You cannot just replace the fuel pump on this year/model E350. The entire gas tank must be replaces. We had noticed the smell of gas a few times after filling the vehicle completely up with gas and were wondering why it smelled so strongly of gasoline. Now we found out why. Mercedes is wanting to charge me to bring my car into an authorized dealer/service center to assess the situation. However, they want to charge me for assessing it and from there make a determination if they will even do anything about it since my vehicle is not under warranty.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #55

Jun 052013

E350 6-cyl

  • 110,248 miles
I am one of this cars owner....fuel leaks and strong odor of gasoline both inside and outside of their vehicle particularly after refueling it's sickening and dangerous. Please take action before is too late thank you

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #54

Jul 082013

E350 6-cyl

  • 32,900 miles
Filled gas tank and parked car in garage. The next morning there was a strong odor of gasoline in the garage. Looked into problem and found a problem with the gas sensing unit on the left side under the rear seat. Found the large nut loose and tightened. Filled gas tank again on 4/21/14 after partially filling in the interim. The next morning the garage had a gasoline odor. Removed seat and found the entire area was filled with gasoline, probably about 100 cc. Removed gasoline and drove 50 miles. Returned car to garage. After four hours gasoline odor is in garage and the sensing unit is damp with gasoline. Called Mercedes dealer and set an inspection date.

- Hatfield, PA, USA

problem #53

Apr 182014

E350 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
After filling up my gas tank, for the first time after buying my used car, I smelled gas in the interior of the car. Once home, I could smell gas outside of the car on the driver's side. I researched this online and came to find out either the sending unit or gas tank was faulty with this group of Mercedes. I removed the rear seat, then removed the cover plate over the fuel sending unit only to find about 5-6 cups of gasoline sitting on top of the gas tank. I tried to soak up this gas with rags, but the volume was too great, so I used a shopvac to remove the lake of gas sitting on top of the tank, right beneath the rear seat. I bought this car because I thought it would be safe for my child; I guess I was wrong when I further read that Mercedes is doing nothing about this problem and the NHTSA has been dragging it's feet for 3 years on this matter. Would you feel safe driving my car, with your son or daughter in the rear seat, only to be rear ended on the highway by a truck? I am going to guess that you would say no, and that you would fear for your child being burned alive. Please take action on this matter now.

- Cedar Park , TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?