Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,006 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Mercury Milan drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Mercury Milan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Mercury Milan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #130

Aug 242016

Milan

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Milan hybrid lost power on two occasions in heavy fast interstate traffic. Safe to pullover light illuminated, max speed of 5mph, dealer replaced 12V battery first time. 4 to six months later, same dangerous scenario and one more time trying to get vehicle to a dealer.the dealer said it was a defective electronic throttle body. The only recall was on models after 2010 beginning in 2011. The 2010 were never recalled although numerous complaints. 54000 miles on vehicle.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #129

Mar 282016

Milan

  • 82,000 miles
I was driving my 2010 Milan on the highway when it suddenly lost power, I was able to coast off the road. After trying for approximately 45 min I was able to start it and drive it home. About 2 weeks later it did the same thing as I was pulling out of a parking space. Both times I narrowly avoided being rearended.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #128

Nov 122015

Milan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle began to decelerate and the check engine warning light illuminated. The failure occurred once. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #127

Aug 192015

Milan

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. The vehicle was parked and upon returning to the vehicle, the contact was unable to shift the gear selector lever out of the park position. The contact stated that the gear selector lever seized and was unable to be released. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #126

Aug 072015

Milan

  • 83,000 miles
I was driving down the highway and then my gas pedal went to the floor and had no power. I pulled over to the side of the road and when I lifted the hood the whole engine was shaking. I shut off the car. Let it sit for a couple of minutes and it started up slowly. Ran for about 10 miles and did it again at 35 mph. Pulled over shut off car and waited(as a police officer pulled up to my car). Started the car again and made it to our campsite. We were 3 hours from home. I went online and found all of these problems with this car. I ended up at O reilly auto parts and fixed the throttle body in the parking lot. Has been running slightly rough since this happened. Then this morning(3 weeks later) I started the car and the radio and info on it does not work. Still working on this problem. Any thought would be helpful. I think it is time to get rid of the Mercury and go back to Chevy.

- Genoa City, WI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #125

Jan 302014

Milan

  • 65,000 miles
Driving down the road power steering was lost and control of the vehicle was lost causing to hit a curb damaging rack and pinion tie rod ends, wheels and tires and alignment.

- Nogales, AZ, USA

problem #124

Oct 312013

Milan

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittent electrical connectivity and issue with throttle. Car has had problems since we received it in November 2010. Into walker Ford clearwater 4 times recorded - 2 other times not. Service department has replaced throttle body 11/12 and completed recall 13B17 (6/2014) but the same exact issues persist. Service department stated at least 4 times that they cannot replicate the issue or find the issue. Called customer service week of October 14, 2014 and was assigned [xxx] (866-631-3788 - ext [xxx]) who we talked to at length and send a follow up email (October 16, 2014). Called twice and not returned our calls. [xxx]. said she would be back to us in a few days with a solution and have a service department prepared to fix the car. It has now been over 15 days since the original conversation. We are afraid to drive the car because, it has sudden reduction of engine power, revs into a high gear with no movement while traveling at 30-55 mph, and twice has died in the middle of intersection. Same issues as described in NHTSA action number PE13003. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Dunedin, FL, USA

problem #123

Oct 282014

Milan 6-cyl

  • 111,300 miles
While driving on a 4 lane highway, my car jerked and the wrench warning light can on and no acceleration while I pressed the gas pedal. I was able to get the car to coast to safety and when I stopped the car is was jerking back. I turned the car off for a few minutes and turned it back on, it started up and ran fine. This incident happened again today while driving in town, not once but twice while I was driving 15 mph and the 2nd incident today about 30 mph. Both of these times I was able to get off the road safely, and got the car to restart and make it home 45 miles away. I am afraid to drive my car, that in heavy traffic, this could cause a serious accident.

