If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2002 Mercury Mountaineer transmission NHTSA complaints: Power Train:Automatic Transmission

NHTSA — Power Train: Automatic Transmission Problems

2002 Mercury Mountaineer (Page 2 of 4)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,013 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Mercury Mountaineer transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Mercury Mountaineer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Mercury Mountaineer Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #48

Jul 162008

Mountaineer

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission failed at around 100,000 miles. Had transmission rebuilt in July 2007. Now transmission is failing again this July 2008. I've had many shifting problems with the transmission and now there are times it won't shift at all.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #47

May 312008

Mountaineer

  • 75,000 miles
In my 2002 Mercury Mountaineer (75K miles), the transmission pump suddenly failed, luckily the car was parked at home when we noticed the issue. The Ford dealership wants $1500 to replace the pump since they have to tear apart the transmission to get to the pump. According the technician, the transmission has no signs of any problems (no metal shavings, fluid looks great, no wear). Ford stated the vehicle was too old and had too many miles for Ford to take any kind of responsibility. Ford stated it was outside their 3 yr / 36,000 mile responsibility. Ford will do nothing. 1. none, one day I went to drive the vehicle and every gear I shift to acted like it was in neutral. 2. the pump failure happened once, then needed towed to the dealer for repair. 3. the transmission pump was rebuilt (parts - $200, labor - $1300).

- Meadville, PA, USA

problem #46

May 202008

Mountaineer

  • 60,482 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. While driving (mph unknown) the vehicle would not accelerate. The mechanic stated that the transmission band broke and was the cause of the failure. In addition, they informed him of a tsb regarding his year, make and model. The manufacturer advised the contact to take the vehicle to a Ford dealer for further assistance. The failure and current mileages were 60,482.

- Good Hope, IL, USA

problem #45

May 022002

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2002 Mountaineer has had transmission problems since we purchased the vehicle in new in late 2001. It has always had a very hard shift from 2nd to 3rd gear. We have complained to the service department during the warranty period and they found nothing wrong with the car. At 57,734 miles we had to replace the torque converter and solenoid assembly for a total bill of $1,438. My car now has 90,000 miles. On May 2 2008 I was driving to town to pick up my children and suddenly my car would not shift from 2nd to 3rd gear. The overdrive light went crazy and my check transmission light came on. I brought my car to the dealer and they reported that my vehicle will need a new transmission for a cost of $3,200. This problem poses serious safety issues. My vehicle malfunctioned on a road with a speed limit of 55 mph. I could have been seriously injured by another car since my car could not move more than 25 mph when it malfunctioned. This vehicle has been well maintained and is only used to Transport myself and my children around town. We have owen many other vehicles with more than 200,000 miles on them and have never experienced any problems like this.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #44

Feb 152008

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The vehicle is a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. The incident/issue involves the transmission. For model year 2002 & 2003, Ford installed the transmission 5R55W in the Explorer and Mountaineer vehicles. The transmission typically gives out between 25,000 and 60,000 miles. Mine gave out at a very busy intersection with my two children. Luckily, we did not get hit, but upon researching this issue it is huge. There are two websites concerning this issue of transmission failure with these two models and year. Ford has been notified, as well as you, the NHTSA, and nothing is being done. You have received complaints, and according to your own monthly investigation reports, from 10/2007 to 03/2008, you have not even investigated it. It's going to take numerous people to die before any action is taken on your behalf. This is a huge problem with this transmission and the number of these vehicles on the road.....do something!!

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #43

Mar 102008

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,257 miles
Our Mountaineer has 84,257 miles on it and the transmission already has to be rebuilt. The transmission shop told me there was nothing that I did wrong or I could of done to prevent it, that this is a common problem with this transmission. The dealership and Ford won't help us because the warranty is up.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #42

Dec 202007

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On my 2002 Mercury Mountaineer, the transmission failed and has to be rebuilt at 70,000 miles. After reading several websites, it is apparent that this has been a very common and ongoing problem that should qualify it for a recall.

