Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,991 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Mercury Mountaineer transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Mercury Mountaineer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Mercury Mountaineer Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

Sep 102007

Mountaineer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When backing up will hesitate and then fly backwards. Feel of delay in transmission when have come to a stop and going from one gear to next. Is increasing getting worse.

- Stone Mtn, GA, USA

problem #14

Aug 152005

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,700 miles
Transmission - no overdrive.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #13

Jun 112006

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,325 miles
Both problems happen when backing up. 2004 Mercury Mountaineer, upon putting it in reverse, will hesitate and then fly backwards. The recall solenoid was put in and the problem stopped for about a year. It has started up again, infrequently. Just 1 week ago, upon backing out of the garage, there was a metal on metal screeching noise and a burning smell. The wheels, wheel wells and undercarriage were checked for foreign objects, and none were found. I left the truck outside that night, and the next day the noise happened again and now happened once in third gear. The same burning smell happened again. I parked the truck and didn't use it all that day. When I went to take it to the dealer the next day, the noise was gone. The dealer wouldn't even look at it as "it wasn't doing it at that time".

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #12

Apr 202004

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my 2004 Mercury Mountaineer in Oct 2003. The vehicle was making a roaring noise, once taken in Ford replaced the rear differential and rear drive shaft, also complained of rough shifting of transmission around 30-35 mph changing from 2nd to 3rd gear. The solenoid was replaced, additive added, many reprograms but after 6 trips to dealer still is not corrected. 18 months later roaring noise appeared again and same rear drive shaft was replaced. The vehicle has less than 30,000 miles.

- Shelbyville, TN, USA

problem #11

Apr 142006

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2004 Mercury Mountaineer purchased new Sept. 2004. Transfer case was leaking while under warranty - all rear seals replaced. Started leaking again and vehicle was taken in for routine service @ 39,000 miles. Told large chunks of metal in transmission pan - transmission needs replaced. Vehicle no longer under warranty after 30,000 miles; Ford and dealer agreed to "share" some of the cost, $500 to owner. Believe leak is related to transmission problem that was not checked during original complaint when seals were replaced.

- Mount Gilead, OH, USA

problem #10

Jul 102005

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
I have had repeated problems with the transmission I.e. a noticeable clunk when the transmission shifts from overdrive to low upon approaching a stop sign. Additionally, when backing and shifting to forward the transmission hesitates and slips before going into forward drive. This causes some anxiety when you have to back from a commercial business into a busy traffic way and the transmission slips leaving you not knowing if your going to be able to avoid approaching traffic from the rear. I have reported the problem to Colorado river Ford in on at least two different occasions and have had the transmission fluid replaced in accordance with Mercury's recall. However, the problem continues. Subsequently, I have changed to bradly Ford for repairs. On one occasion immediately after a rain storm and while traversing a highway wash, I slowed the vehicle and straddled the center line (no traffic) to avoid any standing water. Admittedly, there was mud residue on the far side of the wash. Regardless, as I exited the wash and accelerated the transmission shifted from overdrive to low gear causing the rear wheels to spin and I went into a broad side skid to the right and back to the left and to the right again, all of which was as close to a near accident as I want to experience. As a retired Arizona highway patrolman I will admit that my speed was too fast for the conditions (estimated speed 30 to 40 mph). However, I am also of the opinion that the shifting pattern of the vehicle added to the momentary loss of control. Regardless, at this point the vehicle registers 35,500 miles and bradly Ford in lake havasu city is going to attempt to rectify the problem. They will be tearing down the transmission for examination. This is after they have already replaced a pressure solenoid and the problem still continues. I do not believe the repair will relieve the problem and will result in my taking a financial loss when I trade the vehicle in.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #9

Nov 202004

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2004 Mercury Mountaineer shifts rough, lunging forward with a hard shift, and sometimes dragging. Also, when shifting from park to reverse experience a very hard clunk followed by a thrust backwards.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #8

Oct 202005

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle jerks into reverse. Vehicle was placed in shop to have additive placed in transmission fluid to correct the problem. The problem has not abated. The transmission is also very loose. After being placed in park it lunges 3 to 4 inches in the direction of the slope it is parked on.

