Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,878 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Mercury Montego drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Mercury Montego:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Mercury Montego Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

May 012014


  • miles


My 2005 Mercury Montego shuts off while going down the road. I have paid around $4000 to try and have the problem fixed and it has never stopped. The reverse gear is unusable, as soon as you put it in reverse it shuts the car off. The transmission jerks and will not steadily accelerate at random times. The car will randomly shut off when going down the road losing all power steering and power braking ability. This is particularly a problem considering I have an infant in the backseat most every trip. I saw this lawsuit and every single thing listed about the cvt transmissions has happened and is still happening to my 2005 Montego.

- Tawas City, MI, USA

problem #21

Nov 182013

Montego 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
I just pulled my car off the lot not even 10 minutes later there was jerking then my car stopped dead in the middle of a busy street.this has happened numerous times with the worst being on a one way and my nieces no more than 10 years old in the car my car made a kind of a loud humming noise, jerked then stopped in the times I can't even reverse or go up steep hills.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #20

May 122014


  • 152,100 miles
When it get hot it jerks, when you accelerate it wont take off and then it leap forward, when in low gear it really start jerking and then it stop it take a moment before it move. I seen several complaints on the internet with the same problem. I took it to have it look at. They say that numerous of there customer have the same problem with this model. One customer put 2 transmission in her Montego and experience the same problem over again.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #19

Feb 242014


  • 117,000 miles


Drove car home day before, seemed fine. Went out next morning, car started fine, put into gear, car would not move. Check engine light, check transmission light, check traction control light all came on. Also the "wrench" light came on. Throttle will not work properly, won't let engine rev up. Saw the class action suit for these Ford cvt transmissions online, want to sign up for it as these transmissions are dangerous and defective, a well documented fact.

- Newport, PA, USA

problem #18

Feb 032014

Montego 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Montego. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, there was a loud abnormal sound heard as all of the warning lamps illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the transmission was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 160,000. Updated 3/14/14 the consumer stated the vehicle stalled in the middle of the road with no warning. Updated 04/01/14

- Niles, MI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Jan 252014

Montego 6-cyl

  • 80,310 miles
As I was entering onto the highway instead of accelerating the car decelerated and was losing power and RPM's went way too high then it should of. The transmission is not acting properly.the car has a clunking sound when hitting bumps.

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #16

Oct 042013

Montego 6-cyl

  • 68,250 miles


Vehicle was started first thing in morning and driven approximately 25' when the transmission seemed to disengage and warning lights came on. Car remained parked for about 30 minutes and a second attempt was made. The car was driven approximately 2 miles when once again the transmission failed to engage and a loss of power was experienced. Following these two incidents with the vehicle I arranged to have the vehicle flat bedded to the local Ford dealership where it was determined that the problem was a defective throttle body assembly the vehicle has 68,250 original miles on odometer.

- Feeding Hills, MA, USA

problem #15

Aug 012013


  • 49,573 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Montego. The contact stated that the transmission failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 49,573.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #14

Apr 022013

Montego 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Montego. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle jerked without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the automatic transmission valve body needed to be repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 51,000 and the current mileage was 51,487.

- Brentwood, NY, USA

problem #13

May 082013

Montego 6-cyl

  • 95,242 miles
On 2/27/13 throttle was cleaned not replaced per Ford recall 12no3. On 5/18/13 being stuck in construction traffic at a stand still, foot on brake engine proceeded like a 747 getting ready to take off. Car moved forward some 1 to 2 ft.. killed engine, turned it on again with foot on brake car proceeded to move. Killed engine, turned back on. No other problem until I was at a stop light on way to destination. Again engine begin to whine at high rate as if I was in neutral and had foot a gas. Killed engine and was able to proceed to destination without problem. Took vehicle to Ford dealership on 5/9/13. Dealership did diagnostic, found throttle body bad. Had to be replaced. There was on or about 3500 miles on vehicle since time of cleaning to repair. Of the 3500 miles, 2000 was on our trip. Talked with Ford corporate stated dealership problem not theirs. Ford is aware of this problem and has chosen to clean rather then replace. It is my understanding that this throttle control ties into the transmission in which Ford has had their share of problems.

- Tucson , AZ, USA

problem #12

Nov 012012

Montego 6-cyl

  • 59,300 miles


After driving car 20 minutes and once the car engine heats up the transmission begins to buck and jerk while driving under 40 mph. This is a ongoing issue and is very dangerous.