- Orangeville, UT, USA

problem #41

Dec 082007

Mountaineer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles
After reading other complaints regarding 2002 Mountaineer and Explorer, I can hardly type I am so frustrated. The number of power train complaints for this year, make and model are astounding. The transmission in my 2002 Mountaineer (aka money sucker) needs to be replaced. The car is currently being fixed at the Ford dealer for $3500. The car has always had a funny shutter when shifting from 2nd to 3rd as well as hesitation when dropping into reverse and drive. While driving in icy conditions yesterday my wife thought her tires were spinning when she was trying to proceed at a stop light. She thankfully avoided being rear ended by a semi that was able to swerve onto the apron and avoid contact with her. She was able to limp the car to the side of the road where she then called me. After I arrived, I attempted to get the car to the Ford dealership where it could be diagnosed. However, the car would only reach 30mph and the RPM"S were at 4,000 to 5,000 at that speed. The overdrive light flashed and the check engine light came on. I parked it and removed the battery cables for 10 minutes to see if the computer would reset itself ? this did not help. In fact, the car would not even move in drive or reverse. Had the dealer pick it up to get it fixed. This car has 108,000 miles on it ? not exactly knew this is true, but it sounds like I was one of the lucky ones to get that many miles out of it ? from the reports I've read on the internet. Have also experienced and replaced front left bearings, rear left bearing and have the problem with the steering that many have reported on this vehicle (binding, tension, can"T make full turns, popping sounds).

- Mendota, IL, USA

problem #40

Jul 252007

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,678 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. While driving 55 mph and towing a camper, the overdrive off light illuminated. The vehicle also skipped gears. The dealer stated that the transmission fluid needed to be changed, but the contact declined to have it changed. The vehicle was taken to a transmission specialist who stated that the servo piston in the transmission was worn, which damaged the bands and drums. The transmission specialist made the repair. The failure mileage was 67,678 and current mileage was 67,800. Updated 02-01-08. Updated 02/01/08

- Pickford, MI, USA

problem #39

Jun 262007

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,500 miles
Traveling I-95 N between baltimore, md and wilmington de when transmission started slipping in 2002 merc mtnr. Transmission slipping when shifting into 3rd gear at toll both. Pulled off hwy at rest stop but did not turn off engine. Pulled back onto hwy, accelerated and check transmission indicator came on. O/D light began flashing. Pulled off hwy, called for tow and was taken to local Ford dealership. Was told band was broken in transmission and replacement was needed at cost of $4361. Had just replaced left rear wheel bearing and rear parking brakes week prior for $650. Vehicle had 75K miles. Couldn't justify spending that much money on 6 year old vehicle that had left me stranded five hours from home. Traded vehicle (got annihilated on trade!) and continued my trip.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #38

Mar 192007

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was driving the Mountaineer and the check transmission light came on and the O/D light started flashing. We took it to the local mechanic and they said we probably needed a new transmission. We then took it to a transmission specialists and they confirmed we needed to rebuild the transmission. They replaced all seals and valves, torque converter, solenoid pack, transfer case, prndl switch, at a cost of $2500. After reading about several transmission complaints for this model year of Mountaineer, I felt I should report this complaint.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #37

Jan 032007

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,760 miles
Transmission slipped between 2nd and 3rd gears, and between 3rd and 4th. RPM raced high. Od light would flash, check engine light came on. RPM's would race high, but the vehicle would not move, then suddenly catch. Transmission had to be rebuilt with only 56K miles. Two weeks in the shop, $600. Repair bill. Vehicle has been properly maintained at the dealership and has all service records.

- Inman, SC, USA

problem #36

Jan 162007

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,280 miles
I have a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer that has 59,000 or so miles on it. I just had to have the transmission replaced. I now know that this was the first symptom though at the time I didn't think much about it, the car would not go into gear right away when I shifted into reverse or drive. It would rev a little before going into gear. Then it started to vibrate when it would shift gears while driving. Ultimately, I had to have the transmission completely rebuilt, ( replaced torque converter, the transmission case was repaired, the seals and bands replaced) at a cost of $3070. I had the work done at aamco so I don't know if the old parts are still available.

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #35

Dec 042006

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles
2002 Mercury Mountaineer - transmission failed several times on way to work this morning while pulling onto highways. Car taken to transmission shop and we have been told that the transmission is gone and will cost $2,400 to repair. Mechanic also stated that this is a known problem in Mountaineer but has not been recalled as it is not deemed a safety hazard. Apparently the car maker has not been in such a car when this happens on a busy freeway! we also had no indications of a problem prior to this happening.

