If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,574 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Mercury Mountaineer transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Mercury Mountaineer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Mercury Mountaineer Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #69

May 082008

Mountaineer

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission slippage, numerous codes. Common with the 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. Cost of replacement or rebuilt more that $2,000.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #68

Aug 012008

Mountaineer

  • miles
I have an 2002 Mercury Mountaineer had the transmission rebuilt 6 months ago been back to the transmission shop 7 times...three times for a synlan pack??or so that's what he (the mechanic) has told me.

- Laurelville, OH, USA

problem #67

Mar 052009

Mountaineer

  • 147,000 miles
I have a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer, same as the Explorer. My od light started flashing and I had Ford service center run the code, code 755 solenoid B, I had the Ford service center replace it to the tune of $698 on March 5. I got the truck back March 5, 2009 at 12pm. March 6, 2009 8 am, same issue. I took it back to the service center and I'm told I need a new transmission. March 9, 2009 I took the truck to 2 separate shops, one of them being a veteran transmission repair shop. Same solenoid code 755 solenoid B. I took it back to the service center and am told that they will replace and I still need a new transmission. The transmission repair shop told me that Ford knows of the problem and it is not the transmission, the wiring harness is bad which causes the solenoid to show as bad and show the code. She said she has had dealings with the same service center and everytime they tell customers they need a new transmission. There are thousands of complaints online for the same exact issue.

- Lexington, NC, USA

problem #66

Feb 062008

Mountaineer

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Serious transmission trouble.

- Frankfort, KY, USA

problem #65

Jan 152009

Mountaineer

  • 106,000 miles
Transmission has been repaired 3 times. The last was Jan 2009 when it was completely rebuilt.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #64

Nov 152008

Mountaineer

  • 75,000 miles
Experiencing transmission issues at 75K miles. Took it to shop who reported these transmissions are notoriously bad, replacing some at 60K miles and most by 100K. Mine needs to be replaced at a cost of $2500. Problem is use of aluminum within metal and fast wear. Ford should be held accountable for making poor quality products. Transmissions should have a much greater life than 75K miles. Problems noticed - slipping out of gear while driving, not engaging gear when selected, not shifting into higher gear (overrevving),, clunking shifts. Danger arises when you select gear, accelerate and nothing happens and suddenly it pops into gear which causes vehicle to lunge forward.

- Chester Springs , PA, USA

problem #63

Aug 072002

Mountaineer

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

About once a year we have had a problem with our transmission. After this happening so many times I decided to check online for anyone else with the same problem. Can not believe how many have the same problem but still no recalls. My husband knew the first time they tried to fix the problem they were just putting a "band-aide" on the problem and not truly fixing it. Metal shavings were found the first time and the transmission shifts rough and slips. Also the vehicle accelerates without putting foot on gas pedal. Problem is extremely bad when going into reverse.

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #62

Jan 012009

Mountaineer

  • miles
The transmission on my 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. The O/D light is flashing, and seems trans is slipping even worse. I have had it to the dealership many times since I bought it new, and they never could find the problem. Now it has been out of warranty for quiet some time and has became a huge problem. I looked on the internet and noticed a ton of complaints on this exact issue and was hoping it would be ground for a recall.

- Monroe, MI, USA

problem #61

Jan 282009

Mountaineer

  • 90,000 miles
The transmission in this vehicle is defective. Their should be a recall on this model which is a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. The problem is costing all of Ford customers alot of money average cost is 2600 dollars. They know about this problem and will not help even with some of the repair cost. This is not acceptable for any company to get away with. Please do something about this. Thank you

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #60

Jan 292009

Mountaineer

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. While driving approximately 50 mph, the contact applied pressure to the brakes and heard a grinding sound. He then began to smell something burning and noticed smoke underneath the vehicle. He inspected the vehicle and did not notice any leaking. The following day he noticed an extensive amount of oil on the ground and the vehicle was pulling. The vehicle was inspected by a mechanic and the contact was informed that oil was coming from three different places and traveling to the rear differential. The dealer and the manufacturer have not been notified. The current mileage was 118,169 and failure mileage was 118,000.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #59

Jan 272009

Mountaineer

  • 117,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer 4.6L AWD. After buying this car I had heard about how big of a lemon the transmissions are, and on January 27th I found this out for myself. First my car began shifting very harshly. Then my O/D off light began flashing, check engine light came on, and check transmission lcd came on. I lost third gear on the middle of the highway and had to drive 9 miles home going only 25 mph. Then I found out that it is going to cost $2500+ to fix the problem. Unfortunately I'm a single mother and full-time student, so my car is just going to sit for a few months until I can afford to fix it. Ford should be held accountable for this problem. I have heard far too many complaints and no one has done anything about it.

