Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,300 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Mercury Milan engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Mercury Milan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Mercury Milan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #141

Aug 242016

Milan

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Milan hybrid lost power on two occasions in heavy fast interstate traffic. Safe to pullover light illuminated, max speed of 5mph, dealer replaced 12V battery first time. 4 to six months later, same dangerous scenario and one more time trying to get vehicle to a dealer.the dealer said it was a defective electronic throttle body. The only recall was on models after 2010 beginning in 2011. The 2010 were never recalled although numerous complaints. 54000 miles on vehicle.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #140

Sep 082016

Milan

  • 32,000 miles
Trottle acutator stuck in closed position as the car was moving about 25 mph, pressed the accelarator but nothing was happening, engine was at iddle, and was able to move to the side of the road. Started the car again and everything worked for abot a minute and then it happened again. When I got home after a few restarts I hooked up my comupter to read the obd code that came on !! it was code P2112, witch is the trottle acutator module !! after reseting the obd code it was working fine on the driveway. I'll take it for a test drive later. It seems clear that a problem exists with the trottle acutator on the trottle body !!! a design flaw is very possible, and it presents a danger when driving on the road with a sudden loss of power and speed. A recal should be in the works for Ford !!! I have read too many complaints about the same problem. My car has 32,000 miles and is a 2010 year.

- Lindenhurst, NY, USA

problem #139

Sep 012016

Milan

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle lost power. In addition, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The check engine and service vehicle soon warning indicators illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 109,000.

- Henderson, NC, USA

problem #138

Aug 202016

Milan

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on 495 toward silver spring/Georgia ave. And the call just loss acceleration without warning. The engine and wrench lights illuminated on the dash. The car cruised at about 5 miles an hour. An extremely dangerous situation to say the least. I was in the middle lane and had to work my way over to the shoulder. I'm taking the car to the Ford dealership on 8/23/2016 for diagnosis. There appears to have been complaints reported to NHTSA about this problem and the case was closed without a recall. Let me tell you, this problem is not only real but extremely dangerous. Something more needs to be done.

- Martinsburg, WV, USA

problem #137

Jun 302016

Milan

  • 79,540 miles
Stalls (approx 10 mph) then sudden surges. The vehicle keeps moving, but at drastically reduced speeds. After sitting for some time the check engine light or wrench symbol goes away. Afterwards driving back to stalling (approx 10 mph) then sudden surges.

- Pflugerville, TX, USA

problem #136

Jun 292016

Milan

  • 79,500 miles
Stalls (approx 10 mph) then sudden surges. The vehicle keeps moving, but at drastically reduced speeds. After sitting for some time the check engine light or wrench symbol goes away. Afterwards driving back to stalling (approx 10 mph) then sudden surges.

- Pflugerville, TX, USA

problem #135

Jan 232016

Milan

  • 60,089 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. While driving 30 mph and attempting to accelerate, the vehicle began to decelerate and the check engine light and throttle body control light illuminated. The failure occurred randomly. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,089.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #134

Nov 122015

Milan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle began to decelerate and the check engine warning light illuminated. The failure occurred once. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #133

Oct 122015

Milan

  • 77,000 miles
Third time taking my car in, cause the check engine light & wrench light comes on. Keep getting code PO455, PO457 and now P2119. I just went in less then 3 mths ago and had the throttle body PCM calibration update, bam starting again. It is very scary to go down the road and lose power or while driving give it gas & it jerks. 2010 Milan

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #132

Aug 012015

Milan

  • 75,000 miles
Driving down the car stalled and sputtered pulled over and it restarted fine drink half mile and did it again almost go hit by a car this tim I happen 5 months ago and I was almost rear ended was told my Ford dealership that is the throttle body Ford issued a extended warranty but will not replace it unless the car fails which I think is bs if my family is hurt I'll be filing suit against Ford and the dealership.

- Lexington, OK, USA

problem #131

Jun 112015

Milan

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. While driving approximately 45 mph, the throttle indicator light illuminated and the vehicle experienced a complete loss of power. The vehicle was not able to be restarted and had to be towed to the dealer. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Ellwood City, PA, USA

problem #130

Aug 082013

Milan

  • 61,000 miles
This has occurred several times now. I will be driving and the car will suddenly stall and decrease in speed. There have been several times that I have almost been hit by another car as well. I went to Ford and they told me my throttle body needed to be replaced, so I did that. Approximately a year later the same thing started to occur. I took it back and they said they did an update, however about two months later the same issue occured. I took it back to Ford because I am under warranty and they kept my car for 4 days and said they could not find the issue. Recently now only the battery and the oil canister comes on, but when it stalls out now it jerks really hard going forward then stalls out. It is very dangerous and I am afraid to drive my car. I called Ford as well and they said there was nothing that they can do. It's sad to see other people are experiencing the same thing and they won't do anything I will never buy a Ford again.

