10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,657 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Mercury Grand Marquis lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Mercury Grand Marquis Owner Comments (Page 7 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #96

Sep 042012

Grand Marquis 6-cyl

  • 84,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving to work at 5:50 am in the dark when on coming traffic began flashing their headlights at me. I then noticed that my headlights (which I always have set on automatic) had gone out without warning. I had to drive a short distance to find a safe place to pull off the road. I could not get the headlights to come on with the switch in either the automatic or manual settings. I repeatedly shut the car off and restarted it without any luck. I had to wait until the sun came up to continue driving to work. I goggled this headlight problem and found it is a very common failure of the lighting control module in the 2003-2005 Ford Crown Victoria and Mercury Grand Marquis. I contacted Ford Motor Co. But was told there was no recall on these cars with this common and very dangerous defect and was directed to take my car to a Ford dealer for service. I personally think Ford should be responsible for repairing this defect with no cost to the customer.

- Angola, NY, USA

problem #95

Aug 302012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
While driving my 2005, Mercury, Grand Marquis, at night, the headlights completely went out on me...making visibility impossible...after much research on this problem, I find that alot of people are complaining of the very same problem with their Mercury, Grand Marquis...after reading of all the complaints about this problem, I wonder why this has not been on the recall list......this is a severe safety issue!!! thank you for your prompt attention in this matter.

- Walton, NY, USA

problem #94

Feb 062012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 98,500 miles
Description of the complaint: Lcm known defect: Both headlights failed, in both dim and high-beam positions. They will not come on in either the automatic or manual dashboard switch positions. (the bulbs are still good.) the parking lights, turn signals, tail lights, and brake lights continued to function. This happened at night. It should be obvious that this failure will *always* occur at night, or during stormy weather, threatening safety, because headlights are not normally used during the daytime. Later testing revealed the problem to be intermittent. At one point, the automatic dashboard switch position worked for both dim and high-beams, but the manual switch position did not work. The next morning, both the automatic and manual positions worked. When the problem first occurred, neither position would work. This intermittent problem is consistent with a large number of complaints and reports for the 2003-2005 model years, and the problem is the lighting control module. This module is so unreliable that it has been named the "lights out module" on the internet. A sampling of complaints can be found at these web sites: This is a *safety* issue. Lives are at stake. Please force a recall to correct this problem before innocent people are killed. Although the parking lights and tail lights continued to work, so other drivers can see the car with the failed headlights, the driver of the car with the failed headlights *cannot* see where he is going!! he could run into a parked car, hit a pedestrian, hit a bicyclist, hit a tree or other obstruction, etc. This is a very dangerous situation!

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #93

Jan 012012

Grand Marquis

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that while driving, the headlights stop working. The headlights worked intermittently and failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the light control module failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any further assistance. The failure mileage was 79,000 and the current mileage was 83,000.

- Fayette, AL, USA

problem #92

May 152005

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 52 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. While parked, the headlights failed to illuminate. The failure recurred intermittently. The warning flashers were the only lights on the exterior of the vehicle that functioned when the headlights were inoperable. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing however, the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 52...updated 10/03/12 the consumer stated at approximately 70,000 miles the headlights began failing when driving at night, without warning. Occasionally, turn the engine off then on, or turning on the wipers would turn the lights on. Updated 10/09/2012

- New Bloomfield, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #91

Jul 212010

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 38,362 miles
Headlights stopped working. Entire lighting control model had to be replaced. The cost of the work at the dealer was $708.47.

- Owings Mills, MD, USA

problem #90

Aug 142012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,864 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that while driving the headlights failed. The contact turned the lights on and the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the light module and the icm needed to repair. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,864. Updated 10/10/12 updated 10/17/12

- Thorsby, AL, USA

problem #89

Aug 182012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Driving down the road, the headlights went out. Hasn't worked automatically or manually since. The high beam lights would not work either unless I held it in the position that I would normally just push for it to stay on. In process of taking car to dealer. I have had the car for one year in July. Hope Ford pays for this because it must be a factory defect. I see that many other people have or have had the same problem.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #88

Aug 182011

Grand Marquis

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the headlights failed. The contact tried to engage the switch multiple times but to no avail. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the light control module was malfunctioning and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Lafayette, GA, USA

problem #87

Jul 202012

Grand Marquis

  • 45,726 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the headlights and high beam headlights stopped illuminating. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the headlight control module was replaced. The failure continued intermittently. The manufacturer offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 45,726.

