Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,477 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Mercury Grand Marquis seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Mercury Grand Marquis Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Oct 012016

Grand Marquis

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light started blinking, same sequence repeated five times after wards it stayed on. After a minute or so a warning beep sounded. The beeps were in a sequence of 5 beeps which repeated five times thenrepeated again every half hour while driving.. mechanic replaced the whole drivers side seat belt assembly - $800. A year later - same problem. Ford should have a recall for this problem. I refuse to pay another $800. I took out the fuse that sounded the beep alarm as it was driving me crazy.

- Seaford, DE, USA

problem #25

Oct 272016

Grand Marquis

  • 68,660 miles
While driving the air bag warning light came on. Mechanic determined that the passenger seat belt pretensioner was bad. Replaced pretensioner at 68527 miles on the odometer. Fixed problem. At 68669 miles the air bag warning light again came on. Mechanic now says the driver side pretensioner is bad. This automobile has never been in an accident. First incident 9/16/16. Second incident 10/27/16.

- Anniston, AL, USA

problem #24

Feb 232016

Grand Marquis

  • 51,000 miles
No accident, 2/23/16, the air bag light and chimes activated when car started and continued while car ran. Very distracting. Also, once, the 'air bag off light' near top of glove compartment came on. Checked NHTSA site and found many complaints about air bags/seat belt tensioners, and air bags not deploying which is why I am filing this complaint. -- this is obviously a safety hazard, why no recall? will go to my dealer in Maryland to find out more.

- Berlin, MD, USA

problem #23

Jan 132016

Grand Marquis

  • 149,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 17 year old slid off road in snow storm, hit tree head on, center of bumper contact, bumper reinforcement bar driven into radiator, both frame rails bent, yet no air bag deployment took place.

- Windham, NH, USA

problem #22

Nov 012013

Grand Marquis

  • 14,000 miles
A few minutes after starting my merc gr Mar 2006 I get a 5 pingling singnals that continues for about 4 minutes, then stops, the airbag lights shows on the dashboard after turning off my car and restarting it the same pingling sounds comes on againi have taking my car to the Ford dealer and could get no real help, told it did not effect my driving the car, but would have to spend almost 1,000 for a diagnostic test, why its not my fault, this stared already late 2013, , had not used the car for 4 months when this occurred, please help, manufacturer has to be responsible to correct this, very annoyingsound

- Key Largo, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #21

May 012014

Grand Marquis

  • 75,000 miles
Start engine, air bag light on dash illuminates, beep alarm sounds for a series of five beeps followed by 1 second of silence, and repeats for five repetitions of the same. Light remains on and after 30 minutes of driving on road operation, the alarm repeats for 5 repetitions as before. This continues as long as the engine is operated without turning off. When shut off and restarted, the alarm starts all over for the series of 5 beeps in 5 repetitions. My dealer says this is not a safety issue and wants over $800 for a new computer module. I have no way to document complaint or dealer response.

- Ocean Springs, MS, USA

problem #20

Sep 062015

Grand Marquis

  • 85,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On September 9, 2015 I purchased a used 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis ls. I was informed that the airbag light was on. I subsequently found that there had been some minor damage to the lower front of the vehicle, not resulting in airbag deployment. In researching the problem and to determine if there had been an airbag recall by the NHTSA, I found that there had been 57 registered complaints on the repair pal website and that a complaint had also been filed with the NHTSA.for this problem and that the problem was a result of defective seat-belt assemblies. There should be a safety recall issued for this problem as it effects the proper functionality of the restraint system in the event of a collision.

