Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,558 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Mercury Monterey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Mercury Monterey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Mercury Monterey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #130

Feb 242013

Monterey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,265 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2004 Mercury Monterey had a recall job done on the transmission replacing the torque converter approximately two months ago. I was driving home from church today, and the transmission stopped working. My family ended up stranded. It was lucky for us that the street wasn't busy so that we didn't have an accident. The consumer was informed the problem was completely unrelated from the previous transmission repair. Updated 04/01/13

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #129

May 022008

Monterey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,162 miles
2004 Mercury Monterey. Consumer writes in regards to a defective transmission the consumer stated he noticed the transmission was starting to slip. In may of 2008 the vehicle would not go forward or backward. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop where the transmission was replaced at a cost of $ $1985. The consumer received a recall notice in the mail regarding the defective transmission. The notice also stated if the torque converter had already been replaced, that addressed the specific issue, he may be eligible for reimbursement.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #128

Oct 082011

Monterey

  • 64,000 miles
Accelerating away from traffic signal, vehicle accelerated normally up to 20-25mph and then transmission totally failed. No warning, no symptoms.

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #127

Aug 312011

Monterey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Monterey. The contact stated while driving 40 mph the vehicle stopped moving without any warning. The contact mentioned that the engine was running. The failure and current mileage was 40,000. The consumer stated the vehicle would not moved, even though the engine was still running. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop, where the consumer was informed the vehicle needed a transmission. According to the dealer invoice, there were metal shaving in the pan, and the oil pump/torque converter failed. Updated 11/04/11

- Brick , NJ, USA

problem #126

Aug 252011

Monterey 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Without warning (lights, noises, messages) our 2004 Mercury Monterey, with only 67K miles, would not go into reverse. When we then tried to put it into drive, it would not go forward. When switched back to reverse, it then went forward! luckily our service garage is only a few blocks away....so it only took us a couple of hours to get it there. Mechanic found magnet in tray covered with not only metal shavings, but also larger chunks of metal. Luckily this happened in our alley, so there were no traffic issues to deal with and no one got hurt.

- West Allis, WI, USA

problem #125

Aug 162011

Monterey

  • 101,000 miles
Transmission failed at 101,000 miles on 2004 Mercury Monterey mini-van. The transmission failed with no prior warning or occurrences - all fluids and filters have been changed every 30,000 miles since van was purchased at 40,000 miles on odometer. This subsequent failure included the vehicles immobility/loss of power to transmission even when in gear. This failure requires that the transmission be completely rebuilt at a expense of $2500 - assumed that the cause of failure is due to excessive metal in fluid from failure of torque converter.

- Eagle Mountain, UT, USA

problem #124

Jul 132011

Monterey

  • 85,890 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Monterey. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the transmission malfunctioned. The contact stated that although he attempted to shift gears, the transmission failed to engage. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed that the torque converter was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 85,890 and the current mileage was 86,150.

- Wixom , MI, USA

problem #123

Jul 022011

Monterey 6-cyl

  • 67,225 miles
On Saturday July 2, 2011 we were driving our 2004 Mercury Monterey from the upper peninsula of Michigan to our home in Ohio. My wife, three children, and I thought we had a day of driving ahead of us and then the vacation would be over. Suddenly, without any warning, on the highway near gaylord Michigan the engine continued to run but the car was not being pulled forward. All we could do was coast to the side of the road. Our van has only 67,000 miles on it and has never had any kind of transmission problem. There were no check engine or any other warning lights. We had the van towed to a repair shop, and they told us the transmission was bad and that this is a known problem with this Ford Mercury Monterey. Since it was Saturday July 2 we had to wait three days (since Monday was july4th) to even get a quote on a rebuilt transmission. All the rental car companies were also closed until Tuesday. We finally got the car back on Friday July 8th with a rebuilt jasper brand transmission in it for a cost of $3,422 plus a hotel, tow, rental car, etc. Through research on the internet I have found that many other people have had this same problem with Ford freestar and Mercury Monterey minivans.

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #122

Jul 252011

Monterey 6-cyl

  • 142,921 miles
On 7/25/11 I was on my way to work and without any problems, my 2004 Mercury Monterey just wouldn't go into gear. I had to tow my vehicle to the repair shop which notified me that the torque converter had to be replaced.

- Island, KY, USA

problem #121

Jul 132011

Monterey 6-cyl

  • 50,500 miles
We were driving our 2004 Mercury Monterey with only 50,000 miles on it, doing about 40 mph when all of a sudden, without any warning signs, the rpms increased and the vehicle stopped accelerating. It acted like it was in neutral. We were able to drift off the road onto the shoulder and discovered we had lost all the gears in our van. Thank god no one was hurt, but the 4 adults and 3 children under 2 were stranded on the side of a road in the middle of nowhere 3 1/2 hours from home.

