Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,339 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Mercury Grand Marquis lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Mercury Grand Marquis Owner Comments (Page 3 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #172

Jun 232014

Grand Marquis

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the headlights and high beams became inoperable. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000. The VIN was not available.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #171

Jul 042014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
While driving down the highway @ 65 mph the headlights suddenly went out causing a very dangerous situation. I tried the switch in every position to no avail the only solution was to use the flash to pass bar. I safely pulled off the road and tried restarting the car and moving the switch to different positions, nothing would work. The only way to use the lights is the flash to pass (bright lights) switch which causes not only a safety hazard to my family and other drivers but is against the law to drive with only bright lights. Ford has issued (customer satisfaction program 14N01) which is a step in the right direction but the dealerships all say that the lcm is on backorder and will be at least 45 days to receive this safety hazard part. Mt family is now stuck in a vehicle that can only be safely driven during daylight hours. Please help, parts stores have these parts and Ford should have to be required to purchase them if they can not provide the parts until 45 days later. Is this safety issue going to take someone dying *trbefore it is rectified?

- Pflugerville , TX, USA

problem #170

Jun 102014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
June 10 while driving 65 miles per hour my lights failed. I was fortunate there was no accident. Took car to Ford dealership and was advised it was the light module. Dealership advised that Ford acknowledged this was a faulty part and the warranty on said part had been extended for 15 years. The local dealership ordered the part 45 days ago but has not been received. I personally called Ford's customer service several times but Ford still cannot give me an estimated date the part will be received. This same dealership has worked on my car several times but no one mentioned the defective module. This could easily lead toe death and destruction. Your help in resolving this matter would be appreciated. My case #with Ford is [xxx] I ran google search and this is a very serious problem and many people are not aware of it. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- San Angelo, TX, USA

problem #169

Jun 132014

Grand Marquis

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The headlights would not come on even tried to turn them on manually. Had to drive home holding the dimmer switch back to have high beams.

- Okmulgee, OK, USA

problem #168

Apr 212010

Grand Marquis

  • 150,000 miles
Driving down a roadside and lights suddenly went off, but I was able to use high beams. Check it out the next day and were working fine. Problem came up a year later, again, it resolved itself. Happened a third time recently and it still out.

- Webster, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #167

Oct 192013

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
High and low beam headlights failed while driving at high speed on dark 2 lane highway in upstate NY. Fumbled with light controls until by random chance discovered that by holding "flash to pass" stalk back, high beams could be activated. Made it home steering with the right hand and holding flash to pass with left, blinding oncoming drivers with the high beams all the way. This is an intermittent problem in the lighting control module (lcm) that can sometimes be cured by kicking the lcm, which is located under the dashboard above the accelerator pedal. Hard to do at night, on a dark road, at high speed, in traffic, while holding the flash to pass stalk with the left hand and steering with the right hand. This intermittent light failure occurred again the week of May 25, 2014. This vehicle should not be driven at night and should be recalled immediately before someone gets killed.

- Fairport, NY, USA

problem #166

May 202014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 50,123 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Lost headlights. Lighting control module failed. It was dark and I was out of state, approximately 325 miles from home. I stayed in va and returned home in NY state the next day during daylight hours. I traveled through a mandatory "headlight one zone" on route 15 in Maryland. I traveled through construction zones in pa on I81, where headlights are required to be on. Approximately two weeks earlier I received a letter from Ford(customer satisfaction program 14N01) notifying me that this failed part was now part of an extended warranty. Problem is that the part is not available and Ford Motor Co. Cannot tell me when it will be available. This should have been a safety recall. Imagine an unsuspecting driver, driving at night on a two lane country road when this part fails. If this driver is going around a corner, the car would almost certainly leave the road and crash.

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #165

Apr 012014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 155,000 miles
We were driving and all of the sudden the head lights went out randomly. We tried to turn the switch the other way and back and forth but that did not work. The only time the light work is if you hold the high beam switch towards your body making it very dangerous to drive. Sometimes they come on when you first turn the car on and then turn off again within minutes.