- Biloxi, MS, USA

problem #7

Sep 212004

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2 miles
I purchased a 2004 Mercury Mountaineer V6 in April, 2004. I immediately started to notice a harsh jerk when putting the car in reverse and sometimes while driving forward. It sometimes felt like driving a 5-speed vehicle. In late September, 04 while backing out of my driveway, me and my 13 yr old daughter experienced a very harsh jerk as if someone had slammed in the back of the car. We were both shaken. I started to experience neck problems. I made my first dr. Appt. In early to mid October 2004 and was told that my vertabre was out of place. When the recall notice came in February 2005 (I believe) to me, I took my car to be repaired and I was told that it would take at least 4 hours to fix. It actually took the dealship 3 days to fix it. The auto technician told me that my car was worse off than others that he'd seen before with the same problem and additonal parts had to be ordered. My car is working okay now that it has been fixed. On the other hand, I have been to the doctor several times with this neck injury. I have had X-rays, mri and ultra sound completed. The jerking of my vehicle has caused injury to the #2 vertabre in my neck. I experience head aches, severe neck pain, and shoulder and back pain. I have been to physical therapy- recommended by my doctor and to the chiropractor. I have a very hard time sleeping and working due to this pain. I called Ford Motor Company to alarm them of my injury due to the defective transmission in the vehicle that they manufactured. The individual that I spoke with was very rude, non- caring of my injury and spoke to me in a negative tone. I was told that there were no medical provisions on this particular recall. To this day, I am still in constant pain. I have suffered long enough and I feel that it is time for Ford Motor Company to own up to the rresponsibility that their defective vehicle has caused an injury.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #6

Feb 282005

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While shifting into reverse transmission hesitated three to four minutes before engaging. Then, vehicle shook. Driver drove vehicleto the dealer, and mechanic determined that transmission needed to be replaced.

- Red Lion, PA, USA

problem #5

Dec 152004

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Mercury Mountaineer, V8, automatic, AWD. VIN du86W84zj23248, purchased August 2004. Current mileage is 22000. Mid December 2004 I started experiencing odd or rough shifts going from 2nd to 3rd. It started happening occasionally then it became more constant. I also experienced harsh reverses, one was hard enough that my husband said it could give you whip lash! what was ironic about the whole thing was I was going to make an appointment with my local garage when I got a letter from Ford (January 2005) indicating a problem with the transmission fluid which might cause a harsh reverse. So I took it to a Ford garage january1 5,2005, and they installed the additives. I drove the truck about 2 weeks after that and didn't feel it fixed the problem. I took it back to the garage and this time they said they reconfigured the computer. After I picked it up and drove it for a week or so, it wasn't any better. I'm taking it back to the garage again because it still has the problem. This problem is a lot like your other complaints especially #10103034. I think this is a problem that Ford should look into before it causes an accident especially those owners that drive in winter weather.

- Westfield, NY, USA

problem #4

Dec 012004

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,600 miles
2004 Mercury Mountaineer, V6, automatic, 2wd. VIN 4M2zu66K8uj13274. Purchased March 2004. Currently mileage 9821. Starting approximately 12/1/04, when reverse gear does not engage for 2 or 3 seconds, then engages with a very hard jolt that shakes the whole vehicle. This occurs when first starting the vechicle and also mid-day when backing into a parking space. Also the automatic transmission rough shifts in freeway slow traffic between 20 and 30 mph. Ford Motor Co. Consumer hotline said on 12/15/04 that my vehicle VIN number has no recalls. From press releases, I know of Ford's 11/22/04 announcement of 740,000 Explorer and Mountaineer with this same transmission problem.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #3

Dec 082004

Mountaineer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The reverse gear tends to pop and switch to another gear, making the vehicle jump. Taken to dealer, but the cause was undetermined.

- Croydon, PA, USA

problem #2

Aug 302004

Mountaineer

  • miles
Consumer stated that when starting vehicle and placing it in reverse vehicle hesitated, then jumped into gear. Also, vehicle sometimes jumped into gear when placing it in drive, but not as bad as placing it in reverse. Consumer called dealer and manufacturer and was told that they were aware of the problem, but it was not a recall. Consumer was not involved in a collision because of this malfunction but was afraid that one day he May.

- Breezy Point, NY, USA

problem #1

Aug 032004

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
While driving at 35 mph and above experienced noise in transmission chain. Returned to dealer and they are ordering a gear for the rwear end. Am awaiting approx a week for delivery to schedule the replacement of the gear.

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?