NHTSA — Steering Problems

2008 Mercury Mariner (Page 2 of 7)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2008-2011 Mercury Mariner has a dangerous problem with the power steering that Ford says they fixed when they didn't -- at least not 100%.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
101,327 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Mercury Mariner steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Mercury Mariner:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Mercury Mariner Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #116

Feb 232016

Mariner

  • 149,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle, the steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the intermediate shaft needed to be replaced. The mechanic did not indicate whether it was the upper or lower intermediate shaft failed. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V385000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 149,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #115

Feb 232016

Mariner

  • 149,000 miles
My vehicle is having trouble steering, took my vehicle to the repair shop and they informed that it was a recall on it. I took my vehicle to the dealership and they told me since my VIN number for me vehicle was not in the recall there was nothing that they could do and wanted to charge me $125 to put it on their machine, I already to my SUV to the shop and they informed to go to the dealership

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #114

Jan 232016

Mariner

  • miles
Power steering failure while in motion. Safety recall 14S05. Failure required steering column and motor replacement. Flash memory had been re-programmed 2 years earlier and that did not prevent the failure. Ford would not pay for repair or discount the repair. Young adult driver temporarily lost control of the vehicle at the time of failure on a busy city street while turning. $1,223 repair estimate is attached.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #113

Feb 152016

Mariner

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I got a recall notice in the mail for the power steering that it could go out. Took it to a Ford dealership - autonation in white bear lake mn_ and they did a software update and closed the recall out as complete. Almost immediately the steering wheel began shaking intermittently and randomly. It got to the point it was shaking violently so I took it back in and was told the steering column needed replaced. Even though this was one of the options to do in the first place on the recall they said it was no longer covered and would cost $1300. I called Ford and they refused to cover it as well because the software update was done. Now it is not able to be driven safely until I can afford the repairs. It clearly is related to the recall as I know the 3 options were to update the software, replace torque sensor or replace steering column. I have read countless similar complaints online - yet autonation nor Ford will fix the car.

- Stillwater, MN, USA

problem #112

Jan 182016

Mariner

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, there was a loss of power steering without warning. The steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver. The VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #111

Feb 052016

Mariner

  • 85,000 miles
Vehicle lost all power steering while underway (extremely dangerous when vehicle lost power steering, lucky to have avoided a collision). Vehicle was "serviced" under previous power steering recall. Vehicle steering wheel would intermittently rock back & forth before final failure. Ford is claiming no responsibility for fix, after already issuing a recall for steering related defect. This is a dangerous defect in controlling/steering these vehicle's.

- Salem, NH, USA

problem #110

Feb 042016

Mariner

  • 154,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering wheel shakes and grinding sounds coming from steering column this happens when the vehicle is in motion or stationary. Local Ford dealership diagnosed as a faulty torque sensor which would result in a loss of power steering. Had a recall on the vehicle approximately a year ago because of loss of power steering due to the torque sensor. At the time of recall my torque sensor was not failing so the dealership only did a computer software update. Clearly the update did nothing to correct the issue with the torque sensor associated with the recall, however now Ford will not correct the issue with the vehicle. I have not personally lost my power steering yet in a situation that could have caused injury however there are a whole slew of complaints from people reporting the exact same problem. A sudden loss of steering is a big deal and very dangerous, it is something Ford should be required to correct.

- Garretson, SD, USA

problem #109

Jan 292016

Mariner

  • 81,000 miles
Trying to edit complaint # 10823464. Please update recall 14V-284 was performed on this vehicle in stevens point, Wisconsin on 12/30/15. Service performed was a software modification that was described to prevent the vehicle from going into manual steering mode without warning as a result of torque sensor defect. 01/27/16 the power steering assist stopped functioning while driving and moved to manual steering mode, 29 days after the recall service was performed. A "power steering assist fault" warning display on the dash. I contacted Ford consumer line was told that recall on my vehicle is closed. The update was applied. Now I have to pay for a torque sensor, a cost of $700. My understanding of the recall on this vehicle was to prevent this problem. Now we have an error the "power steering assist fault" or with torque sensor, would this repair be allowed under the recall due to these circumstances? I was told the recall was closed and I may have to pay for repairs. I do not believe the initial repair was sufficient. We have never had any problems until this one happen on January 29th. This safety recall 14S05/NHTSA recall 14V-284 was performed on December 30, 2015. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website has several hundred common complaints the software update did not correct the problem. We feel we should not pay for any repairs with torque sensor at $700. This should be covered by the recall. We have made an appointment for service and is at location today at a Ford dealer. I call Ford customer service line at and file a complaint, case # 8728537 and was told to save my receipts in case Ford has a new recall that comes out to reimburse the cost of repairs. Please NHTSA, speak with the Ford about this. Request for a determination, if they feel they adequately met its obligation to remedy this recall and why the problem continues.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #108

Jan 312016

Mariner

  • 164,642 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that the torque sensor on the steering failed while driving approximately 75 mph on the highway. The vehicle was pulled over and towed to the contact's residence. The contact took the vehicle to a local dealer who stated that there was no recall. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was repaired according to a power steering recall in 2014. The NHTSA campaign number was not provided. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the recall repair was already performed. The contact was referred to the local dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 164,642.