- Perkins, OK, USA

problem #58

Jan 242009

Mountaineer

  • 103,000 miles
As I was accelerating nothing happened. The transmission failed and didn't go anywhere and then it jerked just as a car was approaching, which made the other car swerve and it almost got into an accident. 2002 Mercury Mountaineer are notorious for bad transmissions and they are a danger. Ford refuses to take any responsibility for their poorly built transmissions.

- Rutherford, NJ, USA

problem #57

Oct 232007

Mountaineer

  • 90,000 miles
The transmission on my car went.

- Lancaster, MA, USA

problem #56

Jan 112009

Mountaineer

  • 82,000 miles
O/D light blinks and transmission shifts hard or misses shifts. Feels like tranny might be about to go... started about a year ago but went away after changing tranny fluid. Now it is back, issue is worse, and seems like it is here to stay.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #55

Jan 132009

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
2002 Mercury Mountaineer 4.6L V8 AWD 100,000miles! various transmission problems O/D light flashing one day causing transmission not to shift correctly. Ten minutes later start the vehicle and light not on and transmission shifts fine. Happens on several occasions. Transmission began to slip. Take to mechanic fluid level and filter are fine. Hook up to computer and says various internal problems. Torque converter also began whining and making noise which probably means its coming apart inside. Estimated fix between 1800.00-2800.00! several with similar vehicles have reported same problems! also has wheel bearing issues!

- Tell City, IN, USA

problem #54

Dec 192008

Mountaineer

  • 59,000 miles
On Dec. 19, 2008, the O/D light began to flash and then on Dec.26th the service engine soon light came on. As I was driving the car began to rev up when I was not mashing the gas. I have not driven it since. I called the Ford dealership and was told to do a diagnostic test on it, it would cost $98 per issue. I searched the issue online and found that many people have complained about this and have paid thousands of dollars to have it fixed. I would like to know if this is a recallable issue due to the about of complaints? I just spent $300 having the door ajar sensor fixed, something that others have also complained about.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #53

Oct 172008

Mountaineer

  • 83,000 miles
I bought this Mountaineer in early 2007 with 62,000 miles on it. From the start it shifted very rough. It has progressively worsened until this week when my wife was driving it would not shift out of second gear at all and was nearly broadsided with four children in the vehicle because she could not move. Took it to a repair shop and was informed that I needed to have the transmission fixed. From other comments I have read this seems to be a fairly common problem with this vehicle. Also had to have the rear differential replaced at around 75,000 miles which seems fairly ridiculous, and a bearing has gone out twice on the same wheel. This vehicle doesn't seem to be built to last.

- Ozark, MO, USA

problem #52

Aug 252008

Mountaineer

  • 99,000 miles
I went to shift my car into reverse and the stick shift located next to steering wheel came off in my hand, went to dealer and the part was $800 for the whole steering column, the part that broke was a small piece holding the stick, but dealer said it had to replace all of it. Since I could not afford that amount I searched for a used part and everyone said it was very common on these cars and I finally found one for $200 but have not had it installed due to costs. And to add to my problems I was driving on the freeway and the od light starts to flicker and after numerous calls and researching the problem was told that it is the transmission and would probably need to repair/replace and that it is a common problem with these cars.

- Cerritos, CA, USA

problem #51

Aug 262008

Mountaineer

  • 100,000 miles
Major safety concern: 2002 Mercury Mountaineer AWD, purchased with around 79000 miles, in 2007. A few days after purchase started shifting really hard into 3rd gear, called dealer and he said to have transmission fluid changed, changed that cost $100. Seemed to help some, now at 100,000 miles or so car will not go over 30mph. Driving vehicle in busy traffic and car only going up to 30 in a serious hazard. Ford needs to be held accountable for this. Too many 2002 are having exact same problem. Car jerks into reverse, O/D flashes, check transmission light comes on, hard jerks and shudders into 3rd gear....come on how many more people have to give up hard earned money to fix Ford mistakes"?" in process of trying to find a transmission shop to take this heap of junk to.

- Byesville, OH, USA

problem #50

Aug 132008

Mountaineer

  • 66,000 miles
2002 Mercury Mountaineer. The transmission went out at 66000 mile and 1 month after extended warranty. Called Ford costumer assistance center and the person said she has never heard of this problem. Went on-line (edmunds.com, carsurvey.org, etc. And saw one after another complaints about exact same problem. The check transmission warning light first went on at 59000 mile (still under warranty). But I read the manual first before taking it to dealer. The manual stated SUV was up for flashing the transmission fluid at 60000 miles. Flushed the fluid and warning light went away. Six months later transmission warning light is back (warranty has just expired). Found out there is a recall on the same transmission on the Explorer but the Mountaineer (which is same truck with different branding) does not. So why is this the case? luckily for me I was not in the freeway went the transmission went out.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?