- Fort Shafter, HI, USA

problem #129

Oct 312013

Milan

  • 40,000 miles
Intermittent electrical connectivity and issue with throttle. Car has had problems since we received it in November 2010. Into walker Ford clearwater 4 times recorded - 2 other times not. Service department has replaced throttle body 11/12 and completed recall 13B17 (6/2014) but the same exact issues persist. Service department stated at least 4 times that they cannot replicate the issue or find the issue. Called customer service week of October 14, 2014 and was assigned [xxx] (866-631-3788 - ext [xxx]) who we talked to at length and send a follow up email (October 16, 2014). Called twice and not returned our calls. [xxx]. said she would be back to us in a few days with a solution and have a service department prepared to fix the car. It has now been over 15 days since the original conversation. We are afraid to drive the car because, it has sudden reduction of engine power, revs into a high gear with no movement while traveling at 30-55 mph, and twice has died in the middle of intersection. Same issues as described in NHTSA action number PE13003. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Dunedin, FL, USA

problem #128

Oct 012014

Milan

  • 52,000 miles
The engine suddenly lost power. A engine and wrench icon showed up on the dash lights. I had to coast to the side of the road on 4 occasions. When I shut off the engine and started it up again, it ran fine again. This would be an extremely dangerous situation if this occurred when I was making a left turn with oncoming traffic. I took my vehicle into O'meara Ford at 7:00 a.M. on October 13, 2014. They indicated they were looking at the throttle body and would need to keep my vehicle overnight.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #127

Oct 102014

Milan 4-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
Initially it began as reduced power to the engine and the wrench/check engine light illuminating. However, after that, I would get surges of power to the engine and the car would jump forward. The car remained drivable, but clearly unsafe. I could not with any confidence continue to drive the car especially on the highway which I do daily.

- Norwood, MA, USA

problem #126

Aug 132014

Milan 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
While accelerating, the car began to jerk violently and came to a stop, and shut off. The car was unable to run or idle. It was towed to a Ford dealership where they diagnosed a failed throttle body and it was replaced. I was on a residential road so no injuries, had I been on the highway, things would have been different.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #125

Oct 292012

Milan

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,000.

- Linton, IN, USA

problem #124

Jun 182014

Milan

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. While driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle vibrated and the throttle warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle operated normally once it was shut off and restarted. The failure occurred multiple times. The engine warning indicator also illuminated sporadically. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- Belleville, NJ, USA

problem #123

Aug 282014

Milan

  • miles
Electric throttle body issues.

- Henderson, KY, USA

problem #122

Aug 012013

Milan

  • 30,000 miles
I've had multiple issues with the Milan throttle body for over a year. Everytime I take it to the dealer they say the computer just needs reprogrammed. After I leave the dealership my car usually has a hard failure just like it did before (loss of power, engine running rough, car rolls to a stop). I can completely turn the car off and turn back on and it runs fine again for a while and then does it all over again. The dealership will only keep reprogramming the computer. They have also replaced the throttle body 2 times but after about 100 miles it starts all over again. Ford has refused to do anything other than what the dealership can find which is only what the codes say (reprogram computer or replace throttle body). I'm not going to keep taking my car in every week to get reprogrammed. Ford has refused to give me a loaner car to use until they fix it. I've taken multiple days off work and arranged for other transportation for the previous work. However, enough is enough. I can't keep taking my car back for some that Ford knows needs fixed. This is clearly a significant safety issue. I travel a lot on highways and interstates and when I lose power I've had some close calls will accidents (re ended) and trying to get to a shoulder to pull off and restart car. I can no longer use my car to drive my kids around due to the safety concerns of being hit during a failure or stranded. I've made this known very clearly to Ford but they don't seem to care. If they do they are not acting on it. I would hate for something terrible to happen before they fix it. I'm not only concerned for my family but others that may be having similar issues with their car. All I'm asking for is for Ford to recognize this is a very real and serious safety concern. They need to look a little deeper at the issue. I just want a safe car to drive until they can fix it.

- New Albany, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?