Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2010 Mercury Milan (Page 1 of 4)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,214 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Mercury Milan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Mercury Milan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Mercury Milan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #79

Aug 242016


  • 101,000 miles


Electronic throttle body (etb) indicator is illuminated. I have a sudden loss of power while driving, my accelerator stops working or has extremely limited power, and my engine idles roughly.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #78

Jan 152016


  • miles
January 15 2016 I was driving my 2010 milian, went to make a left turn and my steering went out, then my dashboard lit up saying service power steering and advance trac system needs attention, then my passenger front tire blew. Ive seen where the 2011 milian has had a recall on this same issue that my 2010 milian is now having, I havent been able to drive my car since January and I still have 3 years of payments on a car I can't drive. So please send out a recall notice for the 2010 milian so I can start driving my car again.

- Georgetown, SC, USA

problem #77

Apr 272016


  • 49,284 miles
Took car in to Ford dealer for servicing per recall 15S34 on 4/27/16. Dealer notified me that brake lights are; "....stuck on when parking lights or headlights are on -- they work if headlights are off....". (see noughton Ford Aurora, co invoice # focs418452). This is a hazard!!!!!

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #76

Oct 292015


  • 69,450 miles


Jersey city Ford service depart reports the hybrid harness burnt out and killed my battery. $900 for the harness, $185 for the 84 month battery. The car is 5 years old and I'm replacing the harness? the vehicle was stationary in a car port. When I tried starting the car the pats system activated, the car would not start. It was towed to the dealership and they called today, the hybrid harness as to be shipped from detroit. This part should not have failed under any normal use....ever. If I had been driving when it failed I would have lost all power, steering, brakes, and ability to control the car.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #75

Apr 102012

Milan 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Driver side rear brake light is fully illuminated at all times when the headlights are on. This is a safety issue and replacement of the driver side taillight is $400+.

- Stillwater, MN, USA

problem #74

Mar 182015

Milan 4-cyl

  • 56,500 miles
The tail light assembly burned out after an unusually short period of time, they are led type and lasted only 5 years. Led's with this short life span should be considered defective as there are numerous incidents being reported about this problem.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #73

Jun 192013


  • 4,329 miles


I purchased my 2010 Mercury Milan used on August 30, 2012 with 987 miles. Approximately in June, 2013 the car's right rear tail lamp went completely out and I had a new tail lamp installed for $408 + labor. In November, 2013 the car's left rear tail lamp went completely and I had a new tail lamp installed for $408 + labor. Now, March 6, 2015 the right rear tail lamp has gone out and I cannot afford to keep on paying these expenses when I now know that this is a Ford problem and due to poor engineering of the light assembly and because it has not been re-engineered to correct the problem, this will be a recurring problem for the life of the car. I run the chance of being stopped by the police for an unsafe vehicle.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #72

Feb 092015

Milan 6-cyl

  • 48,364 miles
The driver's side break light is hyderactive when my headlights are on. When the headlights are off the break light works fine. This seems to be a popular issue with many Mercury milians. The part was $377 to replace it and I have no had the car a full year. Also my driver's side actuator in my headlight went as well. My first car purchased ever and it was Ford and I have had nothing but issue with the car. Disappointing.

- Falls , PA, USA

problem #71

Dec 012014

Milan 4-cyl

  • 51,425 miles
Driver side tail lamp assembly is not functional seems the led portion of the taillight assembly needs to be replaced at a cost of $400-500 from the dealer. This is the second taillight in the 2 years of ownership that it has had to be replaced. Very poor design and safety concern of mine since this is no longer a $2 bulb replacement but an entire taillight assembly.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #70

Dec 232014


  • 104,000 miles
Someone noticed my rear passenger tail light on my 2010 Mercury Milan was abnormally bright and that brake light did not work. So I investigate and find that I have to replace the whole assembly instead of just a bulb. Omg. I have been a loyal Ford owner since 1985. The cost to replace is over $600? unbelievable. This is a safety issue and should be recalled.

- Nelson, IL, USA

problem #69

Dec 232014

Milan 6-cyl

  • 41,800 miles


I have a 2010 Mercury Milan. The Milan is equipped with led tail and brake lights, unlike it's sibling, the Ford Fusion. Recently, I discovered after being pulled over by the police that the brake lights were not operating. I went to the dealer's service department, only to discover that the tail light/brake light/turn signal assembly is one sealed, unserviceable unit. There was no warning and leds do not burn out this quickly. To add insult to injury, Ford will not cover this under their premuimcare esp warranty, because they consider it a consumable object like tires. So on top of almost getting killed by being rear-ended in a collision, I got the privilege of paying $1000 to replace both sealed assemblies. This is a common failure in these vehicles and a hazard on the road which occurs without warning. Please recall these vehicles and make Ford fix this dangerous issue. Thank you,

- Merrick, NY, USA

problem #68

Sep 012013


  • 55,000 miles
Driver side brake light does not go off when lights are turned on. Judging by the number of complaints this looks like a common problem. Recall please.

