10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,657 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Mercury Grand Marquis lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Mercury Grand Marquis Owner Comments (Page 9 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Sep 062011

Grand Marquis

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the headlights would intermittently shut off. The contact also stated that three weeks prior to the failure, the headlights began to dim. The failure also occurred when the high beams were engaged. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that this was a known failure and the repairs were not covered by warranty. The contact was also informed that a failure of the headlight module caused the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 46,000.

- Passchristian, MS, USA

problem #55

Sep 012009

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Lighting monugal failure.

- Deer Park, TX, USA

problem #54

Nov 102010

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
I was driving down the raod at 70 mph and the headlights blinked off, all the lites went off, headlites, tailites, all. I turned the headlite switch on and off and nothing. I slowed and down and began to pull of the interstate and the lites blinked back on again. This occurred 3 more times on the way into work. I notified Ford, no assistance and the dealer replaced the lighting control module, stated they had seen a few of them. I saw a Chrysler had a problem and thought I should report mine. I notified Ford this was a safety item and they should issue a recall.

- Jacksonville , FL, USA

problem #53

Jun 012010

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 78,252 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Headlights go out or sometimes will not come on. Lighting control module relay intermitten. Lights go out with no warning while driving. High beams and cornering lights also inop when acting up.getting worse with time. This is a serious safty issue as it happens on freways, highways etc. We have to tap the lcm in order to get the lights back on but they go out again. This is a very expensive fix ($800) so I cant afford to have replaced. Please this should be a recall.

- Redford, MI, USA

problem #52

Aug 312011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 51,838 miles
While driving my car at in the very early morning both headlights failed on a curvy downhill road. I switched the headlight switch from the automatic position to the manual "on" position, but the headlights did not come back on. I pushed the high beam switch forward to the high beam position but this failed to turn on the high beams. I pulled the high beam switch back to the high beam "flash" position which did illuminate the high beams. I held the switch back in this position (to the displeasure of approaching drivers) until I found a safe place to pull over. I cycled the headlight switch numerous times with no effect. The light did finally come back on their own for a short time, but them went off again. This happened several times unit they finally did some back on for a lengthy period of time. The next day the same situation occurred. At all times the other lights (dash, parking, etc) continued to operate. Very dangerous.

- Madison, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #51

Jul 282011

Grand Marquis

  • 97,460 miles
While driving at night, my wife put on the left turn signal and the headlights immediately failed, creating a dangerous situation. She frantically fiddled with various light controls until finally discovering that by manually holding the "flash to pass" high beam lever, it brought the headlights on allowing her to make it home. The headlights were checked by the Ford dealer on August 5, 2011. Tests revealed no cause but the mechanic suspected the light control module. He advised further driving, which I did that same evening only to experience repeated headlight failure when using either turn signal or activating the high beams. Then I discovered a number of internet postings in which drivers experienced the same problem with Grand Marquis' or Ford crown victorias made in the 2000's. then I found a website which stated that the original light control module had a major problem involving a bad circuit that is the definitive cause of the problem. The local Ford dealer acknowledged awareness of the problem (even citing several Crown Victoria police interceptors that required lcm replacement), but because Ford has not issued a recall, they wanted over $1,000 for diagnosis, part, and labor. A website also noted that Ford recently completely revised the lcm with an internal redesign by Ford engineers so that the new lcms will never fail. The website also noted that some dealers continue to sell the old defective lcm which will only fail again. My opinion: Besides not wanting to pay an exhorbitant amount to replace one component of a vehicle's light system, it appears Ford is fully aware of a potentially deadly defect affecting many thousands of Grand Marquis' and crown victorias currently in use, but has not issued a recall. This potentially deadly defect must be addressed! it is entirely possible fatal accidents have already occurred but were misattributed.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #50

