Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2008-2011 Mercury Mariner has a dangerous problem with the power steering that Ford says they fixed when they didn't -- at least not 100%.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
99,241 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Mercury Mariner steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Mercury Mariner:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Mercury Mariner Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #60

Nov 032014

Mariner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles


This is reference to NHTSA id number: 10653141. I discovered the July 1, 2014 Ford's safety recall 14S05 notice to all us Ford dealers. On page 6 a question and answer for the Ford dealers from Ford's service engineering operations, reveals Ford never attended the reprogramming the modules to fix the safety recall for electronic power steering for escapes and Mariners 2008-2011 models. This is the excerpts from this document tilted July 1, 2014 to: All us Ford and Lincoln dealers subject safety recall 14S05. Q3. what does the software updates do" a. the software updates may extend the time steering assist is maintained. In addition, the update provides increased driver awareness by sounding a chime and displaying the wrench light or warning in the message center when a fault is detected. Q4. what if a customer experiences loss of steering assist after the modules have been reprogrammed? a. the modules were reprogrammed to prevent sudden loss of steering assist while driving. Additionally, the instrument cluster software update will provide audible and visual indications to the driver in the unlikely event of a torque sensor fault. Any subsequent loss of assist repairs experienced after completion of module reprogramming are not covered by this recall. Q5. what should I tell a customer who experiences loss of steering assist after the recall has been performed" a. the modules were reprogrammed to prevent sudden loss of steering assist while driving in the event of a torque sensor fault. Customers should be advised that the replacement of the steering column or torque sensor is at their expense.

- Bridgeport, WV, USA

problem #59

Dec 162014


  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while approaching a stop sign, the steering wheel seized. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Washington, MO, USA

problem #58

Mar 122014

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 96,500 miles
I started losing power steering approximately once a month but could turn my car off and it would restore itself. I took my car in for the recall on July 29, 2014, and everything was fine for a few months but then November 8, 2014, it did the same thing as before and November 9, 2014, the power steering went out completely. I took my car to the Ford dealership that did the recall and they told me I needed a new steering column. Obviously their reprogramming in the recall did not fix the problem and have seen the same problem with other people. I keep getting the run around from customer relations who tells me the dealership needs to call the recall exemption department but when I tell the service department they act like they do not know what I am talking about and that due to my vehicle having so many miles they can't help me. It only has 5,000 miles since the recall. The dealership even told me they had another Mariner do the same thing recently. Ford needs to own up to their faulty steering in these vehicles before people get seriously injured due to this.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #57

Oct 312014


  • 100,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that the remedy for NHTSA campaign number 14V284000 (steering) was completed on October 31, 2014 and the dealer updated the software for the power steering control module. The contact mentioned that while operating the vehicle the power steering malfunctioned making the steering wheel very difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the torque sensor was faulty and needed to be replaced but would not repair the failure as part of the recall. After notifying the manufacturer, the contact was informed that the remedy to satisfy the recall had been completed previously when the dealer updated the software. The failure mileage was 100.000. The VIN was not available.

- King City, MO, USA

problem #56

Sep 102010

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 80,376 miles
Power steering cuts out intermittently with no warning. Brought to dealer in September 2010 and they could not find problem. It has happened many times since then. In early 2013 it became more frequent and in February 2013 it was taken to the dealer and diagnosed with a problem that could only be remedied by the complete replacement of the steering column. This repair was done for a cost of $1087.41. No further problems to date. It has since come to my attention that Ford has recently issued a recall on vehicles like mine manufactured at the Kansas City plant that are experiencing the same exact issues that I have experienced. My vehicle was made at the Kansas City plant. I contacted Ford and they told me my car is not involved in the recall. I find this hard to believe and think the recall should include my vehicle. I assume that because their data base shows I have already paid to have the complete steering column replaced (which was the only available remedy at the time) it is no longer necessary to modify this vehicle. I feel it is only fair that I be reimbursed for the repair. We am the original owner of the vehicle.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #55

Nov 032014

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
I have a 2008 Mercury Mariner (VIN # [xxx]) that had the power steering recall in August 2014, where the dealer updated the software (NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000). Three months later (11/3/2014) my power steering is out and needs to be replaced. I am being told since the recall is closed out that it is now my problem to have fixed, yet under the recall they could have replaced the steering column and power steering module software. I completely do not understand this. The safety issue is still present under the recall and obviously was not fixed, surely Ford would want to fix it. At least do the things that should have been completed under the original recall. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bridgeport, WV, USA

problem #54

Nov 012014

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles


I had stopped by my apartment complex office to pick up a package. I started the motor and began to back out. I then put it in drive and the steering wheel wouldn't turn. I tried to drive it slowly towards my apartment to park it. I restarted the car. Once I did this, the steering was behaving normally except when idling there was a thunking vibration to where the steering wheel was moving. I had remembered I received a recall notice which was for power steering. The technician looked up the VIN # and yes it was a recall item. I took it in yesterday and they are currently replacing the part. After doing some research, I have found that a lot of the vibration I have felt recently can be contributed to the issue with the power steering unit. Thankfully I was near home. I have made several trips between Washington and northern California. In addition, I have had a problem in the mornings especially in the colder months where I am at a stop light or stop sign and step on the gas, the motor will rev up but I don't move, then a sudden kick in of the transmission. This is scary when trying to turn into traffic.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #53

May 052014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that the power steering sensor illuminated intermittently and the power steering failed several times. The contact experienced extreme difficulty maneuvering the steering wheel every time the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician verified the failure but indicated that the remedy was not available. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was repaired under recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V284000 (steering). However, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed that the steering column assembly needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was not available.