- Grand Ledge, MI, USA

problem #67

Nov 062013


  • 12,707 miles
The initial incident in November, 2013 was the failure of the passenger side rear led tail light assembly. This resulted in the brake lights not operating when the brakes were depressed. A police officer stopped the car for a warning due to the brake light failure. Mileage on the car at the time was 12,700 miles. Due to the safety hazard the repair was needed. The entire assembly, not just a single bulb needed to be replaced. Approximately 10 months later in September, 2014 the driver side rear led tail light is now malfunctioning in the same way. Brake lights are again flickering and not working when the brakes are depressed. Mileage on the car at the time of this next failure was 16,100 miles. The dealer quoted price to repair is over $450! this car is garage kept, well maintained and has not been in involved in any accidents. Ford should fix this defect under a safety recall free of charge to customers!

- Wanaque, NJ, USA

problem #66

Nov 132014

Milan 4-cyl

  • 97,500 miles
Left rear taillight does not illuminate on depression of the brake pedal. Right rear taillight flickers but fully illuminates on depression of the brake pedal. As the lights are led and encased in a housing, the replacement cost approaches $400 per unit.

- Shamong, NJ, USA

problem #65

Nov 122014

Milan 6-cyl

  • 62,700 miles
Right rear tail lamp / brake light assembly inop again. This is my 3 assembly that has failed in 15 months. It is an led assembly, it costs $375 for the part. You can't replace a bulb. This should be covered under a safety recall.

- Inver Grove Heights, MN, USA

problem #64

Oct 312013


  • 40,000 miles
Intermittent electrical connectivity and issue with throttle. Car has had problems since we received it in November 2010. Into walker Ford clearwater 4 times recorded - 2 other times not. Service department has replaced throttle body 11/12 and completed recall 13B17 (6/2014) but the same exact issues persist. Service department stated at least 4 times that they cannot replicate the issue or find the issue. Called customer service week of October 14, 2014 and was assigned [xxx] (866-631-3788 - ext [xxx]) who we talked to at length and send a follow up email (October 16, 2014). Called twice and not returned our calls. [xxx]. said she would be back to us in a few days with a solution and have a service department prepared to fix the car. It has now been over 15 days since the original conversation. We are afraid to drive the car because, it has sudden reduction of engine power, revs into a high gear with no movement while traveling at 30-55 mph, and twice has died in the middle of intersection. Same issues as described in NHTSA action number PE13003. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Dunedin, FL, USA

problem #63

Oct 202014

Milan 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Driver side rear brake light staying illuminated constantly as if the brake is pressed and nearly caused crash (I had two small children sitting in the back of my Milan), had the vehicle behind me not went into the ditch a collision would have been inevitable. Please look into this problem as it has the potential to cause bodily harm and injury to the occupants. I had no idea there was a problem with constant illumination until this point. Upon scheduling an appointment at the Ford dealership and doing a little research I see this is a frequently reported problem but no recall has yet been issued nor an investigation. Also since learning of this problem this morning and observing the vehicle brake lights there is also a flicker of lights every so often.

- Elberta, AL, USA

problem #62

Feb 032012

Milan 4-cyl

  • 32,141 miles
Right rear brake light stays engaged constant, 100% luminous when headlights are on. Dealer replaced complete tail lamp assembly January 1, serviced February 2012 under warranty. Mileage 32141. Now a second time same problem with same right lamp. Not sure how long it has been that way. I was notified by family member when they were following me home one evening. 70000 miles. These led lamps are expensive, seems as if lighting has faulty parts assembly malfunction instead of a routine light replacement. Multiple complaints listed here for same issue. Is there a recall? I have not received anything for a recall. Now has become a safety concern.

- Coxs Creek, KY, USA

problem #61

Oct 102014

Milan 4-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
Initially it began as reduced power to the engine and the wrench/check engine light illuminating. However, after that, I would get surges of power to the engine and the car would jump forward. The car remained drivable, but clearly unsafe. I could not with any confidence continue to drive the car especially on the highway which I do daily.

- Norwood, MA, USA

problem #60

Jun 082014


  • miles
Traveling to army national guard drill during the early morning hours is when this occured. I was going speed limit while turning right onto an onramp which leads to the highway. There was a weird vibration in the sterring wheel and it failed and could not be turned back from the right position. I am strong and I could not move it. This malfunction cause my car to smash into a tree. I was knocked out, head injruy, and very bad back/shoulder injury. I was taken by 911 to the hospital and I have been treated for multiple things. Ford is yet to repond to anything or to offer some sort of settlement for this which is absolutly their fault. I have got a lawyer to keep sending demands to Ford. Now, I saw on the news that this is actually a problem they are now finding out about and claiming no one has been seriously hurt from it...well this is not true as I did. I am also seeking a negligence claim because a week prior, they replaced a faulty transmission in my car which also could have lead to this. Hopefully your Agency does some serious investigation.

- Medford, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?