Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,640 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Mercury Mountaineer suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Mercury Mountaineer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Mercury Mountaineer Owner Comments

problem #10

Sep 222010

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph when vehicle began to drive as if were "floating". the vehicle was pulled over and upon examination; the contact could not find a failure within the vehicle. He re-entered the vehicle and as he began to accelerate, the vehicle began to shake abnormally. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair facility where the contact was informed that the rear passenger sway bar was fractured. The vehicle was then taken to another independent repair facility where the sway bar was repaired. The failure did not recur. The failure and current mileage was 101,000. Updated 01/11/2011 updated 03/28/11

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #9

Jan 102009

Mountaineer

  • 125,000 miles
The transmission keeps slipping causing the car to stall and stutter in traffic had to have it rebuilt in 2008 costing $3600, the differentials causing problems on front and rear with the car wheels spinning and sticking at times, the tires (all four) balling out from the inside out having to replace them every three to four months, the power locks, radio, interior lights all work when they want to like its a shortage.

- Hope Mills , NC, USA

problem #8

Jun 182009

Mountaineer

  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. The contact was driving approximately 40 mph on normal road conditions. There was a loud noise outside of the vehicle. The driver pulled over to the side of the road and inspected the vehicle. The vehicle resumed operation with caution to the residence. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The failure was contributed to the front and rear control arm. The front and rear control arms were replaced. The failure mileage was 121,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Fall River, MA, USA

problem #7

Jun 012008

Mountaineer

  • 34,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. The vehicle has toyo open country at tires, size P22570R15 (na). The tires were purchased brand new in may of 2007 from jensen tire company while driving 15 mph. At 36,000 miles, the rear passenger tire blew out in June of 2008. The repair shop stated that the tire was worn down to the steel. The tire company from where the tire was purchased is providing reimbursement for the failed tire. The remaining tires were inspected by other shops and each shop recommended that the rest of the tires be replaced. Toyo stated that the tires needed an alignment. The contact stated that an alignment had just been performed; however, the manufacturer advised her to have another one. While the vehicle was at the shop, the mechanic stated that the ball joints were defective due to the damage caused by the tires and needed to be replaced. The ball joints have not been replaced and the manufacturer is refusing responsibility for the repairs. The failure mileage was 34,200 and current mileage was 123,402.

- Poplar Bluss, MO, USA

problem #6

Jan 182007

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
01/18/07 when truck shifts gears it vibrates. Solution: Flush automatic transmission fluid. (also changed oil) helped for a few months but problem is back. ($198.95) 5/29/07 air bag light stays on. Solution: Replaced drivers side pretensioner. (also changed oil). $273.19 6/26/07 heard very loud clunking noise. Solution: Replaced front differential (internal damage to clutches), both rear axle seals (because of leakage) $1580.23 11/07/07 truck makes loud noise from the rear and seems to jump while turning. Solution: Front end alignment and replace seals in rear. $482.97 still have the loud noise and jumping. 12/13/07 take truck to different place with same problem. Solution: Replace left front hub bearing. $401.73. 02/18/08 still have same problem with loud noise and jumping. Solution: Left rear hub bearing, drums in rear, and now mechanic tells me I need clutch packs in rear to solve problem. Tells me I should take it back to the dealer."?" $380. Now I can add all of this up 198.95+273.19+1580.23+482.97+401.73+380.00=$3017.07 to finally get my truck fixed---------priceless!!!!!!!!!

- London, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Dec 172007

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
Noticed slight roaring noise in rear suspension. Figured it was a wheel bearing that was worn, which is what it was, but in looking at that issue saw that rear passenger coil spring was broken. Vehicle stance did not indicate a broken spring. Checked the driver side to be safe and noted that rear spring was broken in two places and looked as if it was to come off the bottom spring/strut cushion. As a result of this mechanic indicated broken springs had created premature wear of rear toe links. I am currently looking for replacement parts. This vehicle has seen no off-road use or been used to carry heavy cargo loads. Lady driven only.

- Beattyville, KY, USA

problem #4

Oct 262006

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,345 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought used from a dealer 10-05 with 71328 miles. Checked out by mechanic. No problems w/ drive train, tranny, or suspension, except to change fluids in differentials (rear & front). Did this first week we owned it & water found in rear differential. 1st owner's records came with car. All services were done (no mention of problems). I serviced it every 2-3000 miles. On 4-27-06 the tranny flushed, & the rear differential & transfer case serviced. Mileage was 85857. 2 new tires put on front on 5-25-06 (flat tire). On way home (18 mi. Into 35 mi. Drive), front end started to fail. Couldn't find source of leaking fluid. Drive home. Next morning, tried to return to mechanic with car. Made it about 25 of the 35 miles to town before front end failed. Mechanic showed us the gears from the differential--the "teeth" were sheared completely off 1/3 of it--remaining teeth sheared down by at least 50%. front differential was replaced, also 4 ball joints, seals for both shafts, brake pads (from differential fluid damage) were replaced. All 4 wheels had bearings repacked. 2 more tires bought. Within 1 week, began hearing noise again from drive train. Car back at mechanic on 6-20-06. The noise now from rear transfer case. It was flushed 2 times (fluid filled with fine metal fragments). The rear differential fluid also changed. Mechanic said 4-6 months until rear end failed. I've now lost the rear end--also have to replace all 4 sets of wheel bearings & replace all axles. Will re-assess front differential after rear is fixed. We've contacted Ford, no recalls for our car. They'll not make any repairs or reimburse for faulty equipment. I'm not original owner & warranty has expired. It doesn't qualify for state lemon law (mileage). There's at least 31 problems and 18 complaints on your website that I've had in the 1 year since I bought this car. This is a Ford issue. I just want to re-coup my $4000+ in repair costs & trade it off for a non-Ford SUV.

- Broadview, MT, USA

problem #3

Mar 012005

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,851 miles
2002 Mountaineer stalls, transmission control assembly, main control valve, and gasket had to be replaced. The lift gate was sticking, and while closing it, the glass shattered, the glass was recalled, and was suppose to have been fixed. The oil light illuminated. The trim on the front door fell off while driving. There was a grinding noise coming from the rear wheels, it was determined that there was severe rust on the brake componets, the park brake shoes fell apart due to corrosion, the rear wheel bearing and knuckle assembly had excessive rust.

- Silverdale, WA, USA

problem #2

Jan 092002

Mountaineer

  • miles
While driving steering steering wheel shakes.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #1

Nov 012001

Mountaineer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Three sets of Goodyear, Eagle ls tires, size P24570R16 (no dot # mentioned) with less than one hundred miles had to be replaced because knots were found on sidewall and tread. Dealer has been contacted. Engine light illuminated due to faulty dpfe sensor; air bag light on, air bag module replaced; loose rear center console; vibration and popping noise over bumps, replaced and balanced all four tires, replaced stabilizer bar links, rims were out of round; scrunching noise while turning, rack and pinion replaced; experiencing whistling noise; hard jerk and popping noise when shifting, gear selector slippage; A/C vent squeaking, A/C vent readjusted.

- Deltli, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?