Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2008-2011 Mercury Mariner has a dangerous problem with the power steering that Ford says they fixed when they didn't -- at least not 100%.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
100,730 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Mercury Mariner steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Mercury Mariner:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Mercury Mariner Owner Comments (Page 4 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #68

Jan 242015

Mariner 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My teenage son was driving this vehicle his 2008 Mercury Mariner when the steering wheel froze without warning. It took all my strength but he manage to get to his grandparents and pulled over. His dashboard indicated it was "power steering assist fail." The power steering failure was the #1 trending complaint on carcomplaints.com in April, 2014 and is a known problem. Prior to contacting the dealership, I research it and found that Ford issued safety recalls for approximately 1.1 million cars in North America. The first recall affected escape and Mercury from 2008-2011. However, I did not receive a recall notice and when the dealership was called we were informed the recall had expired. Safety recalls should not expired, especially for known issues like this.

- Anna, TX, USA

problem #67

Jan 162015

Mariner

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 14V284000 (steering) was received in May 2014. The vehicle was taken to the dealer in August 2014 and the power steering software update remedy was performed. On January 16, 2014 while driving the steering wheel began to vibrate and erroneously turn before eventually malfunctioning completely making the steering wheel very difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the steering column was faulty and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was informed that due to the previous software updates the vehicle was not eligible for the recall remedy to replace the affected parts. The contact stated that the vehicle had experienced the same failure listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 114,000.

- Redford, MI, USA

problem #66

Jan 162015

Mariner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 101,723 miles
When taking this vehicle in for recall service Ford # 14S05 (NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000), the reprogramming of the electronic power assist steering was done, but was told the steering shaft and lower U-joint was faulty and needed to be replaced. The description of the recall indicates failed components will be replaced, but upon inquiry at the dealer (brondes, toledo, Ohio) I was told it only applied to electronic components--not mechanical ones. The wear on these components is exactly what happens when the torque sensing device is not working properly. This seems to be me to be Ford not wanting to meet its financial obligation to fix this entire recall. This was a new design introduced in this model year and it is only now starting to fail. I asked the dealer about assistance with the repair and was denied; and I called the Ford hotline and was similarly denied assistance with the repair, but advised to retain my receipts in case there was further action on this recall. The internet has several references to this type of failure/repair. I think they are directly linked.

- Petersburg, MI, USA

problem #65

Jan 092015

Mariner

  • 87,810 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL- the contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle, the power steering warning light illuminated and the steering wheel seized. The failure caused the contact to use excessive force to maneuver the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 87,810. Djr

- Westlake , OH, USA

problem #64

Jan 092015

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 87,810 miles
Started vehicle. Dash message read "power steering assist failure." No power steering. After doing online research (it didn't take long to find similar to identical complaints), I found that there was a steering related recall pertaining to the vehicle (7/2014). Took vehicle to Lincoln-Mercury dealership from which it was purchased new. The dealer service department informed me that the recall work had been done the last time we had our oil changed over the summer, and that the recall had been "closed out".... we weren't informed of either the fact that there was a recall in the first place, or that they had "taken care" of it. The recall work was apparently to "reprogram" some "module" to simply make the driver aware that something has gone awry with the power steering (no kidding). The ultimate diagnosis: The vehicle needs a new steering column at a cost of nearly $1,300 as the "torque sensor" has failed. It is apparent to me and many others that the recall had nothing to do with repair of the failed component, which is not such an "unlikely event"....also, the failure of the component is not a matter of improper maintenance as could be the case with typical power steering systems...it just fails. The failure of the component(s) is however a pretty serious safety issue I would think. I will make the dealer service department aware of this, and continue to find out why these repairs should not be the responsibility of the manufacturer. By the way, mileage was 87,810 when this happened.

