Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,491 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Mercury Milan drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Mercury Milan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Mercury Milan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Oct 252014

Milan 4-cyl

  • 46,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I started the car the drove a short distance then it started to buck then the wrench sign came on the dashboard. I checked the manual and it said throttle/transmission. I switched off the car and started again then a few seconds it happened again. After shutting down for five times I managed to get home safely. No indication whatsoever prior to this happening.

- Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #26

Jul 302014

Milan 6-cyl

  • 610,000 miles
Vehicle lost most engine power. Could only be driven at low speed. Turned ignition off and then re-started. Vehicle then seemed ok until it did it again......and again and again. Took vehicle to dealership where they replaced some valve and gave the car back to us. Car did not make it 2 miles before it exhibited the initial problem. In other words "they fixed nothing for the price of around $500." The vehicle is now going back to the de.... stealership.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #25

Jun 282014

Milan 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Vehicle traveling at 55mph and wrench light came on. Vehicle engine did not stall but dropped rpms and would not respond to pressing the accelerator. Vehicle slowed to a crawl onto the shoulder of the highway. After putting car in park and shutting off engine and then starting up again the wrench light went off and the car ran fine. This has happened several times in the past few days even on the interstate with heavy traffic behind me...I have almost been rearended several times while I was trying to get off the road out of traffic!!!

- Four Oaks, NC, USA

problem #24

Jun 222014

Milan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car has shut off on me several times. The car will shake and then turn off. I can not start my car at will due to the defects. I have taken my car to get it looked at and no one can say what is wrong because it has to actively shut off and the wrench light needs to be visible when the run the test. So I took it to a dealer where I was told the throttle body needs to be replaced and it sounds like a power train issue. I wouldn't have bought this car if I knew it had these problems.

- Bridgeton, MO, USA

problem #23

Jun 042013

Milan

  • miles
On several occasions I will be driving my car and it begins to shake and cut off. The battery light comes on and a wrench will appear next to the parking light. I was stopped at a stop light, once the light changed I took my feet off the break and pushed on the gas. My car stalled then shook as I drove forward through the intersection my car cut off again. I had to urgently put on my flashers. I have a child and that us very dangerous. I tried starting my car again and it made the sound as if it were going to start but it didn't. the battery light came on again. I tried another time and it worked. I began driving for no more than 3 minutes and my car shut off again. I turned into a parking lot and tried to start my car. We sat there for 5 minutes. The I drove to walmart which is usually only a few minutes away. My car shut off at 4 lights on the way to walmart, and pulling into the walmart parking lot, 4 lights on the way home. This was all in one day. I am so afraid to get on the highway because my car could go out while I'm driving and someone may run into the back of my car.

- Bridgeton, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

May 092014

Milan

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Mercury Milan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle hesitated when the accelerator pedal was applied. Additionally, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted after several attempts and was taken to an authorized dealer, who was unable to diagnose the vehicle because the codes were lost when the vehicle was restarted. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 39,000.

- Steerling Heights, MI, USA

problem #21

May 082014

Milan

  • 46,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Traveling down the highway at 70mph car shuddered and lost acceleration and wrench light came on, got off on the shoulder, car was shuddering, turned it off waited a few minutes, turned the car back on and drove home with no problems. I thought it was a fluke, until today when traveling to work the car did the same thing, and again on the way home.it goes to the dealer tomorrow..I don't need to tell you how dangerous this could be. I hope I make it to the dealer without an issue.

