Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,921 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Mercury Milan engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Mercury Milan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Mercury Milan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #166

Jun 082016

Milan

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. While driving 5 mph to park, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle accelerated without warning. In order for the vehicle to stop, the brake pedal had to be depressed numerous times. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000.

- West Burlington, IA, USA

problem #165

Sep 082016

Milan

  • 32,000 miles
Trottle acutator stuck in closed position as the car was moving about 25 mph, pressed the accelarator but nothing was happening, engine was at iddle, and was able to move to the side of the road. Started the car again and everything worked for abot a minute and then it happened again. When I got home after a few restarts I hooked up my comupter to read the obd code that came on !! it was code P2112, witch is the trottle acutator module !! after reseting the obd code it was working fine on the driveway. I'll take it for a test drive later. It seems clear that a problem exists with the trottle acutator on the trottle body !!! a design flaw is very possible, and it presents a danger when driving on the road with a sudden loss of power and speed. A recal should be in the works for Ford !!! I have read too many complaints about the same problem. My car has 32,000 miles and is a 2010 year.

- Lindenhurst, NY, USA

problem #164

Aug 202016

Milan

  • 62,000 miles
I was driving on 495 toward silver spring/Georgia ave. And the call just loss acceleration without warning. The engine and wrench lights illuminated on the dash. The car cruised at about 5 miles an hour. An extremely dangerous situation to say the least. I was in the middle lane and had to work my way over to the shoulder. I'm taking the car to the Ford dealership on 8/23/2016 for diagnosis. There appears to have been complaints reported to NHTSA about this problem and the case was closed without a recall. Let me tell you, this problem is not only real but extremely dangerous. Something more needs to be done.

- Martinsburg, WV, USA

problem #163

Nov 112015

Milan

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. While driving at 25 mph, the vehicle began to accelerate and surged without warning. The brake pedal was depressed, but failed to stop the vehicle. The vehicle struck a curb. The air bags deployed. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed.. the vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was approximately 32,000....updated 01/13/16

- St. Paul, MN, USA

problem #162

Oct 032015

Milan

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, there was a reduction in the engine power. The vehicle was coasted to the side of the road. After restarting, the vehicle was only able to be driven at low speeds. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 49,000.

- Edina, MN, USA

problem #161

Aug 302015

Milan

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart after two attempts. The failure recurred on two other occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Lithia, FL, USA

problem #160

Aug 082013

Milan

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This has occurred several times now. I will be driving and the car will suddenly stall and decrease in speed. There have been several times that I have almost been hit by another car as well. I went to Ford and they told me my throttle body needed to be replaced, so I did that. Approximately a year later the same thing started to occur. I took it back and they said they did an update, however about two months later the same issue occured. I took it back to Ford because I am under warranty and they kept my car for 4 days and said they could not find the issue. Recently now only the battery and the oil canister comes on, but when it stalls out now it jerks really hard going forward then stalls out. It is very dangerous and I am afraid to drive my car. I called Ford as well and they said there was nothing that they can do. It's sad to see other people are experiencing the same thing and they won't do anything I will never buy a Ford again.

- Fort Shafter, HI, USA

problem #159

Oct 312013

Milan

  • 40,000 miles
Intermittent electrical connectivity and issue with throttle. Car has had problems since we received it in November 2010. Into walker Ford clearwater 4 times recorded - 2 other times not. Service department has replaced throttle body 11/12 and completed recall 13B17 (6/2014) but the same exact issues persist. Service department stated at least 4 times that they cannot replicate the issue or find the issue. Called customer service week of October 14, 2014 and was assigned [xxx] (866-631-3788 - ext [xxx]) who we talked to at length and send a follow up email (October 16, 2014). Called twice and not returned our calls. [xxx]. said she would be back to us in a few days with a solution and have a service department prepared to fix the car. It has now been over 15 days since the original conversation. We are afraid to drive the car because, it has sudden reduction of engine power, revs into a high gear with no movement while traveling at 30-55 mph, and twice has died in the middle of intersection. Same issues as described in NHTSA action number PE13003. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Dunedin, FL, USA

problem #158

Oct 102014

Milan 4-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
Initially it began as reduced power to the engine and the wrench/check engine light illuminating. However, after that, I would get surges of power to the engine and the car would jump forward. The car remained drivable, but clearly unsafe. I could not with any confidence continue to drive the car especially on the highway which I do daily.

- Norwood, MA, USA

problem #157

Aug 022014

Milan

  • miles
Power steering recall: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain model year 2008-2011 Ford escape and Mercury mariner vehicles manufactured August 18, 2006, through September 11, 2010. The affected vehicles have a steering torque sensor that may not be able to properly detect driver steering input. I called Ford Motor Company regarding my vehicle 2010 Mercury Milan premier because I had to have my power steering replaced on my vehicle. The dealership stated that I would have to call Ford and inform them that my car should be listed in the recall. When I called I was transferred to customer relations. The woman was very rude and kept repeating the same thing over and over. I explained to her I understand the protocol I just want to make sure that information regarding the call will be submitted about my vehicle power steering was serviced on my Milan and if there was anything further that I could do regarding my vehicle possibly being in the recall. Her tone of voice was very rude and she didn't seem to care about my concern. I am considering purchasing a Honda vehicle. When my power steering went out it was four occurrences 3 times on the freeway and once leaving from work. Not only was my life and danger but the other drivers and my family members who were in the vehicle with me. So to speak with someone who does not care about my concern is very upsetting and I do not want to drive anymore Ford/Mercury vehicles.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #156

