Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,749 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Mercury Grand Marquis lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Mercury Grand Marquis Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #100

Nov 172014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 153,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My headlights quit working occasionally cant see the road without lights.

- Okc, OK, USA

problem #99

Oct 302014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
My brother was visiting for my son's wedding and used our mother's car for transportation. He found that the headlights would not come on, and eventually found that holding the high beam switch "on", the lights worked. At the dealership he was told there was likely a recall to fix this. Since he has gone back home, I have been researching this for my mother. I found a closed "safety" issue, number PE08066, which is exactly what he experienced. Although you have a very low number of complaints listed, consider this: Most of these cars are purchased by older people, many mechanically incapable in addition to being unsavvy with computers and the internet, and tend to drive it less, especially at night, so the issue would not be noticeable for quite some time. If they did experience this, they probably paid some serious money to Ford dealers to get it fixed, not realizing that this is a huge safety issue and this should be fixed for free under warranty before failure of the module - the tsb talks about failure of the module. Well, my brother took it in for inspection with this faulty module, and it passed, so then do they not consider it "failed"? mother is 91 years old and would probably panic if the lights went out while she was driving it. This is a major safety issue, and should be rated higher to get the warranty work done!!! I plan to follow up with the same dealer and see what they have to say about this. My suspicion is that until it fails she will have to pay for this fix, which is not cheap. This is ridiculous. Listing my information instead of hers as she needs our help to deal with this kind of annoyance.

- Jaffrey, NH, USA

problem #98

Aug 272014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • miles
Lighting module failure. Parts have been ordered on 8/27/14, by pacific marple Ford, broomall, pa.610-353-5500. Dealer stated on 8/27/14 that they should receive the part in approximately in a month. I visited dealer on 10/3/20-14 and they told me Ford has notified them it may be 2015 no lighting module I called Ford Motor Comany relationship center on 9/3/14, 9/15,9/18, 9/23, 10/3,10/25 and 10/30 2014 ms jodi of the center called me on 9/18/14 her phone # 866-631-3788 ext. 77744. She stated she will call me on 9/30 with an update. Have not heard from her since. Left messages for her on 10/3, 10/25 and 10/30 2014. I cannot drive at night. My auto inspection is November 2014. No headlights, cannot pass inspection this is Ford's responsibilty, not the dealer. Please help. Thank you

- Havertown, PA, USA

problem #97

Feb 282013

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Traveling southbound on I-95 in early morning all lights went out for a few seconds, leaving us in total darkness. Lights came back on and everything resumed as normal for remainder of our trip home. A couple of month later same thing happened during a short evening drive near home. No lights. Researched this frightening occurrence and found that our year make model has this problem due to bad lighting module solder job. Contacted for Ford, no help. Eventually got a letter from Ford stating they would extend warranty on this part, but would only replace module if it was failing at time dealer looked at it, after charging $49 dollars to test for codes. It has not failed at a dealer location. I avoid driving at night as much as possible.

- Longwood, FL, USA

problem #96

Oct 182014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
Headlights shut off unexpectedly while driving in complete darkness. Finally figured out I had to pull the "safe to pass" in order to get the headlights to stay on. Drove to work while pulling the "safe to pass" stick on my steering wheel. Absolutely unsafe.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #95

Sep 012014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • miles
2003 Mercury Grand Marquis. Consumer writes in regards to recall on lighting control module.

- Richmond, MO, USA

problem #94

Sep 112014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 221,995 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving around a bend on a dark county highway in southern NJ, no street lights. My headlights go out and wont come back on. Since my steering is stiff, I almost wrapped myself around a tree. Thank god, I have good brakes and driving on brand new tires on a dry road or I would be dead right now. My mechanic has always claimed that the stiff steering is a common problem & a manufacturing defect, but cost prohibitive for me to fix. When I took the car today, he said it was definitely the lighting control module ($600 part). He was unaware of the chronic problem that is happening as of late with the lcm's in 2003 marquis. I think you guys closed the case too early on the lcm's, the complaints boards all over the internet about this problem are increasing in frequency. Combined with extremely stiff steering, headlights going out randomly is a recipe for disaster.

- Galloway, NJ, USA

problem #93

Aug 092014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 57,871 miles
Head lights would not come on when we tried to return to our hotel in yankton sd. Head lights are intermittent going to work during morning drive in Lincoln ne. Morning sun is bright enough so not a safety hazard. We can not trust vehicle to drive at night. Went to beatrice Ford, beatrice ne to get fixed but were told lcm module is on back order. 8-22-2014.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #92

