Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,226 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Mercury Mariner engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Mercury Mariner:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Mercury Mariner Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #53

Jun 072016

Mariner

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving normally suddenly it looses power and throttles before turning off. It is a hazard because I may be hit if it happens in the freeway.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #52

Jan 012014

Mariner 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I suffered an accident because while driving in a highway, I could not steer the wheel and the engine stop working. I wrote before because of what happened and have not received an answer. What can I do? thank you

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #51

Aug 032015

Mariner

  • 130,980 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Mariner. While driving at approximately 45 mph, the maintenance warning light illuminated and the vehicle jerked violently. In addition, the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who inspected the vehicle but was unable to diagnose the failure. After leaving the dealer, the maintenance and the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,980.

- Upper Marlboro, MD, USA

problem #50

Oct 202014

Mariner

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle surges wildly at idle speeds in traffic. Vehicle stalls out while driving regular highway speed, surges wildly while driving, RPM spikes drastically while driving and at idle. Stalls and surges both while entering traffic from a stopped position and while driving at regular pace. Struggles to crank after fueling the vehicle. Spits and sputter and shakes while at idle....updated10/20/15

- Lynn Haven, FL, USA

problem #49

Jun 212015

Mariner

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Mariner. While driving at approximately 75 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was restarted, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 52,000.

- Alpharetta , GA, USA

problem #48

Mar 082015

Mariner

  • 73,400 miles
The car would not accelerate and the wrench symbol illuminated. I had to pull over turn off the car and restart it.

- Mount Vernon, AL, USA

problem #47

Jun 262013

Mariner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 39,189 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle electronic throttle body (etb) was replaced at veterans Ford dealership in tampa, fl due to this part severely effecting ability of the vehicle to run properly (several times). Customer paid for this repair. Sometime after 3/4/14 when NHTSA completed their investigation, we received a notice that Ford was replacing this item. Since we already paid for the repair ($381.32) at a Ford dealership, we tried to get the reimbursement that Ford owes us. We were informed we had to have the original receipt, which to this day is still packed up in storage if we have it at all because we moved from fl to nc and are still involved in buying a new home. The bottom line is Ford (Corp) is refusing to honor their agreement to reimburse customers. The craziest part of this whole dilemma is that Ford has and controls 100% of the information needed to process our reimbursement, but absolutely refuses to do so without the original receipt. I could understand if we had this repair done at some unrelated, third party service facility. However, we went to a Ford dealership and they have record of completing the repair and us paying them for the repair. So again, Ford has all the information (proof) in their possession to take care of this reimbursement, but refuses to do so. I have called the customer (dis)satisfaction department at Ford corporate, but that is like talking to a brick wall as far as anyone having in common sense, accountability or decency to do the right thing (certainly any kind of good will is lacking in that organization). So here I am having to complain to the NHTSA to get Ford to do what they promised in the first place. I look forward to a timely reply letting me know you guys have this handled. Additionally, Ford should be reprimanded severely for such [xxx] behavior and attitude. Maybe a consumer reporter needs to get involved in all this. Thanks. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #46

Jul 172014

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 59,800 miles
During normal driving on the highway the engine lost power, the wrench light on the dash lit. The vehicle sputtered and suddenly decreased in speed, making for hazardous driving conditions. I moved to the side of the 4 lane highway and into the breakdown lane. I placed the vehicle in park, the engine idled roughly. I turned off and restarted the car and the symptoms were gone. A week later the same trouble returned. Please press fmc to resolve at no-cost to consumer the obvious and dangerous manufacture defect with a recall on the affected parts/system.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #45

Jul 152014

Mariner

  • 56,000 miles
Was going home from work, about 20 mph, car sputtered and stopped accelerating on ramp, engine and wrench light came on. This had happened before so I knew to turn the car off and back on to get my car to work again. But alas, I am driving at about 30 mpg for only 2 minutes and it happens again! I was again on another ramp, completely blocking traffic. Thank god I was not yet on I-95 going at a high speed, or even worse with my child in the car. If I ever get in an accident with my child and we are injured because of this, my family will sue the heck out of Ford. Has to call my husband to drive the car to the dealer after I pulled off the road, I was shaking too bad to drive.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #44

May 202013

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
Slowed to make a right hand turn into a parking lot and the vehicle stalled. There was no warning of an impending stall and no console lights came on other than the battery light and the oil light. The incident did not create an error code in the computer system as I took the vehicle to a Ford dealership for service and to check for any issues with the vehicle. Ford repair shop found nothing wrong with vehicle upon inspection and said there was nothing they could do without an error code in the computer system. A stalling incident occurred again on 3/18/14. In this instance, again there was no warning. I had just exited off of the highway and was accelerating after a stop sign. The vehicle stalled in the middle of the road. Again, only the battery light and oil light came on.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #43

Jan 302014

Mariner 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Twice in two days while speeding up to get on highway my Mariner looses complete power and the wrench light comes on. Lucky for me it was just before I was turning on to merge. Seconds later it would have been a serious accident, due to the sudden stop. I had to shut the car off and start it back up in order to get going again. After reading #PE13003 has been file for the same exact problem with same make and model. Someone better react before someone looses a life. This is horrible.