- Houlka, MS, USA

problem #122

Oct 012014

Milan

  • 52,000 miles
The engine suddenly lost power. A engine and wrench icon showed up on the dash lights. I had to coast to the side of the road on 4 occasions. When I shut off the engine and started it up again, it ran fine again. This would be an extremely dangerous situation if this occurred when I was making a left turn with oncoming traffic. I took my vehicle into O'meara Ford at 7:00 a.M. on October 13, 2014. They indicated they were looking at the throttle body and would need to keep my vehicle overnight.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #121

Aug 022014

Milan

  • miles
Power steering recall: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain model year 2008-2011 Ford escape and Mercury mariner vehicles manufactured August 18, 2006, through September 11, 2010. The affected vehicles have a steering torque sensor that may not be able to properly detect driver steering input. I called Ford Motor Company regarding my vehicle 2010 Mercury Milan premier because I had to have my power steering replaced on my vehicle. The dealership stated that I would have to call Ford and inform them that my car should be listed in the recall. When I called I was transferred to customer relations. The woman was very rude and kept repeating the same thing over and over. I explained to her I understand the protocol I just want to make sure that information regarding the call will be submitted about my vehicle power steering was serviced on my Milan and if there was anything further that I could do regarding my vehicle possibly being in the recall. Her tone of voice was very rude and she didn't seem to care about my concern. I am considering purchasing a Honda vehicle. When my power steering went out it was four occurrences 3 times on the freeway and once leaving from work. Not only was my life and danger but the other drivers and my family members who were in the vehicle with me. So to speak with someone who does not care about my concern is very upsetting and I do not want to drive anymore Ford/Mercury vehicles.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #120

Aug 132014

Milan 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While accelerating, the car began to jerk violently and came to a stop, and shut off. The car was unable to run or idle. It was towed to a Ford dealership where they diagnosed a failed throttle body and it was replaced. I was on a residential road so no injuries, had I been on the highway, things would have been different.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #119

Jul 232014

Milan

  • 83,000 miles
As I was driving my car, the vehicle steering became hard to steer and within minutes, the steering became non-existent. I had to put on hazards in order to avoid an a car from hitting me and to try to get to a safe place with pretty much no steering power.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #118

Aug 282014

Milan

  • miles
Electric throttle body issues.

- Henderson, KY, USA

problem #117

Aug 232014

Milan 6-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
Vehicle had two throttle body codes and lost power in two days took to C&C Ford and they won't change the part until the code comes up again under the Ford replacement policy does someone have to die!!

- Jamison, PA, USA

problem #116

Aug 012013

Milan

  • 30,000 miles
I've had multiple issues with the Milan throttle body for over a year. Everytime I take it to the dealer they say the computer just needs reprogrammed. After I leave the dealership my car usually has a hard failure just like it did before (loss of power, engine running rough, car rolls to a stop). I can completely turn the car off and turn back on and it runs fine again for a while and then does it all over again. The dealership will only keep reprogramming the computer. They have also replaced the throttle body 2 times but after about 100 miles it starts all over again. Ford has refused to do anything other than what the dealership can find which is only what the codes say (reprogram computer or replace throttle body). I'm not going to keep taking my car in every week to get reprogrammed. Ford has refused to give me a loaner car to use until they fix it. I've taken multiple days off work and arranged for other transportation for the previous work. However, enough is enough. I can't keep taking my car back for some that Ford knows needs fixed. This is clearly a significant safety issue. I travel a lot on highways and interstates and when I lose power I've had some close calls will accidents (re ended) and trying to get to a shoulder to pull off and restart car. I can no longer use my car to drive my kids around due to the safety concerns of being hit during a failure or stranded. I've made this known very clearly to Ford but they don't seem to care. If they do they are not acting on it. I would hate for something terrible to happen before they fix it. I'm not only concerned for my family but others that may be having similar issues with their car. All I'm asking for is for Ford to recognize this is a very real and serious safety concern. They need to look a little deeper at the issue. I just want a safe car to drive until they can fix it.