- Pella, IA, USA

problem #20

Nov 132013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 49,300 miles
Driving near 55 mph on local highway and applying pressure to gas pedal to accelerate. Felt and heard a 'clunk'. vehicle immediately lost ability to accelerate with pressure applied to gas pedal. Exited to shoulder. Noticed yellow service (wrench) indicator light was on. Put the car into park and turned off ignition. Re-started vehicle; service indicator light did not come back on. Put the car into drive and re-entered traffic flow. Did not have an incident in another 30 miles of driving. Took the vehicle to dealer for diagnosis. Dealer diagnosed problem as requiring new throttle body. Very dangerous situation.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #19

Oct 032013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
On 10/3/13 while driving home in heavy traffic on the interstate my 2011 Milan with 44,000 miles on it sputtered and died at freeway speed. Still had electrical power and the wrench warning light on the dash was lit up. I was able to coast to the shoulder and stop the vehicle. Once restarted the car went three days before again dying on the interstate in heavy traffic, after doing some research I discovered this was a common problem with Ford throttle bodies on several makes and models. 10/12/13 I purchased a new throttle body from my local Ford dealer and installed it the same day. I test drove the vehicle and it appears that the new throttle body fixed the issue and also another symptom I had been noticing, it was a very slight hesitation in the transmission in all gears.

- Cheney, WA, USA

problem #18

Sep 192013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
I made a left turn from a complete sign. In the middle of the intersection, the car decelerated and the wrench symbol on the dash came on. As I pulled over, the car started shaking and cut off. I had my children get out of the car because I was unsure of what was going on. I turned the car off, took the key from the ignition. I waited about 5 minutes and then restarted the car. I started and everything was ok. On 9/25/13, this happened while I was driving on a straight road. 9/28/13 - it happened while driving 65 mph on the interstate. 9/30/13 - after filling the car with gas, on a major road. 10/1/13 - just driving. 10/8 - making a left turn. There is not a warning before it happens.

- Mauldin, SC, USA

problem #17

Sep 142013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 38,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car lost power while driving. Yellow wrench light came on and car continued to idle roughly. Shutting car of and restarting would reset everything, but if continue to drive the same thing happened. No speed or RPM increase happened when stepping on the gas. Had to tow car to Ford dealer as I couldn't drive it. Mechanic stated throttle body had gone bad and had to be replaced. They never told me that Ford was having an issue with this part. Cost me $460 to have this replaced. Low mileage and newer car this should not have happened. Could have had a terrible accident if I had been driving down the free way at rush hour as I live in a metropolitan area.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #16

Sep 212013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Driving car when it lost all power. When stepping on the gas nothing happened, no speed or RPM increase. Was able to pull over to side of road. Yellow wrench light came on. Car when drivable would jerk like not getting enough gas. I had to pay $430 to have this replaced. This seems to be a known defect for this car and year. I had the extended warranty on my car but was told by the mechanic that this part was specifically excluded. Evidently they knew this part had a problem so they didn't cover it. Could have had a very bad accident if this had happened in rush hour traffic.

- Brandon, SD, USA

problem #15

Sep 052013

Milan

  • 66,741 miles
I was driving about 55 mph when my cars speed started reducing. A wrench light appeared and my car would not move. The gas pedal would not engage speed and the RPM's were at a stand still. This has happened 3 times within 2 1/2 weeks.

- Leslie, AR, USA

problem #14

Jul 052013

Milan

  • 35,000 miles
Returning to baltimore from working in harrisburg pa and driving on interstate 83 at a rate of 65 miles per hour. I was driving in the left lane and the shoulder was to the far right on this particular stretch of road. The Mercury Milan that I had purchased no more than 2 to 3 months prior simply loss all power. To further explain the loss of power ( applying pressure to the gas pedal did nothing to make the car go forward) this had me in a very dangerous place as in order to get the car safely onto the shoulder I needed to drift uphill and across several lanes of fast moving traffic. Fortunately I was able to get the car off the road but found later that the issue that caused this was a throttle body piece that Ford knew had problems. I have three children in the car with me and my fiance at the time and all of our lives were endangered by a part that a billion dollar company put into its mid- level working class consumer vehicle. I have not felt so disrespected and that my life and that of my family meant so little to someone as I did when I found that this is a known issue. This cannot be simply a buy the piece and replace it type of deal as I no longer trust the integrity of the vehicle as a whole. And furthermore how dare Ford think that I should pay for their poor craftsmanship in using a faulty part. This part needs to be recalled and Ford needs to be fined big time for endangering the lives of anyone who drives or rides in vehicles with this limp home type of construction.

