Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,958 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Mercury Grand Marquis seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Mercury Grand Marquis Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Jun 102016

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hello, I own a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis and have been experiencing an apparent problem with the air bag / seatbelt system. There is a light that is on that says airbag. I had it checked out by my local mechanic who said it was likely a seatbelt tensioner per the code in the computer. After doing some research online, I discovered that there were pages of people with similar problems. A working replacement could not be installed as these parts are numbered to the car and have to be repaired and reprogrammed. Dealers have quoted over $500+ for the repair, per my research. Given the amount of people just on the forums, for many years and mileages of this car, just for this problem. There is an apparent problem with Ford's S Q.C. from the start. If they are going to install a safety system it ought not become a liability, as I don't know if it will save me or injure me much less if the seat belts will work in an emergency! your feedback is appreciated. If I have reached the wrong dept. In errata could you either forward this to the right party or let me know who to contact. Again there are numerous complaints online about these vehicles. I have experienced Ford not including on the recall list, models that have had recall problems before. Please help. Thank you kindly [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Marshall, IL, USA

problem #24

Feb 122016

Grand Marquis

  • 42,992 miles
I purchased the vehicle as a used vehicle with 42900 miles. The vehicle has no history of an accident on the carfax report. The airbag light came on and the repair ended up costing over $1000 because new sensors had to be installed for the seat belt assemblies. The automobile mechanic said this is common for 2005 Ford automobiles. Why hasn't Ford issued a recall to correct the problem?

- Collinsville, VA, USA

problem #23

Nov 232015

Grand Marquis

  • 50,000 miles
Airbag warning light illuminated. Diagnosis indicated seat belt pre-tensioner was defective. Since airbag would not deloy in this condition, it was replaced, costing $513. Internet search shows numerous complaints.safety recall is warranted.

- Ballwin, MO, USA

problem #22

Jan 042016

Grand Marquis

  • 35,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When the vehicle is started, the air bag light comes on and flashes the code 34. It then stays on as long as the vehicle is operating. The code mentioned above is for the passenger seat pre-tensioner. Since this is part of the safety equipment (belts may not lock during a collision), I believe this is an item the manufacturer should take care of. The dealer quoted $700 to replace the unit. This has been an ongoing issue with the vehicle.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #21

Dec 132012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. Consumer writes in regards to seat belts and steering wheel press switch replacement. The consumer stated in June 2015, the driver's seat belt was replaced which was the cause of the air bag light being on. MA 10/8

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

May 132015

Grand Marquis

  • 66,900 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the seat belt assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 66,900. MA 10/5

- Atlanta , GA, USA

problem #19

Nov 102014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. While driving at various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag pretensioner failed. As a result, the seat belt retractor assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 51,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 7/16/15 the consumer stated the parts have not been in stock since 10-10-14. Updated 07/23/15

- Oceanport, NJ, USA

problem #18

Jan 202015

Grand Marquis

  • 25,712 miles
Air bag dash light started to flash several times and then remained illuminated steadily after a few days. Dealership conducted diagnostic scan, which revealed problem with both driver and passenger pretensioners, needing replacing. Their estimate was approx. $1,500. From what we've researched, there appear to be numerous incidents of this nature. There should be a full investigation with possible recall. Cannot afford this repair!!

- North Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #17

May 052015

Grand Marquis

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and it was determined that the seat belt pretensioner failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 97,000.....updated 07/22/15

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #16

May 052015

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 47,924 miles
Car failed safety inspection due air bag warning light on. Diagnosis indicated that the driver's seat belt pretensioner had failed, and air bag would not inflate in a crash. The pretensioner had to be replaced. This seemed like a premature failure, as the car has only 47924 miles. The service desk person at the dealer said that this was very common in Mercury Grand Marquis. I did some checking on the internet and found that he was correct, according to all of the reports exactly like mine. In Virginia a car fails for this light being on. I'm not sure about other states. In view of the frequency of this problem, I feel there should be a recall.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #15