Jul 282011

Grand Marquis

  • 97,460 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at night, my wife put on the left turn signal and the headlights immediately failed, creating a dangerous situation. She frantically fiddled with various light controls until finally discovering that by manually holding the "flash to pass" high beam lever, it brought the headlights on allowing her to make it home. The headlights were checked by the Ford dealer on August 5, 2011. Tests revealed no cause but the mechanic suspected the light control module. He advised further driving, which I did that same evening only to experience repeated headlight failure when using either turn signal or activating the high beams. Then I discovered a number of internet postings in which drivers experienced the same problem with Grand Marquis' or Ford crown victorias made in the 2000's. then I found a website which stated that the original light control module had a major problem involving a bad circuit that is the definitive cause of the problem. The local Ford dealer acknowledged awareness of the problem (even citing several Crown Victoria police interceptors that required lcm replacement), but because Ford has not issued a recall, they wanted over $1,000 for diagnosis, part, and labor. A website also noted that Ford recently completely revised the lcm with an internal redesign by Ford engineers so that the new lcms will never fail. The website also noted that some dealers continue to sell the old defective lcm which will only fail again. My opinion: Besides not wanting to pay an exhorbitant amount to replace one component of a vehicle's light system, it appears Ford is fully aware of a potentially deadly defect affecting many thousands of Grand Marquis' and crown victorias currently in use, but has not issued a recall. This potentially deadly defect must be addressed! it is entirely possible fatal accidents have already occurred but were misattributed.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #49

Jul 282011

Grand Marquis

  • 97,460 miles
While driving at night, my wife put on the left turn signal and the headlights immediately failed, creating a dangerous situation. She frantically fiddled with various light controls until finally discovering that by manually holding the "flash to pass" high beam lever, it brought the headlights on allowing her to make it home. The headlights were checked by the Ford dealer on August 5, 2011. Tests revealed no cause but the mechanic suspected the light control module. He advised further driving, which I did that same evening only to experience repeated headlight failure when using either turn signal or activating the high beams. Then I discovered a number of internet postings in which drivers experienced the same problem with Grand Marquis' or Ford crown victorias made in the 2000's. then I found a website which stated that the original light control module had a major problem involving a bad circuit that is the definitive cause of the problem. The local Ford dealer acknowledged awareness of the problem (even citing several Crown Victoria police interceptors that required lcm replacement), but because Ford has not issued a recall, they wanted over $1,000 for diagnosis, part, and labor. A website also noted that Ford recently completely revised the lcm with an internal redesign by Ford engineers so that the new lcms will never fail. The website also noted that some dealers continue to sell the old defective lcm which will only fail again. My opinion: Besides not wanting to pay an exhorbitant amount to replace one component of a vehicle's light system, it appears Ford is fully aware of a potentially deadly defect affecting many thousands of Grand Marquis' and crown victorias currently in use, but has not issued a recall. This potentially deadly defect must be addressed! it is entirely possible fatal accidents have already occurred but were misattributed.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #48

Jun 102009

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, with the headlights illuminating, the lights unexpectedly shut off. The vehicle was cautiously manuevered to the side of the road where the contact turned on the high beam headlights. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the headlight control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 8/29/11 the consumer stated once the lights go off, they do not come back on; not even the high beams. Updated 09/28/11

- Eureka, MO, USA

problem #47

May 272011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that on an intermittent basis the headlights would fail for approximately 15 to 20 minutes while driving various speeds. The dealer advised him that he needed to bring the vehicle in for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 53,000. Updated 08/01/11 updated 08/02/11

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #46

Jun 012011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. Consumer writes to request reimbursement the consumer's claim for reimbursement was denied because the vehicle did not have roadside assistance coverage and parts/labor were not covered by roadside assistance. The serpentine belt and lighting control module had to be replaced.