- New Albany, OH, USA

problem #115

Aug 132014

Milan

  • 83,000 miles
Vehicle has very harsh jerky shift changes between 2-3 gear, took to dealership was told software upgrade was needed, after driving about a week, issue recurred. Returned back to dealership was told car needed db transmission because transmission gears were worn.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #114

Jul 252014

Milan 4-cyl

  • 89,900 miles
I purchased my 2010 Mercury Milan last year in July 2013. This weekend I started having an issue with a loud thumping sound coming from under the hood, on ignition, gear changing and acceleration. Took it to the dealer today and was informed that my subframe is completely broken. It was never welded, which I was also informed that it should have been. Meaning this was an issue before I purchased my vehicle. My engine has moved 2 inches forward, the technician moved my engine with his bare hand back and forward. Both of my front wheel axles are broken due to the pressure of the engine not being secured with this subframe. I'm not really great with car repairs knowledge, but even I know this is a major issue. I bought the extended warranty with my car during purchase and they won't pay for the repair. I was quoted $600 for parts and $624 for labor. Not including my wheel axles that have to be repaired due to this issue. I have contacted the BBB and the vp of the dealer, concerning this issue. The dealer was supposed to do a complete inspection of my vehicle and they did not. They say they stand by their inspections and guarantee. Not this time!! it's not fair for me to pay for this repair but if I don't, I won't have a vehicle to drive. Ford has to do something. This is their negligence and this issue could have caused a serious safety issue for me and my family. I will update this post as I find out more information from the dealership. If you are having this issue or had this issue, please join me, in filing a complaint. Someone could lose their life because Ford refuses to acknowledge this manufacturer issue. If anyone can offer any kind of advice as in where or who to contact please respond with the information.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #113

Jun 222014

Milan

  • 66,000 miles
I was driving on the highway going about 70mph when my car jolted. Then from there it decelerated very fast. I pushed on the gas and nothing it felt like it was in neutral with nothing happening. I quickly was able to get into the breakdown lane but due to being in the high speed lane I almost got hit by 2 cars. As I pulled over it felt like the car was about to stall. I shut the car off and waited. I turned it back on and it drove fine. About 2 months ago I had stopped at a stop sign and when I went to drive my car again felt like it was in neutral no matter how much I pressed on the gas it did not go anywhere... even though it was in the drive gear. I shut it off and turned it on and it was fine. My car feels like it hesitates and bucks sometimes when I am driving also. This seems extremely dangerous seeing as I was almost in an accident yesterday on the highway. I was told I needed to see if my VIN was part of the campaign recall to get this fixed. I will say if I find out its not part of the recall even though its listed in it then I will never by a Ford or Mercury every again because it shows they could care less about how dangerous something is and its Ford fault no fault of mine!

- Gales Ferry, CT, USA

problem #112

Jun 112014

Milan 4-cyl

  • 21,350 miles
The vehicle suddenly stalled while driving at highway speeds (55mph) in heavy traffic. Rapid deceleration and many dashboard lights came on. I was able to change to the right lane and then bring the vehicle to a stop on the shoulder safely, avoiding an accident, as the car was in rapid deceleration and stepping on the gas was unresponsive. There was no acceleration, or engine noise or response when I stepped on the gas pedal while in drive position and the key in the on position.I turned the car off for several minutes, wondering what to do. I then turned the key back on, and the car was able to drive. I took side roads home and then scheduled an appointment at the selling manufacturer dealership. The defect was in the throttle body? they would not cover the $500 repair under the new vehicle warranty (out on time), the $1700 extended warranty I purchased (not covered part), the emissions warranty (not covered part) or the hybrid warranty ( not covered part), or any recall, or goodwill service plan or service bulletin repairs. Then I found out there was a settlement with the NHTSA for similar incidents that Ford agreed to extend the warranty on the throttle body for 150,000 miles or 10 years. (this vehicle is a 2010 with just over 20,000 miles. They said it is not covered under the settlement because it a hybrid and they were not included in the settlement. I think that this premature failure of an item that they will replace if defective in 150,000 miles or ten years as part of a settlement to avoid a recall and associated public disclosure, should be covered under the agreement. I have the part from the dealer. Even though there are fewer hybrids on the road as a statistic, it only takes one failure to cause a tragic result. I can send the part for investigation to determine if there were not enough suppliers and parts identified prior to the settlement.

- North Bay Village, FL, USA

problem #111

May 042014

Milan

  • 19,000 miles
While driving at approximately 60 to 65mph, the car lost power and decrease speed while maintaining control of the vehicle, pull to the side of the road, car was still running and after turning off and restarting and entering the highway again problem persisted with the same results.

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?