- Lindenhurst, IL, USA

problem #34

Nov 152006

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
I have a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer with 58,000 miles. I bought this car, so my wife would have something safe to drive. So far, I believe that this car is unsafe. The transmission doesn't shift right. If she were to try to cross a busy intersection or to attempt to merge and this were to occur, it could be a tragedy. I looked through your service bulletins. I believe what I refer to is documented. 10014089. This car is almost new. Ford should pay for it to be fixed. Please force a recall! thanks.

- Sorrento, FL, USA

problem #33

Sep 042006

Mountaineer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,465 miles
I own a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer mileage 72465. At this time it started to shuddering during up shifts from 1st to 2nd gear. I took it to pitcock auto repair in richardson, tx. They did a diagnostic test and found no codes they flashed the computer to reset all settings and I drove the vehicle for about 10 days and returned it to them who then took it to a Eagle transmission in plano tx. They also did a diagnostic check but the transmission had no codes! it was then removed and over hauled it was then found out that the #1,2 clutches were almost gone and the # 3 was completely worn out. The transmission was over hauled and test driven when a over drive light came"on" the transmission was again removed and all items were checked again reinstalled during the test drive again the over drive light came "on". they removed and replaced the valve body test driven and the same problem the transmission was again removed and the following items were changed(# of time changed) valve body (2),converter(2),flashed computer (2), replaced the seals/gaskets (3) and many test drives with same problem! Eagle transmission was on the net with other transmission repair people and all of them could not help them trouble shoot this problem as none of them had ever seen this happen! the vehicle was then taken to a local Ford dealer who after doing a diagnostic test told Eagle they would have to replace all items again! the manger of Eagle had just received the gears, September 2006 and in it they had the correction for this problem with a kit from sonnax with the part number of 56947J-15K, they order the kit and it corrected the problem! all this happened just after the warranty expired. To have a Ford dealer who had no idea or what to do to fix the problem was some thing that I or Eagle didn't expect! I was lucky that I had taken it to Eagle and pitcock as I could have paid twice what I agreed to which was $2500.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #32

Oct 022006

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,700 miles
Powertrain issue. At 79,700 miles, my 2002 Mercury Mountaineer required a transmission rebuild which cost me $2500. Apparently there is a bad solenoid and bands that totally busted inside the transmission. After seeing other reports on this, I wanted to add mine to the list.

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #31

Jul 122006

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
Of the many problems I've had since purchasing this vehicle, the latest takes the cake. Here's the skinny of all my problems, with the latest motivating me to report a complaint to the NHTSA. Hopefully, something can be done. Here's a website of others with the same transmission issue: www.carsurvey.org/cgi-bin/fix_comment.pl where do I start. I purchased this car with 38K miles and it's been a nightmare. First thing to go was a wheel bearing at 41K, got that fixed @ $200. Next to go @ 48K was the two calipers and new rotors on the front, cost $800. Next @ 52K was the A/C needed to be recharged, $150. Next @ 58K, the two calipers in the back has to be replaced, cost $300 (I found a good mechanic/friend). For the grand finale... I need to replace the transmission @ 61K, cost range from $1,800 to $3,400. I will fix it and dump it right away and sell it. A complete lemon!!! it should be reported to the NHTSA for an investigation.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #30

Dec 302004

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
While taking off from a complete stop after heavy or moderate braking the vehicle's engine will rev for about 2 seconds when the gas pedal is applied, then the vehicle will harshly jolt forward and start accelerating.

- Newport, NC, USA

problem #29

Mar 012005

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,851 miles
2002 Mountaineer stalls, transmission control assembly, main control valve, and gasket had to be replaced. The lift gate was sticking, and while closing it, the glass shattered, the glass was recalled, and was suppose to have been fixed. The oil light illuminated. The trim on the front door fell off while driving. There was a grinding noise coming from the rear wheels, it was determined that there was severe rust on the brake componets, the park brake shoes fell apart due to corrosion, the rear wheel bearing and knuckle assembly had excessive rust.

- Silverdale, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?