Jul 272014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 96,800 miles
I was driving at early dawn when I realized in some shadier areas the headlights weren't working. I pulled over and confirmed this. I thought that instances of intermittent headlight failure the week before was a misperception on my part. I had received a letter from Ford weeks earlier; Ford has indeed confirmed this problem is due to their lighting control module, so much so that Ford's letter claims that the company will cover replacement for an additional 5 years. My car's module has now failed completely. I am unsure in how many earlier instances, especially in semi-lighter environments where it was less perceptible to me, this intermittent headlight failure put both myself and other drivers, pedestrians, and bicyclists around me in real danger. The failure of my car's module has since been confirmed by my local dealer. In addition, I contacted Ford directly. However, affected drivers, as well as potential future owners, both of whom have and will pose a danger to others, have not and will not have a remedy any time soon, according to Ford, despite their letter. Ford dealer and regional managers suggest that the part is out of stock indefinitely. Future drivers will have no remedy to their cars' unsafe conditions. An allusion has been made to some unsanctioned, uncovered, and pricey, unreimbursable fix with no guarantee of success, hence to guarantee of safety either. Worse still, Ford has categorized this issue as one not entitled to rental assistance despite their "covered" failed part being responsible. States' inspection processes will fail any vehicle exhibiting this clearly unsafe issue. The commonwealth will deem my unsafe and unroadworthy this month, leaving me with no recourse. And with no relief expected from the manufacturer, any other car suffering this failure will meet with the same fate. What is the worth of being "covered" without a safe fix?

- Topsfield, MA, USA

problem #91

Jul 212010

Grand Marquis

  • 87,655 miles
Cannot get lights to work, pulled over by police (twice)going down the road, and didnt know lights were out. They come and go. Police said to do something like take it to dealer. They told me I was to fail auto inspection for this on the spot. Dealer says they want to test for a week and then they say they cant get parts. If I got to court one mre time or car is impounded I am seking my attorney. This is a safety defect with dangerous and negligent consequences.

- Greenville, TX, USA

problem #90

Jul 012014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter from congressman jones on behalf of constituent regarding a problem she has encountered with her 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis and Ford Motor Company; attn: William moore. The consumer received a customer satisfaction program notice, regarding a potential problem may exist with the electronic module, that supplied power to the headlights, may fail.

- Winterville, NC, USA

problem #89

Jul 052014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 85,194 miles
Lights would not turn on at night. Had to hold the bright light handle on steering column up to drive home. Checked fuses for left headlamp and right headlamp. They were good. Have been told the problem is a lighting module that cost up to $600 dollars to replace.

- Sumrall, MS, USA

problem #88

May 142014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • miles
Customer satisfaction program by Ford, #14N01: They (Ford) tell me in a letter that my headlights may fail without any notice of a problem. They (Ford) know this is not only possible, but that it has happened numerous times already. There are blogs that speak to this issue. If it is the function of your department to protect consumers then please do so. This is potentially a deadly safety issue..... if there is even the slightest chance this could happen I don't understand why this department has not rectified it and made Ford recall these vehicles.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #87

Apr 012014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
Headlamps turned off while driving down dark highway at night!!! only able to make high beam lamps work by pulling turn signal lever back and holding in that position. Low beam and high beam do not work, only high beam when manually held on. Should be recalled!!! very dangerous!!!

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #86

Apr 202014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
The headlights on my 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis have stopped working. This has been an intermittent problem. The most recent issue left my wife and mother in law stranded along the roadside. The first time I thought it was the switch in the steering column because after working the blinkers the lights started working. The next time my wife was driving on the interstate highway and the lights just went off at interstate speeds. It seems this is a common issue and has stranded others.

- Trenton, OH, USA

problem #85

Feb 282014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 79,500 miles
While driving to work at 3:15am my headlights went out without working causing me to pull onto the should er of the highway. Lights would not come back on regardless of what I did at that moment. The only way to get lights was to pull the level back on the steering column in order to drive with the high beams on. The lights would only stay on with the lever held back until I reached my work. This has know happened with daily frequency which now has deemed my car undrivable after dusk until I get this fixed. From the research I have conducted, this appears to be a very common issue on the Ford Crown Victoria as well as the Mercury Grand Marquis. I was very fortunate that I was in an area that allowed me to get my car off the highway without incident but this may not be the case for the next driver who experiences the failure of the light control module for these vehicles.

- Altamonte Springs, FL, USA

problem #84

Jan 152014

Grand Marquis

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the power steering malfunctioned causing the steering wheel to become hard to maneuver. Also, the contact stated that the headlights would fail sporadically. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the technician diagnosed that the lower steering shaft was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 120,000 and the current mileage was 122,000.

- Dover Plains, NY, USA

problem #83

Sep 232013

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 99,700 miles
While driving, lights turn off by themselves. It can be 3 minutes from departure they turn off or longer. They just don't stay on. Try to turn on manually and will not turn on. If I drive long enough they come on by themselves. Dangerous when on street with no lighting and oncoming traffic at night or driving next to trailer rigs who do not know my vehicle is on their right or left. Have read on internet many others have this issue with Ford products and other years.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #82

Mar 112014

Grand Marquis

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact was driving 55 mph when the headlights failed and could not be reactivated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Dyersburg, TN, USA

problem #81

Feb 282013

Grand Marquis

  • 66,000 miles
Driving on Florida highway #70 headlights went out and only high beams worked while holding them on (pulling handle toward me). I am 75 and a female, I was very upset having to drive 24 miles home in this way!

- Lake Placid, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?