Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,965 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Mercury Grand Marquis lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Mercury Grand Marquis Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #124

Aug 022015

Grand Marquis

  • 170,000 miles


Headlights go off without warning while driving or stationary. They may or may not come back on. Has happened many times and now everyday. The lights work for three - five minutes then go off. The mechanic shop says it is a faulty light control module.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #123

Oct 092015

Grand Marquis

  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. While driving at approximately 75 mph, the headlights failed. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 116,000.

- Sun City West, AZ, USA

problem #122

Feb 212015

Grand Marquis

  • miles
Headlights flicker on and off without warning. I have to hold my bright lights switch towards me in order to see on the road at night on my way to and from any given destination without warning. I've had it fixed but didn't fix the problem because it continues to happen.

- Harrison Charter Township, MI, USA

problem #121

Jun 302015

Grand Marquis

  • 61,416 miles


I received a customer satisfaction program letter on April 14 2014, regarding my lighting control module. The module went out on June 30 2015. I had the letter but I forgot about it until I was looking up some papers just recently. Of course I had it fixed by a private garage on 6/ 30/ 2015. It only had 61,416 miles. On it at that time. I can not see why I can not be reimbursed for the repair now. It cost me $387.02. I have been a Ford customer since 1956.

- Painesville, OH, USA

problem #120

Jun 022015

Grand Marquis

  • 80,000 miles
Vehicle headlights work intermittently. Cruse control does not reset or turn on when supposed to. This is also an intermittent problem, sometimes resetting, and sometimes not. Headlights would sometimes not turn on when driving unless pulling turn signal arm toward steering wheel and holding. High beams only would work.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #119

Sep 272015

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. While driving approximately 40 mph, the headlights became inoperable at night. The contact stated that the failure recurred daily. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 11/25/15 the consumer stated the head lights were replaced. Updated 01/29/16

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #118

Jul 102015

Grand Marquis

  • 98,275 miles


Lighting control module had bad solder joint. Lighting cut off in middle of the desert at 65+ mph. I paid 300+ for a new lcm.

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #117

Aug 212015

Grand Marquis

  • 109,507 miles
I was driving in a small town on small street with no street lighting. I was about 15 miles per hour and started to brake for a stop sign. Headlights flashed and went out. I turned my headlights off and then turned them back on and they were good. After making a left turn from the stop sign about 100 feet my lights went out. It took a while to find in the dark a place to pull over. I tried turning my engine off completely, and when I started it back up, no lights. I played around with my light levers and finally found that if I depressed and held the flash lever my lights would work. I had one heck of a time trying to make to left turns and hold down lever to get home.

- Talent, OR, USA

problem #116

Jul 082015

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 134,000 miles
I just recently purchased this vehicle from a small dealer on 6/30/15. On 7/8/15, at about 8pm, I was driving home from a long trip for work, got about 20 miles into my 70 mile drive, when it seemed like the road in front of me was darker than it should have been, I made sure my headlight switch was on headlight mode. It was actually on automatic mode, so switched it to reg headlight mode. I was not use to this new car yet, having not driven it much at night yet and just thought it was my imagination, that they were not on as they seemed to have worked previously. I kept driving as I could still see the road in front on me but it was definitely getting darker and darker and now cars coming from the other direction were flashing me, so I had a feeling that they were not working. When it was safe to do, after trying unsuccessfully to get the headlights working by turning the switch dial, I immediately found a somewhat safe spot to pull over. I got out, looked in the front and surely they were not working but only in flash mode. I turned car off, checked fuses, waited about 10 more minutes, then started car again. They finally came on, so I took advantage of the situation and made a dash towards home again, which was probably another 35 miles or so. I do have aaa, if I needed to use it but just wanted to get home. I made it home safely, thank god but this seems to be intermittent, as they work sometime and other times they don't. I was wondering if there is any recall on this matter as it seems to be a huge safety issue and I do not want to be in anymore positions where this keeps happening. I work late a lot but since this has happened, I'm extremely nervous driving car past a certain time now and can't afford this to keep happening as this is my main car, I use daily. Thank you very much and look forward to any/all replies back. Have a great day. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Holland Patent, NY, USA

problem #115

Jul 092015

Grand Marquis

  • 103,000 miles
Main headlights started going out. Problem first noted after driving through heavy rain on 7/9/15. Headlights will come on, but go off without warning after varying periods of time. Will flash on high-beam but not stay on. All other exterior and interior lights work normally.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #114