- Westlake, OH, USA

problem #63

Jan 012015

Mariner

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the steering wheel was extremely difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the technician reset the steering code to remedy the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Beaver Dam , WI, USA

problem #62

Jan 122015

Mariner

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 20 mph, the power steering failed. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed a power steering failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Blusston, IN, USA

problem #61

Jun 302014

Mariner

  • 132,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V284000 (steering), the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, who diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 132,000. Djr updated 02/24/15

- Smithsburg, MD, USA

problem #60

Nov 032014

Mariner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
This is reference to NHTSA id number: 10653141. I discovered the July 1, 2014 Ford's safety recall 14S05 notice to all us Ford dealers. On page 6 a question and answer for the Ford dealers from Ford's service engineering operations, reveals Ford never attended the reprogramming the modules to fix the safety recall for electronic power steering for escapes and Mariners 2008-2011 models. This is the excerpts from this document tilted July 1, 2014 to: All us Ford and Lincoln dealers subject safety recall 14S05. Q3. what does the software updates do" a. the software updates may extend the time steering assist is maintained. In addition, the update provides increased driver awareness by sounding a chime and displaying the wrench light or warning in the message center when a fault is detected. Q4. what if a customer experiences loss of steering assist after the modules have been reprogrammed? a. the modules were reprogrammed to prevent sudden loss of steering assist while driving. Additionally, the instrument cluster software update will provide audible and visual indications to the driver in the unlikely event of a torque sensor fault. Any subsequent loss of assist repairs experienced after completion of module reprogramming are not covered by this recall. Q5. what should I tell a customer who experiences loss of steering assist after the recall has been performed" a. the modules were reprogrammed to prevent sudden loss of steering assist while driving in the event of a torque sensor fault. Customers should be advised that the replacement of the steering column or torque sensor is at their expense.

- Bridgeport, WV, USA

problem #59

Dec 162014

Mariner

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while approaching a stop sign, the steering wheel seized. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Washington, MO, USA

problem #58

Mar 122014

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 96,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I started losing power steering approximately once a month but could turn my car off and it would restore itself. I took my car in for the recall on July 29, 2014, and everything was fine for a few months but then November 8, 2014, it did the same thing as before and November 9, 2014, the power steering went out completely. I took my car to the Ford dealership that did the recall and they told me I needed a new steering column. Obviously their reprogramming in the recall did not fix the problem and have seen the same problem with other people. I keep getting the run around from customer relations who tells me the dealership needs to call the recall exemption department but when I tell the service department they act like they do not know what I am talking about and that due to my vehicle having so many miles they can't help me. It only has 5,000 miles since the recall. The dealership even told me they had another Mariner do the same thing recently. Ford needs to own up to their faulty steering in these vehicles before people get seriously injured due to this.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #57

Oct 312014

Mariner

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that the remedy for NHTSA campaign number 14V284000 (steering) was completed on October 31, 2014 and the dealer updated the software for the power steering control module. The contact mentioned that while operating the vehicle the power steering malfunctioned making the steering wheel very difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the torque sensor was faulty and needed to be replaced but would not repair the failure as part of the recall. After notifying the manufacturer, the contact was informed that the remedy to satisfy the recall had been completed previously when the dealer updated the software. The failure mileage was 100.000. The VIN was not available.

- King City, MO, USA

problem #56

Sep 102010

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 80,376 miles
Power steering cuts out intermittently with no warning. Brought to dealer in September 2010 and they could not find problem. It has happened many times since then. In early 2013 it became more frequent and in February 2013 it was taken to the dealer and diagnosed with a problem that could only be remedied by the complete replacement of the steering column. This repair was done for a cost of $1087.41. No further problems to date. It has since come to my attention that Ford has recently issued a recall on vehicles like mine manufactured at the Kansas City plant that are experiencing the same exact issues that I have experienced. My vehicle was made at the Kansas City plant. I contacted Ford and they told me my car is not involved in the recall. I find this hard to believe and think the recall should include my vehicle. I assume that because their data base shows I have already paid to have the complete steering column replaced (which was the only available remedy at the time) it is no longer necessary to modify this vehicle. I feel it is only fair that I be reimbursed for the repair. We am the original owner of the vehicle.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #55

