NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,657 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Mercury Grand Marquis lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Mercury Grand Marquis Owner Comments (Page 8 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #76

Dec 062011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 67,991 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Let me start by saying this is a safety risk that could lead to loss of life. While driving at night, headlights went out. Instrument illumination stayed on. Headlight switch was cycled and the headlights cam back on. They turned off minutes later. After pulling over and cycling the bright lights and the headlamp switch, it was determined that driving with the signal light pulled back into bright-flash position was the only way to drive. This was after several pull-off-the-road events. We took the vehicle to the mechanic, who determined the headlight switch to be bad. $300 afterwards, the intermittent symptoms went away. However, the headlights never illuminated. From 12/11 through 5/12, the vehicle was driven only during the day -- occasionally at night, but with the turn signal pulled back to highbeam flash. After reviewing many internet posts, I discovered the light control module (lcm) was the suspect component. The dealership price for this component, as of 5/12, is $521.67. I removed the lcm and opened it to inspect. After nothing was found (burned components, cold solder joints, etc.), I reassembled and reinstalled it. After an operational check to see if reseating the connectors fix it, I discovered the headlight system fully functional. We'll see if the problem repeats itself. This problem was reported an many internet repair posts for 2003-2005 Ford crown vics and Grand Marquis.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #75

Apr 232012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the headlights went out while driving approximately 35 mph. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for a diagnostic test. The mechanic stated that the headlight switch would have to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the part was not in stock. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000. Updated 07/19/12 updated 07/25/12

- Muskego, WI, USA

problem #74

Apr 142012

Grand Marquis

  • 48,000 miles
I was driving around 11 pm on April 15, 2012 when headlights failed to remain illuminated. Blindly swerved off road onto grass. Shut car off and restarted. Headlights failed to engage. Drove remaining duration of trip with high beams engaged. This is the third occurrence in two weeks. The first two occurrences were at around 15 miles per hour. The third instance almost resulted in an accident.

- Jenkintown, PA, USA

problem #73

Mar 242012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 101,110 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At approximately 11:00 pm on 3/24/12, I suddenly lost my headlights as I was driving South through North Carolina on interstate-95. I pulled into a rest area, and after a few minutes, my headlights came back on when I restarted the car. I drove for a few more hours without further incident. At approximately 8:00 pm on 3/25/12, I lost my headlights again while driving through Florida. Fortunately, I was only a few miles away from my motel when the incident occurred. The next morning, 3/26/12, I took my car to an independently-owned garage, and the mechanic diagnosed the problem as a defective light control module. He was able to obtain a new module from a nearby Ford dealership and successfully install the module into my car. There is no question the light control module was defective because the mechanic was unable to restore my headlights by first trying to replace the headlight switch or the headlight dimmer switch. What's more, he was unable to get the defective light control module to respond to an external computer command. The repair cost $816.77. I was concerned that I suddenly lost my headlights while driving on a busy interstate highway, but even more concerned when I heard a parts specialist at the Ford dealership that provided my new replacement light control module claim his dealership was replacing an average of three of these modules weekly on Ford Crown Victoria patrol cars being driven by local police. The idea of policeman losing their headlights during high speed pursuits at night made me very concerned. My concern was heightened when I started investigating the matter on the internet and read many stories similar to mine. A number of these stories suggested that Ford has known about these defective light control modules for quite some time and that a recall has long been in order. Thank you for your attention to this serious matter.

- Hallstead, PA, USA

problem #72

Mar 282012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 82,678 miles
Headlight failure while driving at night.

- New Bern, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #71

Mar 282012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • miles
Headlights will activate and deactivate without controls being manipulated. When they are active, they only stay on briefly. Common problem amongst that year and model after performing an online search for the issue and possible recall action by Mercury/Ford motors.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #70

Feb 012012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Headlights randomly, unexpectedly goes out completely. This is very dangerous.....

- Alexandria, LA, USA

problem #69

Sep 142011

Grand Marquis

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the headlights intermittently failed while driving at various speeds over 30 mph. The contact had to stop the vehicle and wait until the lights reset independently. The contact replaced the headlight switch and turned the signal lever, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 78,000.

- Madison, CT, USA

problem #68

Feb 082012

Grand Marquis

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the headlights failed to illuminate. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer for a diagnostic test where the dealer replaced the multifunction switch. The repair did not remedy the issue. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer for a second diagnostic test and the dealer determined that the module which controlled the exterior lighting was defective. The dealer did not replace the module. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Milford, NH, USA

problem #67

Jan 082012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Headlights fail to come on or suddenly shut off while driving. Other lights, interior and exterior function. Headlights will burn only if the turn signal lever is held back. This is an extremely dangerous malfunction that is being experienced by many Ford Crown Victoria and Mercury Grand Marquis owners, model years 2004-2005. Dealers will replace light control module for $500 with no guarantee it will fix the problem. I know of several Ford owners with the same identical problem. Many wrecking yards are sold out of the salvaged lcms (doesn't fix the problem anyway.)