- Corona , CA, USA

problem #11

Sep 192012


  • 40,525 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Montego. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the check engine and transmission light illuminated and immediatetly after the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for a diagnostic test who diagnosed that the mechatronics unit needed to be replaced. The dealer replaced the mechatronics unit but the stalling continued. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 40,525.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #10

Aug 082011

Montego 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
The car was purchased in may of 2011. August 2011, the transmission started to violently jerk and act as if it were in neutral. When gradually applying the breaks, the car would begin to shudder. This would happen only if the engine was warm. By March 2012, the shuddering transmission and jerk was constant. I took it in to be looked at in April of 2012. The alternator was replaced, due to what we thought was a bad battery. The mechanic believed this caused the transmission to jerk. The problem was not solved. June 2012 the transmission was replaced by a Ford dealership for 5,000. July 2012 the car went into fail engine safe mode, the codes pointing to the throttle body. A mechanic cleaned the throttle body saying it might solve the problem. 2 days later the car went into fail engine safe mode again with the same codes with an estimate of $900. The car has 72000K on it and has had three major problems in the past couple of months.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #9

Mar 062012

Montego 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
The car will shutter, shakes and bangs when the transmission down shifts to a lower gear when for example the car begins to climb a slight grade and needs a lower gear to maintain speed. Sometimes, during the same scenario, the car will shift momentarily into what seams to be neutral causing engine RPM to spike from 2,000 RPM up to 6,000 RPM. In either case, it scares you and you think something major is wrong with the car and you immediately search to get off the road and stop. The cars around you abruptly try to avoid your sudden decrease of speed. On the other hand, the car seams to accelerate normally while up shifting to speed although maybe the shifts are getting a bit harder than we were used to. The dealer replaced an engine mount anti-torque bracket for $600 that they determined was the problem but it did not help. No diagnostic lights appear on the instrument cluster giving reason for the problem. We basically do not trust the car to travel any where because it is unsafe. I see many others on the web have the same issues with their Montego's. we have maintained our car very well during its short life. The dealer and transmission shops are perplexed to the solution of the problem. The dealer says now that maybe it is a "valve body" causing the problem but are not quite sure. $2,400 dollars for a "not quite sure" fix is a bit much specially after already sinking $600 into the problem. Ford, what do you think" time to issue a recall and admit there is a real safety problem here" be fair and help consumers remedy the transmission problems they are having with their 2005 Montego's before someone gets killed!

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #8

Sep 212011


  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Mercury Montego. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds up or downhill, the transmission would jerk when down shifting. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis where the dealer advised that the transmission or the valve body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 62,000 and the current mileage was 73,000.

- Clever, MO, USA

problem #7

Aug 012011


  • 55,000 miles
This car at 35 mph loses power and will not shift into a higher gear.I have found atsb08-24-1-.this dates back to november13,2008.the Ford dealer has told me repeatdly that there is no problem and my car is fine.I asked if they knew of any problems and they stated no.when the car does this it just loses power and you have to slow down and accelerate very slow and hope the transmission engages.

- Quincy, MA, USA

problem #6

Feb 082012

Montego 6-cyl

  • miles
The throttle body is bad on this vehicle. This is a well known issue that Ford needs to recall.

- Cicero, NY, USA

problem #5

Jun 302011


  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Montego. While driving approximately 35 mph, the transmission began to slip violently in a jerking motion. In addition, a loud noise emitted outside of the vehicle. The failure occurred nineteen different times. The vehicle was diagnosed by a certified mechanic who stated the transmission would need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified and they informed the service warranty expired. The approximate failure mileage was 32,000.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #4

Oct 302011

Montego 6-cyl

  • miles
Purchased car on 10/3/2011 from drivetime motors. On the way home, car had obvious transmission problems. Took in for service on 10/5/2011, and transmission was replaced. Upon testing, prior to pick up, the mechanic found that transmission to be a bad one. Replaced with another lkq transmission. Picked up car on 10/27/11. On 10/29/2011, the check transmission light alerted in car. Parked car at home. On 10/30/11, drove car 2 miles to church and backed car into parking space along tree line. An hour later, sent child to retrieve an item from the trunk. Child walked around to the trunk and used key fob to open the trunk. As he leaned to remove items from the trunk, car rolled backwards and knocked him down, luckily, car was stopped by tree limbs on ravine of tree line, as child rolled down ravine. Resulting injuries were head contusion, concussion and badly bruised arm and back. Drivetime said they could not find anything wrong with the car, and wanted me to pick up and assume ownership. The car was not running, had no key in the ignition, and no one inside the car. A police report was filed and pictures taken of the gear shift showing the car to be in park. I am not going to reclaim the car, and am afraid that drivetime is going to return this car back to a dealership to sale and endanger someone else's life.

- Trussville, AL, USA

problem #3

Oct 062010

Montego 6-cyl

  • 53,018 miles
The check engine light came on. I took the car in for service. I was told that the throttle body needed to be replaced. That cost me $736.83. This was done on 10/06/2010. Now again the check engine light has come on so I took the vehicle in for service. I am now told that the throttle body has gone bad. This time the estimate is $950. My mileage is 90,361. Now a little more that a year after the first repair I need to perform this repair again. I believe a recall needs to be forced on the Ford Motor Company for defective parts that are being installed on their vehicles.

- San Diego, CA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?