- Brunswick, OH, USA

problem #86

Jul 252012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was coming home in pitch dark and the headlights just went and I run off the road, a good thing there was not tree there. Then on the internet I found out this is a common problem for this vehicle, I do not know why something has not been done about it.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #85

Jul 062010

Grand Marquis

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the headlights and tail lights were inoperable while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who inspected the failure and stated that the headlight control module failed and needed to be replaced. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer were notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 80,000.

- Stillwater, OK, USA

problem #84

Oct 192011

Grand Marquis

  • 53,000 miles
While driving at night the headlights will go out and would not come back on for a few min. Then they will work for a little while and go out again. This is very dangerous when the headlights go out in the dark or during rainstorms.

- Ocean Springs , MS, USA

problem #83

May 012012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that while his instrument panel showed that the headlights were activated, the lights were not illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer however the problem could not be replicated. The dealer did suggest that the module was faulty and that the contact could reach under the dashboard and tap it, and the lights would illuminate. The contact did not feel the remedy was reasonable or safe. The manufacturer was notified of the issued however, offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 60,000. Updated 08/01/12 updated 08/01/12

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #82

Mar 212012

Grand Marquis

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, he was pulled over by a police officer and informed that the headlights were not illuminated. The contact stated that the headlight switch indicated that the headlights were illuminated when the failure occurred. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the headlight module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #81

Jun 042012

Grand Marquis

  • 72,800 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that while parked, the headlights would not illuminate. The contact was able to activate the high beam headlights by holding the turn signal bar. The low beam headlights illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for a diagnostic test. The mechanic stated that the headlight control module would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 72,800.

- North Patchogue, NY, USA

problem #80

Oct 012011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
In October 2011, I was driving at night when my headlights went off. I pulled into a parking lot to investigate the problem. I got out and took a walk around the car and all the lights were working except the headlights. I turned the lights switch off for a few minutes and the lights came back on. The problem worsened and I found that I could hold the "momentary" high beam switch on and the headlights would work -- as long as I held the switch in the high beam position. The situation worsened, and now the headlights will not come on for any length of time. The problem has escalated from October 2011 until late May 2012. If I need to drive the car at night, I must hold the "momentary" high beam switch while I drive. Once in a while you can see the headlights come on because the lights get extremely bright. Then I can release the "momentary" high beam switch. The lights will only stay on for about 10 seconds and then go back off. My mechanic told me that many Mercury Grand Marquis and Ford Crown Victoria's around the model year of my car have this problem. He has traced the problem to something called the lighting control module. It seems to me that this is an engineering problem. Ford wants $600 just for the part. If you search the internet for similar problems, you will find an abundance of very similar situations as I have described to you. Not everyone is reporting this problem. Please help! updated 08/20/12

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #79

Feb 012012

Grand Marquis

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the head lamps would fail sporadically. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 74,000.

- Williston , SC, USA

problem #78

May 262012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
I was driving home and my headlights cut off with no warning at night, they came on again for a min., but cut off this has happened 4 times since. I have to hold my bright switch down for a 30 min drive home. I have had a fuses checked, after looking on line it looks like several people have had this same issue, this is scary, considering I have 3 children.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #77

Dec 062011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 67,991 miles
Let me start by saying this is a safety risk that could lead to loss of life. While driving at night, headlights went out. Instrument illumination stayed on. Headlight switch was cycled and the headlights cam back on. They turned off minutes later. After pulling over and cycling the bright lights and the headlamp switch, it was determined that driving with the signal light pulled back into bright-flash position was the only way to drive. This was after several pull-off-the-road events. We took the vehicle to the mechanic, who determined the headlight switch to be bad. $300 afterwards, the intermittent symptoms went away. However, the headlights never illuminated. From 12/11 through 5/12, the vehicle was driven only during the day -- occasionally at night, but with the turn signal pulled back to highbeam flash. After reviewing many internet posts, I discovered the light control module (lcm) was the suspect component. The dealership price for this component, as of 5/12, is $521.67. I removed the lcm and opened it to inspect. After nothing was found (burned components, cold solder joints, etc.), I reassembled and reinstalled it. After an operational check to see if reseating the connectors fix it, I discovered the headlight system fully functional. We'll see if the problem repeats itself. This problem was reported an many internet repair posts for 2003-2005 Ford crown vics and Grand Marquis.

- Allen, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?