- Sarasota , FL, USA

problem #42

May 112011

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
In 2011, while driving at approximately 60 mph, I pressed the gas pedal and could not accelerate. The engine stayed on but I could not accelerate. I was able to turn on the hazards and pull off to the side of the highway. I turned off the vehicle and after waiting 5 minutes I restarted the vehicle and the gas pedal was working. Then again in October 2013, I was driving approximately 30 mph when I lost acceleration capability. This time the throttle body indicator light was displayed. I took the vehicle in to a mechanic and he stated that nothing registered on the computer as a malfunction. He looked at the intake valve and could not see any build-up. In January 2014 this happened 3 times and I was able to restart the vehicle and proceed. However, on January 11, 2014 after the malfunction the vehicle did not reset immediately now the check engine light is displayed.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #41

Dec 222013

Mariner

  • 50,000 miles
Was at stop light completely stopped. When the light turned green, I stepped on the accelerator and my car did not accelerate. The engine light and another light came on. I tried multiple times to move the car and nothing happened. I powered my car down and restarted it, at this time the car started moving again when I pressed on the accelerator.

- Ellicott City , MD, USA

problem #40

Nov 202013

Mariner 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
While driving in heavy traffic in center lane of three line highway. Vehicle suddenly lost power creating a emergency situation. I had to force traffic to allow me proceed to side of the road. Endangering myself and my family, I sat for about 30 min. Before I could move the vehicle.

- Columbus , GA, USA

problem #39

Nov 012013

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
My wife was driving in town and the car began to "buck" and slow down. After a few minutes the accelerator had no effect on the engine. It appeared to be idling only. She pulled off the road and stopped the car, waited A10 minutes or so, and started it again. There was no difficulty starting the car, but again the accelerator had no effect on the engine speed. We had the car towed to the local dealership where it was diagnosed with a bad throttle body and throttle motor. The repairs cost approximately $500.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #38

Oct 182013

Mariner 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
The vehicle started to stall when the accelerator peddle was engaged, after turning vehicle off and restarting it would travel approximately 50 to 100ft. Before again stalling.

- Kansas, OK, USA

problem #37

Oct 072013

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 61,100 miles
When driving at a slow speed of 20-25 mph, the vehicle stopped accelerating and bucked a little. The wrench (powertrain) signal light up on the dash, so I proceeded to pull over, put the car in park, and shut it off. After a few minutes I turned it on again and all seemed fine, though the car was now slow moving and less smooth through shifting. The same thing occurred 9 days later, with the vehicle responding even more slowly afterwards.

- Natick, MA, USA

problem #36

May 132013

Mariner 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I was driving along on the highway (I-77 N) and all of a sudden my car started to jerk. The wrench tool light lit up on the dash board and the car immediately began to loose speed. The change in power and speed was quick and I had to quickly check the surrounding traffic and pull the car over to avoid and accident. After pulling over to the side of the road I cut the car completely off and it started back up. I took the car to the dealer where I purchased the car and I was advised to replace the filter. I purchased a filter from Ford and my car ran smoothly for about 2 weeks. I would push on the accelerator but it would not accelerate. Each time the wrench tool would appear and the engine light would come on. I have lost speed in the middle of an intersection. After my car started to cut off again following the installation of the new filter I took the car back to the dealer and was instructed to purchase throttle body spray. They cleaned out the throttle body and the car drove fine for a few days until I began experiencing the same problem. Some times I would have to cut my car off a few times and restart it on one round trip. I keep regular maintenance on this car, changing the oil and rotating the tires, etc. I purchased the car in December 2012 because the car I had over $2,500 of needed maintenance. I needed a reliable car to get around as the primary transportation for my family. I took the car back to the dealer a few times and they explained the code and explanation of the problem: Trouble code P2111, throttle body actuator stuck open and closed. I really hope this investigation is expedited and that Ford recalls the Mercury Mariner 2010 due to the faulty throttle bottle. I have had zero maintenance issues with my vehicle other than the throttle body issues.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #35

Jul 282013

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 54,151 miles
I was on a major expressway when the vehicle starting decreasing speed. I went from 55 mph to 45 to 35 to 25 to 15 to 5 and the stopped. Luckily traffic was light and when this started, I pulled over to the shoulder of the road which was close to an exit. I somehow got the SUV home, starting the engine, it dying out and going a couple of feet over and over again. We took the vehicle to our auto ship and they said that Ford had a problem with the throttle and gave us a North Carolina consumers council article. They did not have the digital equipment to fix and referred us to Ford dealership. Ford dealership advised it was the throttle. I talked to Ford customer service and they advised there was no recall and there was nothing they could do.I we spent $362.56 on throttle and two letters later Ford will do nothing since they say we do not have the extended warranty and we are beyond three years/36,000 miles. I was afraid when the car died out on the expressway.

- Arlington Heights, IL, USA

problem #34

Aug 282013

Mariner

  • 38,000 miles
We were traveling down the highway at 60 mph when the engine went dead like the switch was cut off. I tried to restart the engine and it would try to start then go dead. I did this 10 times and it finally started. I took it directly to the local Ford dealer. A computer check did not show any problem. The dealer said he did not know what to work on and said to return it when it happens again.

- Jackson Gap, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?