Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,131 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Mercury Montego transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Mercury Montego:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Mercury Montego Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Mar 102006


  • 35,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Montego. While driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle began to decelerate independently with an increase in engine rpms to the maximum reading. The vehicle then began to shake abnormally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician advised that the brake pads, rotors and stabilizer link needed to be replaced. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the repairs were performed. After the repairs, the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic a second time who advised that the transmission would need to be replaced but referred the contact back to the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- Genoa, IL, USA

problem #22

May 112011


  • 54,995 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Montego. The contact stated that the vehicle began jerking abnormally while driving 35 mph. The engine was shut off and the failure did not persist when restarted. The vehicle was then driven to a local mechanic shop who ran a diagnostic test and performed a road test on the vehicle. The mechanic concluded that the transmission would need replacing. The transmission was replaced at a cost of $3,947. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 54,995.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #21

Apr 142011


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Montego. While driving approximately 60 mph the vehicle began to jerk forward and decelerate while depressing the accelerator pedal. The contact also stated the vehicle would suddenly begin to accelerate normally. The failure occurred intermittently at highway speeds. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the transmission valve body was replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Patoka, IN, USA

problem #20

Feb 102011

Montego 6-cyl

  • 179,453 miles


Driving on the highway on February 10, 2011, started to pass a truck and noticed that I was losing power - I looked at the tachometer and noticed the RPM's increasing. I took my foot off the gas and got back into the right lane. As I got further down the interstate, I heard a loud, screaming noise, and I continued to lose power. I pulled onto the shoulder of the road as soon as it was safe (I was on an overpass). The car continued to run but it wouldn't go into gear. I had the car towed to a transmission shop where they checked and replaced the cv axel assembly and replaced the transmission fluid. In March 2011 I noticed the engine seemed to be misfiring so I took it to an auto repair shop where they said the plugs needed replaced and one motor mount was broken and needed replaced. I was leaving for vacation so they said it would be ok to drive to the airport and return and then bring back for repair. I took the car back on Tuesday April 5, 2011. While checking the car out, they found the part replaced for the cv axel was once again broken, which they replaced. I picked up the car on Friday April 8, 2011. I left the auto repair shop, drove approx 20 miles when I noticed the same problem starting. I returned to the auto repair shop and they said the cv axel problem was again occurring - the splines were broken. Car was taken to the transmission shop where it was found this time to have an internal transmission problem, said the cv axel assembly would be warranty, but it would be approx $4,000 to replace the transmission with a rebuilt one.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #19

Jan 252010


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Montego. The contact stated the vehicle would intermittently jerk when driving at any speed. Also the vehicle would not respond when the accelerator pedal was engaged. The failures recurred intermittently whenever the vehicle was warmed up. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was told the transmission valve body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 60,000.

- Cleveland, TN, USA

problem #18

Nov 012010


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Montego. The contact stated that the vehicle exhibited an unusual clicking noise and the vehicle became hesitant to accelerate. The dealer was contacted who advised the contact to replace the transmission. The contact did not inform the manufacturer of the failure. The current mileage was approximately 58,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 55,000.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #17

Oct 092010


  • 48,850 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Montego. The transmission light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the transmission needed to replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that someone would get back with her. The contact was awaiting the call back when the complaint was filed. The current mileage was 48,856. The

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #16

Jul 262010


  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercury Montego. The contact stated that while driving, the vehicle began to jerk and knock and when she depressed the accelerator pedal, the speed would not increase. Also when she attempted to brake, the vehicle would not slow down and at times would actually speed up. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that the throttle body and transmission had to be replaced at her expense. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 77,000.

- Belleview , NE, USA

problem #15

Jul 242010


  • 80,000 miles
I own a 2005 Mercury Montego that has been a constant downward spiral.approx. 3 months ago, I had to replace the vehicles transmission, because I was told by Ford that they do not sell the tools or parts to replace anything in it, the whole transmission had to be replaced.approx. 1 week ago, I was sitting at a traffic light and my car revved up to approx. 3500 RPM and pushed my car forward into traffic. I then traveled about a mile down the road and the car started bucking and engine fail safe mode was activated on the dash, along with a small wrench symbol on the message board.I then checked the owners manual where it said it was for the throttle control, and transmission. I immediately called the shop where the transmission was put in, and was told to bring the car there immediately. While on my way to the shop the same day, numerous times I would push the accelerator and the car would do nothing, it would not go at all and then would accelerate after approx. 5 seconds. I eventually made it to the shop where the car was placed on a computer that said there were no codes coming up for the warning that came on. After already spending $4,000 on a transmission, again I spent another $200 to change all of the spark plugs and clean out the throttle control box, which has done absolutely nothing for the problems with the vehicle. In January 2010, I called my dealer to set an appointment to have my transmission fluid changed as a maintenance call, and was told that Ford does not recommend that you change your fluid until 150,000 miles, is that normal" why are all of these transmission going bad, and why are these vehicles accelerating by themselves? nobody seems to have answers for any of these questions. Why are these not being recalled like Toyota were? are you guys waiting for people to die because of this, will that get your attention" this is obviously a computer issue within the car, same system that is in Toyota's. do something about it, before someone's hurt!