Aug 162014

Milan 6-cyl

  • 47,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car stalled suddenly in moderate 35 mph traffic on 8/16/14. I was nearly rear ended while I had to restart my car as there was nowhere to pull over. On 8/17/14, my car stalled suddenly after traveling.5 mile from home (at approx. 20 mph), so I returned to my house. On 8/18 at 7 am, I spoke to sheehy Ford in richmond, va, and was given an appointment for throttle body repair to occur on 8/19 under their "customer satisfaction program" 13B17. I was told that I was not in danger of getting stranded, so I had my husband follow me to work on 8/18. The car stalled again on 8/18 while traveling at 40 mph. Rather than replace the faulty part which they did have in stock, Ford merely recalibrated the powertrain since the check engine light was not lit when I dropped off the car for service, even though I notified them twice of the multiple incidents (via phone on 8/18 and in person on 8/19). I have filed a complaint with Ford since the contaminated internal motor contacts of the throttle body remain in my vehicle.

- Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #155

Aug 212013

Milan

  • miles
When trying to accelerate my car chugs and feels as if it wants to stall. I have to accelerate at a very very slow pace.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #154

Apr 092014

Milan

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact mentioned that the check engine soon and wrench warning icon was illuminated. Aditionally, the contact stated that she had received a customer satisfaction directly related to failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the throttle body was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 18,000 and the current mileage was 19,000.

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #153

Jun 222014

Milan

  • 66,000 miles
I was driving on the highway going about 70mph when my car jolted. Then from there it decelerated very fast. I pushed on the gas and nothing it felt like it was in neutral with nothing happening. I quickly was able to get into the breakdown lane but due to being in the high speed lane I almost got hit by 2 cars. As I pulled over it felt like the car was about to stall. I shut the car off and waited. I turned it back on and it drove fine. About 2 months ago I had stopped at a stop sign and when I went to drive my car again felt like it was in neutral no matter how much I pressed on the gas it did not go anywhere... even though it was in the drive gear. I shut it off and turned it on and it was fine. My car feels like it hesitates and bucks sometimes when I am driving also. This seems extremely dangerous seeing as I was almost in an accident yesterday on the highway. I was told I needed to see if my VIN was part of the campaign recall to get this fixed. I will say if I find out its not part of the recall even though its listed in it then I will never by a Ford or Mercury every again because it shows they could care less about how dangerous something is and its Ford fault no fault of mine!

- Gales Ferry, CT, USA

problem #152

Jun 022014

Milan 6-cyl

  • 41,190 miles
I was merging onto a highway going about 60 mph. My car suddenly went into an idle and the wrench icon came on in the indicator dash. Luckily, I was able to pull over to the shoulder and no vehicle was behind me. I turned off the car and was then able to accelerate. Later in the day, I was again driving on the highway at about 65 mph. When the same thing happened. I then went directly to a Ford dealer. They immediately knew what the problem was and said Ford had extended their warranty on this problem to 120,000 miles. This is ridiculous! I am sure someone will and probably have been fatally injured because of this issue.there needs to be a recall!!

- Lake Geneva, WI, USA

problem #151

Jan 112014

Milan 6-cyl

  • 38,800 miles
Driving thru town at approx 30 mph the vehicles warning lights flashed for check engine and the throttle control warning (wrench) illuminated. The vehicle would not respond to any activation of the gas peddle and drifted to idle power. Not understanding what went wrong, I shut the car down and restarted it to clear the faults. I re-entered traffic and proceeded about 50 ft before it happened again. I proceeded to follow the same reset process and was able to limp the car home. The car was towed away and repaired by replacing the electronic throttle body. Research shows that since 2004 Ford has known that this problem exists and that the engine design default is to bring the car down to idle power. Internet chat boards have stories of this happening on highways at high rates of speed. Ford claims there is no recall because the government (you guys) have not required them to do so despite the failure mode, and public safety implications, being exactly the same as NHTSA action number PE13031. Ford fixed the problem recently but did not scrap old defective inventory and refuses to fix those suspect parts on our roads. They have calculated the costs and choose to risk public safety instead of a recall.

- Topsfield, MA, USA

problem #150

Mar 082014

Milan 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Throttle body failed without warning. Car immediately lost power and had no accelerator response and would only idle. This would have been dangerous had the vehicle not been in an area where it was immediately safe to pull over. Throttle body was changed, the second time it's happened to this vehicle.

- Ferguson, MO, USA

problem #149

Feb 172014

Milan 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
The rear right exterior light burned out. There are supposedly led lights. Dealer notified me that the cost of the part was approximately $450 and that did not include labor. This is a safety issue and Ford refuses to pay anything. This car is a 2010 Mercury Milan. It is my first Ford product. I have been a loyal Toyota driver before their but wanted to buy an american car. This is after the throttle body had to be replaced. How can they justify this?

- Dorchester, MA, USA

problem #148

Jan 302013

Milan

  • 51,600 miles
Wrench light came on and car started shaking and sputtering and would not advance and I almost got rear ended. I feel this is a serious problem and needs to be addressed. Also the engine light came on. Thank you

- Key West, FL, USA

problem #147

Jan 142014

Milan

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mercury Milan. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate despite the accelerator pedal being depressed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for inspection. The contact was advised that the throttle body failed but did not have a clear diagnosis how it failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 56,000.

- Escondido, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?