- Buckley, WA, USA

problem #120

Jul 022011

Monterey 6-cyl

  • 78,077 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving vehicle on U.S. 10 in Michigan on Saturday July 2, at 77mph. Pulled into left lane to pass slower traffic & tachometer spun but there was no power - vehicle was coasting with what appeared to be no connection between the engine & the transmission. Coasted safely to the shoulder & called a tow truck. Vehicle was serviced in mt. Pleasant, mi. Dealer informed me that the torque converter splines had worn off. Repair including dropping trans, flushing valve body, flushing cooler lines, replacement of screen & several gaskets & seals cost $1682. Torque converter splines should never wear off under normal use - makes me think that component was not properly heat treated. Vehicle had 78,077 miles at time of failure. Has been maintained regularly at recommended intervals at selling dealer. *information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)tt

- Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #119

Sep 272010

Monterey 6-cyl

  • 50,180 miles
On Sept 27, 2010 I was driving home from my job and my 2004 Mercury Monterey just stopped accelerating. There were not sounds, light or warnings on the dash and there had never been any. I was able to coast up onto the grass area on the side of the 2 lane road and out of traffic before the car came to a complete stop. My car would not restart. My car had 50180 miles on it at the time this happened. I had my car towed to a repair shop where a repair was made. I have all the papers regarding the repairs which included a rebuilt torque converter, the removal metal contamination throughout the unit, and the removal and replacement of the transaxle assembly.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #118

May 292011

Monterey 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Transaxle warning light came on. Has mechanic check codes "torque converter locked up." Van is in the transmission shop now because it is not safe to drive. I see a class action lawsuit is already filed about this issue but I don't see any resolution of it as of yet. classactionlawsuitsinthenews.com/class-action-lawsuit-complaints/Ford-class-action-lawsuit-complaint-filed-over-alleged-defect-in-2004-2005-model-year-Ford-freestar-and-Mercury-Monterey-transmissions-torque-converters/

- Centre Hall, PA, USA

problem #117

Jun 032011

Monterey 6-cyl

  • 64,775 miles
We are the owners of a 2004 Mercury Monterey with just over 64,000 miles on it. I was shocked when my wife called me on the evening of June 3rd, 2011 and told me that she had gotten into the van, started it and tried to go in reverse and the van wouldn't move. She then put it into "drive" and it seemed to work fine for a few minutes and then it made an awful clunking sound a few times and lost power as she was driving near our home heading toward the freeway. I immediately knew it was a problem with the components of the transmission. Thankfully no one was injured as she was traveling at slow speeds on surface streets just before making it onto the freeway. It scares me to think what could have happened had the problem not occurred until 5 minutes later when she would have been traveling at 60 mph on the freeway. Prior to the incident, there were no other signs that the transmission was having problems, no slipping or missing gears. It had always driven very smoothly. I got online and found that there were many stories like mine with the 2004-5 Mercury Monterey/Ford freestar. I'll be having my van towed to our mechanic on Monday, June 5th so I can find out the extent of the damage and cost. I won't be surprised when they tell me it is the torque converter from what I have been reading from others with my same mini-van. The van currently won't shift into reverse, idles horribly and barely shifts into drive.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #116

Apr 272011

Monterey 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Driving on highway. Sudden loss of all forward motion. The engine did not turn off, just sounded like it was in neutral. Changing of gears had no response. Since the, all parts have been replaced and still no response.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #115

Mar 142011

Monterey 6-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
2004 Mercury Monterey transmission failed at 69,000 miles with minor wear and tear. We have had the vehicle for 5 years and 4 months and vehicle had 16,000 miles when we purchased it. Transmissions are to last longer than 69,000 miles. That brakes down less than 900 miles per month which is well below the national average. In fact to further prove the point for 2 of the 5 years is was our sole vehicle for a family of 7 with 2 working adults. We contacted Ford but we were "within our miles of the extended warranty but unfortunately the time expiration was September of 2010". we paid $1800 to have it replaced yesterday however it broke down again yesterday and we are waiting to hear from the shop again now. If anyone google's 2004 Mercury Monterey transmission issues there is a plethora of results including class action lawsuits.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #114

Feb 232011

Monterey 6-cyl

  • 117,325 miles
Transmission problems: I own a Mercury Monterey 2004 van. I purchased it used in July 2008 and in December the transmission stopped working. I did have an extended warranty so it was repaired but not replaced or rebuilt. I don't know why they did not replace the transmission since there were so many complaints. In February 2011 I hadthe same problem happen again while traveling on the highway. It just stopped and I veered off the highway, had it towed. Well this time I had the option of getting the same thing done or rebuild it. The only problem is the extended warranty has expired so I had to choose to have it repaired. That repair cost me $1700. The job as before is only good for 12,000 miles. I do quite a bit of traveling. Has there been any resolution to all the complaints that have been made. Please let me know. Thanks for your attention to this complaint.

- Mccomb, MS, USA

problem #113

Mar 282011

Monterey 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
2004 Mercury Monterey driving on highway on cruise control at 67mph when vehicle lost power drifted to lane that was closed to traffic due to highway construction and avoided being hit by traffic traveling behind me had to be towed to a Ford/Mercury dealership. Was informed that it was the transmission and needed to be replaced at a cost of $3500 I am an 80yr. Old women with no other driver and have less than 40,000 miles on this van and feel that this should not have happened. Also feel that there should be some warranty but was told that there is not St.louis, Missouri.

- St.Louis, MO, USA

problem #112

Mar 262011

Monterey

  • 103,000 miles
I was traveling down the highway when I lost all forward power to the van. Had the van towed and was told the torque coverer had failed and would need to replace the transmission.

- Columbus, WI, USA

problem #111

Mar 072011

Monterey

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Monterey. The contact was driving approximately 40-45 mph when the transmission exhibited severe hesitation and would not respond normally. The contact was able to maneuver to a safe location where the transmission completely failed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where they informed the contact that the transmission would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Columbus, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?