- Roxbury, NY, USA

problem #14

Mar 262010

Montego 6-cyl

  • 63,715 miles
I recently had to replace my transmission replaced in my 2005 Mercury Montego due to inter problems within - I went on line and there are hundreds of complaints about the same problem with the transmissions in Ford and Mercury cars. I took my car in and was told there is no recall - I took my car to have it fixed and my mechanic tried to get parts, and a manual to have it fixed but Ford would not sell him anything to fix the transmission. Before I go further we first took it to the Ford dealership to see how muchit would cost they said it would start about 4,000 dollars we could not afford that and took it to a transmission place and it was finally fixed after being in the shop 14 day due to the fact that he could not get parts or anything from the Ford parts department. He finally had to get a total different transmission for the car. I contacted Ford in dearborn, Michigan a few times and only got the response - sorry there is nothing we can do because there is no recalls - I feel like screaming that with a transmission that would make you feel like you are riding a bucking Bronco and then it would shift to another grear and then just idle in the middle of the street and you would think great it's going to just stop and someone is going to run into the back of me and worst the side of the car - if that isn't a safety issue I don't know what is - please check into this go online and check the complaints -also, the car only has 61,000 miles on it and that is the complaints from others online. Yet Ford will do nothing to address the issue or even say there is a major problem.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #13

Jun 222010

Montego 6-cyl

  • 50,327 miles


On June 22, 2010 I noticed the engine warning light come on. About 1/2 mile further the transmission starts bucking and jumping. The 2005 Mercury Montego was having a difficult time pulling a 15% grade, once to the top everything smoothed out. Then 2 miles further another hill came. The 2005 Mercury Montego started to buck and jump once again. I made it home that evening. The next day I called the dealership and explained the situation. It was decided to take the vehicle in to be looked at. What was found was an instrument cluster defect that was changed out after a four day waiting period to receive the part. Then the service advisor called and stated that the transmission control module (tcm) was defective. This part is not covered by my warranty! it will cost me $1,700 to replace this part. Now I an finding that there are a lot of complaints like this for this particular year and model. So my question many people have to die before the NHTSA will pressure the Ford Motor Company into making their cars safe to operate on the american roadways" who is willing at the NHTSA to put their family in an 2005 Mercury Montego knowing that the transmission control module could malfunction at any time causing their family to be stranded on a freeway or in a busy intersection" come on and step forward you can borrow my car!

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #12

May 182010


  • 110,000 miles
2005 Mercury Montego premier has been experiencing rough and bucking transmission shifts at 2nd and 3rd gears, very occasional shift into neutral by itself while in motion and accelerating and shuddering transmission shifts during deceleration or braking since approx. 50, 000 miles (25, 000 miles before my extended warranty expired). Dealer service was consulted multiple times. However, I was always told there were no computer codes and that technicians couldn't "duplicate the condition." Therefore, I have lived with the condition since then. That is until this morning when I was almost rear ended and run over by a semi because the transmission shifted into neutral while accelerating on the on-ramp to I 95. This condition is dangerous. I see that there are many others with the same problem on this site and on It is a matter of time before this defective transmission fails to operate and causes a serious accident in one of these vehicles. Please, listen and take action.

- Princeton, NC, USA

problem #11

Mar 192009


  • 56,555 miles
My 2005 Mercury nontego has 62550 mi on car heard noise in transmission and took to dealership and it needs a new transmission after looking on line numerous poeple have had problems between 54,000 mi and 67000, mi, the transmission needed to be replaced I called Ford corporation and they stated because there is no extended warranty on the vechile they can not do anything for me. Speaking with numerous mechanics there is no way a transmission sould go with that kind of milage. Ford corporation said they it is against company policy to give any type of credit for this problem. With so many people having the same problem I would think that Ford would step up to the plate. I really think that Ford should initiatte a call back on these transmissions, but they said they will not initiate anything unless national higway traffic safetiy and administration itnitalizes the call back. So I am writing in response to their respnse. You would think a corporation like Ford would initiate their own call backs with the noted problems, just to save reputations

- Bosacwen , NH, USA

problem #10

Mar 012010

Montego 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
2005 Mercury Montego has close to 90K miles. Kept in great condition but the transmission is giving same signs as reported many times on this thread. Jerking between gears and kicking back really hard. The company will hear us if we join together we're learning that with Toyota. Let's get together and fight this one.. it's not fair!!!! facebook me [xxx] and let's get a plan. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #9