Nov 032014

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
I have a 2008 Mercury Mariner (VIN # [xxx]) that had the power steering recall in August 2014, where the dealer updated the software (NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000). Three months later (11/3/2014) my power steering is out and needs to be replaced. I am being told since the recall is closed out that it is now my problem to have fixed, yet under the recall they could have replaced the steering column and power steering module software. I completely do not understand this. The safety issue is still present under the recall and obviously was not fixed, surely Ford would want to fix it. At least do the things that should have been completed under the original recall. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bridgeport, WV, USA

problem #54

Nov 012014

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
I had stopped by my apartment complex office to pick up a package. I started the motor and began to back out. I then put it in drive and the steering wheel wouldn't turn. I tried to drive it slowly towards my apartment to park it. I restarted the car. Once I did this, the steering was behaving normally except when idling there was a thunking vibration to where the steering wheel was moving. I had remembered I received a recall notice which was for power steering. The technician looked up the VIN # and yes it was a recall item. I took it in yesterday and they are currently replacing the part. After doing some research, I have found that a lot of the vibration I have felt recently can be contributed to the issue with the power steering unit. Thankfully I was near home. I have made several trips between Washington and northern California. In addition, I have had a problem in the mornings especially in the colder months where I am at a stop light or stop sign and step on the gas, the motor will rev up but I don't move, then a sudden kick in of the transmission. This is scary when trying to turn into traffic.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #53

May 052014

Mariner

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that the power steering sensor illuminated intermittently and the power steering failed several times. The contact experienced extreme difficulty maneuvering the steering wheel every time the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician verified the failure but indicated that the remedy was not available. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was repaired under recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V284000 (steering). However, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed that the steering column assembly needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was not available.

- Indian Lake, NY, USA

problem #52

Sep 262014

Mariner

  • 73,500 miles
Over the past 2 years, the 2008 Mercury Mariner my wife drives, the power steering has ceased to work. Fortunately she was able to shut the car of, restart it and the power steering would resume. Brought vehicle in for recall still having power steering back in Aug, 2014, and dealer checked for codes and only reprogrammed module. Approx in the last 2 weeks of Sept 2014, power steering once again quit and has not returned. Brought into Ford due to an issue involving a matter which cause a recall and was told the torque sensor was bad. Service contacted Ford and was told they will not cover the repair due to the fact that the vehicle has already had a recall service performed, satisfying the obligation of the recall. Due to the issue being part of the original recall notice, Ford should due the honorable thing and cover the repair and parts needed. My wife can no longer drive the vehicle and it is a major safety issue having someone else (I.e. myself) drive the vehicle.

- Newmarket, NH, USA

problem #51

May 212012

Mariner 4WD 4-cyl

  • 94,032 miles
Unable to turn key to start vehicle, had to manually move steering wheel. Replaced ignition switch in May 2012, then replaced steering column ignition lock assembly in July 2013. Received a safety recall notice from Ford regarding power steering system reverting to manual steering mode. I spoke with the service manager at the local Ford dealership and was told that my previous repairs were covered under the recall. I submitted the paperwork to Ford for reimbursement and was denied.

- Franklinville,, NJ, USA

problem #50

Aug 152014

Mariner

  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. After the dealer reset the computer on the vehicle, the contact experienced steering and electrical issues. When the contact started the vehicle, the steering wheel seized. The contact had to wait several minutes before the steering returned to normal. In addition, the contact had to turn the ignition from on to off several times in order to start the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 170,000.

- Simpson, AL, USA

problem #49

May 302014

Mariner

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the power steering failed causing her to lose control of the vehicle. As a result, the contact crashed into another vehicle. The contact sustained unknown injuries. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was towed to a collision center. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Kennewick, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?