- Essex, MD, USA

problem #13

Aug 122013

Milan

  • 39,000 miles
The vehicle stalled while driving at 55 mph. No power to accelerate and had to pull over on hwy. Happened a second time while accelerating at a green light.

- Waconia, MN, USA

problem #12

Aug 072013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I was driving around 70mph in rush hour traffic when all of a sudden my car started to shake a little and the wrench light came on. It went into limp mode and I was unable to accelerate at all. My car started dropping in speed dramatically. I pushed my gas pedal down all the way and there was nothing. The car was still running though. I couldn't get over because it was rush hour traffic. I ended up having to park my car in the fast lane as traffic flew past me. Very scary. The car rumbled while in park so I shut it off and restarted the vehicle. It came back on with no issue and the wrench light was gone. I looked it up when I got home and it looked like a bunch of people have had issues like this and it was their throttle body. I took my car into Ford and they said it was the throttle body and it needed replaced. Of course this wasn't covered under my cpo power train warranty. I got the whole thing done for $438. This part needs to be recalled asap.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #11

Jul 242013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
2011 Mercury Milan- on July 24, 2013, traveling at 40 mph and then dropped to about 10 mph. (wrench) check engine light came on. Very scary, this happened during rush hour traffic and had to pull over. Turned car off and restarted with no problem. Happened again on July 31, 2013. Throttle body replaced at dealership. $707.97on August 1/2013. Out of warranty so now I am out of pocket. Only 39,000 miles on vehicle.

- Live Oak, TX, USA

problem #10

Jul 012013

Milan

  • miles
2011 Mercury Milan. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle issues. The consumer stated while driving on the highway, the vehicle jolted hard and lost power. The wrench and engine light illuminated. The consumer stopped the vehicle in the middle of traffic and put it in park, then re-started it. When she re-started the vehicle, she drove a few feet and the RPM's went to 5,500 and the vehicle jerked for miles, until she was able to pull over to a safe place. The consumer stated she experienced the failure three times.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #9

Jun 272013

Milan

  • miles
Driving 2011 Mercury Milan 65mph on interstate (in construction zone) vehicle jolted hard and with loss of acceleration. There was not enough acceleration to get to a safe spot and traffic was heavy so I came to a slow jerking stop with semis honking, passing by and ten cars screeching to a stop behind vehicle. Wrench light and motor light came on in message center. I had to come to a stop in the middle of traffic to put into park and then restart my car. When I restarted it and drove a few feet the RPM?S flew to 5,500 and the car jerked for miles until I could get out of construction zone and pull over to a somewhat safe spot. My Mercury Milan only has 48,000 miles. This scary occurrence has happened 3 times now, once on another highway and another on a residential road. Even after getting the throttle body diagnosed and replaced this is still an issue. I am taking it to the Ford dealership for the fourth time with hopes that they can fix the problem. I am scared to even drive the car. It is not safe and I will be very displeased with Ford if there is not a recall considering how dangerous this manufactured product is. Thank you for your cooperation and I hope no one gets hurt because of this issue that so many people seem to be having as well.

- Ok , OK, USA

problem #8

May 212013

Milan 6-cyl

  • 51,184 miles
2011 Mercury Milan. Traveling on I-494 in minneapolis during rush hour traffic going 60mph. Vehicle jolted hard, wrench light came on and all accerlation was lost. Thankfully I was in the outside lane and was able to coast off the road. Once parked the car was idling violently. Turned off car, waited a minute and started back up. Started fine and continued on my way. Made it 40 miles before it happened again. This time the check engine light came on and stayed on. Turned off and back on and was able to get home. Once I got home, did a quick google search and found numerous postings and complaints about the throttle body being defective and requring replacement at cost to the owner. Brought the car to the dealership where I bought it. Encountered the same issue twice during the 25 mile drive to the dealership. Told dealership that I am certain it is the throttle body, they checked and found error code P2111 and replaced the throttle and gasket. Very frustrating to see this is a somewhat common issue in Milan and Fusion. Car only has 50K miles on it.

- Cannon Falls, MN, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?