- Trinity, TX, USA

problem #107

Jan 272016

Mariner

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the repair did not correct the failure. The vehicle lost power steering after the repair. The steering wheel only operated in manual mode. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 81,000.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #106

Sep 142015

Mariner

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The failure occurred once. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact also stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V248000 (steering) by the previous owner. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #105

Jan 182016

Mariner

  • 105,000 miles
I purchased this car used in September 2015. The power steering went out. I looked up the recall which states: Ford will notify owners, and dealers will update the software for the power steering control module (pscm) and the instrument cluster module, free of charge. If a vehicle shows a history of a loss of the torque sensor signal or fault codes relating to the pscm when the vehicle is brought in for the recall remedy, the affected components will be replaced, free of charge. The recall began on July 18, 2014. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-800-392-3673. Ford's number for this recall is 14S05. When I went to the dealer they said the recall did not apply. I was charged full price for replace the steering torque sensor. I called Ford and they set up a case # which is cas86223147. They explained that the prior owner brought the car in when they received the recall notice. They had the software updated but did not replace the torque sensor. As a new owner and with the recall still in effect, I feel the recall should be honored for the replacement of the torque sensor.

- Comstock Park, MI, USA

problem #104

Jan 122016

Mariner

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. While driving 10 mph, the steering wheel began to shake violently and the power steering light illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also stated that the vehicle was previously repaired for a steering recall, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Casper, WY, USA

problem #103

Jan 192016

Mariner

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the repair did not correct the failure. The contact stated that the steering wheel failed and, while attempting to turn, the steering wheel became hard to turn. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test, which located a failure code at the steering wheel column. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #102

Oct 152014

Mariner

  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. While driving at various speeds, the power steering seized without warning. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the software was only updated for the pscm (power steering control module) and instrument cluster module; however, the steering column and torque sensor were not replaced. The contact stated that the failure persisted several months after the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 93,000.

- Lakeway, TX, USA

problem #101

Jan 192016

Mariner

  • 83,000 miles
Safety recall 14S05/NHTSA recall 14V-284 was performed on this vehicle in August 2014. The service performed was a software modification that was described as being able to prevent the vehicle from going into manual steering mode without warning and as a result of a torque senor defect. In January 2016 the power steering assist stopped functioning while driving and moved into manual steering mode. This was in a low traffic urban area at low speed. We were able to get the vehicle off road without incident. The vehicle remains in manual steering mode and there is a "power steering assist fault" warning display on the dash. The Ford recall letter indicates the dealer repair would remove this possibility where the vehicle could revert to manual steering mode due to a detected fault. The letter also indicates a chime and wrench light would ensue if a defect/fault were detected to "increase driver awareness". it is not our experience that we had this warning provided. There is no wrench light illuminated and the vehicle was not prevented from moving into manual steering mode. In short, I do not believe that the service procedure in this recall where only software code was modified was sufficient to remove the potential hazards of any defects that may by inherent in the power steering assist system of this vehicle. I contacted the dealership where the software revision was conducted and was told that without a "check engine light" indication, they would probably not be able to read and determine the fault. I indicated the nature of my understanding of the recall on this vehicle to see if a further needed repair of the torque sensor would be allowed under the recall due to these circumstances. I was told the recall was closed. I do not believe the initial repair was sufficient.

- West Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #100

Jan 102016

Mariner

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, while driving approximately 20 mph, the power steering warning indicator illuminated and the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact pulled over, powered the vehicle off and back on, and the steering returned to normal. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #99

Jan 072016

Mariner

  • 92,720 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. While driving approximately 75 mph, the traction control, service engine, and ABS sensor lights illuminated and an audible chime was heard. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering mechanism was faulty. The steering system was reprogrammed, but the failure continued. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic power assist system was faulty. The contact was informed that the repair was previously performed in 2014 under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 92,720.

- Williamsburg, CO, USA

problem #98

Jan 122016

Mariner

  • 157,000 miles
While driving and making a 90 degree turn at an intersection my power steering stopped working without warning.

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #97

Jan 052016

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving, the power steering failed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) however, the code was not programmed for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000. Updated 04/06/16 updated 05/16/16.

- Martin, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?