- Indian Lake, NY, USA

problem #52

Sep 262014


  • 73,500 miles
Over the past 2 years, the 2008 Mercury Mariner my wife drives, the power steering has ceased to work. Fortunately she was able to shut the car of, restart it and the power steering would resume. Brought vehicle in for recall still having power steering back in Aug, 2014, and dealer checked for codes and only reprogrammed module. Approx in the last 2 weeks of Sept 2014, power steering once again quit and has not returned. Brought into Ford due to an issue involving a matter which cause a recall and was told the torque sensor was bad. Service contacted Ford and was told they will not cover the repair due to the fact that the vehicle has already had a recall service performed, satisfying the obligation of the recall. Due to the issue being part of the original recall notice, Ford should due the honorable thing and cover the repair and parts needed. My wife can no longer drive the vehicle and it is a major safety issue having someone else (I.e. myself) drive the vehicle.

- Newmarket, NH, USA

problem #51

May 212012

Mariner 4WD 4-cyl

  • 94,032 miles
Unable to turn key to start vehicle, had to manually move steering wheel. Replaced ignition switch in May 2012, then replaced steering column ignition lock assembly in July 2013. Received a safety recall notice from Ford regarding power steering system reverting to manual steering mode. I spoke with the service manager at the local Ford dealership and was told that my previous repairs were covered under the recall. I submitted the paperwork to Ford for reimbursement and was denied.

- Franklinville,, NJ, USA

problem #50

Aug 152014


  • 170,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. After the dealer reset the computer on the vehicle, the contact experienced steering and electrical issues. When the contact started the vehicle, the steering wheel seized. The contact had to wait several minutes before the steering returned to normal. In addition, the contact had to turn the ignition from on to off several times in order to start the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 170,000.

- Simpson, AL, USA

problem #49

May 302014


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the power steering failed causing her to lose control of the vehicle. As a result, the contact crashed into another vehicle. The contact sustained unknown injuries. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was towed to a collision center. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Kennewick, WA, USA

problem #48

Nov 112013

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
December, 2013, I was exiting parking lot onto a main street that had 2 lanes of oncoming traffic. Halfway into the street, lost power steering but was able to drift to side of road. January, 2014 car would not go over 25 miles per hour, lost power steering. Fortunately I was near the garage that does my repairs, oil changes, etc.. March, 2014, steering wheel locked, no power steering, had to wait about a half hour until power steering returned...kept turning car off and on every 10 minutes. Contacted Ford customer service 3 times by email (Jan-Mar). My last 3 cars have been Ford products but apparently brand loyalty is not valued. Replies were--sorry you are having issues-no follow up from Ford even when hey knew they were issuing a power steering recall as of April-may, 2014. I paid $2,500 in repairs from Dec'13-Mar'14.

- Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #47

Jun 212014


  • 97,410 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle started to make a loud popping sound from the steering wheel which became very hard to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 97,410 and the current mileage was 97,443.

- Fulton, MD, USA

problem #46

Mar 292014

Mariner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
Power steering went out at 106000 miles. Cost to repair was $900.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #45

Oct 172013

Mariner 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 159,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated while driving approximately 50 mph, a popping noise emitted from the steering column and then there was an immediate loss of power steering. The steering wheel required force in order to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the electronic steering assist would need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage 159,000. Updated 6/24/14 updated 06/26/2014

- Oscoda, MI, USA

problem #44

Feb 122014


  • 159,000 miles
Going down highway and the steering went out which could of resulted in a very bad accident on a slippery road condition, causing a accident because of uncontrolled steering or hard to steer vehicle. Doing 55 mph. I know that there has been many problems with steering in this particular vehicle, when I have tried to get the module or whole lower steering from a used auto parts business they claim that they can not keep them that there has been a great demand for that particular part. Still driving with out safe steering, have no other choice in the matter unless I pay over $1000 to the Ford dealer ship to have it replaced and I can not afford to do that on disability and need my car to get back and fourth to doctors. Are there any recalls on this vehicle concerning steering?

- Oscoda, MI, USA

problem #43

Apr 302014


  • 80,000 miles
Steering wheel shaking. Vibrating, as if quickly turning on and off between settinga. Tonight my power searing went out on my way home from work.I work 60 hrs a week. In a bad neighborhood. I can't afford for this vehicle to go out on me. And now it is. And Mercury wont help me. They will play dumb and stand by while the whole vehicle falls apart as I write the last check of the $24,000 car note next month. How convenient. Just after the warranty ends.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #42

Feb 062014


  • 110,786 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving in reverse, the power steering assist suddenly malfunctioned and caused the steering wheel to become difficult to turn. The contact indicated that the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the torque sensor kit was faulty. The torque sensor was replaced and the defect was remedied. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 110,786.

- Jamesville, WI, USA

problem #41

Apr 032014


  • 58,654 miles
Came to a stop, began to turn left, steering wheel jerked to one side then power steering gave out mid turn, on a busy street, crossing over two lanes of traffic. It is nearly impossible to steer the vehicle when this happens. This has actually happened a handful of times at this point. Ford dealer can't figure it out, so I'm stuck with an unsafe vehicle to drive. How has this vehicle not been recalled!? it's not like it's small issue like radio problems, this is a safety issue!!!!! if you park the vehicle and shut it off, then restart it, the sterling will then work again (until next time it gives out) it's almost like restarting the car is rebooting the system. Either way, very scary when you're driving and you have no warning that your power steering is going to fail.

- Rochdale , MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?