- Murfreesboro , TN, USA

problem #164

Apr 212014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact received a notice for a manufacturer's recall and was informed that the part could not be replaced if he was not experiencing a failure but felt that it should be replaced before a failure occurred. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/22/14

- Morgan Town, KY, USA

problem #163

Mar 252014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • miles
At about 8 pm, I was driving on an interstate in heavy traffic when the headlights went out. I was able to pull off the interstate. I turned the headlight switch on and off, but the headlights did not come back on. After a few minutes, the headlights just came back on. I turned on my blinker to get back on the interstate and the headlights went off again. My husband and I swapped seats and he took over the driving. The lights came back on and he pulled onto the interstate. The lights went off again and as long as he pulled the blinker towards him, then we had bright lights. Whenever he released the blinker, the lights went out. After driving for about 10 minutes with the bright lights on, the dim headlights came back on and stayed on for the next hour as we drove home. He was told at a Ford dealership that it was the light switch, so he replaced the switch. The next night the headlights went off again. I pulled off the road for a few minutes and the lights came back on and stayed on until we got home about 20 minutes later. We have not driven the car at night since then. We have since learned via this site that there is a problem with the light control module. The service man in the Ford parts department said it was his experience that when this happened it was the light switch. So we spent $137 on a part that we did not need.

- Section, AL, USA

problem #162

Apr 092013

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The lights were on in normal mode when I heard a click and they suddenly cut out. I was driving slowly in town and was able to pull over; I discovered that I could hold the turn signal control signal for the passing brights and get light; otherwise no lighting would turn on regardless of attempts to change the lighting mode and restarting the car. Eventually the lights came back days later, but have continued to cut out intermittently ever since. This is a major safety hazard as there is no predicting the failure, and the brights are not good to have to hold to use.

- Newton, KS, USA

problem #161

Apr 092014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 75,500 miles
Headlights shut off in dark.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #160

Apr 012014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
My head lights started giving me this problems on April 1 2014 they won't stay on so I have to hold my high beam switch so I can drive using my high beams sometimes my headlights do cone on but very rarely I have read blogs and I'm not the only one having this problems.

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #159

Mar 042013

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Driving along at night when headlights went out. Tried all switch positions with no results. Eventually found that I could get lights on by pulling and holding the high beam leaver. This problems happens without any warning. I am no longer driving this vehicle at night until I get it repaired.

- Hoodsport, WA, USA

problem #158

Mar 112014

Grand Marquis

  • 80,000 miles
The headlights will suddenly go off and won't come back on. Eventually, the lights will come back only to go off again. I searched the internet and found numerous instances of this happening to this make and model yet, there is no recall.

- Edgerton, WI, USA

problem #157

Mar 102014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated while traveling various speeds, the headlights suddenly failed to function. The failure was not diagnosed nor was the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 97,000. Updated 05/12/14 MA the consumer received a letter from Ford, stating the lcm would be replaced on May 6, 2014. Updated 05/15/14

- Fairview, WV, USA

problem #156

Mar 192014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
While driving at night, the headlights will suddenly go out. Tail lights and other lights continue to work. I do not know what makes them come back on some time later. I can make the high lights come on by holding the high light, (turn signal) lever toward me this too is dangerous because I am blinding oncoming drivers. This is certainly a serious safty issue.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #155

Feb 032014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
I drive on the highway from to work. During the winter months, it is dark at 6 am. This morning, as I usually do, the light switch was on and it was on low beams. Suddenly, the headlights went out. I pulled over and stopped. The side markers and the parking lights were on. I sat for a few minutes to decide how to get home with no lights. Then the headlights came back on. I took a chance, they remained on, that day. It would occur periodically then daily, sometimes two (2) to three (3) times on the drive to work.

- Eagle, WI, USA

problem #154

Mar 122013

Grand Marquis

  • 110,430 miles
While driving my 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis at approx 8:00 pm, my lights went out while I was driving and I tried to turn the lights off and on again, but they would not come back on. I was about 1 mile from my home near my subdivision entrance and I had to drive the rest of the way home without my lights. Later, after researching the problem, I found that you can use the flash to pass high beams if this should occur. The same problem occurred often after the initial outage and I replaced the lcm. The replacement lcm is having the same issue. I cannot understand why you do not think that this is a problem that does not require a recall. It is dangerous to the driver and other motorists as well.

- St. Peters, MO, USA

problem #153

Mar 012014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Headlights went dark without warning and would not work regardless of setting. I could only get high beams if I held the directional lever up. Very scary. Almost resulted in accident!!!!!

- The Villages, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?