- Erwin, NC, USA

problem #19

Feb 282014

Grand Marquis

  • 112,456 miles
In Feb, 2014, I originally had a minor crash when another driver was cited for reckless driving. His insurance paid for my damage. No airbags were deployed on either me, the driver, or my mother, the passenger. We were belted in. Recently, on September 7th, 2015, the airbag warning light and chimes came on when I started the vehicle. The light continues to come on, the chime rings in 3 sets of 5 periodically. The dealer that fixed the original damage, alan jay, ran a $55 diagnostic and stated the passenger seat belt pretensioner was open, and that this could have only occurred in an accident. I asked why the system did not respond the 1 1/2 years earlier when the accident occurred" alan jay did not have an answer, but stated my entire restraint system and airbags would not operate in any future crash, until I replace the passenger seat belt, which will cost $780 alan jay Ford / Mercury said to contact national general insurance because "the pretensioner doesn't just go" that an accident had to have occurred to cause this. National general called me back today and stated this is untrue. There has been multiple complaints on the Mercury Grand Marquis airbag light activating and shutting down the restraint system and turning off the airbags for no cause. They referred me to www.carcomplaints.com, and I filed the 19th complaint for this problem on the 2006 Grand Marquis model. There are also multiple complaints on the same problem with other model years for the Grand Marquis air bag restraint system shutting down. Why has there not been a recall to fix this problem? why don't the Mercury dealers know about this problem? like many others, I am forced to drive my only vehicle in an unsafe condition until I can afford the $780 to fix it"

- Wauchula, FL, USA

problem #18

Apr 082014

Grand Marquis

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 73,000.

- Nevada, MO, USA

problem #17

Apr 082010

Grand Marquis

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis. While driving at an unknown speed with the cruise control activated, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The rear brakes locked when the failure occurred. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle and crashed into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The front seat passenger was injured and received medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 38,000.

- Leesburg, FL, USA

problem #16

Feb 022015

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Mercury Grand Marquis. Consumer writes in regards to recall repair issues. The consumer stated the air bag light illuminated and there was a dinging sound coming from the vehicle.

- Green Valley, AZ, USA

problem #15

Aug 082014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2006 Mercury Grand Marquis. The air bag light illuminated. The dealer replaced the seat belt tensioner.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #14

Sep 222014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 24,391 miles
First noticed airbag light began flashing on and off. Within two days the airbag light came on and remained on. Had the dealer check this out. The report came back driver side seat belt was at fault. No repair available must be replaced.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #13

Aug 292013

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 62,418 miles
Light for air bag came on with warning sound. Had local garage fix with new parts from Ford dealer. This morning upon backing out of garage at approximately 70,000. Miles same problem of light and sound. Supposed to take it to same garage to diagnose tomorrow. It cost me, a 78 yr. Widow, $561.72 to replace this in Aug. Of 2013. I am not going to spend another cent on this problem. What in the world has happened to air bag installation?

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #12

Oct 272014

Grand Marquis

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the seat belt tension needed to be replaced however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Enid , OK, USA

problem #11

Sep 132014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 72,800 miles
Air bag light on the dash comes on and stay on while driving.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #10

Jul 092014

Grand Marquis

  • 107,242 miles
Started car to go to work idling in drive way and I got an air bag light and alarm going off, turned car off and restarted and same thing. Was scared to drive until I talked to mechanic at local dealership. He said the problem is in the seat belt assembly and would have to be replaced.parts about 260 dollars plus labor probably another 200 dollars. Researching air bag light issues for Grand Marquis for fixes for my problem I discovered there are several other owners of same model with same issue. Was wondering if others has reported and if so why has there not been a recall. I love my car otherwise and poor single father raising my children on my own and cannot afford these repairs plus driving a car that the air bags possible wont work on lord forbid we were in an accident.

- Gideon, MO, USA

problem #9

Feb 252014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. In addition, a burning odor emitted inside of the vehicle. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000. MA 09/03/15 the consumer stated the cruise control failed to operate. Updated 12/9/2015

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #8

Jul 192012

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,177 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing where the technician confirmed that the failure was contributed to the faulty front driver and passenger side seat belt pretensioner. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,177. Updated 8/28/14 updated 09/11/2014

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #7

Apr 142014

Grand Marquis 8-cyl

  • 13,800 miles
Had to replace both passenger and driver side seat belt assemblies due to defective airbag sensors within two months of each other with less than 14000 andlimited use of passenger side belt. Per web inquiries this is a common problem. As it is a safety issue as airbags won't deploy and it is quite common, how come a recall and replacement has not been ordered? it has cost me in excess of $1100 for their defective parts.

- Irmo, SC, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?