- Naranja, FL, USA

problem #45

May 152011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 72,251 miles
My wife and I were pulling into a four lane highway at 9:30 pm in the evening, after finishing dinner. Once we had approached highway speed of about 45 to 50 mph, our front head lights went out. Immediately my wife pulled off the highway with our lights out, I got out of the auto to insure the lights had indeed gone out...yes, they were out black as midnight. I asked my wife to see if they would come back just for the heck of trying something. Yes the lights did come back on and remained on for the remainder of our 25 minute drive. As my wife and I were driving home, she indicated to me this was not the first time, only one of several times as she was driving, it might be in the rain day or night, she never knew when it would happen, however at this time, the lights seem to go out on a regular basic. I'm going to see if the dealer can repair, what I have been lead to believe is the lcm, and to expect a charge up to $800+, this is a horrible accident waiting to occur, and a expense that I think merc. Show absorb, with all of the problems with the same problem for several years now, I would hope a nation wide recall should take place, before the is loss of life. I thank you for your time, and I do appreciate any help you may be able to offer. Kind regards, owner of the above auto, 2005 merc. Grand marq. Light control module, problem.

- Westover, AL, USA

problem #44

May 262011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 99,983 miles
Lighting control module failed. Fortunately, I was not driving in traffic or on the freeway as many of the complaints I found on the internet. This is a serious defect and a recall should be issued as this issue occurs normally between 50,000 and 100,000 miles. The problem is so large that junk yard operators told me that all the wrecked 2005 models have been stripped of this item. This is the first complaint I have ever registered because it is such a serious safety issue and must be addressed before traffic deaths occur or have occurred. Thank you for your prompt assistance in the crucial matter. P.S. a Ford dealer told me they sell many of these items and are aware of the problem.

- Clover, SC, USA

problem #43

Dec 202010

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
I own a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis, while driving, the headlights will go out without warning. All other outside lights stay on and passing lights work. I have researched this and found all sources say it is a failed lcm, light control module. I have not found a safety recall for this problem, but have found several complaints. Of all the complaints on this particular vehicle, failed headlights is number one. This should be a safety recall. Owners should not be required to pay to have a safety issue like this repaired. I have contacted Ford and Mercury dealers concerning this, and have been told there are no recalls on this vehicle. This problem keeps happening more often and makes it nearly impossible to drive the car at night. You can use the passing lights, but that is very dangerous, because it blinds other drivers.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #42

Nov 122010

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis ls. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds the headlights would suddenly shut off and on an intermittently. In order to keep the lights on he had to hold continue holding the high beam switch, until he drove onto the emergency lane and restarted the vehicle. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic who advised him that the failure may be caused by the light control module. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and advised him that they would confirm whether or not there were any bulletins regarding the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000. Updated 04/15/11 the consumers has since sold the vehicle. Updated 05/02/11

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #41

Feb 022011

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 52,087 miles
While traveling in heavy traffic at night with my 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis suddenly and without warning my headlights turn off and I was scarred to death, I"M a 65 year old lady and I have never been so scared!I pulled to the side of the road and after 5 mins they come back on I make it home but in a 15 mile time they turned off every couple of minutes.

- Brush Creek, TN, USA

problem #40

Jan 312010

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Automatic headlights on vehicle shut off while driving and cannot be turned on or reset manually. Lights eventually turn back on when vehicle is not in motion, but durations are random. High beams work when level is held down. Has happened 3 times to us in a week, 31 Jan 2011 being most recent event. Vehicle has 52000 miles on it and is good running order.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #39

Dec 012010

Grand Marquis

  • 99,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact noticed that after traveling 25 miles or more, the headlamps would fail, causing reduced visibility forcing the use of high beams. The dealer was notified who was unaware of the issue. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the light switch; however she continued to experience the same problem. The contact did not inform the manufacturer nor had the vehicle been repaired. The current mileage was 100,000 and the failure mileage was 99,000.

- Georgetown, SC, USA

problem #38

Dec 302010

Grand Marquis

  • miles
2005 merc., head lights go off or don't come on for a mile or two. Switch on manual or auto. Dealer had car for two days, said all checked ok.

- Lake Kiowa, TX, USA

problem #37

Jan 062011

Grand Marquis

  • 74,000 miles
In the last two weeks when putting turn signal on the headlights go out.

- Randolph, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?