Aug 012013

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 51,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This started out with lights and windshield wipers cutting off and on with no apparent wearing. Also burning smell. Took it in got that fixed. I was informed this had occurred in others same exact thing. Right after that next thing was dash lights for ABS, airbag, and anti skid stay on. I took it to 2 places. Was told it was a module unit by one place the other couldn't find a reason. I have not had it fixed since I couldn't get a clear reason for it, also the car runs fine. The lights must mean something. I'm going to sell it but need to get as much a possible for it and this will take away from the buying price. Need to fix but was told the module unit repair seems strange. Please help any advice would be helpful. Thank you

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #14

Oct 122014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 33,100 miles
The air bag warning light came on and stayed on. Turned off ignition. Restarted vehicle and airbag warning light came back on. Took to Ford dealer diagnosed as a bad seatbelt pretensioner cost for diagnosis $110 estimated cost to repair $830. Did not have repaired. This should be a recall item.

- Orange Beach, AL, USA

problem #13

Sep 092014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 50,830 miles
Both air bag lights have stayed lighted four months apart. Replacement was a complete (using Ford Motor Co parts) unit on driver-side in May 2014. Now(Sept 9,2014) the passenger side unit needs replacement at a cost of $700 for each side. The state of Virginia inspection process requires replacement for the vehicle to pass. I'm told the air bag is in-operative when the light is on this a safety issue.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #12

Jul 282014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 29,200 miles
My 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis airbag light is on. Dealership claims the airbags will not deploy due to a malfunctioning seatbelt pretensioner. Repair/replacement will cost $1800 to do both passenger and driver. Car only has 29,250 miles on it. I have found where this seems to be an ongoing problem with this model. Also, saw where this issue has caused airbags not to deploy in a collision. Some have reported the problem reoccurring after repair. This is a bad design by Mercury and a huge safety concern that should have been issued a recall!

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #11

Sep 222013

Grand Marquis

  • 53,631 miles
The seat belt warning air bag light came on and won't go off. It happen back in Aug 2011 at 40,598 miles now two years later at 53,631 same probelm again. I filed a complaint then and now once again, when are you people going to make Ford fix these cars right. If you look at all the complaints filed concerning the seat belt probelm it would seem to me that you are doing absoulety nothing except letting these car manufactures give us consumer a bunch of bs and charge us and arm and leg to fix some thing that shouldn't be failing that soon. I mean come on in 13,000 miles and it fails again. It will cost me another $450 to fix the same probelm and if I don't the air bag system will not work so where does that leave me"?"

- Saucier , MS, USA

problem #10

Sep 062013

Grand Marquis

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the driver's side seat belt tensioner had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 125,000.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #9

Aug 082013

Grand Marquis

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that she connected the seat belt but the fasten seat belt warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the seat belt retensioners needed to be replaced on both the driver and passenger's seats. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 88,000.

- Huntsville, TX, USA

problem #8

Nov 072012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the headlights intermittently failed. The contact also mentioned that the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the headlight control module and seat belt retractor assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was being repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 58,000. Updated 10/17/13

- Milaca, MN, USA

problem #7

Jul 082013

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Passenger air bag light came on will not go out. Stays on with person in passenger seat with seat belt on.

- Elsa, TX, USA

problem #6

Jul 012013

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 127,084 miles
I own a 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis. The air bag warning light illuminated once the engine was started and remained on. The vehicle was taken to the local Ford dealer service department for diagnosis and I was informed that the driver's side seatbelt pretensioner would need to be replaced at a cost of $501 in addition to the $103 charged for diagnosis. The vehicle has not yet been repaired. I will inform the manufacturer. I observe from other websites/reports what I believe may be a pattern of premature failure of Grand Marquis seatbelt pretensioners especially in the 2005 model year. The failure mileage was 127,084 and the current mileage was 127,201.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?