Mar 272009


  • 78,000 miles
I purchased a new 2005 Mercury Montego in May 2005. The car now has 85K miles with the 6 speed transmission.the transmission has been fine on short trips (35 miles or less) but anything over that and it starts doing really crazy stuff. It will downshift 3-4 gears at highway speeds...slam into gear... then immediately upshift. This happens so hard that the whole car shakes. One time it was so bad, we felt we had been hit. Sometimes it will go to downshift, and just goes to neutral causing major issues when involved with traffic trying to get of the road. This is a major problem which could cause an accident. When shifting from 3-2 at low speeds, it will downshift but shudder the whole car. All these symptoms occur only after trips longer than 35 miles or on a very hot day where the transmission seems to heat up. My local Ford garage has tried reprogramming the tcm with no success (first tsb). They now say I need a remanufactured transmission at a cost of nearly $5000. Ford will not help in any way even though I firmly believe this is a factory defect. The car has never been abused, been in an accident, and maintenance performed at or sooner than recommended. The shifting into neutral is a safety issue. Ford needs to step up and admit they have a problem and replace the trans, it appears as they have fixed the problem because all the tsb's for this symptom (2 that I know of) affects only vehicles manufactured before Oct 2005. How can Ford or any other company know they have an issue and not take corrective action. I have always been a Ford man since the early 1970's. how I have been treated with this defect could be construed as criminal. I guess they figure if they hold out long enough, the vehicles will all die and go away and they wont have any obligations whatsoever. In doing research on this vehicle with the 6 speed trans, there are lots of us in the same situation with the same symptoms and the same reply from Ford.

- Wilmington, IL, USA

problem #8

Jun 012009


  • 50,000 miles
I own a 2005 Mercury Montego fwd 6 speed. A couple months ago the transmission started jumping around, it seems like it would not go into to gear and when it does it will slam real hard. I bought the car used with 22000 miles and now it has 52000 miles. I've already replaced a motor mount because of the hard shifting. The dealership told me that it might be the valve body witch is around 2000 dollars with parts and labor. From what I have research about this car, it is a major issue and could get someone hurt. I purchased this vehicle for my wife and kids so it has not been mistreated. There is something wrong with the transmission to start going out around 50000 miles. From what I have read on the forums this is a problem and for the transmission to all of a sudden not want to shift right who's to say someone gets hit because they couldn't get out of the way in time. I have always owned a Ford and this car is the worst. As soon as I save the money up just so they can even look at it we are out of a vehicle.

- Flatwoods, KY, USA

problem #7

Aug 282009


  • 95,000 miles
During driving speed, when I need to speed up to avoid being hit on the highway, the transmission hesitates then shifts so hard that the car shakes. Happens every time.

- Dumas, TX, USA

problem #6

May 012008


  • 55,000 miles
Transmission seems to slip and sputter while downshifting. Will not accelerate without slipping when heated up.

- Moscow, TN, USA

problem #5

Jan 162009


  • 38,000 miles
Montego cvt transmission sticks  sometimes when you hit the gas, and sometimes go into safety mode  took it to the dealer they said no codes where found.I think someone should put some presser on Ford for them to look into this matter.

- Willowick, OH, USA

problem #4

Nov 142008


  • 37,693 miles
My name is andre and I am a former employee of the Ford assembly plant that was in hazelwood Missouri. I have been trying to contact someone to help me in a terrible situation. I bought a 2005 Mercury Montego because I fell in love with the car, and up until now, not only am I disappointed but very unsatisfied with my car and Ford auto company. I was driving my car one night and it would not go forward, the more I press the accelerator the more it did not move. I had to pull over to the side of the road. My car would not go into forward or reverse. The next day I had it towed to paul creame Ford to be checked. Rick called me back and told me that I need a complete transmission and it would cost $6,000, (before they even checked it out.) I then proceeded to call or who I thought was Ford the manufacturer to see if they would stand behind their vehicle. Yes, I am over the manufacturer warrantee but only by 1,763 miles, in other words I have 37,693 mile on my car. They contacted the dealership and the dealership contact me, and told me that would only pay part of it and that they would not know the price until they check the vehicle out. A few days had pass and the dealer called my and said, " it cost $5,500 to rebuild your transmission and Ford will only pay $3,500." Rick also said that I would be responsible of the rest. I called Ford back and spoke to a supervisor and basically stated that they would not and will not over turn that decision. I have been trying to contact allan mullany, and benny fowler but have had no success. I feel that my car has a manufacturing defect that is the reason I need a transmission and I also feel that $5,500 is a outrageous price to pay for a transmission for any vehicle. My concern is that Ford will not or wont stand behind their cars. I need help in getting this matter resolved.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?