- Elsa, TX, USA

problem #66

Aug 012011

Grand Marquis

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the headlights stopped illuminating while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Lumberton, MS, USA

problem #65

Dec 072011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
While driving at night on NJ highway 29 in trenton the headlights went off. They would not turn on except when I held the "brights" lever up. At some point they would come back on, but then they would go off again. I was at speed and in traffic on a lighted roadway. Took car to Ford dealer but did not get repaired because cost is exorbitant (over $800). The problems continues so I do not drive this car at night. This apparently happens frequently to this make/model/year but manufacturer does not see it as a problem (I corresponded with them on this matter). Before I realized the severity I continued driving and the lights cut out on a poorly lighted city street as I was turning the corner and I almost hit a pedestrian I could not see.

- Trenton, NJ, USA

problem #64

Jan 292012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 83,005 miles
It was approx. 2:30am [night time] and I was driving on a rural state highway @ 65mph with the cruise control set. The headlights on my 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis suddely went out. The switch was set to automatic on / off. Visibility instantly became zero in the pitch black.. as I was 20 miles outside of town on a state highway in an unpopulated area with no lighting.. not even moon light. I slammed on my breaks running off the roadway into the drainage ditch.. taking over 100 feet to stop. After gaining my composure, I noticed that my dashlights were still working along with my yellow warning lights. I tried the headlights switch by changing it from off, to full on- to auto... with no success at first. But after 3-4 minutes the lights suddenly came back on and worked in both the auto & in the switched 'on' positions for 20-30 seconds and then shut off. So I knew the problem wasn't with a blown fuse. This continued to be the cycle.. the headlights would come on for 20-30 seconds and then shut off for several minutes before working again. By pulling the turn control / high beam lever toward me, I was able to get the passing light setting of my headlights to work and was able to drive back home... but this created a danger to vehicles I met.. as it blinded them. I couldn't turn off the bright passing beam without going dark on the roadway. Next morning I checked the internet about this problem and discovered that 1000's of other Mercury Grand Marquis owners have had this same problem.. that Mercury has known about this problem for years... with similar problems prior to 2005. Not only has Mercury knowingly endangered my and the other owners [and their faimlies] lives.. Mercury has created a very profitable income charging its customers close to $700 for a repair that they know is the result of a faulty factory installed headlight control module. This rates a recall!

- Altus, OK, USA

problem #63

Dec 282011

Grand Marquis

  • miles
The lights went out while driving in the city at night. I pulled over and played with the light switch until they came back on. I had trouble with the lights several times, before I replaced the light switch on 01/04/12. On a trip to the store tonight, the lights went out again. After checking on the internet, it seems it must be the lcm module, at a cost of $700, to $900. Dollars. It seems this is a very dangerous problem with Ford Motor Co, vehicles.

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #62

Aug 082008

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact was driving 65 mph when the headlights illuminated unexpectedly and failed to work properly. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 61,000. Updated 02/15/12 the consumer stated he has since replaced the lighting control module and there have been no further problems. Updated 03/08/12

- Warminster, PA, USA

problem #61

Sep 282011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • miles
Lighting control module relay intermittent: After reading other peoples incident reports I thank god for getting my family through our involvement with this head light failure situation. We were out of town and got into our car and no headlights! this is a problem that needs to be considered a high priority risk but unfortunately not until a major death related situation will get this resolved. But with the head lights being in the front of the car and a crash will destroy the evidence. I write this so my family and lawyers will be in the loop about this situation. Thank you Ford for taking this seriously. Knowing this I sure hope when I sell my Ford Mercury that I am not held liable with the manufacturer. We are still coping with the issue. We try to get off the roads by dark.

- Athens, AL, USA

problem #60

Sep 292011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
The headlights do not turn on automatically or manually, day or dark at night, unless you use the bright lights. He lights will not turn on by the control lever. The lights will only work by pulling and holding the light control lever towards the driver thereby turning the bright lights on. The bright lights will not stay on unless you hold the lever with your hand. The headlights still do not turn on even if you turn the control inside the car. I looked at all the fuses in the fusebox. I di not see any split wires in the fuse indicating a blown fuse.

- Fairfax Station, VA, USA

problem #59

Oct 102011

Grand Marquis

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the headlights and high beam headlights failed without warning. The contact went to try the lights two hours after the failure and the lights did illuminate, but failed shortly thereafter. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was told that there was short in the lever used for the turn signal and the lights. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 96,000.

- Fairview , TX, USA

problem #58

Oct 052011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. While driving approximately 30 mph the driver and passenger side headlights shut off. The contact stated the high beam light switch had to be sustained in order to illuminate the road. The failure occurred twice. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 49,000. Updated 11/08/11 updated 11/30/11

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #57

Sep 022011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,086 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the headlights failed and the contact would have to play with the on/off switch to get the lights to illuminate. In addition, the headlights would fail when the turn signals were activated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where the dealer advised that the light control switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact did not call the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 79,086 updated 11/16/11 updated 11/30/11

- Topeka, KS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?