Jun 232015

Grand Marquis

  • 55,500 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph, the headlights failed without warning. The contact was able to maneuver to the side of the road and waited until the headlights re-illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The contact was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the headlight control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,500.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #113

Jun 172015

Grand Marquis

  • 105,231 miles
I started my car after dark and did not have any headlights. All the other lights worked. The only way I could make the headlights function was by holding the high beam switch on the signal lever toward me all the way home, over 1 hour.. when I got home I looked on the internet to see if this was a common problem and it is with this year and model car. It is a safety issue and the manufacturer should warn and address this problem.

- Manchester, CT, USA

problem #112

Jun 092015

Grand Marquis

  • 45,000 miles
I was driving in low light conditions with the headlight switch in the 'on' position and noted no lights, I pulled to the side of the road and noted all other lights brake/tail/running were in working order. After a brief outage the lights came back on - and I continued on. Later that evening approximately 11P, in the dark, I was to return home. The headlights failed to light after several attempts and I had to drive home while holding my high beam selector in the flash to pass position. After approximately 7 miles the headlights came back on and I made it home. I checked the internet and found a 'customer satisfaction' campaign, though not a recall. I called the dealership and explained the issue, they had me in the next day, replaced the part and had me back on the road in under an hour, at no cost. The part alone is $260 on internet sites, and I've heard of dealer charging 600-7000 dollars for the repair - prior to the campaign. I'm satisfied and hope it is fixed for good now.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #111

Mar 272015

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 54,310 miles
While driving down the road the headlights just go out and don't come back on.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #110

Mar 202015

Grand Marquis

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. Without warning, the low beam headlights failed to work while operating the vehicle. The contact had to use the high beams and the daytime running lamps each time the failure occurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Petersburg, VA, USA

problem #109

Apr 012015

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 38,650 miles
Headlights suddenly go out while driving at night. Switching between settings does not bright them back on. The only way to have any headlights on at all is to pull and hold the bar that turns on the brights.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #108

Apr 062015

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 104,349 miles
I recently(2 months) returned my 2003 Grand Marquis due to the headlights going out intermittently. My mechanic explained that there was a recall for the failures of the lcm. The dealership replaced the device in January. Last night while I was driving in the dark, the lights went out again. This will again need to be replaced. Are they using faulty parts for the recall? this is very dangerous and I am lucky to be alive to even type this today.

- West Deptford, NJ, USA

problem #107

Dec 172013

Grand Marquis

  • 180,000 miles
I left the house after dark to pick up my husband from work. When I got to his job I turned the car off because I was early. When he got to the car and I restarted it the headlights did not come on. They came back on after I used the turn signal about 2 minutes later. After that we notice that occasionally the lights would go off while driving at night but would come back on after a couple of minutes. Until one night when they stop working altogether. It stayed that way till we took it to a dealership where they informed us that they were aware of it happening to other cars but the piece that we needed was on back order and we would have to wait for one and a half months. While we were waiting the only way to have headlights while driving was to hold the high beams stick because it wouldn't even work if you pushed the high beams to the always on position.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #106

Jun 012014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • miles
2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. Consumer writes in regards to headlights failed to come. Consumer sent additional correspondence. The consumer received a letter from Ford announcing a recall program (14N01). The letter stated there maybe a possibility that an electronic module lighting control module that supplies power to the headlights may fail. The consumer stated she began noticing the headlight failure in June. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where it was determined the problem was covered by the recall program. The dealer ordered the replacement. However, the manufacturer was unable to provide a date, as to when the part would be available.

- Lawrence, NY, USA

problem #105

Dec 102014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 49,564 miles
Headlights go out unexpectedly and w/O warning. This has happened at all different speeds, in a parking lot 5-10mph, on roadway 30-45mph and on the highway65-70mph. Lights will come back on just as unexpectedly w/O apparent cause. Have shut down and restarted car with no effect, turned light switch on/off, no effect and then they will turn on after several minutes while parked. Sometimes the lights will turn on and off several times before staying light.

- Kc, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?