Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 1
Average Mileage:
94,005 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Mercury Grand Marquis steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Mercury Grand Marquis Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #48

Oct 132013

Grand Marquis

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Severe steering problem. Noise in steering column, clunking sound. When turning left or right wheel locks up and does not return to center unless pulled hard. Called NHTSA ON12/19/14. Was given complaint #10667316. I was told I would receive paperwork in mail, sign & return. Never received paperwork. Also called Ford on same day 12/19/14. Spoke to donna. She gave me case# 5719627 never heard from Ford either. Very dangerous. One mechanic told me it was rack & pinion. Paid $700. To have it replaced. Same problem

- Belleville, NJ, USA

problem #47

Apr 212016

Grand Marquis

  • 70,000 miles
My wife and 4 year old daughter were struck by a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis on 04/21/16. They were driving in eastbound traffic in a 2008 Nissan ultima and the driver of the Mercury Grand Marquis was driving in westbound traffic. The driver of the Grand Marquis lost control of his vehicle and crashed into the vehicle of my wife and daughter. The driver died at the scene of the accident. My wife sustained substantial damage to her right leg and my daughter sustained substantial trauma to her skull, neck, back, spinal cord, throat, and intestines. My daughter is paralyzed on the right side and the doctors say her prognosis is unknown. She has a tracheostomy and is unable to speak. I have read numerous complaints online regarding sudden loss of steering with 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis vehicles. Ford issued a recall for the steering column for 2005 through 2011 Mercury Grand Marquis cars. The recall was due to excessive corrosion of the steering column, which leads to loss of control of the vehicle while driving. Ford has not recalled 2003 and 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis despite these vehicles having the same steering column. The memphis police detective closed the case last week and this was before I discovered the steering column recall. I have called the detective multiple times, and he is not returning my calls. This matter needs immediate attention.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #46

Mar 092016

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • miles
2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle has same difficult steering issues stated in defective steering shaft recall but VIN# not included on recall list. Consumer also seeks reimbursement for repairs.

- West Milford, NJ, USA

problem #45

Feb 172016

Grand Marquis

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the steering shaft corroded, which resulted in difficulty steering. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the lower steering shaft binding caused the steering shaft to bind and the lower steering shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 13V385000 (steering), but the VIN was excluded. The failure mileage was approximately 52,000.

- Loudonville, NY, USA

problem #44

Mar 292016

Grand Marquis

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owned a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. While driving 50 mph, the steering wheel seized and the vehicle swirled to the left. As a result, the contact crashed into another vehicle. The contact sustained burn injuries to the arm due to the air bag deployment, but did not require medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a collision lot. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 141,000.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #43

Mar 232016

Grand Marquis

  • 80,000 miles
Power steering has become progressively more difficult. Car is located in New York state and has less than 80,000 mile. Complaint is similar to other 2004 issues indicated at this site and same as 2005 - 2011 Mercury recall issue

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #42

Feb 192016

Grand Marquis

  • 174,120 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering lost. Vehicle very hard to steer around corners. Added power steering fluid to min/max line. Thought problem was solved but steering very tight and hard to steer within 5 miles. Steering odd, not normal. Groaning noise accompanied steering issue. Was driving on street, medium traffic.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #41

Nov 022015

Grand Marquis

  • 218,801 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the steering wheel seized when turned to the left. The contact stated that the failure was recurring. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 218,801.

- Campbell, NY, USA

problem #40

Sep 152014

Grand Marquis

  • 150,000 miles
Takata recall: TL* the contact owns a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that there was a sudden loss of power steering ability, which randomly progressed without warning. The contact stated that when the steering wheel was turned left or right, the contact had to apply force to prevent the steering wheel from going straight several times. In addition, the air bag warning light randomly flashed. The vehicle was to be taken to a dealer for inspection and diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #39

Sep 272015

Grand Marquis

  • 51,900 miles
My 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis has extremely tight steering issue. Especially tight on left turning. The car only has 51,900 miles. Saw Ford has recalled 2005 to 2011. Not sure why they don't recall 2003 and 2004. They are the same generation. The problem was found immediately after parked 2 days. Fortunately it is not on highway. Can't image what safety problem it will cause.

- Hopkinton, MA, USA

problem #38

Aug 172015

Grand Marquis

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am having a difficult time moving my steering wheel on my 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. It started with some noisy operation of the steering wheel. Once I can get the steering wheel to move the car doesn't want to turn. I am a afraid to drive it on the road. From what I have read there is a issue with a component of the steering system and your department is investigating it. I had a 2009 Mercury Grand Marquis that a steering part recalled.

- Seven Hills , OH, USA

problem #37

Jul 082015

Grand Marquis

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. When turning the vehicle, the steering wheel seized and then returned to normal. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the intermediate shaft was binding up and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000. The VIN was not available.

- Cherry Valley , IL, USA

problem #36

Jun 032015

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. While driving at an unknown speed, the steering failed without warning. The dealer diagnosed that the upper intermediate shaft failed and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 8/10/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 11/30/2015

- Vermilion, OH, USA

problem #35

Apr 242013

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 79,400 miles
Steering wheel suddenly harder to turn.

- Cambridge, Ontario, Canada, NY, USA

problem #34

Apr 132015

Grand Marquis

  • 154,000 miles
Vehicle steering became stiff. Brought to local dealership and the lower steering shaft and intermediate steering shaft were seized from column. Had to have both steering shafts replaced. Definitely was dangerous and accident could have occurred. Total cost of replacement was $882.55. Vehicle was repaired at sarat Ford, 245 springfield St., agawam, MA 01001, 413-786-0430. It is my understanding that there was a safety review for this problem that was initiated in the fall of 2014. What was the end result of the review" do you anticipate a recall for this issue" thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Feeding Hills , MA, USA

problem #33

Apr 212015

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,157 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. While attempting to turn the steering wheel left or right, it was extremely tight. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the steering shaft needed to be replaced. The contact VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V704000 (steering) and 13V385000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 38,157. Updated 7/9/2015

- Petoskey, MI, USA

problem #32

Apr 012015

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
I noticed a loud groaning sound from my car anytime I turned left or right. I took it to an independent shop, which flushed the power steering system and replaced the power steering pump. Afterwards, the car's steering was even worse, turning failed multiple times, would not turn left or right without excessive force. I fear for the safety of myself and my 4-year-old while operating the car. It is still at the shop, now they will replace rack and pinion shaft, and/or lower intermediate shaft, totaling near $2000. I cannot afford to pay, not when there is a recall for Grand Marquis' 2005-2011, manufactured March 4, 2004-2011 (recalls 13S08, 14S25) for the exact same issues. Please help, my car was manufactured within this window, on April 30, 2004.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #31

Mar 022015

Grand Marquis

  • 77,083 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated while turning, the steering failed without warning and would not respond. The failure recurred on a daily basis. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the steering assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,083.

- Marlton , NJ, USA

problem #30

Dec 062014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
Steering has become progressively more difficult over the past two months. Initially the tight steering would go away after driving, or only be slightly noticeable. However at this point, the wheel can only be turned by applying significant force, and then when the wheel does turn, it does so in a jerky fashion.

- Concord, MA, USA

problem #29

Jun 202013

Grand Marquis

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that after turning the steering wheel, it failed to return to the center. Additionally, there was an abnormal noise coming from the steering column when making a turn. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the rack and pinion needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Belleville, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?